Yeah, get me along if you are damming, it's just 5 mins from me. Haha! Now my bike's back, and Simon's one on a holiday now. haha

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

• Replies 452

  scubasimon said:
@coolthought, JackOhJack: i am fine. unfortunately, my bike is not :( it is now in the workshop and will be there for 2 weeks as some major parts need to be replaced. how this came to be is a true mystery given the stories told to my by different parties. but sticking to the facts tell a very different tale. for now, lets just say it is a major operation...and i will write more about it when everything is clarified.

thanks for your concern :) made my day!

do provide us with the details the next time yeah. :thumb:

Magg said:
Hello. Was recommended to this thread by a fellow forum-er. I enjoy taking photographs too, but I'm don't have a DSLR and I'm not a pro. So currently using my humble Panasonic LX3 to take photographs.

BTW I'm not a rider (or rather, not yet because no $ to buy bike haha) but a pillion. Nonetheless, I still make myself useful by taking shots (on the bike) while my bf and I travel to different places.

Here are some shots:

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn46/gracepans/SBF/P1040613.jpg

Taken along the NSHW while returning from a Port Dickson trip

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn46/gracepans/SBF/P1070447.jpg

Travelling to Cameron Highlands at 1+ am.

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn46/gracepans/SBF/P1070537.jpg

Reached one of the rest stops at 6+ am. Watched the sun lit up the whole sky

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn46/gracepans/SBF/P1070567.jpg

A shot taken of my friends while I was on the bike as a pillion.

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn46/gracepans/SBF/P1070767.jpg

Beautiful backdrop of an impending sunset in Cameron Highlands. Taken from the balcony of my hotel room

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn46/gracepans/SBF/P1070821.jpg

Leaving Cameron Highlands. Background is the hotel that we were staying in

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn46/gracepans/SBF/P1070872.jpg

One of the highest point of Cameron Highlands while we were trekking Mount Brinchang. Taken by my bf

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn46/gracepans/SBF/P1070979.jpg

A shot of my friends marking the exit back to Johor Bahru. Love the sunset.

Just my humble shots. :)

nice shots! :lovestruck:

nice bike! :lovestruck:

Hmm...I should post a few photos to keep the thread alive too haha. All these are taken from Magg's camera too.

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/5332_102225433124188_10000010194709.jpg

On the way to cameron.

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/5332_102225406457524_10000010194709.jpg

Sunrise at Rawang petrol station.

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/5332_102227246457340_10000010194709.jpg

My personal favourite, taken at the foot of Mount Brinchang.

Edited by thenation
http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg
  thenation said:
Hmm...I should post a few photos to keep the thread alive too haha. All these are taken from Magg's camera too.

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/5332_102225433124188_10000010194709.jpg

On the way to cameron.

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/5332_102225406457524_10000010194709.jpg

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/5332_102227246457340_10000010194709.jpg

:lol: yeah I like those shots too. Damnit. Nostalgia~

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing." Helen Keller

www.kruzer.sg

Haha, the ringleader's bike is discharging from ICU soon, gonna be lively again.

  shunoski said:
Haha, the ringleader's bike is discharging from ICU soon, gonna be lively again.

Soon? ... that's good news :cheers:, we are all longing for the next ride with the leader:angel:

Yeah, looking forward to meet up and ride again. Haven't done much on my new bike.

  thenation said:

On the way to cameron.

Magg said:
:lol: yeah I like those shots too. Damnit. Nostalgia~

nice pics! :thumb:

shunoski said:

:lol: ringleader quite inappropriate for simon eh. :lol:

im drowning over here! :( never ending deadlines... :faint:

Hiya folks! My bike is back and now has a name :) I've decided to name him Marley :) Did you watch the movie Marley & Me? I took him out for a spin yesterday evening and night just to make sure things are OK. With the new piston and block and gaskets the engine compressions are A LOT stronger. So much that my battery could not cope. So I had to take the bike out to charge it. Anyway, look out for new rides coming up real soon...as soon as I get over this weekend :)

My Mito is also being worked on in the shop. Think the problem has been isolated to the headlights being too much of a current draw. I'll have him back in a few days after some extra observations on the battery performance.

Okidoki...watch out for rides folks!!!

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
  thenation said:

On the way to cameron.

wa, very well done! i think a DSLR camera will suit you and your photography skills great, Grace. you guys spent how many days on cameron highlands?

scubasimon said:
Hiya folks! My bike is back and now has a name :) I've decided to name him Marley :) Did you watch the movie Marley & Me? I took him out for a spin yesterday evening and night just to make sure things are OK. With the new piston and block and gaskets the engine compressions are A LOT stronger. So much that my battery could not cope. So I had to take the bike out to charge it. Anyway, look out for new rides coming up real soon...as soon as I get over this weekend :)

My Mito is also being worked on in the shop. Think the problem has been isolated to the headlights being too much of a current draw. I'll have him back in a few days after some extra observations on the battery performance.

Okidoki...watch out for rides folks!!!

whoa, Simon, i didnt expect the operation on your TW200 to be such a major one. an complete block overhaul? gotta take xtra care to run in the engine properly. i guess you have to keep to 70kmh and below for 50k mileage?

so looking forward in riding with you and the rest.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

yeah, next ride will have story to tell about how my bike got to where it is...i'm riding at 60kph as usual lah. no diff for rides because i ride slow anyway :)

His engine is a long story, not about running-in.. haha. Join the rides in future if you wanna kaypoh about his TW ICU stay. :cheeky:

  ahcaibiker said:
wa, very well done! i think a DSLR camera will suit you and your photography skills great, Grace. you guys spent how many days on cameron highlands?

whoa, Simon, i didnt expect the operation on your TW200 to be such a major one. an complete block overhaul? gotta take xtra care to run in the engine properly. i guess you have to keep to 70kmh and below for 50k mileage?

so looking forward in riding with you and the rest.

HAHA we spent 2 days and 1 night on Cameron Highlands :lol:

Well, I don't mind a DSLR as long as I have enough cash to buy heh heh. But actually for trips, I feel that DSLR will be a bit hard to handle especially when you've gotta take pictures on the bike while the rider is going at at 120km/h. So I think a "good" point and shoot camera should be used for mobility and stuff.

HAHA just P.O.V. .. And that is why I'm still sticking around my LX3 :D

www.kruzer.sg

  Magg said:
HAHA we spent 2 days and 1 night on Cameron Highlands :lol:

Well, I don't mind a DSLR as long as I have enough cash to buy heh heh. But actually for trips, I feel that DSLR will be a bit hard to handle especially when you've gotta take pictures on the bike while the rider is going at at 120km/h. So I think a "good" point and shoot camera should be used for mobility and stuff.

HAHA just P.O.V. .. And that is why I'm still sticking around my LX3 :D

how about a GF1? :x

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)

from my own experience, when taking pictures from a moving vehicle, the most important thing is focusing and shutter speed. there isn't a compact camera in the world that can match the focusing speed of a good dslr. even when the vehicle is moving at a relatively slow speed, it is important to be able to attain focus quickly and shoot. i found this to be very important when shooting pictures of roadside scenes while in/on the vehicle (whether it is a car or a bike).

alternatively, use a wide angle lens and manual focus by hyperfocal distance so you can get around it. not sure if your LX3 has this capability but it is VERY helpful for me when doing fast shoots in low light :)

  scubasimon said:
from my own experience, when taking pictures from a moving vehicle, the most important thing is focusing and shutter speed. there isn't a compact camera in the world that can match the focusing speed of a good dslr. even when the vehicle is moving at a relatively slow speed, it is important to be able to attain focus quickly and shoot. i found this to be very important when shooting pictures of roadside scenes while in/on the vehicle (whether it is a car or a bike).

alternatively, use a wide angle lens and manual focus by hyperfocal distance so you can get around it. not sure if your LX3 has this capability but it is VERY helpful for me when doing fast shoots in low light :)

Yes I agree with you :thumb:

For my LX3, there is already in built Wide Angle Lens and surprisingly for its "Intelligent Auto" function, it is able to capture moving objects (e.g. bikes travelling at 100km/h or more), with the subject being focused and the background having motion blur. This is of course done in broad daylight :)

Not sure if this is a good example but here's one I took while travelling to Cameron Highlands. Bike was travelling at least 110km/h

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs124.snc1/5332_102225513124180_100000101947095_67346_3190054_n.jpg

When it comes to Night Photography with Moving Objects, I use Shutter Priority to get around it. As compared to a DSLR, it definitely is not comparable to a DSLR. But even so, I think it is presentable. HAHA :p

Here's an example of a bike squeezing between car while traveling to Pasir Putith for Seafood Dinner:

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v5203/5/32/100000101947095/n100000101947095_17256_5630284.jpg

Well as you can see, not the most stunning shots you can have but I feel that for Photography especially on the bike, safety is more important than anything else. That is why I think that a LX3 will suffice for trips even for normal riding because you can control / hold the camera with one hand while the other hand is grabbing onto the rider's waist. Because the slightest jerk or pick up in speed can throw a pillion of balance and causing unnecessary movement. (That's in my experience)

That said, it is probably just my own personal P.O.V because there might be some really pro photgraphers cum pillions who can handle a DSLR with either one hand or with both hands. HAHA for me, I personally have to attain that sort of level yet.

Nonetheless, I would definitely agree that a DSLR will surely and truly take much better shots than a LX3. But until I have the money to buy and "maintain" one, I think I'll stick to my LX3 for some time :lol:

www.kruzer.sg

  lycan said:
how about a GF1? :x

HAHA I already have a LX3. No money to get a GF1? :lol:

Anyway not sure how accurate the review between a LX3 and a GF1 is, but I think this website shows the difference and presents a good comparison.

IF I get a GF1, I might as well get a lower end DSLR? HAHA

www.kruzer.sg

@Magg: I probably didn't explain it well. When you take a picture of a vehicle that is traveling about the same speed as you are, focusing isn't that tough because your relative speed difference is small. To the camera, the subject is almost not moving within the frame. However, when you are moving and your subject isn't (e.g. little kids walking at the side of the road, a farmer farming out in the fields, a group of people around a road-side stall etc), you will need much faster focusing speed.

The other thing to point out is speed in shooting, adjusting settings, zooming etc. With a P&S camera, you need to fiddle with lots of buttons and can miss the moment more easily. With a DSLR, you have dedicated buttons for most of the key functions and dials are quick to set, plus zooming is a short twist of the lens barrel. Over time, these limitations will surface...but for most intents and purposes, a P&S is way good enough for photography :)

Since you mentioned about holding a camera securely, I thought I'd point out that it is a lot easier for me to hold a DSLR than it is for a P&S because of the contours of the camera. I have developed a way to handle the camera with one hand when I swing from one side to the other. I think you will find a way with any camera, over time, to be quick enough at it to make it work.

enough talk from me...look forward to more pictures from you...

...and from everyone else too!

  scubasimon said:
@Magg: I probably didn't explain it well. When you take a picture of a vehicle that is traveling about the same speed as you are, focusing isn't that tough because your relative speed difference is small. To the camera, the subject is almost not moving within the frame. However, when you are moving and your subject isn't (e.g. little kids walking at the side of the road, a farmer farming out in the fields, a group of people around a road-side stall etc), you will need much faster focusing speed.

The other thing to point out is speed in shooting, adjusting settings, zooming etc. With a P&S camera, you need to fiddle with lots of buttons and can miss the moment more easily. With a DSLR, you have dedicated buttons for most of the key functions and dials are quick to set, plus zooming is a short twist of the lens barrel. Over time, these limitations will surface...but for most intents and purposes, a P&S is way good enough for photography :)

Since you mentioned about holding a camera securely, I thought I'd point out that it is a lot easier for me to hold a DSLR than it is for a P&S because of the contours of the camera. I have developed a way to handle the camera with one hand when I swing from one side to the other. I think you will find a way with any camera, over time, to be quick enough at it to make it work.

enough talk from me...look forward to more pictures from you...

...and from everyone else too!

HAHA now that you mentioned it. I get your drift. Unfortunately, the only photos of still objects (while i am on the bike) are these, which are uploaded on my Facebook.

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v5203/5/32/100000101947095/n100000101947095_19275_881069.jpg

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v5203/5/32/100000101947095/n100000101947095_19276_3451792.jpg

Probably there are other photos in my macbook. HAHA got to find them later. :p

www.kruzer.sg

gf1 still relatively small compared to a entry level dslr..

285g vs 4XXg

and i think iso 1600 will come in handy if you wanna take picture at night..

i might be wrong though.

still new in taking pictures. :/

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)

simon.... finally breath again...errr.... I mean your bike....:cheeky:

really detail pointers on taking pics on the move...:thumb::thumb::thumb:

lycan...and magg...have you guys taken a look into the ep1 as well....?

I have seen one in action....pic quality is almost as good as a similarly priced dslr...plus there are LOTS and LOTS of features that might make a seasoned photographer's eyes go green.... certainly most useful if you using it for a photographic competition that does not allow any editing.

PS. btw the wide angle shot of the ep1 is really impressive too.

http://weather.nea.gov.sg/ForecastToday.aspx

finally book out liao ah? haha... been busy these two weeks for me, hadn't been home much. My bike resting in carpark for way too long.... I'm away this sat to monday, another weekend gone.