guys, i have this problem when i inserted my key and turned on the ignition, nothing lights up. not even my headlight. i checked that my gear was neutral. So i tried to push start the bike and then the lights lit up. Then i could use the electric start. when i rested the bike on the side stand with the gear in neutral, the engine died. It happened 2 times before i decided that i should get home first at not stuck at that location.

When i reached home, my engine stalled when i was reversing to park my bike. Same thing happened. no lights. Out of curiousity i tried to push start the bike but nothing happened. I tried it a few times but the light didnt even light up.

I realised that this problem only started after i pump my patrol though i dont see a link between the two.

So has anyone came across something like this?

Possibility:

Kill switch wiring partially damage (broken)..if I remember correctly, its a black wire with grey whitish stripe. Normal partially open circtuit or badly oxidised. Together in the whole main hardness wiring..problem is near the right hand side of the tank front just before going into the headlamp.

To check..switch on the bike, grab the wire gardness just below the handle bar and wriggle or shake up and down the wirings..see if the netural lights etc..comes on an off.

Your side stand safety switch gone bad..located at near the bottom beside the side stand. Shake and play with the wiringa nd connection there while bike is on.

Good luck.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

• Replies 18.1k

thanks for you info ah pek. btw i popped by another couple of paint supplier shops @ ubi & can't find the hi temp primer either.

i did see smth which piqued my interest though - at amk ind estate there's a shop selling a variety of zinc 'galvanising' sprays. wld this be suitable for my headlamp metal interior?

One of the best isolation application for surface metal to be isolated from oxygen thus preventing rust. But note that drying time is very slow..better to heat it up (baked) and let cool..takes along time. Basically it's zinc use as a galvanise.

ah pek! ur grounding superb ar! together wit the eps, can feel immediate change in throttle. rpm goes up easily, smoother and faster.

grounding nice2 u do for me. thank u!

havent even use the valve cleaner.

the eo n x1-r.

conferm more shiok!

02 June 06 - 25 July 09.

-------kr150 FY941*K-------

25 July 09 - 10 June 10

-------Super4 SpecIII FBC6*94T-------

10 June 10 - 11 April 11.

-------YZF R6 10 FBE5*46P-------

11 April 11 - 8 August 12

-------DRZ SM400 FBC25*7D-------

8 August 12 - Present

-------YZF R1 07 FS35*5H-------

ah pek! ur grounding superb ar! together wit the eps, can feel immediate change in throttle. rpm goes up easily, smoother and faster.

grounding nice2 u do for me. thank u!

havent even use the valve cleaner.

the eo n x1-r.

conferm more shiok!

Ha....x3!..thanks for the kind words. Yah mannn!..lagi more shiok, aka_datang..mean while, ride safe. :)

so ah pek...erm thru the phone u were saying new pipe whole lot difference in performace rite???so my stock pipe isit possible 2 do it back to smewher near to when its new??the fibreglass repack ??is there any place i can service the pipe??isit costly or i can diy??

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

try diy shop erm.....near planet those shops facing the road.....they got everytink 1

i popped in 2 shops along that stretch but can't find either leh. nvm i'll take my time & hunt down this hi temp primer thing

One of the best isolation application for surface metal to be isolated from oxygen thus preventing rust. But note that drying time is very slow..better to heat it up (baked) and let cool..takes along time. Basically it's zinc use as a galvanise.

alright i shall go amk near the screw shop that stretch tmr to get a can & try on my headlamp casing internal.

i popped in 2 shops along that stretch but can't find either leh. nvm i'll take my time & hunt down this hi temp primer thing

sorri bro there should hve 1 ...paiseh....

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

so ah pek...erm thru the phone u were saying new pipe whole lot difference in performace rite???so my stock pipe isit possible 2 do it back to smewher near to when its new??the fibreglass repack ??is there any place i can service the pipe??isit costly or i can diy??

Not much one would want to do up the can as to "renew" it. The cost in workmanship can be costly..you be better off getting a new one. Anyway..end can don't do much..it's a "I like the sound" shopper product to me. 53 horsepower is 53 horsepower..you don't get much out from a "can"..you be better off with "liquid engineering". Nothing beats an original stock muffler from the Japs..well tunned to match your stock header from breathing to calculated back compression..good for fc. Note that the stock header to end can is a piece of well design item designed in line with your engine and carburetion.

hmm......so i can jus lup the stock end can in

i am tinking about the fibreglasses inside.....wat is thier purpse ???

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

hmm......so i can jus lup the stock end can in

i am tinking about the fibreglasses inside.....wat is thier purpse ???

Fibreglasses inside?..errr..I don't think there is anything like this inside..it would be kena satayed out by now..its the heat resistance steel mesh you mean? I really don't know bekuz my bike don't use end can. Though I have seen many, these meshes inside does trapped soot and exhaust carbon mist.

Yah..if it can be replaced by by clearing the old ones and in with the new..that should be good..but not sure how though. Believe the silencer part can be taken out. In the old days, we have to use gas torch to cut open out the pipe section. Guest you can do this and after welding back, can do a endcan rewrap at Seng Kuan.

Again like I said earlier..it could end up a "penny wise pound foolish" situation.

Why not sell your two end can and go get a new stock one..at least, it less the strain on the xtra $$$s.

hmmm..............need 2 tink hard.....how much can i let go also a question ...new stock endcan also question....

If I were you, I leave thinks as it is :0) In the end..how much FC can you accumulatively saved?..iszit worth all the $$$s spend?..by then your new end can also getting clogged liao...LOL!

Now go and eat and sleep peacefully. :)

i went & bought this cold galvanize zinc spray for my headlamp internal casing:

http://www.lpslabs.com/product_pg/corrosion_pg/ColdGalvanize.html

although the instruction say it dries to the touch in 3 - 5 min, i'll try heating it up under the sun + hairdryer before spraying another layer. stove cannot lah my mom will kill me haha

just out of curiousity, i checked with chong aik a while back abt new oem ver s endcan & was quoted $600+ so think twice abt it hahah.

huatster, do let me know if you find out how much & where & how to 'restore' the endcan. i might be keen too.

just out of curiousity, i checked with chong aik a while back abt new oem ver s endcan & was quoted $600+ so think twice abt it hahah.

huatster, do let me know if you find out how much & where & how to 'restore' the endcan. i might be keen too.

well.......u read back on ah peks msg 2 me ??ahahahah

yeah ....the amount of money spent......= how much can u actually save....

ok im dumping the change back to stock pipe plan lol

ahahahah

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

yo bros! how's version s doing?? so long never come in here.

anyone knows of anyone de-kitting their version s? i'm looking for front brake calipers for my friend's ver s. do pm me yeah? thanks!

well.......u read back on ah peks msg 2 me ??ahahahah

yeah ....the amount of money spent......= how much can u actually save....

ok im dumping the change back to stock pipe plan lol

ahahahah

no lah i'm trying to keep my ver s in good stock condition so always looking for ways to 'restore' it. i called up chong aik almost 2 mths ago to ask the price

why u want to change back to stock?

when i bought the bike its already fitted wif yoshi end can.never ever tried on stock pipe b4.according to my fc , i was tinking about changing back see how it works out....and i just found out after market pipes is 4 pick up onli , i dun reali usually pick up tat fast lol......i guess tis pipes are for people or mostly youngsters who after traffic turns green from 1st till last gear open v tech 1 ahahahaha

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

no lah i'm trying to keep my ver s in good stock condition so always looking for ways to 'restore' it. i called up chong aik almost 2 mths ago to ask the price

ohhh.....icic but 4 now my project camp liao.....listen to seniors.so u will benefit.....especially ah pek.....

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

Ah Pek, I've got a question to ask. Remember the grounding you did for me a long time back. My father's been using the S4 for a while and I was replacing the battery for him when I realised that some mechanic had disconnected the grouding lead from the battery.

After replacement, I was contemplating on the flow of electrical current. (Current flows from either +/- to -/+). I selected the wrong configuration (- to +), so I connected the grounding lead to the + terminal. Bad mistake. Battery started hissing and fuming. I got a whiff of the acrid acidic fume before I managed to disconnect the lead from the screw.

My question is, with the grounding wires connected to the frame, water jacket housing, and some other components of the bike, with the outflow of current to these places, is there any damage done? The path was not thru the fuses, so logically the fuses did not break.

Now I know it's connected to the -ve terminal. :faint:

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

Ah Pek, I've got a question to ask. Remember the grounding you did for me a long time back. My father's been using the S4 for a while and I was replacing the battery for him when I realised that some mechanic had disconnected the grouding lead from the battery.

After replacement, I was contemplating on the flow of electrical current. (Current flows from either +/- to -/+). I selected the wrong configuration (- to +), so I connected the grounding lead to the + terminal. Bad mistake. Battery started hissing and fuming. I got a whiff of the acrid acidic fume before I managed to disconnect the lead from the screw.

My question is, with the grounding wires connected to the frame, water jacket housing, and some other components of the bike, with the outflow of current to these places, is there any damage done? The path was not thru the fuses, so logically the fuses did not break.

Now I know it's connected to the -ve terminal. :faint:

:faint::faint::faint:..wah_lau!..hero mannn!..LOL!..its like shorting the battery in your hand.

Base on theory, I think it should only fried your battery's internal electro plates..but if it still working, guess you live with it till it's dead.:sian: If it was a ECU bike like Revo, I think you had!

:faint::faint::faint:..wah_lau!..hero mannn!..LOL!..its like shorting the battery in your hand.

Base on theory, I think it should only fried your battery's internal electro plates..but if it still working, guess you live with it till it's dead.:sian: If it was a ECU bike like Revo, I think you had!

So technically, no damage was done to the bike components right? A new battery, again. But this is one lesson I will never forget. Lol. Current flows from the +ve terminal to the -ve terminal. Thanks Ah Pek.

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.