Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Feb 7 2006, 09:57 PM

Again??? :giddy:

Bro, it's 81338208 lah.....9 digits, think you Thai number huh??? Ha ha ha..... :lol: I know I'm going Thailand, no need to remind me lah....

When and how long away to Thailand ah?

Need a subrider to help charge your battery, wam up the bike,

disperse the any moisture in the engine?

Think I need Gingo Bilboa to boost my memory.... :weep:

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

• Replies 14.9k

Originally posted by ktkt@Feb 7 2006, 10:18 PM

When and how long away to Thailand ah?

Need a subrider to help charge your battery, wam up the bike,

disperse the any moisture in the engine?

Think I need Gingo Bilboa to boost my memory.... :weep:

haha...been busy wif work n my wife... haha... wil organise one asap ok! haha... :cheeky: btw, is it a muz to start the bike everyday? wats the best way to take care of the batt?

Originally posted by nE0@Feb 7 2006, 03:59 PM

Ey Ken, Monday you free? I off day, feel like going for a ride leh :D

Anyone wanna organise a free and easy short trip to Malaysia?

Maybe leave off early morning, scenic rides, bends here and there, makan and call it a day.

Not too famaliar with the roads there. Usually I just follow the leader....

Anyone? :help:

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Feb 7 2006, 10:25 PM

haha...been busy wif work n my wife... haha... wil organise one asap ok! haha... :cheeky: btw, is it a muz to start the bike everyday? wats the best way to take care of the batt?

So your problem narrowed down to the battery?

If well maintained, a new batt should last between 2 to 3 years.

Then it's time to replace them.

I don't think it's a must to start the bike everyday. contrary, I think it drains the battery faster then you can charge it that is if you just start the bike to warm it for say abt 5 minutes and then shut it off.

Perhaps once a week, start up the bike to help disperse the oil around to coat all the engine internals, purge out any moisture inside, and RIDE it LONG enough to charge the battery.

Do you need a battery tender? No I think unless in like other countries, winter season prevents them from riding the bike LONG enuff to charge the battery.

My bike has a switch to turn off the headlight so normally during daytime , I'll turn it off to help speed up the charging process. Then again, I ride everyday so battery charge not an issue for me.

Anyway, what is better than a Termi's growl?

Last week's when we all started and left together on our bikes after that Simpang Bedok outing.

Sweet.... :lovestruck:

Originally posted by espido1001@Feb 7 2006, 11:29 AM

event : motorad 2006

date : 14 fri to 16 sun april

destination : rawang, selangor

meet up : GP petronas station

small bike :

big bikes : >400

time : 7.30am

day 1

8am : departure from GP

9am : small bikes pump petrol at machap, big bikes proceed to pagoh

9:15am : small bikes to depart from machap to pagoh.

10am : all bikes to arrive at pagoh. top up petrol.

10.30am : all bikes to depart for seremban

12noon : all bikes to arrive at seremban. top up again

12.30pm : all bikes to depart for hotel

2pm : all bikes to arrive in hotel, check in . R&R

for more details juz beep me TiJan 90223375 or Su 98528016 or busa 91997141 hotline for bikers korner club or fax 67753706 ya particular , closing date is 10 feb(this friday last day), inclusive of goodie bag, event tees , lunch, dinner 3days, 2 nite at hotel & donation to charity home....

ANYONE INTERESTED??

Too bad can't make it.... :weep:

Need some advise.

Stock 916/996/998 comes with 45mm header,midpipes?

I reckon a full 50mm system will consist of

1) 50 mm horizontal and vertical headers,

2) 50 mm midpipes

3) 50 mm exhaust ends with 50mm diameter to meet the midpipes? (ie. stock endcans won't mate with 50mm midpipes?

Originally posted by ktkt@Feb 7 2006, 11:28 PM

Need some advise.

Stock 916/996/998 comes with 45mm header,midpipes?

I reckon a full 50mm system will consist of

1) 50 mm horizontal and vertical headers,

2) 50 mm midpipes

3) 50 mm exhaust ends with 50mm diameter to meet the midpipes? (ie. stock endcans won't mate with 50mm midpipes?

