maybe he anyhow say to get you to come down to his shop.. then tell you the real price?:D

btw, i went there 2 days ago to find my water pump cover (only sold in a set, so i didnt buy) and seems like LAB is currently promoting 'no labour charge' for fixing tyres, chain, etc

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

• Replies 18.1k

Hi everyone,

Need some advice.

My Ver S has been experiencing some charging problems for the last week.

I have a voltmeter installed, and it was showing no charging intermittently.

Last night when I was on the way home, this problem occured again. When I reached home, I measure the stator coils,

there are 3 yellow wires,

- 1st and 2nd measured 220+ ohms

- 1st and 3rd measured 220+ ohms

- 2nd and 3rd measured only 2.2 ohms

Vac readings show lower than 50vac at around 5k rpm.

Rectifier and battery was changed only a few months ago.

Seems like stator is starting to fail. What puzzled me was the problem comes and goes, and it seems that turning on the headlight will also trigger the problem almost with fail.

Anyone has recommendations to where I can get replacement? Budget is a concern to me right now.

Thanks for any advice in advance. :cheers:

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

Hi everyone,

Need some advice.

My Ver S has been experiencing some charging problems for the last week.

I have a voltmeter installed, and it was showing no charging intermittently.

Last night when I was on the way home, this problem occured again. When I reached home, I measure the stator coils,

there are 3 yellow wires,

- 1st and 2nd measured 220+ ohms

- 1st and 3rd measured 220+ ohms

- 2nd and 3rd measured only 2.2 ohms

Vac readings show lower than 50vac at around 5k rpm.

Rectifier and battery was changed only a few months ago.

Seems like stator is starting to fail. What puzzled me was the problem comes and goes, and it seems that turning on the headlight will also trigger the problem almost with fail.

Anyone has recommendations to where I can get replacement? Budget is a concern to me right now.

Thanks for any advice in advance. :cheers:

You did not mentioned the charging rate voltage output to be measured and read by a reasonably good multimeter. Should be at least 13.6/8 to 14.2 (best). However, measuring the 3 phase coil does help telling you that one of your inductor coil is already shorted at or almost at 2.2ohms, its time to have your magneto coil replaced...cost $200+ Any bike shop can do it. Many ppl here has done it.

Oh and make sure dunnot get con into having to change your rectifier and battery. Magneto coils failure does not screw those two up.

http://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/GoogleSearchIconShadow.gifhttp://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/SuperSearchIconShadow.gif

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Ah pek , any way to get the polisher cheaper instead of the 55$ for the windscreen.???

May be you wanna go to AutoBac at Bukit Batok to check it out. Anyway, cheaper does not mean good either. Go buy "ZACT" tobacco toothpaste for smoker...might work as its very mildly abrasive without petroleum distilled chemical used. Try one small area first. Make sure its wet all the time on the area that u are working on and, don't exert too much strength as you polished in circular motion. That's how I whiten my tarted teeth...LOL! Good luck!

Snipped from AsiaOne News: report from Wanbao

Wah_Lau!!!...this type of Cab driver oso got!..hipe they can get the cab driver. Careful guys!

Cabby deliberately knocks over motorcyclist http://www.asiaone.com/a1media/site/common/blank.gif A cabby deliberately knocked over a motorcyclist after the two were involved in a road dispute, Chinese evening daily Wanbao reported.

According to witnesses, the cabby immediately left the scene after the motorcyclist fell over.

The incident turned into a car chase when a lorry driver who witnessed the incident gave chase.

The fracas occurred at the junction of Tampines Avenue 4 and Tampines Avenue 1 on July 30 at about 12.40pm.

Witnesses told Wanbao both the cabby and the motorcyclist were involved in an overtaking dispute earlier on.

Mr Tan Wen Chao, who witnessed the incident, told Wanbao that the cabby had horned at the motorcyclist after both stopped at the red light.

Both parties started arguing and the cabby made rude gestures at the motorcyclist, Mr Chen told Wanbao.

Mr Chen added, "I thought it was fine if both parties just sparred with words."

Mr Chen said then the lights turned green. Both cabby and motorcyclist began to move off.

But suddenly, the cabby swerved, knocked into the motorcyclist and sped off.

Other witnesses even added that it was the cabby's second attempt to knock over the motorcyclist. The first had failed.

The indignant Mr Chen then decided to give chase in his lorry after checking that the motorcyclist had received help.

