Oh...... So its a good choice to get the 749s from the looks of it yeah? He aint gonna track much i guess but he wants something which is unique and is willing to part a hefty sum from his monthly salary but definitely not a 'R' model. From the parts wise point of view comparing the 2 models (999 & 749s) would it sound more logical to get the 749s as its cheaper than the 999 but having better parts yeah?

Thanks guys! U guys rock! :thumb:

Oh..... Say can we drop by ur next outing?? We aint riding Duke but there is a 910 in the group thou.,

http://www.imperial-concepts.com/web/images/zoom/MSALFE/dsc1102_resize.jpg
  • Replies 14.9k

Actually, if he doesn't go to track often, I'd suggest he get a 999.

The extra power is quite useful in daily riding, much more flexible than the ferocious inline4s.

Maintenance costs are identical for 749s and 999s. I think the 749 would be much more fun to ride on the track and twisties, but the 999 would be better everywhere else (Highway blasts, daily rides etc)

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 18 2006, 02:48 PM

Actually, if he doesn't go to track often, I'd suggest he get a 999.

The extra power is quite useful in daily riding, much more flexible than the ferocious inline4s.

Maintenance costs are identical for 749s and 999s. I think the 749 would be much more fun to ride on the track and twisties, but the 999 would be better everywhere else (Highway blasts, daily rides etc)

But..... theres a catch bro. He ain riding like forever. 1st bike he ever own. Hehehehe..... all of us here going thru mid-life crisis. :lol: All been messing around wif cars. Sepanging n PGing on cars for awhile. Lately only decided to get a rocket between our legs. Hahahaaa.... think a litre is too much to handle?

BTW, 749 a v-twin too rite?

Originally posted by kawi71@Jan 18 2006, 03:08 PM

But..... theres a catch bro. He ain riding like forever. 1st bike he ever own. Hehehehe..... all of us here going thru mid-life crisis. :lol: All been messing around wif cars. Sepanging n PGing on cars for awhile. Lately only decided to get a rocket between our legs. Hahahaaa.... think a litre is too much to handle?

Yes, 749 is a V-twin. Ducati's don't have any engine configuration other than a 90degree V-twin.

First bike he's ever owned? Then I'd suggest he get something cheaper, and easier to ride. Dropping a Ducati Superbike is ridiculously expensive...

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 18 2006, 03:46 PM

Yes, 749 is a V-twin. Ducati's don't have any engine configuration other than a 90degree V-twin.

First bike he's ever owned? Then I'd suggest he get something cheaper, and easier to ride. Dropping a Ducati Superbike is ridiculously expensive...

Roger tat. Now it boils down to a 749s or the new R6. Cheaper to drop??? Heheheehe....... Thanks dude! :thumb:

Cheers mate n all yall ride safe!

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 18 2006, 05:55 PM

Was down at Minerva looking to buy a front and rear sprocket.

NO STOCK.... POS..... :giddy:

Am going to order them from http://www.ca-cycleworks.com/

Let me know if you guys need anything.

Wah!! Standard item like this also dun have...:faint:

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 18 2006, 05:55 PM

Was down at Minerva looking to buy a front and rear sprocket.

NO STOCK.... POS..... :giddy:

Am going to order them from http://www.ca-cycleworks.com/

Let me know if you guys need anything.

Does moto world have? they carry AFAM products

Items for sale

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by red rocket@Jan 18 2006, 06:57 PM

Does moto world have? they carry AFAM products

Front yes but no rear for the Ducati ST4.

Cos dun sell well which I understand.

But from Minerva.... I dun understand. :sweat:

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by motocafe@Jan 17 2006, 04:51 PM

Is the STM clutch slave cylinder still available? Please PM me abt the price. Thks.

Hey....

Is that monster in your avatar yours??? :thumb:

Is it the project monster at Kallang C for quite a while???

And er...sorry, dun mind, is the rear sprocket carrier the one Mike is selling at his workshop (Kallang C), brand Renthal??? I was about to get it but he told me sold.... :sian:

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 18 2006, 09:01 PM

Front yes but no rear for the Ducati ST4.

Cos dun sell well which I understand.

But from Minerva.... I dun understand. :sweat:

I'll be visiting Motorworld one of these days to get my AFAM carrier ordered.

When you placing your order online???

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Jan 19 2006, 12:45 AM

I'll be visiting Motorworld one of these days to get my AFAM carrier ordered.

When you placing your order online???

Any stuffs that you wanna order?

Made my inquiry for the front/rear sprocket and some parts and awaiting confirmation.

Anyone wants the below parts?

Brand new set of 6 alum timing belt cam pulleys from Ducati Performance for 748/916/996 still in vacumn sealed original packing.

Used stock steel flywheel for 3 phase alternator. Have got 2 with the intention of milling weight off the stock to

1) lighter flywheel effect

2) no wear issue as compared to a alum flywheel attached to a steel spline.

$60.

Will be sending for CNC milling to shave weight off so can send together if anyone is keen.

I'm just wondering if anyone's interested, I'll be going to Jungfrau, Switzerland in July this year for a Music contest, and I plan to stay alittle longer, take a train or something to visit the holy grail for Ducatisti, the Ducati Factory.

Would anyone be interested? Will happen from July the 17th onwards. If there are enough numbers, we can book a full factory tour, possibly a ride around the mountains behind the factory too, the place where all our bikes are tested!

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Jan 19 2006, 12:35 AM

Hey....

Is that monster in your avatar yours??? :thumb:

Is it the project monster at Kallang C for quite a while???

And er...sorry, dun mind, is the rear sprocket carrier the one Mike is selling at his workshop (Kallang C), brand Renthal??? I was about to get it but he told me sold.... :sian:

Yes, thats my monster.

