Hi all guys n gals,

I passed my 2a in march n seriously looking for S4 bikes. But my aim is to take a Yamaha Fz6 or Suz gsr 600 or honda hornet once i pass class2. I wil be able to pass my class2 next year July. Some of my frnds say u have to feel the class 2a bikes for a year or more jump to class 2. I dun waste my money by buying a class 2a bike as wil buy my 600cc one once i pass my class2.

Share ur views and suggestions regarding this matter. Please guide me which bike is best in class 2 oso. I need some space to put my rain coat. i dun wan put any box. I c the r6 hardly got any space under the seat.

July 07 - Oct 09 - Honda NSR RR

Oct 09 - >> Honda Super4 Spec2

• Replies 20

got xtra $$ then get 2a.. who noes, tis 2a experience might save ur life next time?

squeeze till dry then can buy cls 2, then u better save up the $$...

http://forum.geizhals.at/files/2455/Vfr_logo.jpg
Hi all guys n gals,

I passed my 2a in march n seriously looking for S4 bikes. But my aim is to take a Yamaha Fz6 or Suz gsr 600 or honda hornet once i pass class2. I wil be able to pass my class2 next year July. Some of my frnds say u have to feel the class 2a bikes for a year or more jump to class 2. I dun waste my money by buying a class 2a bike as wil buy my 600cc one once i pass my class2.

Share ur views and suggestions regarding this matter. Please guide me which bike is best in class 2 oso. I need some space to put my rain coat. i dun wan put any box. I c the r6 hardly got any space under the seat.

Honda FAN buy HONDA LAR!!!! hahaha!!!

r u working fulltime ?? if yes, then just get a s4 to haf that experince first. coz big bike and small bike quite differnet.

if u just get ur lics only, i suggest u save ur $$ first and dont think so far.. bike, insurance, rd tax n petrol are killers for class2 bike in case u didnt noe...

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

Honda FAN buy HONDA LAR!!!! hahaha!!!

r u working fulltime ?? if yes, then just get a s4 to haf that experince first. coz big bike and small bike quite differnet.

if u just get ur lics only, i suggest u save ur $$ first and dont think so far.. bike, insurance, rd tax n petrol are killers for class2 bike in case u didnt noe...

Hi Phantom,

Yea I working full time. One week i travel around 160-180km jus for my work only. how much is insurance and road tax for s4 spec 3 for age 26 yrs. Do u noe the interest at bike shops. I check with one near my hse, they say is 7%.Is that too much?:(

Hi all guys n gals,

your nick is self explanatory already what. why looking at yamaha or suzuki? :lol:

Hi Phantom,

Yea I working full time. One week i travel around 160-180km jus for my work only. how much is insurance and road tax for s4 spec 3 for age 26 yrs. Do u noe the interest at bike shops. I check with one near my hse, they say is 7%.Is that too much?:(

you mean you intend to buy a spec3, ride a year and then change to class2 next year again? i think if you are gonna upgrade again next year, just get a version s or something of the similiar value (xjr, suzuki impulse etc). buy cheap, sell cheap.

肥仔七åƒå·

what if i buy a spec 1 or vers and modify the tails to spec3. do any body noe abt the shop doing this modification?

your nick is self explanatory already what. why looking at yamaha or suzuki? :lol:

you mean you intend to buy a spec3, ride a year and then change to class2 next year again? i think if you are gonna upgrade again next year, just get a version s or something of the similiar value (xjr, suzuki impulse etc). buy cheap, sell cheap.

Hey stanco,

yes, May be i jus buy a vers or spec1 and use it for a year or more and change to class2. do u noe the normal interest rate at the bike shops.

what if i buy a spec 1 or vers and modify the tails to spec3. do any body noe abt the shop doing this modification?

i dont ride a super 4 so i not v sure... but i think motorworld, unique, ah boy all should have. if not, go inside the super4 sub forum and ask.

Hey stanco,

yes, May be i jus buy a vers or spec1 and use it for a year or more and change to class2. do u noe the normal interest rate at the bike shops.

sorry but i also got no idea about this. but diff bike shop should diff their interest rate 1.

肥仔七åƒå·

Dont waste money getting class 2A bike..just wait for Class 2 and in the mean time save up for your Class 2 bike..

I am still riding my 2b bike after getting my class 2, coz want to get an Fz6...

BMW R1200GS Adventure 2012 'Alpine White' FBG3465L

Hey stanco,

Hi Honda fan

answering to your question above about interest rates, most bike shops offer ard 7-8% a few mths back when i was scouting ard for a 2nd hand bike. For a 1st hand bike, the rate may be lower.

this question has been asked many times in the forum. I was asking this question too a few months back.

To upgrade or not? There is no right or wrong answer. It all depends on you.

For me, i was riding a phantom 150 after i getting my 2b licence. My main aim then was to maintain(extend COE, change all the worn out parts etc etc)the bike till getting my

cl2.

But that didnt materialize. A few before the COE died, the bike died on me first. The piston seized. To change block and piston would cost me ard $300++ as quoted by my regular bike shop mechanic. And if i decide to change block and piston, there is still the COE pending which was ard $900++ then. So to top it all of, I would have to spend nearly $1.2K on repairing the bike alone.

By then I already manage to secure my cl2a. Went around looking for a cl2 bike eg S4, gsr, drz. In the end grabbed a s4 ver s for around $4K.

Why?

It was within my budget thats why! Why spend $4k over the $1.2K for the repairs? Well my reasoning is simple. I always wanted to ride a S4 and get the feeling of a bigger bike. Second reason is because its cheap(well not that cheap, i could have gotten a cheaper ver S but the condition was :cry: and i dont know much about bikes so if i decide to overhaul it at a shop confirm kena carrot...haha).

You can see from the replies above that there are a also lot of riders who decide to jump to a cl2 bike from a cl2b bike.

As for me and Im sure most riders as well, after gettting your cl2, there is always the urge to upgrade to a cl2 bike. And im sure thats the main aim of most riders if they can afford it. But for now, i feel that a s4 is a nice and powerful enough ride in singapore.

so there you go. Thats my story. Kind of lengthy but i hope it helps in your decision making.

It aint me officer...The bike is POSSESSED!!:lol:

well... that's about 500$ cost which you can save for class 2 bike..

ur friends are suggesting to get the 2A bike power but not to spend money on 2A bike..

i changed to super4 once i passed 2A, but minimized the cost and got spec1.. ride stock.. sold 1 year later...not much $$ lost compare to spec3.

and one more thing is about installment and interest rate are a killer for 2nd hand bike...

so i got what i can afford without any loan... and no need to worry when you want to sell it of.

so.. find cheap and good bike... ride for 1 year.. and get ur dream bike...

I would suggest taking the S4. Then clear your cls 2. Then think about what you want to ride.

Version S should be nice, though I have no idea how the condition they are now. My friend's Ver S get's trashed around pretty much but still works nice.

It will more or less help you with the handling of the power that's is not found in 2B bikes.

aiyo y nid to change the tail of CB400 Hyper VTEC till VTEC SPEC3?

might as well get a older SPEC3? Beside Hyper VTEC rear is nice too.

Hi Honda fan

answering to your question above about interest rates, most bike shops offer ard 7-8% a few mths back when i was scouting ard for a 2nd hand bike. For a 1st hand bike, the rate may be lower.

this question has been asked many times in the forum. I was asking this question too a few months back.

To upgrade or not? There is no right or wrong answer. It all depends on you.

For me, i was riding a phantom 150 after i getting my 2b licence. My main aim then was to maintain(extend COE, change all the worn out parts etc etc)the bike till getting my

cl2.

But that didnt materialize. A few before the COE died, the bike died on me first. The piston seized. To change block and piston would cost me ard $300++ as quoted by my regular bike shop mechanic. And if i decide to change block and piston, there is still the COE pending which was ard $900++ then. So to top it all of, I would have to spend nearly $1.2K on repairing the bike alone.

By then I already manage to secure my cl2a. Went around looking for a cl2 bike eg S4, gsr, drz. In the end grabbed a s4 ver s for around $4K.

Why?

It was within my budget thats why! Why spend $4k over the $1.2K for the repairs? Well my reasoning is simple. I always wanted to ride a S4 and get the feeling of a bigger bike. Second reason is because its cheap(well not that cheap, i could have gotten a cheaper ver S but the condition was :cry: and i dont know much about bikes so if i decide to overhaul it at a shop confirm kena carrot...haha).

You can see from the replies above that there are a also lot of riders who decide to jump to a cl2 bike from a cl2b bike.

As for me and Im sure most riders as well, after gettting your cl2, there is always the urge to upgrade to a cl2 bike. And im sure thats the main aim of most riders if they can afford it. But for now, i feel that a s4 is a nice and powerful enough ride in singapore.

so there you go. Thats my story. Kind of lengthy but i hope it helps in your decision making.

Hi gearone,

thx for ur long story. I am also thinking the same thing what u have thought of. My nsr still cn last for another 1 year w/o any major repairs. But the power is getting lower now a days. I also want to feel the cls2a bike's power. So i am deciding to take a S4 vtec2. Hope it will give me a new experience. :).

I bought a 2nd hand S4 Vtec2, Need to collect it by this week. Thx for ur comments. really appreciate that.

Cool, so you gonna embark on a wonderful 2A journey... this SPEC2 should help when you gonna trade in for your future CLS2 bike.

Peace and ride safely!!!

I collected my bike this afternoon. Rode it when i came back from my work. wow!!!what a machine. very smooth throttle and good pick up. much much better than the nsr. good breaking and nice sound. but the engine will become hot after riding for 20 mins n i think its normal as i experienced the same at bbdc. hope i can maintain my new baby in this condition forever..