The chase, however, was shortlived as Mr Chen lost the culprit at Tampines Central.

After circling around the area for a while, Mr Chen made a police report, Wanbao reported.

fugged~!!! i encounter a cabby who claimed to me he have no qualms on knocking riders over and boasted to me he done dat b4. citicab driver. wonder if its the same cab driver. but cannot rem the license plate liao

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

haha dunno why there are cabbies like these. These cabbies spoil the image of other cabbies. My dad's a cabby..hopefully he isnt like that..haha.

anyway, i heard from my friend who was at a police station that some one came to lodge a report against a taxi driver.

apparantly this guy who is a P-plate was parallel parking his car then hit the taxi. At first just normal issue. suddenly the driver lodge a report saying he was injured. the accident took place in april then in end of june the cabby make the police report.

wth and the poor chap was parking. who the hell parallel park so fast..p plate some more. from april to june, i think even if he fractured his arm, the bone heal liao.

I just called again , he told me "yi li" means 1 which is 10$.

is this a joke.

Brandon...I think you have to tell them your bike is a Aprilla 125..not an S4...LOL! $55 id for S4.

Guest akm_inferno
akm_inferno : "i don't have any friends who ride super4 except for u bros here.. most of my friends all ride small bikes.. so i was thinking maybe this sunday or next sunday come down to yr kopi session to let u and the other super4 bros to hav a look at the bike if its ok with u, bro?"

Come whenever you can, no formalities but if raining..canceled. You be of great help and a "Lead" to all your other Class 2B friends now when someday they upgrade to Class 2A and are into into an old S4.

thanks bro and yes.. :D now oso i'm trying to help them with anything i can and share the knowledge about bike i get from u super4 bros... ;) most likely i'll be coming this sunday or the next bro..

btw can u direct me how to go there? as i'm not very familiar with ang moh kio area.. i'll be coming from jurong.. so do i take aye or pie ar bro?

thanks so much in advancce.... :D

You did not mentioned the charging rate voltage output to be measured and read by a reasonably good multimeter. Should be at least 13.6/8 to 14.2 (best). However, measuring the 3 phase coil does help telling you that one of your inductor coil is already shorted at or almost at 2.2ohms, its time to have your magneto coil replaced...cost $200+ Any bike shop can do it. Many ppl here has done it.

Oh and make sure dunnot get con into having to change your rectifier and battery. Magneto coils failure does not screw those two up.

The charging voltage was confirm by the sanwa meter. less than 12.5v idling without headlight. Less than 13.5 at 5k rpm. Anyway I got the changed cause I dun want to risk the battery dying also. The Magneto's connector that connects to the harness was in a mess. Overall the magneto looks alright, not chao ta parts. I think I will cut out the melted connector and verify the resistance again. If everything is ok, at least I can keep the old one as a backup.

Magneto failure does not screw up rectifier, but indirectly it does screw up your battery due to over discharge. I am not using those batteries designed for frequent deep cycling.

Thanks Ah Pek for your advice.

I need further advice here, my crankcase breather hose that goes from the cam cover to the airbox is disintegrating. The mech does not have any replacement at this time. Does anyone know where can buy hoses suitable for high temperature and chemical resistance?

Any advice is appreciated.

worst thing is i said ah boy , is outside ure shop that aprilia. i want k&n filter for that and he said yes , 10$. u tell me la william , if you hear this liao wth man?

Snipped from AsiaOne News: report from Wanbao

Wah_Lau!!!...this type of Cab driver oso got!..hipe they can get the cab driver. Careful guys!

Cabby deliberately knocks over motorcyclist http://www.asiaone.com/a1media/site/common/blank.gif A cabby deliberately knocked over a motorcyclist after the two were involved in a road dispute, Chinese evening daily Wanbao reported.

According to witnesses, the cabby immediately left the scene after the motorcyclist fell over.

The incident turned into a car chase when a lorry driver who witnessed the incident gave chase.

The fracas occurred at the junction of Tampines Avenue 4 and Tampines Avenue 1 on July 30 at about 12.40pm.

Witnesses told Wanbao both the cabby and the motorcyclist were involved in an overtaking dispute earlier on.

Mr Tan Wen Chao, who witnessed the incident, told Wanbao that the cabby had horned at the motorcyclist after both stopped at the red light.

