Hard to sa say...original should be "Stanely"..if not..some chiong or pariah ones will..not melt but blur and a little 'distorted'.

oiccc,my nt original,so hope tat everything will be fine :cheeky:

Four Wheels Move The Body,Two Wheels Move The Soul

• Replies 18.1k

Most probably i will be going down at the end of this month. I also do have the same prob as you; keep hitting the humps and bottom end my shocks. :faint:

Me too might be going end of this mth. hard pain every time my exhaust hit hard onto the hump.:cry:

-"It's not about how fast u can travel from 0-100km/h, but it's about how fast u can stop from 100-0km/h"-:thumb:

Yamaha RXZ- 2005

Kawasaki KRR- 2006

Honda Super4 PB1- 2007,2008,2009,2010,2011

Hi everyone,

I got a S4 Version S recently. Got 2 questions, like to seek advice from you guys.

Just change coolant, but usually after riding for more than 20 min, the bike will feel pretty hot, and also the "Temp" light will sometimes come on and off intermittently. Is the bike overheating? Or is this normal?

Also just went to Teck Thye to have my suspension and front forks serviced by David (following Ah Pek's recommendation :)) Really happy with how the rear suspension feels now, but now the front feel quite "harsh" and can feel every bump on the road from the front. Is this because the setting for the front forks is too stiff? Will it be get better after some time, or should I go back to Teck Thye to have the front re-adjusted?

Thanks a lot, and hope to hear your comments.

Hi everyone,

I got a S4 Version S recently. Got 2 questions, like to seek advice from you guys.

Just change coolant, but usually after riding for more than 20 min, the bike will feel pretty hot, and also the "Temp" light will sometimes come on and off intermittently. Is the bike overheating? Or is this normal?

Also just went to Teck Thye to have my suspension and front forks serviced by David (following Ah Pek's recommendation :)) Really happy with how the rear suspension feels now, but now the front feel quite "harsh" and can feel every bump on the road from the front. Is this because the setting for the front forks is too stiff? Will it be get better after some time, or should I go back to Teck Thye to have the front re-adjusted?

Thanks a lot, and hope to hear your comments.

Do you know what they put in your coolant system..hope its not tap water though. Do test your water hoses all round by squeezing it hard along its body and feel if their is any biscuit cracking noise and feeling. If there is, your hose diameter is constricted with rust from radiator bekuz tap water was use previously.

How much did you paid for the front fork by Teck Thye?..$150? Anyway..do go back to him and tell him your preference.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

wah yesterday i went to bike shop to flush coolant because i was not confident of doing it myself yet. to my horror, when the guy drained the old coolant, very little came out. i think its like only the amount in a coke can. the mech check for leakages but there was none.

then i also found out that my petrol cap is leaking. its the one which link the tank to the fuel line, not sure wat its called. does anyone know how much will that cost to change? wah the bike shop which sold me the bike really bloodsucker sia..

wah yesterday i went to bike shop to flush coolant because i was not confident of doing it myself yet. to my horror, when the guy drained the old coolant, very little came out. i think its like only the amount in a coke can. the mech check for leakages but there was none.

then i also found out that my petrol cap is leaking. its the one which link the tank to the fuel line, not sure wat its called. does anyone know how much will that cost to change? wah the bike shop which sold me the bike really bloodsucker sia..

Why coke can amount?...what about your reserve tank amount b4 you let them do? If they just drained it from the pump release nut area..its not fullt drained. What about testing your water hoses..are they clogged with rust from raidtor?..what water do they put in..distilled or uses premixed coolant? Now..if they done a proper job...they should be using close to 2 litres of coolant. If your level drop again..you know its overheating due to clogging.

That's not a petrol cap..that's a fuel kock (c for k) where the diaphragm to close and open fuel to your carbs is. If leaking, have to change no choice. Don't get the kit repair set at $35..get the whole assembly at about $55 from LAB..this item got no chiong one.

so how do i know if its clogged? the mech poured water into the radiator and started the bike and checked around. before he drained the old coolant i opened up the reservoir and it was empty. After all that he poured maxima coolant and used up almost the whole bottle in the radiator and some in the reservoir.

As for the fuel kock thing, what effects will i experience due to the leak? lower milage? so i just go to LAB and ask them for S4 fuel kock? then go mech and ask them to fix it then can rite?

i really have a phobia of fixing things myself unless under supervision of course

Hi ah pek, my exams will be coming but i will look for your first before my exams. Btw what is the best time (weekday or weekend) to let you check the bike before i make my way down. What i wanna do is.

