All,

I too just got a phantom. Anyone can advise how to remove fuel stained on fuel tank? It looks like that the previous owner/s had sort of consistently pump too much fuel and it has stain some of the paint work. I have tried polish but does nothing.

Thanks in advance.

if the strain had been there for long, most likely that the petrol had penetrated into the paint coating, then it would be "hard" to make the strain gone completely.

if petrol spill did not penetrate to the paint coating, which means stubborn surface strain. and if you dont mind to have a faded and not so prominent strain, constantly apply more layer of waxing after every bike washing over some period of time to your satisfaction, but dont expect immediate result.

hope it helps....

otherwise, you can consider respray your entire fuel tank if you got budget and want to change your bike apearrance.

Edited by vvss
  • Replies 3.6k

I just got a nice white phantom too =)

Question: the previous owner like to top up 1.25l of EO. I check the dipstick the level is about 1 cm above the xxx. Is that ok?

And I will be washing & polishing my bike on Sun. So normal wax for tank, fender & plastic chrome, and Chrome wax for the metal chrome right?

And how do you guys clean the rear wheel? Was thinking of using acetone but scared melt my tires. lol

clean rear wheel?? you mean rear rim?? so far i normal washed with bike shampoo and all the oil strains removed.....if the oil strain is stubborn, can consider wd40.

hope it helps....

I just got a nice white phantom too =)

Question: the previous owner like to top up 1.25l of EO. I check the dipstick the level is about 1 cm above the xxx. Is that ok?

And I will be washing & polishing my bike on Sun. So normal wax for tank, fender & plastic chrome, and Chrome wax for the metal chrome right?

And how do you guys clean the rear wheel? Was thinking of using acetone but scared melt my tires. lol

i use tissue just wipe the rear rims and throw away tissue when done..

time taken ..you will not believe..

and hey dont forget to clean and lube your chains...this is one task nobody enjoys.....

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

i use tissue just wipe the rear rims and throw away tissue when done..

time taken ..you will not believe..

and hey dont forget to clean and lube your chains...this is one task nobody enjoys.....

uncle,

are you hinting me that i am going to spend my christmas brushing and cleaning my chain??? :weep:

lucky my mileage from last cleaning only 100km, condition still good and never see any much unwanted substances sticking to my chain. :thirsty:

Thanks for all the replies... Will try using tissue & Wd40 on the rims, and then drain some EO.

Chain wait until next servicing then do.

Merry Christmas everyone!

Live to Ride. Ride to Live

uncle,

are you hinting me that i am going to spend my christmas brushing and cleaning my chain??? :weep:

lucky my mileage from last cleaning only 100km, condition still good and never see any much unwanted substances sticking to my chain. :thirsty:

good for you..at least you know that it is a important maintenace program for the chains that need to be done...most just leave it to the workshop to be lubed with their free gifts of used eo..dont be conned by their free service.

well you will sooner or later have to do it...so make a date with your chain in the near future..

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

if the strain had been there for long, most likely that the petrol had penetrated into the paint coating, then it would be "hard" to make the strain gone completely.

if petrol spill did not penetrate to the paint coating, which means stubborn surface strain. and if you dont mind to have a faded and not so prominent strain, constantly apply more layer of waxing after every bike washing over some period of time to your satisfaction, but dont expect immediate result.

hope it helps....

otherwise, you can consider respray your entire fuel tank if you got budget and want to change your bike apearrance.

Thanks for advise, will try to wax it for a few times more and see how it goes.

I wonder if it would be cheaper to source for a scrap yard tank to replace than to respray. Anyone knows how much it cost to buy and install a tank from the local scrap yards?

Apr252011?authkey=Gv1sRgCNKqvfj-59bJuwE#5599549735787625394
uncle,

Thanks for all the replies... Will try using tissue & Wd40 on the rims, and then drain some EO.

Haha.. alter ways, you could install an EZZY Oiler from thread in garage sales.. His Oiler works wonders man.. i been using the oiler for almost 1 year plus already. save me the hassal to degrease my chain and Oil them up..

without this oiler, manual work takes up to 2hours just to do that...

SO get yours today lah.. save time and longer life span for your chain...