Both parties started arguing and the cabby made rude gestures at the motorcyclist, Mr Chen told Wanbao.

Mr Chen added, "I thought it was fine if both parties just sparred with words."

Mr Chen said then the lights turned green. Both cabby and motorcyclist began to move off.

But suddenly, the cabby swerved, knocked into the motorcyclist and sped off.

Other witnesses even added that it was the cabby's second attempt to knock over the motorcyclist. The first had failed.

The indignant Mr Chen then decided to give chase in his lorry after checking that the motorcyclist had received help.

The chase, however, was shortlived as Mr Chen lost the culprit at Tampines Central.

After circling around the area for a while, Mr Chen made a police report, Wanbao reported.

LOL... I was also knocked down by a taxi on saturday, 270609.. dotz.. Why cabbies are soo soo cruel..

There is ALWAYS a Motorcycle overtaking your CAR!! DRIVERS, be sure to check ur BLINDSPOT!!

140407 - 170309 |Honda CBF150

180309 - 310812 |Honda CB400 PB1

310812 - 130416 |MaxSYM 400i

130416 - Present |Honda CB400X

The charging voltage was confirm by the sanwa meter. less than 12.5v idling without headlight. Less than 13.5 at 5k rpm. Anyway I got the changed cause I dun want to risk the battery dying also. The Magneto's connector that connects to the harness was in a mess. Overall the magneto looks alright, not chao ta parts. I think I will cut out the melted connector and verify the resistance again. If everything is ok, at least I can keep the old one as a backup.

Magneto failure does not screw up rectifier, but indirectly it does screw up your battery due to over discharge. I am not using those batteries designed for frequent deep cycling.

Thanks Ah Pek for your advice.

I need further advice here, my crankcase breather hose that goes from the cam cover to the airbox is disintegrating. The mech does not have any replacement at this time. Does anyone know where can buy hoses suitable for high temperature and chemical resistance?

Any advice is appreciated.

ANY car spare part shop..those like in HDB housing area. Various sizes and cut to length. Take your pick.

Tell them its for fuel or air..rubber compound is different.

worst thing is i said ah boy , is outside ure shop that aprilia. i want k&n filter for that and he said yes , 10$. u tell me la william , if you hear this liao wth man?

Just buy and case close lor.

ANY car spare part shop..those like in HDB housing area. Various sizes and cut to length. Take your pick.

Tell them its for fuel or air..rubber compound is different.

Thanks. :cheers:

thanks bro and yes.. :D now oso i'm trying to help them with anything i can and share the knowledge about bike i get from u super4 bros... ;) most likely i'll be coming this sunday or the next bro..

btw can u direct me how to go there? as i'm not very familiar with ang moh kio area.. i'll be coming from jurong.. so do i take aye or pie ar bro?

thanks so much in advancce.... :D

You can take any one of them la (AYE or PIE).

AYE then CTE, exit CTE to Ang Mo Kio Ave 1 (after Braddell rd). As you are on AMK Ave 1 keep right and turn right at the 1st junction into AMK ave 10.

Another 500m you see will Blk 409 Teck Ghee Sq market is on your left. If you are going to Ah Peh Block then you go straight and turn right after the market to AMK st 44 and look for Blk 469.

As for PIE, you exit to CTE after Kim Keat Link (after Toa Payoh stadium on your left). Then its the same as above.

frm jurong .. aye cte exit amk ave 1 exit 11 .. den 1st turn turn right .. tts amk ave 10 den go straight till u see teck ghee sq ..

Burn rubber not your soul !

Thanks to Solar and MrQuan for helping in giving direction to akm_inferno.

ah pek, x1-r really smoothen the engine at high rpm, song song gao thai kok

LOL!..say it again and a 100 times, its music to my ears! :thumb: Take it to 7Km before next eo change:cheeky:

100 times here cannot lah, will kena warning for post clocking, next time kopi session ok :thumb:

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg
100 times here cannot lah, will kena warning for post clocking, next time kopi session ok :thumb:

LOL!...don't take it too literally...just an expression.:angel:

hi just to ask, our oil filter for $18 and also the orignial honda ngk spark plug $12 expensive? thks. FUCHS COMP 4T hw this engine oil? is it mineral oil or semi synthetic?

oh btw, whenever i pillion, my pillion will slip forward is that normal?

Edited by tangmulong4488

life is precious. :thumb: