Yes. I agreed. I lost alot on this bike.

Feel like selling the bike away. Sigh.

Is Planet Motor price reasonable?

I think I will bring bike to Planet and do a full checkup.

I need to service the forks too. At the moment no bounce.

All mototiam are the same in labour cost and charges to parts given +/- $20/$30 apart.

I understand the difficulties rider faces especially when they do not not much about their machine. Whatever the mech says..even after a second or third opinion, all bike shop would take advantage of your situation and make juicy white carrot out of you. I have heard of someone having a rectifier supposingly changed but did not..as he was earlier told that his rectifier is bad. Yah..that's a lot of $s profit margine for the bike shop but then again, can't be help as the owner do not know what a rectifier is and how it works and how to know why its not working. They can show you test but you may not know if the procedure is right, for the matter, the reading etc..no knowledge of it..you are just a Sotong listening to them and soon end up in their BBQ pitt.

Anyway..can always pm me to help evaluate your bike if you are are not sure to believe the mech or not. I have been shown a "to do" list for a bike that cost almost $1,600 for a top overhaul which it does not need at all....LOL!..careful sotong ppl.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

• Replies 18.1k

Bike sent to Planet.

Mr Chong says "dai ji duo tial"

Guess I am the big white carrot and bot a lemon bike.

Sad.

One expensive lesson learnt!

What can be so serious? Its easy to catch sotong? Care to elaborate what he said? Coolant leakage at engine mid block?

hi everyone, wanna ask how to count our bike f/c ah?, i pump 6 lit, counter read 200, is it 200/6 = 33l/km?

That's right.:cheeky:

Bike sent to Planet.

Sad.

dont worry la bro. ah chong always say "lan jiao jia" to my bike. nvm one. :cheeky:

Wise Men say,only fools rush in.

Bike sent to Planet.

Sad.

dont worry la bro. ah chong always say "lan jiao jia" to my bike. nvm one. :cheeky:

Wise Men say,only fools rush in.

To have a real piece of mind and trouble free bike base on my evaluation of your bike..have the following done...

1) Front wheel axle bearing and back wheel axle bearing replaced.

2) Yap..get GT501 Dunlope Arrow Maxs..should not exceed $220...usually around $210 for a set..front and back. For your weight and size, I recommended you have your front tyre air pressure 240 and back 270. Careful when your tyres are new..you new to 'seat' it in for about the first 10km or less and get use to it.

3) Have your set of sprocket replace and get a new DID Japan "X" ring chain.

4) Have your old coolant replace after the system is being rinse.. Make sure they don't use premixed or concentrated coolant that is mixes with tap water. Can tell you its hard to tell unless you prefer to DIY.

If you want, can bring you to the mototiam nearby my place here. Tyres changing and wheel bearing + sprocket set change set change takes the most 2 hours or less f you come early being the first customer.

ok i'll take up your suggestions. what time does the motortiam open? this wk i can only make it on thur morn or fri after 4pm.

if you're free this wk can i also trouble you to help me diy coolant change too? good if can all do on same day but if you're busy i'll wait for when you're free. thanks in advance for your help!

hi all, i've a qn. arrowmax tires seem to be highly recommended by many s4 riders. from what i understand, they were the original stock on non-vtec s4. do they also come stock on all new vtec bikes?

just thinking out loud from my (lack of) experience with motorbike tires - if the same tyre technology in the arrowmax has been used for decades now, wouldn't newer tire models be better in terms of technological advances in grip etc? i'm looking @ this fr a bicycle tyre point of view, cos bicycle tires have progressed over the yrs due to technology advances.

hi all, i've a qn. arrowmax tires seem to be highly recommended by many s4 riders. from what i understand, they were the original stock on non-vtec s4. do they also come stock on all new vtec bikes?

just thinking out loud from my (lack of) experience with motorbike tires - if the same tyre technology in the arrowmax has been used for decades now, wouldn't newer tire models be better in terms of technological advances in grip etc? i'm looking @ this fr a bicycle tyre point of view, cos bicycle tires have progressed over the yrs due to technology advances.

you cannot compare motorcycle tires with bicycle.. though they work the same way but they are on a different compound..

There is ALWAYS a Motorcycle overtaking your CAR!! DRIVERS, be sure to check ur BLINDSPOT!!

140407 - 170309 |Honda CBF150

180309 - 310812 |Honda CB400 PB1

310812 - 130416 |MaxSYM 400i

130416 - Present |Honda CB400X

u 2 rpm change gears one ah ? i oso relax one leh.. full tank 18 liters max can get me 420

Haha, wah u like experienced ah, ya 2rpm i change.. Good or not ah?, or shld i drag to rpm 5 than change gear?, i usually dont drag til rpm 5 cos wait exhaust sounds louder than people think i showing off or want play with them, haha

blurrrr.....................:thumb::gun:

Very good questions indeed. I be as constructive as I can in reasoning this out.

It's true that progress are always for tomorrow to come, but that does not mean its any 'better' in some matters. I believe many brands and tyres type has been tested on and R&D for max performance and handling in Japan for S4 when it was rolled out of their factory into commercial market. Dunlope Arrow max has been around for a long time since then and has never been obsolete like some other models and make. That said..it has to be good and especially recommended for S4 since day one. When we talk about R&D..things like maximum speed handling and at corners and bend, from reliability to wear and tear etc..must have been tick for good as a selected tire for the machine.

Dunlope Arrow is not the soft compound type of tyre that usually has low profile setup at 60 as found in bigger bikes. We have to consider that it suited for most Non Vetec S4 as far as complimenting the machine build for and design.

Every now and then, tyres are improve and of many type and made but I have yet to see any "white papers" withr regards to its used on a S4 or for the matter, tested on S4 in review. These tyres and mostly continental type are usually tested on oversea ground and road tarmac that is different from ours here where humidity and heat that makes our tacmac different. Also take note that most of these tyres are tested on Bikes that are 600cc and above. Every now and then, you find new model of these tyres and about a two to three years..they are "on sales" (probably due to expiration where the rubber compound start to harden and deteriorate and will crack under weight and motion).

Each type of tyres has their own purpose for use but if it ain't reviewed tested on the machine you riding..better reconsider before you get sold to it just because the threading looks great, size attractive and its "new design must be good" idealogy.

No..the newer Vtec version does not comes stock with Dunlope Arrow max as far as I know but I believe its Bridgestone Batterlax something. Even the newer REVOs are different. Again this said, the tyres has be in-house R&D lab tested before it sits in the mototiam for sales.

Anyway..if you feel comfortable with the "What's new" and must be "better"..can try the Dunlope top range category..the "Alpha" a low profile tyre with soft tarmac biting compound. Wear fast but better grip and last half the life span of Arrowmaxs and at least 1/3 more in cost.

One more thing..no such thing as better in the wet. Now how fast you wanna ride in the rain. Most tyre can handle 160 km/hr on a straight wet rainy day road (provided no irregularity pool of water more then 2 inches or 5 cm)...but get yourself into a 45 degreed curving wet bend on the best tyre you have invested at speed of about 80 to 90 km/hr and see if your bike is still standing midway thru it...LOL! If it can handle average bend in such scenario, I want to buy that tyre too.

Remeber, the tyre you see in track races are not the same thought the brand and model made after it is.

What said above is IMHO base on stuff about tyres I read donkey years ago. Take it with a pinch of salt..but it has lots of "sugar" in it :angel:

ok i'll take up your suggestions. what time does the motortiam open? this wk i can only make it on thur morn or fri after 4pm.

if you're free this wk can i also trouble you to help me diy coolant change too? good if can all do on same day but if you're busy i'll wait for when you're free. thanks in advance for your help!

At 9:00am. Better to be Thurs morning..be there before 9:15am. If you want the tyre change (Arrowmax) be done at the same time, have to order the trye one day ahead. Coolant change should be ok.

Haha, wah u like experienced ah, ya 2rpm i change.. Good or not ah?, or shld i drag to rpm 5 than change gear?, i usually dont drag til rpm 5 cos wait exhaust sounds louder than people think i showing off or want play with them, haha

Not good.:sian:...5 is ok, 7-10 best!..but again, depend on what eo you have added with and road traffic condition. If you guys want to ride bike and save on fuel..go get Pulsar or cub_kiae..otherwise, you are under utilising what S4 is buld for. The label "Super" is not for nothing..unless you just wanna look "super" on one...LOL!

yup i'd agree w ah pek too that what's been r & d tested on the particular bike (non vtec s4) shld be the most suitable for that bike under most road conditions. otherwise tyre companies need not have spent tons of money on r & d research.

i suppose it's also true that most new tires w newer technological advances in material/tread pattern are also designed w new bikes in mind. & new bikes invariably function differently fr 10+ yr old s4.

putting newer models of tires on a bike designed in the 90s will prob improve performance, but only marginally & not noticed in normal pt a to pt b riding, i suppose. or has anyone tried both arrowmax & new models of tires on their non-vtec s4 & care to share if there's a significant diff? just being curious, is all.