*i'm not advertising for anyone. Just a good product to share with you guys...*

I wonder if it would be cheaper to source for a scrap yard tank to replace than to respray. Anyone knows how much it cost to buy and install a tank from the local scrap yards?

just sent to bike shop and pay around $280 for a complete respray... Dun bother go yard to source and do it yourself.. just to save a little $$$ only... we'r not talking about few hundreds here. just a few bucks different

if me, first i would check the condition of the internal part of the tank then decide what to do. no point to spend so much money over some strain. try wax it few more layers and see the effect, if it start to fade and not so prominent, suggest live with it.

if its internal is bad, suggest to get a 2nd hand tank from scrap yard....idk the price so dont ask me, you can check with the scrap yards.

if you stay or work nearby tuas area, go try at 19 joo koon road, he got many phantom tanks hanging in his warehouse, also you must know how to negotiate the price with him.

the advantage of respray tank is that you can redesign and get cosmetic change to a new colour which you like. the cost should be ard $100-$200.

hope it helps....

good for you..at least you know that it is a important maintenace program for the chains that need to be done...most just leave it to the workshop to be lubed with their free gifts of used eo..dont be conned by their free service.

well you will sooner or later have to do it...so make a date with your chain in the near future..

cleaning and lubrication of chain are essential maintenance to all bikes and i have been taking care of it by myself since the day one :thirsty:

chain wait till next servicing?? what you mean??? renew or lube??

Hi Folks,

I am new in to this forum, and first of all I would like to thank you all for all the information you are sharing. It is really helpull!!

I have recentrly moved to Singapore, and still discovering how things work here..

I am buying a phantom bike through this forum market soon and I was wondering what would be the order of proceedings of the different requirements to acomplish:

- I have to ge my insurance before I buy the bike? (then how I am going to be able to know the bike data?)

- when I have to buy my ERP card?

- I also need any parking allowance in advance?

- I would like to buy also a FF helmet. Can you suggest me any shop where I can get one near the downtown?

How long would it take all this tasks to be acomplished? I mean, since I make a deal with the seller, how long would it take to make al the needed changes and updates?

2014- Honda Shadow 400

2013- Honda CB400S - Stolen at JB

2011- Honda Phantom - *** ON SALE ***

Hi Folks,

I am new in to this forum, and first of all I would like to thank you all for all the information you are sharing. It is really helpull!!

I have recentrly moved to Singapore, and still discovering how things work here..

Firstly before you read the rest below, have you converted your licence to Singapore licence?

I am buying a phantom bike through this forum market soon and I was wondering what would be the order of proceedings of the different requirements to acomplish:

- I have to ge my insurance before I buy the bike? (then how I am going to be able to know the bike data?)

You only need to know the licence plate number(Insurance company all have the records)

- when I have to buy my ERP card?

The ERP card you mentioned is know as Cash Card. Can be bought at any 7-11 stores, or petrol station.

- I also need any parking allowance in advance?

Once you have the bike transfered to your name, you can apply for season parking with your Nric or passport and with the bike log card at your HBD office.

- I would like to buy also a FF helmet. Can you suggest me any shop where I can get one near the downtown?

FF helmet can be bought in many places in downtown. Jalan Besar is famous for bikes accessries. Cheapest place is LAB IMO. Please search the forum for the address. Assuming you have just converted your foreign licence to Singapore Licence. It would be wise to get the P-plated sticker or tag while you are doing your helmet shopping. It is compulsory for riders under probation to display the stickers.

How long would it take all this tasks to be acomplished? I mean, since I make a deal with the seller, how long would it take to make al the needed changes and updates?

Basically only need 1day. Morning go and make insurance. Cash and carry on the spot. Next go to LTA with owner to do bike transfer. The bike is yours and you can ride it immediately. This is with assumption that you have already bought the helmet. After which, go to HDB office to buy season parking....Task completed.

And lastly....welcome to the family of Phantom Knights....we have many foriegners here so dont be shy..... We dont eat human...we sodomise them only...welcum....

I AM BACK!!!!!

Hi, thanks for the fast answer!

I am looking forward to join the Phantom Knights family.

About my driving license, I have found that I can ride the bike during a year since I arrived to Singapore. Is this correct?

http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/driving_in_singapore/information_drivinglicence_conversion.htm

And thanks for the P-plated sticker advise, what I think it is going to be very useful!

2014- Honda Shadow 400

2013- Honda CB400S - Stolen at JB

2011- Honda Phantom - *** ON SALE ***

chain wait till next servicing?? what you mean??? renew or lube??

lube... Wanna sync it with my servicing interval. Today I spent the whole afternoon from 1 - 7pm washing, polishing & waxing my Phantom. If lube chain also 1 whole day gone liao.

I got really jialat rust in some places... metal brush and wd40 next weekend.

The end of my rider footpeg is totally rusted. I spammed turtle polish on it & left it there. Tomorrow see got effect anot lol

lube... Wanna sync it with my servicing interval. Today I spent the whole afternoon from 1 - 7pm washing, polishing & waxing my Phantom. If lube chain also 1 whole day gone liao.

The end of my rider footpeg is totally rusted. I spammed turtle polish on it & left it there. Tomorrow see got effect anot lol

lubing chain willl never take a day... at most a few minutes...

and don't sync it with your servicing interval, unless you service your bike every 500km :cheeky:

maker's recommendation to lube ta200 chain is at every 1000km, there is no right or wrong way to determine the lubing at which milage. it all depends on you, you see here in singapore its always raining, so most of the bikers lube the chain at interval of 300-500km subject to road and weather conditions, and your chain condition.

coat wax polish on rusted area? errmmm....i feel wd40 is our best friend to remove rust and not wax polish.

6 hours to wash, wax, polish seems too much time....if this is your first time, then its ok lah, shows that you check thoroughly the surface condition of your bike, then the subsequent washing will be much shorter and easier cause you have know and have prioritise which part require you to pay more attention to.

i remembered i took around 4-5hrs for my first washing/cleaning for that old and dirty bike of mine, subsequently the process is very much faster, less than 1 hour :)

as mention on title.. how many KM full tank can yr bike go? riding style? high way or city?

02- 03 - Nsr sp 150

03- 04 - Cbr 400

03- 05- YzF R1

04- 06 - Wave R

06- 06- YZF R1

06- 07 - lancer

07- 08 - civic ,08- 09 - Honda Fit,09- 09 - Spark 135

09- 10 - SPEC 2

10 - 11 - CIVIC , 11 - ?? - HayaBuSa

http://r9.fodey.com/2066/ef9c8a3140714894a5ef47796aa9b9aa.0.gifhttp://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f5/teamghoul/21052006.jpg

How safe is it for phantom to be parked at shopping mall?

I dont think it is as "hot" as S4 or class 2 bikes right??

I wanna go scout alone around jb area for food before actually bringing my gf in.. :|

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)

How safe is it for phantom to be parked at shopping mall?

I dont think it is as "hot" as S4 or class 2 bikes right??

I wanna go scout alone around jb area for food before actually bringing my gf in.. :|

day time should be okay bah, which shopping mall you intending to park? One place i do normally go (jb i usually drive) its by tuas side, gelang patah there got one chinese restaurant in the residential area , and down a bit got bukit indah (Jusco + Shopping) so its kind of killing two birds with one stone.... If go by woodlands , the only food that i enjoy is during night time, go to the sentosa area eat lok lok...

as mention on title.. how many KM full tank can yr bike go? riding style? high way or city?

hello my phantom can go about 320 before hitting reserve, in my case meaning the orange fuel indicator light... Riding mainly is 75% high way 25% city.

Mainly cruising around 90-100km/h, only rarely will push to 110..so calculate, should be agar agar 1l 32km... not awesome, but neither is it bad since i do whack the throttle quite a bit

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

Actually, it depends on the riding style of the rider. I could managed the FC of my 1st phantom at about 38~39km/litre which gives me about 330km before reserve. I keep the cruising speed between 80~90km/h. BTW, I ever hit 400km before topping up 10.5 litres of fuel.

Okay. but how do you prop up the bike? Pushing it back & forth is so troublesome... I'm lazy haha.

maker's recommendation to lube ta200 chain is at every 1000km, there is no right or wrong way to determine the lubing at which milage. it all depends on you, you see here in singapore its always raining, so most of the bikers lube the chain at interval of 300-500km subject to road and weather conditions, and your chain condition.

coat wax polish on rusted area? errmmm....i feel wd40 is our best friend to remove rust and not wax polish.

6 hours to wash, wax, polish seems too much time....if this is your first time, then its ok lah, shows that you check thoroughly the surface condition of your bike, then the subsequent washing will be much shorter and easier cause you have know and have prioritise which part require you to pay more attention to.

i remembered i took around 4-5hrs for my first washing/cleaning for that old and dirty bike of mine, subsequently the process is very much faster, less than 1 hour :)

Ya the previous owner never wash the bike for very long so everywhere also dirty. Very obvious cuz my bike is white lol.

Edited by xavez

And lastly....welcome to the family of Phantom Knights....we have many foriegners here so dont be shy..... We dont eat human...we sodomise them only...welcum....

heng i not foreigner :cheeky:

ermmm.....sounds like something going on......fyi, i dont add additive to improve fuel consumption because ta200 is already a cost saving bike in aspect of maintenance and fc, so far very satifised with my fc 330-360km at 9.2L depending on riding style as its vary.