The answer to your last question depends on the stock end cans came from which bike... if it came from the 996R,998S and the 998R then it may fit since the steet end cans are 50, fitting also depends because the manifolds may NOT be bent in the same way.

Note: for different model years(748/916/996/998) although the pipe diameter may be the same the manifolds may be bent/connected differently to each other so they are not readily interchangable.

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Feb 7 2006, 10:25 PM

I never found a need to start it periodically. Just make a point to take a long ride (20km+ w/o shutting the engine) one a month at least. Last outing at simpang bedok was a good exercise for the bike... plus myself

Items for sale

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by red rocket@Feb 7 2006, 11:43 PM

The answer to your last question depends on the stock end cans came from which bike... if it came from the 996R,998S and the 998R then it may fit since the steet end cans are 50, fitting also depends because the manifolds may NOT be bent in the same way.

Note: for different model years(748/916/996/998) although the pipe diameter may be the same the manifolds may be bent/connected differently to each other so they are not readily interchangable.

Okay. Thanks for the info.

Preparing the stuffs to buy once I confirm I have the winning 10 million Hong Bao Toto ticket this Friday. :smile:

Huat ah Huat!

Originally posted by ktkt@Feb 8 2006, 02:45 AM

Okay. Thanks for the info.

Preparing the stuffs to buy once I confirm I have the winning 10 million Hong Bao Toto ticket this Friday. :smile:

Huat ah Huat!

No need to look for aftermarket parts... with that money you can buy a few bikes... even the corsa bikes!!

Items for sale

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by ktkt@Feb 7 2006, 10:45 PM

So your problem narrowed down to the battery?

If well maintained, a new batt should last between 2 to 3 years.

Then it's time to replace them.

I don't think it's a must to start the bike everyday. contrary, I think it drains the battery faster then you can charge it that is if you just start the bike to warm it for say abt 5 minutes and then shut it off.

Perhaps once a week, start up the bike to help disperse the oil around to coat all the engine internals, purge out any moisture inside, and RIDE it LONG enough to charge the battery.

Do you need a battery tender? No I think unless in like other countries, winter season prevents them from riding the bike LONG enuff to charge the battery.

My bike has a switch to turn off the headlight so normally during daytime , I'll turn it off to help speed up the charging process. Then again, I ride everyday so battery charge not an issue for me.

Anyway, what is better than a Termi's growl?

Last week's when we all started and left together on our bikes after that Simpang Bedok outing.

Sweet.... :lovestruck:

not sure yet...but going to go collect my batt maybe tis wkend... :smile:

Originally posted by red rocket@Feb 7 2006, 11:50 PM

I never found a need to start it periodically. Just make a point to take a long ride (20km+ w/o shutting the engine) one a month at least. Last outing at simpang bedok was a good exercise for the bike... plus myself

haha...okok...thanx! :thumb:

Had my bike serviced at Minerva and wow...

What a difference after the "tuning" and valve adjustment.

Had the timing belts replaced as well. And alot whole lot of other stuffs too.

Only peeve was the front sprocket... Cost $146 for a stock Ducati front sprocket???

Didn't check the bill thoroughly before leaving so came as a shock later. (hope it's a genuine charging error.) :confused:

Stock gearing was 15/43 and now 14/43, so follow ST4 riders, would highly recommend the change to a 14 tooth front sprocket.

And also that 120 length chain was too long for the 14/43 combo and the chain adjuster was pushed all the way back. Not a problem, let it run in and have it cut and adjust at a later date.

What did i do?

Servicing at 40,000km.

Valve clearance/adjustment

Timing belt change

carbuerator servicing( i supposed throttle body/injectors?)

Timing cam pulley change/pulley nuts

rear brake pad replacement

chain/front/rear sprocket change

fuel filter/o-ring/fuel pump

spark plug change

coolant change

labour for swapping of fork/disc brakes

labour for swapping of swingarm/rear shock

labour for front/rear brake/clutch line bleeding

labour for Final drive change

total amount: 1499.09 (parts(15% discount) + labour + 5% GST) cough blood.... :puke:

Anyway, would recommend the valve clearance/adjustment/belt change/tuning done at Minerva.