ah pek, can help me ask the shop to order the arrowmax pls? where shld i meet you on thur 9am?

yup i'd agree w ah pek too that what's been r & d tested on the particular bike (non vtec s4) shld be the most suitable for that bike under most road conditions. otherwise tyre companies need not have spent tons of money on r & d research.

i suppose it's also true that most new tires w newer technological advances in material/tread pattern are also designed w new bikes in mind. & new bikes invariably function differently fr 10+ yr old s4.

putting newer models of tires on a bike designed in the 90s will prob improve performance, but only marginally & not noticed in normal pt a to pt b riding, i suppose. or has anyone tried both arrowmax & new models of tires on their non-vtec s4 & care to share if there's a significant diff? just being curious, is all.

ah pek, can help me ask the shop to order the arrowmax pls? where shld i meet you on thur 9am?

Same place I met you for coffee:angel:

What can be so serious? Its easy to catch sotong? Care to elaborate what he said? Coolant leakage at engine mid block?

Ah Chong said the rubber above engine block gone.

Like that how to ride. Wait LP ganna burnt. So dai ji dua tial lor.

Visual check he said need to change water pump, the petrol leak likely because the motodiam never clip properly. EO leak likely due to worn out rubber seal.

$$$ fly away.

Ah Chong said the rubber above engine block gone.

Like that how to ride. Wait LP ganna burnt. So dai ji dua tial lor.

Visual check he said need to change water pump, the petrol leak likely because the motodiam never clip properly. EO leak likely due to worn out rubber seal.

$$$ fly away.

I don't understand what is said here with reference to ur earlier post...

1) "the rubber above engine block gone."....WHAT HAS THE RUBBER GASKET OF UR OVERHEAD BLOCK HAS TO DO WITH COOLANT LEAK?

2) "Wait LP ganna burnt."..LIKE WHAT CAN BURNT THAT>>CARE EXPALIN WHAT HE MEANT?

3) "Visual check he said need to change water pump,"..YOU NEVER MENTIONED ANY LEAKING FROM PUMP..SO CHANGED FOR WHAT> VISUAL CHECK IS ONE THING...ACTUALLY LEAKING IS ANOTHER.

4) "EO leak likely due to worn out rubber seal."...WHAT RUBBER SEAL AND WHERE, WHICH PART ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?

Have you ever considered going to another one or two bike shop and have a few more opinion?....sighhh.

I don't understand what is said here with reference to ur earlier post...

1) "the rubber above engine block gone."....WHAT HAS THE RUBBER GASKET OF UR OVERHEAD BLOCK HAS TO DO WITH COOLANT LEAK?

- This not related to coolant leak. Not rubber gasket. I donno wat rubber is that. It is the rubber under the petrol tank that prevent heat to the rider .

2) "Wait LP ganna burnt."..LIKE WHAT CAN BURNT THAT>>CARE EXPALIN WHAT HE MEANT?

- He said without the rubber the heat from the engine will go to your legs, thighs, channel to the LP area. So LP burnt! Haha.

3) "Visual check he said need to change water pump,"..YOU NEVER MENTIONED ANY LEAKING FROM PUMP..SO CHANGED FOR WHAT> VISUAL CHECK IS ONE THING...ACTUALLY LEAKING IS ANOTHER.

Again I donno. The coolant leaking from the left and right chrome pipe that I replaced recently and underneath the engine. Not from mid engine block.

4) "EO leak likely due to worn out rubber seal."...WHAT RUBBER SEAL AND WHERE, WHICH PART ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?

- leaking at the clutch padel area. The little gear that join the engine above the centre of the exhaust pipe.

Have you ever considered going to another one or two bike shop and have a few more opinion?....sighhh.

No time to go here go there. Everyday work from 8 to 7.

However, I interested in the Arrowmax tires. Need to know where is the bike shop to change at $220 front and rear.

No time to go here go there. Everyday work from 8 to 7.

However, I interested in the Arrowmax tires. Need to know where is the bike shop to change at $220 front and rear.

Shop is at AMK Ave 10 area.

hi ah pek, LONG TIME NO SEE.haha.

time for EO change,when will you be free?

thanks in advance :thumb:

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

wah hanxx

thought you just recently change your EO and do grounding? u everyday ride NSHW? haha

just joking ah

still havent done my grounding yet...no $$$

hari raya coming and just only changed my tyres cause the back one botak already but changed both but still keeping the front one in case kena nail or punctured....

It aint me officer...The bike is POSSESSED!!:lol: