Hi ah pek and guys, whenever i start my bike after a few hours of parking, my bike will start but the engine will cease.. i have to throttle to keep the engine running. Any advice? is it the spark plug? recently i just changed mine.

Its hard to zero in on your 'problem' with your message posted here. Should not be the spark plug unless it's not seated fully in.

There are many factors involve..from clogged exhaust, low idling adjustment, air filter, carbs condition status, throttle setting, engine oil, magneto staus...have to personally see your bike to know better. Btw, what is your idling after warm up..how many k in rpm?

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

• Replies 18.1k

"Flair"?...you mean those dirt bike shroud like from KTM and Honda XR stuff? How much $s I dunno but they look stupid to me. I heard from ppl that uses them found it making the engine kinda hot too while they ride. I personally don't like them and find its a waste of $s as these stuff does not add performance or do good maintenanace to your bike..moreover, it make access to work on your bike difficult. Anyway, it's up to individual but I personally find ppl wasting $$$s on such things on a true naked bike..should go get a "RVF" or baby blade instead.

As for the tank wrap..tank bra you mean..I personally dislike that. The beauty of the tank paint work and it deep shine is meant to be shown, why cover it with a piece of waste $$$s PVC or 'leather' over it? I probably do that when my tank have a dent s, rusted paintwork etc..the day when I need to sell my bike. Some riders of today are just not practical but rather wanna be ;fashionable' whatever, but a tank bra is meant to protect the tank when you are using tank bags that seats on the tank.

My apology if I sounded blunt about what you asked..but just being honest what I think and those waste of dollars. Save ur $$$s it for good engine oil and parts that need replacement someday that contribute for bike up keeping..and also, "no_no" to hugger and belly pen...heeee...x3!Sorry again, you asked the wrong guy. o_O :sian:

no worries, ah pek. i appreciate your honesty.at least now i know that i have to keep it stock and simple....

all the best.

lekiboy

ah pek very frank one...he like s4 dictionary..everytime i meet up with him, he will impart his knowledge..i very blur one become even more blur...haha but to be honest what he say has truth in it also...btw its your bike do whatever what you want to do with it

when prob comes theres always ah pek(right or not ah pek?) or the nearest workshop...haha...touch wood wont be much prob lah..

about those shrouds, im sure those who ride S4 kena before when stopping at red light and especially when wearing bermudas...your leg accidently touched the engine..first reaction is WAH LAO KNN CCB F&&king hot sia...maybe those shrouds will deflect your leg from kena burn but the heat of your engine will also be trapped inside....

now everytime i stop at traffic light my leg open wide2 like at gaylang like that:sweat:

kena once enuff already

about the tank bra...my tank got a bit of a dent/depression

anyone here know where to get it fixed and how much it costs?

Thanks in advance!

It aint me officer...The bike is POSSESSED!!:lol:

no worries, ah pek. i appreciate your honesty.at least now i know that i have to keep it stock and simple....

all the best.

There is someone selling a one day old set of KTM shroud with stickers...amy be you still want one...LOL!

lekiboy

ah pek very frank one...he like s4 dictionary..everytime i meet up with him, he will impart his knowledge..i very blur one become even more blur...haha but to be honest what he say has truth in it also...btw its your bike do whatever what you want to do with it

when prob comes theres always ah pek(right or not ah pek?) or the nearest workshop...haha...touch wood wont be much prob lah..

about those shrouds, im sure those who ride S4 kena before when stopping at red light and especially when wearing bermudas...your leg accidently touched the engine..first reaction is WAH LAO KNN CCB F&&king hot sia...maybe those shrouds will deflect your leg from kena burn but the heat of your engine will also be trapped inside....

now everytime i stop at traffic light my leg open wide2 like at gaylang like that:sweat:

kena once enuff already

Thanks in advance!