Okay, next kopi few kopi outings stick to economical Simpang Bedok shall we. :sweat:

http://photos.motorcycle-usa.com/IMG_5836A.jpg

Uncle Ling > Time to take your MTS where it belongs.... Everywhere! :D

Are you getting the DEsmotimes?

I don't mind sharing the cost. And is US$145 considered a good price for the clutch plates?

And you're evil! Now I wanna get those vented belt covers..... :lovestruck:

Originally posted by nE0@Feb 10 2006, 03:04 AM

Are you getting the DEsmotimes?

I don't mind sharing the cost. And is US$145 considered a good price for the clutch plates?

And you're evil! Now I wanna get those vented belt covers..... :lovestruck:

Yes. USD145 for the carbon fiber/alum clutch plates is a good price.

I bought my DP alum ones for $340....

Anyone else?

I just need the friction plates leh, or do I have to buy the aluminium plates too?

I think Damien might wanna get the CnC belt covers.

Originally posted by ktkt@Feb 10 2006, 12:26 AM

Had my bike serviced at Minerva and wow...

What a difference after the "tuning" and valve adjustment.

Had the timing belts replaced as well. And alot whole lot of other stuffs too.

total amount: 1499.09 (parts(15% discount) + labour + 5% GST) cough blood.... :puke:

ktkt,

Wah, faint already man! Mucho grande $$$$!! But I guess it's worth it if you feel good about the bike after that big hole in your pocket.

Great to meet you in person at KC yesterday. Forgive me if I seem rather occupied with my monster - was running thru my head what needs to be done. Still need to fix some niggling problems - ride height, wiring, neutral gear, etc...

Getting my insurance today and renewing the roadtax. Barring any unforseen circumstances, should be able to put my monster back on the road next week.:bounce:

Originally posted by motocafe@Feb 10 2006, 10:28 AM

ktkt,

Wah, faint already man! Mucho grande $$$$!! But I guess it's worth it if you feel good about the bike after that big hole in your pocket.

Great to meet you in person at KC yesterday. Forgive me if I seem rather occupied with my monster - was running thru my head what needs to be done. Still need to fix some niggling problems - ride height, wiring, neutral gear, etc...

Getting my insurance today and renewing the roadtax. Barring any unforseen circumstances, should be able to put my monster back on the road next week.:bounce:

Best Looking Monster :thumb:

http://www.diseno-art.com/images/mv_agusta_f4_1000_veltro_strada.jpg

>>>>>>>>>>>> F 6 C <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

>>>>>>>>>>>A M 6 D <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Originally posted by motocafe@Feb 10 2006, 10:28 AM

ktkt,

No problem. Understand the anxiety. Hope you're done with the insurance/road tax. Will organise a kopi outing for "opening ceremony" for your one-off Monster. :smile:

However, your red frame's red is not Ducati red? Paint color or due to sun/rain/elements? Hope you won't be crazy enuff to take out the frame for a new paint job.

Feel good? Yes, the whole bike feels like a "virgin" now. And the 14/43 gear ratio is much more suited for start/stop traffic. Then again, my wallet's lobang is torn apart and sore.

Overall, quite satisfied with Minerva's servicing. They did what they're supposed to do. The pricing/charging is well erm... can be more economical/competitive if they want to draw in more cheapo customer like me. (want them cheap, big and juicy...)

I guess they are more into certain specialized jobs and these jobs are already keeping them busy as it is.

BTW, TRUST, when/where is the next kopi outing?

Eh Ken, you never go KL?

My bike got problem leh, I think the starter motor clutch is slipping...

Originally posted by nE0@Feb 11 2006, 02:41 AM

Eh Ken, you never go KL?

My bike got problem leh, I think the starter motor clutch is slipping...

Can't find a room to squeeze into.

Go there at nite then book room,scare cannot get and stranded.

So never go in the end. End up making plans to go dirt riding this Sunday instead. :sweat:

Why u say the starter motor clutch slipping leh?