Yes, it has been @ Kallang Cycle for a while... like 3 & 1/2 years.

Yes, I believe we are talking about the same one.

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 19 2006, 01:09 AM

Any stuffs that you wanna order?

Made my inquiry for the front/rear sprocket and some parts and awaiting confirmation.

Anyone wants the below parts?

Brand new set of 6 alum timing belt cam pulleys from Ducati Performance for 748/916/996 still in vacumn sealed original packing.

Used stock steel flywheel for 3 phase alternator. Have got 2 with the intention of milling weight off the stock to

1) lighter flywheel effect

2) no wear issue as compared to a alum flywheel attached to a steel spline.

$60.

Will be sending for CNC milling to shave weight off so can send together if anyone is keen.

How about balancing? are they able to do that?

Items for sale

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by red rocket@Jan 19 2006, 12:58 PM

How about balancing? are they able to do that?

If the CNC removes the weight evenly, I don't think need to balance.

Besides, the whole system might not be balanced so even if the flywheel is balanced or not balanced on it's own, I do not know whether it's beneficial or not.

Gotta ask the CNC guy lor...

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Jan 20 2006, 05:44 PM

hey guys, does the 996 have electric problems like 916?

It shouldn't if it's the 3 phase alternator which replaces the old 2 phase alternator electrical system.

What's wrong with your bike? Like your fierce avatar. :sweat:

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Jan 20 2006, 05:44 PM

hey guys, does the 996 have electric problems like 916?

Not as I know, so far so good for mine.previously own.

http://www.diseno-art.com/images/mv_agusta_f4_1000_veltro_strada.jpg

>>>>>>>>>>>> F 6 C <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

>>>>>>>>>>>A M 6 D <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Originally posted by kawi71@Jan 18 2006, 03:08 PM

Personally I downgrade from a 996 to a 748. Find that the 996 or a litre bike are overkill for singapore road.I would recommend the 749S, as it is much easier to handle, at the same time more revy and definately feel more involving and fun riding it then the later on "Singapore"road. This is just my 2 cents opinion.

And me too, switching between cars and bikes for Track.

Wats cars you guys bring to Track?

http://www.diseno-art.com/images/mv_agusta_f4_1000_veltro_strada.jpg

>>>>>>>>>>>> F 6 C <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

>>>>>>>>>>>A M 6 D <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 20 2006, 06:34 PM

It shouldn't if it's the 3 phase alternator which replaces the old 2 phase alternator electrical system.

What's wrong with your bike? Like your fierce avatar. :sweat:

my bike cant start... wat should be the correct reading for the batt? mine is i think 12.9... dunno wats the problem...

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Jan 21 2006, 11:12 AM

my bike cant start... wat should be the correct reading for the batt? mine is i think 12.9... dunno wats the problem...

Hi tRUST! I did had a problem with the starting part too!

I had installed a voltmeter. The reading can goes up to

14 or 15v. I monitor the charging cycle n realise that

"on the move" charging is slightly above 13v~14v. On

normal day, it takes 2 push on the start button, understand

from the previous owner the first attempt is to pump the

fuel to the cab, second attempt, the engine will start kickin!

Remember he mention the bike is not able to push start

incase of electric failure, cos the fuel pump require electric

to function. Had learn my lesson the hard way, had a failure

at a basement carpark B3, 3 of us push all the way upz to

level #1. Sweat :faint:

Now that i dun encounter tis problem anymore, due to fact

that i squeeze in a Gold Wing battery in my 748. Some might

tink that heavy battery might affect the performance, but

for a small size mi, i rather use d start button :thumb:

tRUST, hope my 2cts worth help :goodluck:

Originally posted by rotary79@Jan 20 2006, 10:23 PM

Personally I downgrade from a 996 to a 748. Find that the 996 or a litre bike are overkill for singapore road.I would recommend the 749S, as it is much easier to handle, at the same time more revy and definately feel more involving and fun riding it then the later on "Singapore"road. This is just my 2 cents opinion.

And me too, switching between cars and bikes for Track.

Wats cars you guys bring to Track?

Mixture. Rex, Evo, GT3 and if permits maybe a couple of laps in M3. Just monkeying around. Nothing really serious. :thumb:

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Jan 21 2006, 11:12 AM

When you turn the key on, do u hear the fuel pump priming itself?

It's a mechanical noise inside your fuel tank, should be able to hear.

If it doesn't prime, forget abt it.

If it primes, does the starter motor cranks when you press the E-start?

You can try push-starting. (Hopefully it's a dead/flat battery.)

How old is the battery anyway?

I managed to push-start my ST4 with side box though I almost fainted from

exhaustion. :sweat:

Yo brothers,

Anybody interested in getting a red, lightened 48T STM clutch basket.

Very new. Bought from Sporting. Sale includes new STM clutch plates too. Last much longer than original Ducati OEM

Fits all dry clutches dukes.

Pros & Description:

STM's unique 48 tooth basket can be used on all Ducati clutches.

The classic red anodized basket is made of tough 7075 aerospace alloy, its weight being less than 14 ounces.

With four times the contact surface of the traditional 12 tooth basket and with the contact surface machined at a precise pressure angle, wear of the basket is substantially reduced - making this the best lightweight solution for street use.

Furthermore it contributes to the improvement of the alignment of the disk pack.

Going at Half-price only. I am thinking of getting a slipper clutch. Interested? Kindly leave your name/contacts in my inbox. Thanks

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8586/vhfchsn1.gif

1. Click on my CMO Magazine thread for cheap mag offers

2. click on my CMO Coach thread for cheap Coach offers!!

- Motorculture Asia: Free delivery !

- Spin Asia: Free delivery !

- Latest Sept Superbike: Free Isle of Man TT DVD !