1. Change Coolent

2. Grounding

Total need how long. I will be free after 26th of this month. I know your grounding charges but how much to change coolent. So that i can prepare b4 going down. Thanks Ah pek.

so how do i know if its clogged? the mech poured water into the radiator and started the bike and checked around. before he drained the old coolant i opened up the reservoir and it was empty. After all that he poured maxima coolant and used up almost the whole bottle in the radiator and some in the reservoir.

As for the fuel kock thing, what effects will i experience due to the leak? lower milage? so i just go to LAB and ask them for S4 fuel kock? then go mech and ask them to fix it then can rite?

i really have a phobia of fixing things myself unless under supervision of course

Water?..what water?..tap water? The world best coolant oso cannot help you. If it is...either redo with distilled water or wait and rust..LOL!

"what effects will i experience due to the leak? lower milage?"...Wan_lan..this type oso you must asked arh!?..leave it as it is and you know lor..:angel:

haha ok i know i sound very blur. i actually am blur when it comes to bikes. anyway, i didnt see what water he used. just that i saw him carrying the jug thing filled with water. so if i were to redo everything again, i guess the coolant in my bike now cant be used anymore rite?

That's right..liao_leow lah..like that. May be go back asked them lor but so far I never see any mototiam ever stock distilled water. If they use Engine ice or kiosk type coolant..not too bad as its factory premix and you need at list 3 bottles. Anyway..if you wanna redo, pm me lah...sighhh.

You better get the fuel kork fixed soon..can catch fire when you ride I warned you first. You want that done..can do for you too.

Hi ah pek, my exams will be coming but i will look for your first before my exams. Btw what is the best time (weekday or weekend) to let you check the bike before i make my way down. What i wanna do is.

1. Change Coolent

2. Grounding

Total need how long. I will be free after 26th of this month. I know your grounding charges but how much to change coolent. So that i can prepare b4 going down. Thanks Ah pek.

2 and a half hours..maxs 3hr...usually too much talking from you guys...LOL!

Edited by Ah Pek

Do you know what they put in your coolant system..hope its not tap water though. Do test your water hoses all round by squeezing it hard along its body and feel if their is any biscuit cracking noise and feeling. If there is, your hose diameter is constricted with rust from radiator bekuz tap water was use previously.

How much did you paid for the front fork by Teck Thye?..$150? Anyway..do go back to him and tell him your preference.

Thanks Ah Pek, will go check out the hose.

Yes, I paid $150 for the front fork at Teck Thye. Will ride the bike for a few days more, if really cannot tahan will go back to him.

Not sure if the "bumpy" feeling for the front is supposed to be normal after servicing....It is more pronounced at low speeds, but once speeds up, its quite ok

pek .. u got tools to change spark plugs on a vtec 1?

if so once i get my new spark plugs.. might wanna do a EO change as well

maybe can let me DIY ..

My Rides

Dec 2006 -Aug 2008 : kawasaki krr150

Aug 2008: Honda CB400 Super 4 Spec 1

27-29 JUNE 2009 - Hatyai (Thailand)

14-17 NOV 2009 - KL/Fraser Hill/Malacca

pek .. u got tools to change spark plugs on a vtec 1?

if so once i get my new spark plugs.. might wanna do a EO change as well

maybe can let me DIY ..

Come this Saturday or Sunday..otherwise be off to HCMC liao

hey, i own super 4 pb n wants to sell it but dunno hw much i shld sell.

My tail have been muold into a spec 3 cover set with an INTEGRATED tail light.

The paintwork design is the original cb1300(colour maroon and white) and was done 6mths ago.

I juz service my bike with engine oil, iridium spark plug, oil filter, gasket, pin jack, carbrator, clutch plate, wiring, throttle cable etc. the meter is only abt 37000.

i also still have the original cover set which can still be fix to the bike.

whole bike condition is 8.5/10

COE still have 7yrs.

Its looks like a new bike.

spend abt 3k to do all tis.

how much do you tink i shld sell it 4?

hey, i own super 4 pb n wants to sell it but dunno hw much i shld sell.

My tail have been muold into a spec 3 cover set with an INTEGRATED tail light.

The paintwork design is the original cb1300(colour maroon and white) and was done 6mths ago.

I juz service my bike with engine oil, iridium spark plug, oil filter, gasket, pin jack, carbrator, clutch plate, wiring, throttle cable etc. the meter is only abt 37000.

i also still have the original cover set which can still be fix to the bike.

whole bike condition is 8.5/10

COE still have 7yrs.

Its looks like a new bike.

spend abt 3k to do all tis.

how much do you tink i shld sell it 4?

Looks like you spend a lot of $s in up keeping the bike from the state you bought it. Just sell at the price you want as long as both parties are happy..but just so you know, NEVER sell it to a mototiam..or leave alone at all use it for a trade in. As a reference..at least $3.5k and above..IMHO.

heey guys. would like to ask wether its possible to fit a spec3 tank onto a verS?

As the Spec 3 tank is shorter in height..may be but I doubt the screw down at the end of the tank (near the seat) would fit. Non vtec have two bolt down screws as vtec..only one. Anyway don't bolt alos can lah..think of other ways to secure it down..oh..and don't forget the tank key.

Come this Saturday or Sunday..otherwise be off to HCMC liao

Ah pek what if i come down after my class this sat. Cos i think my coolent gone le then really need to replace ASAP. My class end at 3pm tomorrow by the time i reach your place should be around 4. Ok for you? Cos i wanna do grounding + coolent change + also need you to check my clutch cable + carb. Remember the prob i talk about, need to you see see.

So it's Teck Ghee Square right? Is it near Wing Yap motordiam? Cos last time i go wing yap to repair my cubs. haha

Hi I will like to find out what is the common brand of sprocket + chain do super 4 ver S use? Any place or good deals to recommend in the northern part?

Appreciate ya help

Hi Apek, I'm staying exactly at the teck ghee square is. So i have a question for you. Both of my meter light had went off suddenly since last month. Since I am always riding back to work late nite, it's quite irritating for me not to know my speed and rpm is. Are you that good in wiring. I tried DIY and took off the bottom part of the meter gauge and pull out the wire and check the two bulbs, apparently both had blown. Went to Wing Yap and bought a couple more and fix it, but to no avail. How ah bro?

Secongly, like to know, after changing my coolant, flush the whole system, the mech told me the by the sound of my engine, he assumed that during the 'hot' ride that I've been having so far, I might have burn my piston ring or something like that. Which sounded very scary for Ver S, i've still got 9yrs to go and i've just bought the bike like since Dec 08. He told me that it will require a change and since he's gonna open the engine up, I might as well get the engine for 'porting' or 'potting'. (I have no idea what it is). Could you enlighten me please, thanks for your time.

TZR 125/MBX 150/Phantom 200

CB400 Ver S/CBR 150/CBR1000RR 08

FZ1000S 07

You're the guy that'll be sneaking out of your bedroom at three o'clock in the morning to look at your bike. ~Paul Teutul, Sr., American Chopper, "Billy Joel"

I'm staying exactly at the teck ghee square is. So i have a question for you.

If not..you don't have a question to asked iszit?...LOL!

Are you that good in wiring.

Wiring?..anyone oso can do want lah..where or good or no good.

I tried DIY and took off the bottom part of the meter gauge and pull out the wire and check the two bulbs, apparently both had blown. Went to Wing Yap and bought a couple more and fix it, but to no avail. How ah bro?

What bulbs did you used to replaced? Same like stock one or "LEDs"?

Secongly, like to know, after changing my coolant, flush the whole system, the mech told me the by the sound of my engine, he assumed that during the 'hot' ride that I've been having so far, I might have burn my piston ring..

Impossible..unless you got no motor oil in your engine your piston ring can never get burned. Flush?..who did it, the mech or you? Flushing mean you drain out all coolant and put 'acid' in the coolant sysytem and let it run for 15 mins or so and then drain again. This is what call "flushing radiator"..was it done like that? Did you check your rubber hoses for rust by squeezing the body length of the coolant hoses.

..or something like that. Which sounded very scary for Ver S,

Don't understand..what's is scary?..sound of metal scrapping internally in your engine or the mech is scaring you?

i've still got 9yrs to go

Huh?...you or the bike?..kena lukemia or what...heee...x3!

He told me that it will require a change and since he's gonna open the engine up, I might as well get the engine for 'porting' or 'potting'. (I have no idea what it is). Could you enlighten me please, thanks for your time.

"Port/pot"?..you mean "honing" the cyclinder wall? In this case, you gonna get either bigger pistons or just bigger rings which is not recommended. If he is talking about cyclinder wall repair..there is no way except for thermal or ceramic layer coating which I don't recommend as its freaking costly and last about may be 75,000 km. If he say he can find a cyclinder wall sleeve for S4, than that's ok but I have not hear of anyone able to provid that.

When he said "porting"..that is only engine exhaust outlet ports (x4) being "polish".

Why not come over to Tech Ghee kopeetiam this Sunday morning at 9:45 am and let me have a look and hear sound of your bike.