• 11 months later...
  • Replies 99

I've decided to buy a brand new Vespa, an LX150, and I'm hoping to be able to choose my color and purchase it together with a matching body color Vespa topbox (with back rest).

Would you know which dealership would have the most color options and which ones I could purchase the said top box with? (would like to purchase together to ensure a perfect color match and to save on installation costs if I were to purchase later on)

And in the situation that I'd want a specific color, would I have to wait? How does the process of ordering a new vespa go, and how long are the wait times, if any?

Many thanks in advance for your advice.

ADH brings in Vespa. Showroom opens on weekday 9am-530pm only.

Called to enquire LX too....but kind disappointing answers (tone) to my enquiries.

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f303/edwinling/2dvk46u.gif

Went around to look for new Vespa other than ADH since they are open on weekday only.

Went from Bukit Merah to Tampines to Ubi...no one carries Vespa. Any idea where to view on weekends?

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f303/edwinling/2dvk46u.gif

U wun haf much luck on weekends, n hardly any shops haf brand new vespas in stock. Jus go to any bikeshops, tell them the colors u want, n they will all get it from ADH.

U dont haf to deal w ADH except for first few servicing for warranty, or u wanna pay in full cash.

Having all said, PM Brembo for any Vespa stuffs, he's e piaggio guy on this forum.

Or, I think I might haf seen 1 or 2 vespa at asphoon toh guan

I initially felt the same way until I got to talk to John at ADH. He's really helpful, try to get in touch with him.

As for dealers that sell brand new vespa's, there's a list on the vespa wiki, but I felt that the AS Phoon guys were most professional so I ended up just talking to them for the most part. Coco at AS Phoon Changi was very helpful too.

hope this helps!

I am in the process of getting my class 2B license after that I want to get a scooter as my 1st bike and I have some questions. I have very few biker frens and they all dun ride scooters so I donno if I ask them, they can provide with the right answers.

Reason for me to choose the scooter bcos of it's very relaxed appearance and I'm not a speed junkie anyway so I really like how the "typical" scooter [Vespa scooters] looks like. I always have this dream of riding the scooter then look on the guy beside me and saying Chao~ (with an italian accent) LOL!

For starters, issit even "ok" for me to get a scooter as due to my size and weight. I'm on the very heavy side, 120KG and 1.8m tall so I'm scared got some power issues with getting a scooter. I will be using the scooter to commute to and from work. I work in Boon Lay area but I stay in Yishun. May change to CBD area soon as my company planning to change office.

Also, what are good starter scooters that u guys can recommend? If can, I want to go for a Vespa but I've seen some Honda and Yamaha scooters which look ok also but I'm quite a computer newbie so I donno where to go online to see all the available scooters under 200cc.

Any advice will be much appreciated as I am really clueless about getting a bike ($$ wise, etc etc)

In my opinion Vespa GT200 is a good option for you. Stylish and timeless and most shops know how to service. Good power in your case, consumption I'm not sure, maybe 24-28km/l. There is no more GT200 I think, only 2nd hand ones. Auto are prefered but manual are over price but reliable. Look around in this forum to find the right scoot. Scooter are generally more strict with service due to belts and rollers as it can means un timely break down if you don't stick to correct service interval.

Scooter are very fast in the sense you dont have to change gear quickly if you are not in the mood. Scooter no mood full throttle can go very fast already if you know what I mean.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/52258879.jpg

Edited by parotae

but , due to you're weight, no offence, it'll be equals to carrying a pillion..and of cause you would like to upgrade to class 2a because you'll soon get sick of the speed and torque avaliable..you'll find you that sometimes you need more power to get out of those around you, not due to fun but safety..you'll slowly forget the clutch friction point..you might wish to get a kup kia, those wave spark maybe clutchess..so at least can can remember how and when to upshift or down shift..but of cause they are more expensive and now days kups are modded like some rockets so it's hard to get a reliable one..remember, after getting your license, find a motor shop and stick to it, of cause a reliable one..remember to get their name card and if they have towing service, it'll be better..'touchwood'..in case, you get into a mini accident, or a self skid that makes you're bike not being able to power up, you won't panic..read up more on engine oil and spark plug changes..road conditions..and many..

once again, remember that you would wanna upgrade to 2a..you've gotta get a way to master your clutch..hope you pass your tp soon and select a bike slowly..:)

I ride 11hp scooter skipper 150cc for 9 years. Weekend always 2 up. Me + pillion 160kg + scooter 115kg.

Yes, no power versus pockets lol but from stand still to 60km/h good enough to leave most car slightly behind to be comfortable. I live with it, must adapt riding habits and style and lots of patience.

GT200 about 21hp should be good enough.

All preference. See what kind you like. I have friends that will never touch a scooter as they find them un attractive and boring. Some uncle even tell me scooter are for old man not young man like me ha ha.

Edited by parotae

sorry to interupt..if for your specs i.e weight and height to be exact; u can consider taiwan scoot like GTS200i EVO.

As its more spacious for yr height 1.8m tall, powerful enough for yr weight and oh, lots of storage space below the seat too :thumb:

http://i39.tinypic.com/1z23p92.jpg

http://www3.picturepush.com/photo/a/14045926/640/14045926.jpg
I ride 11hp scooter skipper 150cc for 9 years. Weekend always 2 up. Me + pillion 160kg + scooter 115kg.

Yes, no power versus pockets lol but from stand still to 60km/h good enough to leave most car slightly behind to be comfortable. I live with it, must adapt riding habits and style and lots of patience.

GT200 about 21hp should be good enough.

All preference. See what kind you like. I have friends that will never touch a scooter as they find them un attractive and boring. Some uncle even tell me scooter are for old man not young man like me ha ha.

lol..scoot now more stylish for young kids like us..lol :thumb:

maybe first bike shouldnt get scooter.......

How come?

My first, 2nd and 3rd bike all scooter ha ha.

Should have no problems with geared bike.

No class 2 though.

Looking at the TS introduction, and wanting to speak in fake italian accent, haha, I think you can just go ahead and get what you want, which is vespa to satisfied your desire.

The vespa gt200 is a actually quite a fast bike, and being carb, it's quite a low maintenance and trouble free bike compared to the newer fuel injected model.

Sadly, they are out of production, and are sold off rather fast as they are quite high in demand.

You can easily accelerate to 110kmh (70+kg, + 45kg Pillion).

Current class 2b vespa are around 150cc only, and accelerate starts to slow down when you hit 80km/h. Could be tough on slopes too.

However, if you want to consider other brands/types, you always will have maxi scooter like the Burgman, X9, GTS, etc. Then smaller, but look vespa-ish, will be the Kymco People 150, the Honda SH150, etc..

If you want to consider take higher class license in the future, riding an auto bike will be slightly inconvenient, as you will take a little while to get use to not throwing clutch when taking the license test. :)

thanks for the response. Anyways what's 11hp / 21 hp?

I dun like maxi scooters sia. They look ugly to me but I will look into the honda and the Kymco. The Kymco also looks nice sia.

I'm in my 20s but I behave quite uncle so if ppl say scooters are for uncle, I dun care liao LOL

hp=horse power

As in the power which the engine is able to produce.

The more the better. Horse power are also directly affected by weight.

Hence power to weight ration. If you can get more power to weight then the scooter is can pick up faster. Imagine a scooter with a weight of 100kg that has a horse power of 11hp and another scooter of the same weight but at 21hp which do you think will have a better power to weight ratio? Something like that.

Then comes the question Torque...

Don't know how to explain ha ha

hp=horse power

As in the power which the engine is able to produce.

The more the better. Horse power are also directly affected by weight.

Hence power to weight ration. If you can get more power to weight then the scooter is can pick up faster. Imagine a scooter with a weight of 100kg that has a horse power of 11hp and another scooter of the same weight but at 21hp which do you think will have a better power to weight ratio? Something like that.

Then comes the question Torque...

Don't know how to explain ha ha

lol..torque very hard to explain..

but can experiment: u ride on a slope; if your bike like want to die; no power like dat den the torque is low, if your bike like want to fly den its torque very high (i.e good place to try is from suntec to ECP Changi Airport; the Benjamin S bridge entrance)

so conclusion is: HP is for stationary and moving off and TORQUE is for during riding; for overtaking and going up slope..

Edited by etkach3

Follow me!

I'm 19 this year, and am riding a Kymco DownTown 125i [maxi-scooter].

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

I am slightly taller and weigh about 85kgs.

Have owned Sym Joyride, Sym GtS200, Adiva Benelli 150, Vespa Excel 150, Piaggio Liberty 200, Et8 150 & X9 200.

If you want power with a maxi scooter, I suggest getting a good X9. 21HP and very comfy.

However be prepared for maintenance when it arises.

If you want power and low maintenance, maybe get an Vespa Excel 150 or PX. Riding alone okay, bit cramp with pillion.

If you want good FC, then get a Sym Joyride or Gts200. Maintenance also a little cheaper.

If you don't bother and just like whatever bike or scoot, then just buy it and ride with a huge grin on your face. That's what I do.