Since you got tank bra olehdee...might as well leave it covered. Btw..if memory serve me well, I tot I saw you 'advertise' your ride for sale?

i dont have tankbra..spend hours polishing my bike why cover up my hard work..but now rainy season wash also no use..wash also hard pain..so fast dirty again:cry:

not "advertise" but just want to know how much my verS will fetch if in urgent need of $$$...bike just bought only..now enjoying her as much as i can:cheer:

see garage sale, i guess now good time for those who just pass cl2a or downgrading from cl2 to get a verS...so many on the market:deal:

lekiboy

kena once enuff already

Thanks in advance!

yes we need someone like ah pek to make us realize where we are realistically sometimes. :)

my tank is still in pristine shining condition...i think i will just leave it as it is...i am more interested now with a tank bag...

one quick question for ah pek-is the version r's handle bar really a low rise? what do you think of alloy aftermarket handle bars with steering dampers?

all the best.

yes we need someone like ah pek to make us realize where we are realistically sometimes. :)

my tank is still in pristine shining condition...i think i will just leave it as it is...i am more interested now with a tank bag...

one quick question for ah pek-is the version r's handle bar really a low rise? what do you think of alloy aftermarket handle bars with steering dampers?

all the best.

Yes..finding a handle bar that suit you well in handling and full control is important but definitely not those dirt bike type. But if you get one that is higher or via use of a rasier, be sure that your brake hydraulic cable, throttle, and clutch cable are long enough.

Forget about steering damper..whatever for especially on a S4 production bike? Honda would have give you one on that bike if it ever needed one for their consumers...go figure.:sian:

i dont have tankbra..spend hours polishing my bike why cover up my hard work..but now rainy season wash also no use..wash also hard pain..so fast dirty again:cry:

not "advertise" but just want to know how much my verS will fetch if in urgent need of $$$...bike just bought only..now enjoying her as much as i can:cheer:

see garage sale, i guess now good time for those who just pass cl2a or downgrading from cl2 to get a verS...so many on the market:deal:

Oic...was wondering why too that you wanted to sell..COE also low at $800+ now. Next eo change..you can rebuild your old bike compression liao :thumb:

"my urge to open the new gained power "...LOL!..that be the hardest part :angel: Thanks for your kind words :)

hi ah pek, due to opening too much throttle my fc drop alrdy la... (really must control...) btw gonna pay day soon, wanna flush/refill my rusty coolen & install the EPS leh. can pm me the costs? will contact u again next wk to arrange.

2005-2008: Phantom TA200

2006-2011: Hyundai Getz 1.6

2008-2008: wave 110

2008-2009: CB400 Ver S

2009-2009: Phantom TA200

2009-2011: CB400 Spec 1

2012-2012: Aprilia Scarabeo 200

2012-2013: Phantom TA150

2016-2016: SilverWing FJS400D

2013-current: CB400 PB1

hi ah pek, due to opening too much throttle my fc drop alrdy la... (really must control...) btw gonna pay day soon, wanna flush/refill my rusty coolen & install the EPS leh. can pm me the costs? will contact u again next wk to arrange.

PM liao.

Btw...if you are not using my eo..go easy on it especially after having my grounding and EPS..gearbox and cyclinder wall wear and tear is high. If you are using my blended eo and X-1R..go ahead into "red line" :angel:

My next up coming eo blend with Nano lube is gonna 'rebuild' your engine, gain back engine compression, triple eo change intervals and hopefully improve FC drastically (still testing for confirmation on this one).:sian:

lekiboy

Thanks in advance!

uncle yew

need to call him a day or 2 in advance cos he is not working full time. he just rents a very small space in a workshop behind ah boy's workshop. he charged me $35 for knocking 2 dents back.

hope this helps

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

Hi Ah Pek,

Was wondering if you know of any motor shop which can do the "tyre repair patch from inside" method? Presently, my rear tire is leaking again from an old patch done previously by the "injection" (or worm) method.

Just went to Mah Motors and they told me that the only solution now is to use the "repair patch from inside" method. Unfortunately, they don't have the facility to do this kind of repair. They also agreed that my tyre, which still has over 75% life left, is too wasteful to be discarded. Thanks for your advice if possible.

bikeworks does it. kaki bukit ave 1 shun li industrial park. give them a call first 67476774

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

Hey guys, nowadays heavy raining time, jus wanna ask if u all had the same eerie experience as mine.. Was riding in the heavy rain, when near red light realise brake never wrk, after i realease all the brake i found that my back tyre is sweaving sideways, cannot be my back brake is jammed as my tyres still rolling.. Any of u experience this before?..

blurrrr.....................:thumb::gun:

uncle yew

need to call him a day or 2 in advance cos he is not working full time. he just rents a very small space in a workshop behind ah boy's workshop. he charged me $35 for knocking 2 dents back.

hope this helps

will try to give him a call...

