Mavizen introduces 130mph TTX02 electric racebike

http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/2946/mavizenttx02.jpg

TTX02 sportbike on display in the Specialty Equipment

Market Association (SEMA) auto show in Las Vegas.

Mavizen has released its TTX02 electric motorcycle at the SEMA Show in Las Vegas. Well, if you listen to Azhar Hussain, TTXGP founder and the entrepreneur behind this racebike, the TTX02 is a "laptop on wheels." How so? For starters, each machine is fitted with an dash-mounted computer that runs on Linux, comes with its own dedicated IP address, on-board web server and connectivity to wireless networks. How's that for controlling engine metrics and fuel/air ratio with a computer connected to it via WiFi and on the fly at the pits? Slick!

While all of that consumer electronics gadgetry is cool, it's the platform of the TTX02 that interests us the most. As rumored, it definitely appears that the TTX02 is based on the chassis of KTM's highly acclaimed RC8 superbike, which means it's a proven platform that's capable of solid handling and high speeds... good thing, as it's reportedly capable of hitting 130 miles per hour (200km/h).

Inside this bike, two Agni 95 electric motors push out a total of nearly 100 peak horsepower along with what's surely an admirable torque figure that peaks right off the bat at just about zero RPM.

Three lithium ion battery packs will be made available with up to 11 kWh of power, which may be a drawback for some. With power comes how much juice to keep it there; this bike has a mileage of 60km before you need to plug it back in to charge it up.

Pricing is not yet announced, but Hussain suggests a competitive machine can be had for around $40,000 (around SG$55,000 machine price).

The announcement comes two months right after Mission Motors, another zero-emissions electric sportbike manufacturer, announced their arrival of their 150mph (241km/h) Mission One sportbike, bringing the total of eSportbikes to 2 in this world.

• Replies 15

Well yeah, it's a racebike. People haul it to the racetrack on a lorry (pickup truck). This is a 50k toy to them. :)

$55,000 versus $30,000 petrol variant sportsbike (R1'09)

$25,000 difference for maintenance/petrol

like there isn't any savings lei. somemore no loud pipes :thumb:

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

$55,000 versus $30,000 petrol variant sportsbike (R1'09)

$25,000 difference for maintenance/petrol

like there isn't any savings lei. somemore no loud pipes :thumb:

Electric motors are more efficient than NA gas-combustion engines.

For 2 electrical motors smaller and lighter than a standard R1 engine, it can push out very exciting BHP and torque figures.

As a racebike, its not surprising it has only 60km range.

As technology evolves further, I won't be surprised if a proper racebike is capable of matching the specs and performance of standard NA gas-combustion superbikes. There is a lot of vested interest in this technology.

Linux firmware? Does it mean I can install open-source Skype on it? :p

so will u have to pay for the internet access..if wifi..then how sia!

No lah guys, it's not this way. No Skype or internet surfing onboard, hehe......

This bike is WiFi, which means a sportbike tuning enthusiast or a mechanic can use any WiFi equipped laptop for instance, "log-in" to this bike presumably using a name/password, and see or download live bike statistics such as speed etc, and even modify the engine metrics....all done wirelessly and without undoing any screws or what not to get to the ECU.

If you guys have heard of Power Commander, same concept, but this piece of aftermarket add-on needs to be connected to the PC via a USB cable in order for you to play with the engine metrics (read: engine mapping and tuning, etc...)

Best part is, and this may be interesting for techies/bike enthusiasts -- you can do mods and program the bike to your performance liking, much like how very-technically-inclined Linux users toy around with the operating system kernel.

looks great power is delight full...60km later must go find plug at any nearby Starbucks or McDonald haha...what the helicopter!cant they get batteries to last at least till mallacca?my god trying to visualise myself riding this 50k bike and pushing it down Scots road pulling my chord out to the MacDonald beside and charging the thing...what a laugh and if i forget to bring the chord must ask around for Nokia charger wah lau....wakakaka...does the bike come with the battery bar like hand phones have?Or better still the "Cluk2" sound like Nokia everytime battery going to die...wa sey imagining and laughing seriously out loud sia wakakaka.....

RIDE FAST RIDE SAFE!

Electric motors are more efficient than NA gas-combustion engines.

For 2 electrical motors smaller and lighter than a standard R1 engine, it can push out very exciting BHP and torque figures.

That's all well and good.

The TTX02, according to specs which I trawled from the web, weighs 110kg dry. i.e., without the batteries.

Now fit in its heavy lithium-ion battery packs, and then you tell me what the final weight figures will be. :angel:

Says here, for circuit pack, it's 160kg.

http://thekneeslider.com/archives/2009/11/08/mavizen-ttx02-an-electric-race-bike-you-can-buy/

All good for 25 miles, or about 40km.... 12 laps on PG, less than 10 at Sepang.

How to race? :angel:

No lah guys, it's not this way. No Skype or internet surfing onboard, hehe......

This bike is WiFi, which means a sportbike tuning enthusiast or a mechanic can use any WiFi equipped laptop for instance, "log-in" to this bike presumably using a name/password, and see or download live bike statistics such as speed etc, and even modify the engine metrics....all done wirelessly and without undoing any screws or what not to get to the ECU.

If you guys have heard of Power Commander, same concept, but this piece of aftermarket add-on needs to be connected to the PC via a USB cable in order for you to play with the engine metrics (read: engine mapping and tuning, etc...)

Best part is, and this may be interesting for techies/bike enthusiasts -- you can do mods and program the bike to your performance liking, much like how very-technically-inclined Linux users toy around with the operating system kernel.

Computer/Laptop on board... sound coolz... But later get hack n kanna virus... Ride half way go berserk...

Haha just kidding...

Green bike save the earth... But doesn't save our pocket...

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp350/glennkoh/TDM900/TDM.jpg