gear 1 - 0 to 20kph

2 - 20kph t 30kph

3 - 30kph t 40kph

4 - 40kph t 60kph

5 - 60kph t 80kph

6 - 80kph t 150kph.

my guide for a healthy ta200

1 - 0 t 20kph

2 - 20kph t 30kph

3 - 30kph t 40kph

4 - 40kph t 60kph

5 - 60kph t 70kph

6 - 70kph t 100kph

my guide for unhealthy ta200.

(loose piston ring; loosing power=gear change earlier)

so i have been doing unhealthy gear changing on this time... alamak... okok i will try ur method

• Replies 1.7k

Problem 5: Cant go more den 80 km/h

Reason: You are not in the 6th gear

Solution: Down 1 time 1st gear. up 5 times to sixth gear

Reason: If confirm no 6th gear, gear box may be in bad shape

Solution: Go to a reputable workshop for a checkup, may need to over haul.

Reason: Insufficient Engine Oil (Very bad)

Solution: Check with dipstick as according to manual. Buy Engine Oil from petrol kiosk and top up.

Reason: Clutch may have been worn off (Engine reving very high but no power to go any faster)

Solution: Bike shop chance clutch.

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich (Crazy vibrations at higher revs making it too uncomfortable)

Solution: Tune air fuel mixture leaner (Turn screw anti-clockwise 1/2 - 1 round)

Reason: Sprocket may be worn off

Solution: Change sprocket and chain.

Problem 15: Bike pickup super slow. Even slower than small cc cars.

Reason: Clutch is worn

Solution: Change your clutch plates.

Problem 17: Hard to kick the gears

Reason: Clutch is worn

Solution: Change or top up EO.

Solution: Change clutch plate.

i think is my clutch. last time went to planet motor check. he say at the start he also thought clutch spoil but after that he say clutch never spoil. maybe go back and let him check again...

hi pk bro and sis, 1 qns to ask. is my rear light suppose to light up throughout when i switch on the headlight?

p.s. not when i'm holding the front or stepping on rear brake.

wa sian :faint: less than 1 month spoil liow...

haizz

mine was blown since i got it! but i didnt know it was suppose to be always on in the beginning until my fren told me... but it's a cheap thing la, so dun worry so much

These days I'm thinking of creating a small inventory of minor spare parts to bring along so I don't have to rely on bike shops. After owning a Phantom for a while the 'custom' tends to mean DIY :3

I'd probably shatter the light bulbs within a few minutes of riding though :p

Just sharing a little encounter - met a Phantom rider (Malay gentleman) near my workplace whose engine produces a sound so loud the whole neighbourhood can probably hear. It's a TAK TAK TAK TAK likely from a broken chain tensioner (?) and despite me trying to yell over at him to get it serviced he just smiled, winked and went on his way, slowly. Lol.

I probably wouldn't risk starting the engine at all, much less riding the bike in that condition, as it would likely lead to more major and expensive repairs, but to each his own...

Hi everyone,

Last night my TA200 engine gave up the ghost - lost power while on CTE, and luckily the engine only really died after turning into Braddell near my home. After that it could not start.

Pushed it about 2km all the way to the nearest workshop this morning, and had them look at it. The engine was disassembled, and it was a total wreck.

They are charging about $740 for all the necessary overhaul, which includes:

1. Connecting Rod Kit - $68.00

2. Press Rod - $15.00

3. Piston Kit - $68.00

4. Rebore Block - $15.00

5. Fix(?) Valve - $43.00

6. Timing Chain - $32.00

7. Cam Chain Tensioner - $68.00

8. Overhaul Gasket - $38.00

9. Spark Plug - $4.50

10. Engine Oil - $11.00

11. Oil Treatment - $5.00

12. Clutch Plate - $40.00

13. Bore(?) - $24.00

14. Clutch Housing Repair - $38.00

15. Engine Block Top Used Replacement - $120.00

15. LABOR CHARGE - $150.00

Total: $739.50

I've looked at the damage, and believe the repair list is sound. What concerns me are the charges - are they overcharging me? Should I send it in to Planet instead?

Please advise!!

Edited by scoopdreams
Hi everyone,

Last night my TA200 engine gave up the ghost - lost power while on CTE, and luckily the engine only really died after turning into Braddell near my home. After that it could not start.

Pushed it about 2km all the way to the nearest workshop this morning, and had them look at it. The engine was disassembled, and it was a total wreck.

2. Press Rod - $15.00

3. Piston Kit - $68.00

4. Rebore Block - $15.00

5. Fix(?) Valve - $43.00

6. Timing Chain - $32.00

9. Spark Plug - $4.50

10. Engine Oil - $11.00

13. Bore(?) - $24.00

I've looked at the damage, and believe the repair list is sound. What concerns me are the charges - are they overcharging me? Should I send it in to Planet instead?

Please advise!!

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_K-nUcKVfXFU/S9LBQCQFoyI/AAAAAAAAGKc/1sx2XwpC5yw/s512/IMG_0080.JPG

i dunno bro, from what i know, planet charges only $380 - $400. i think u should send to planet... :(

Hi everyone,

2. Press Rod - $15.00

3. Piston Kit - $68.00

4. Rebore Block - $15.00

5. Fix(?) Valve - $43.00

6. Timing Chain - $32.00

9. Spark Plug - $4.50

10. Engine Oil - $11.00

13. Bore(?) - $24.00

Please advise!!

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_K-nUcKVfXFU/S9LBQCQFoyI/AAAAAAAAGKc/1sx2XwpC5yw/s512/IMG_0080.JPG

the charges are reasonable IMO as the whole block is gone, means it cant convert fuel to mechnical energy, and bike cant move, wat armani mentioned the price is totally wrong as the price is quoted for top overhaul only which means to say repairing a less efficent running 4 stroke engine, not dead engine...means to say from your list of to do things, likely your cam chain dropped off the sprocket or the cam chain snapped off causing the valve to free wheel and whack the piston, thereby causing the demise of the engine...

anyway since the block has been disassembled, then repair it...it doesn't matter who repairs it....cause it doesn't make monetary sense to ask them to rebuilt the dead engine and then tow the bike to another shop and do it all over again...

hope this helps....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

TS can u pm me? got things to ask u...

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

the charges are reasonable IMO as the whole block is gone, means it cant convert fuel to mechnical energy, and bike cant move, wat armani mentioned the price is totally wrong as the price is quoted for top overhaul only which means to say repairing a less efficent running 4 stroke engine, not dead engine...means to say from your list of to do things, likely your cam chain dropped off the sprocket or the cam chain snapped off causing the valve to free wheel and whack the piston, thereby causing the demise of the engine...

anyway since the block has been disassembled, then repair it...it doesn't matter who repairs it....cause it doesn't make monetary sense to ask them to rebuilt the dead engine and then tow the bike to another shop and do it all over again...

hope this helps....

Yeah I was thinking the same thing too... after all will have to pay for towing to Planet, and also give the current workshop some labor fee for the diagnosis.

-sighs- you are right, well i guess sometimes we gotta bite the bullet then.

Thanks for the sound advice!

Hmmm , $739.50 ?

What about scrapping and getting refund of COE then + the $700+ enough to buy another second hand bike ? Just another view... good luck.

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

Hmmm , $739.50 ?

What about scrapping and getting refund of COE then + the $700+ enough to buy another second hand bike ? Just another view... good luck.

How do you scrap a bike? My TA200 COE expiring in Jan 2010, so was also considering this option... just that it seems so troublesome to hunt for a bike again. (The TA200 is a really comfy ride so far)

2 questions to everyone:

1. How do you scrap a bike, to who, and how much can you expect from it?

2. Is an engine overhaul of this magnitude going to give me more trouble again in the near future (assuming I do proper maintenance + servicing)?

Jan 2010 came and went 3 months ago

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

hope this helps....

icic... learnt something new... :)

Hi guys I need some advice, this afternoon when I ride my bike, my bike seems have some problem moving. When the bike cruise normally at 80km/h the bike will start to cough and when I pull the throttle the engine won't rev as if the fuel being choke up. When I collect my bike 2 weeks ago, the bike shop have clean my carb. What other problem might be. I have being stalling my when whenever I curise. It's only when I stop the bike for 15min than it will start again but only for a few min once I cruise it started again. Anyone know what is the cause thanks. I need to fix it fast cause I need to use it tomorrow and I seriously doubt if I push my bike to the bike shop they would sure chop me cause they have done it when I buy the ta200 from them.

Edited by adamchiew
Hi guys I need some advice, this afternoon when I ride my bike, my bike seems have some problem moving. When the bike cruise normally at 80km/h the bike will start to cough and when I pull the throttle the engine won't rev as if the fuel being choke up. When I collect my bike 2 weeks ago, the bike shop have clean my carb. What other problem might be. I have being stalling my when whenever I curise. It's only when I stop the bike for 15min than it will start again but only for a few min once I cruise it started again. Anyone know what is the cause thanks. I need to fix it fast cause I need to use it tomorrow and I seriously doubt if I push my bike to the bike shop they would sure chop me cause they have done it when I buy the ta200 from them.

if the bike cough, its either a problem from the fuel line, air intake or the spark plug.

check if there is petrol leaking anywhere

open up your left rear chrome cover and the black box inside, it has 6 screws, check that the air filter inside looks clean, if not, you should replace it

remove your spark plug. check if it is damaged.

well... maybe you can bring the bike to planet motor at block 3007 ubi road 1 and let the boss ah chong have a look at your bike... he should be able to diagnosis your problem once he try riding your bike... :cheers:

here is a map for your reference:

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/78/20/5760287/2_991007228l.jpg

:thirsty:

here is a map for your reference:

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/78/20/5760287/2_991007228l.jpg

:thirsty:

Thanks bro. I have check. All look normal but I plug out the fuel line it seems a little block how do I clear it thanks