ah pek and other gurus,

my version r this am just went out of tune- the noise is unusual with a very obvious tick tick sound near the engine block left side...i have taken out my spark plugs and they were all covered in engine oil. i just chaned oil and plugs 1 month ago....

i have cleaned and then i returned my plugs and the orig sound was back....

is this normal? what causes this and what should i do to fix it?

ah pek and other gurus,

my version r this am just went out of tune- the noise is unusual with a very obvious tick tick sound near the engine block left side...i have taken out my spark plugs and they were all covered in engine oil. i just chaned oil and plugs 1 month ago....

i have cleaned and then i returned my plugs and the orig sound was back....

is this normal? what causes this and what should i do to fix it?

The oil is eo leaking out from your spark plug hold thru the spark plugs threading and this happened when the spark plug is not tighten well. Nech tends to hand tight slightly for fear that it cannot be too tighly tighten. Also can be caused when draining eo, the mech don't tilt the bike the other way for remain to drain out fully..can amount to 0.2 litre of eo inside left. They normally just drain at side stand and once stop dripping, they just put back the drain nut. When they filled 3.2..you gonna get 3.4 litre instead..thus excess will espace thru the loose plug naturally.

Ticking sound is ok if it goes away after a few days..if continue for weeks..that's sign of valve clearance problem due to shim and/or cam follower and/or valve spring or adjuster. In summary..quite common for it to come on and off.:sian:

Hey guys, nowadays heavy raining time, jus wanna ask if u all had the same eerie experience as mine.. Was riding in the heavy rain, when near red light realise brake never wrk, after i realease all the brake i found that my back tyre is sweaving sideways, cannot be my back brake is jammed as my tyres still rolling.. Any of u experience this before?..

Just this time or everytime? Tyre pressure too high or tyre getting botak may be.:sian:

hi ah pek, that day you mentioned to me the silicone spray you have - it's called thundercoat right? what brand is it? i can't seem to find it thru google.

Huh?..did I said "Thundercoat"?..sorry if so...its "Thundershield" from McNETT. Go to Novena Square, ground floor..you go google for what? :sian:

The shop name is call "The Big Country"...asked for Carol (pretty chick)..tell her I send you.

Came across few cases where previous worm patches leak. This is because of the poor quality type worm rubber latex used.:sian:

Can always 're-worm' but make sure that extra gluey be coated on the wprm latex strip. Ah Fook dome that liao recently for someone.

Patching from insdie should work too..bring along your bicycle patch set..can get from Mustafa and go to Ah Fook workshop. Tyre has to come off, sand from inside around the leak area and applied the patch as with bicycle/motobike inner tubing repair work. Guess the process would cost more.

bikeworks does it. kaki bukit ave 1 shun li industrial park. give them a call first 67476774

Many Thanks to Ah Pek and gwzc_mk2. I've done my internal patch repair at a tire shop in Kallang Avenue on 16 Nov 09. Damage was $12 for 2 old "worm" holes patched and another $20 for the dismantling and re-installing of the rear wheel (by a separate motor shop which is opposite the tire shop).

Actually, only 1 old "worm" patch was leaking but since I've already dismounted the tire, hence, might as well internally patched up the other old "worm" patch as well.

Hope they'll last. Otherwise, if were to leak again from the repaired patches, a new tire replacement will be necessary. :cry:

Huh?..did I said "Thundercoat"?..sorry if so...its "Thundershield" from McNETT. Go to Novena Square, ground floor..you go google for what? :sian:

The shop name is call "The Big Country"...asked for Carol (pretty chick)..tell her I send you.

oh i just wanted to read up a bit abt the product - found the website alr. i'll go check out the chick/spray soon. thanks!

btw i got myself some basic tools alr - bondhus (usa) allen keys, sunflag (japan) screwdrivers and a few king tony (taiwan) spanners. have you heard of the german brands elora and stahlwille? or any other quality brands to recommend? i've read abt snap-on but heard that the prices are exhorbitant?

Edited by smoothie

hi ah pek,my friend s4 will like to do grounding with you tomo,will you be available?

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

hi ah pek,my friend s4 will like to do grounding with you tomo,will you be available?

Heh Hannx..thanks. Today?..Sunday? Cannot leh..its eo changing day and bike check_check for some lah. I oso ran out of required parts. From next Tuesday onward can lah...evening oso but as usual, one day ahead.:sian: