Hi all! just bought a Ver S.

With regards to temp, I noticed engine gets hot especially aft long riding. Is that normal or muz I wait for temp indicator light to know?

Normal...ride faster and it cools better. If temperature lights comes on, before fan comes on..you in serious trouble. If your coolant reserve tank has coolant boiling sound..trouble also. Need help just pm me.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

• Replies 18.1k

hi ah pek thanks for the info i managed to get the heat shrink cable from sim lim tower & it worked like a charm to patch my fuel line. btw they had some $8 made in japan waterproof switch which i'm thinking of just buying to use for my headlamp on/off. should i just buy fr there to replace my broken one then don't need to trouble you?

Great..but do check occassionally to see if the heat shrink material withstand the fuel (melting at well fuel leaks) but should hold for a loooong whileif its just a small pin hole.

As for the switch, its up to you but just be sure that it can be "waterproof" properly..won't last forever but it does for a long time if you do it.

AH PEK, I PM u no reply, if u free 2morrow after 5 let me know.

Can..4got what u need to do..so sorry. Have pm you my contact..let me know how I can help.

Thanks Ah Pek! Interesting... didnt know coolant can heat up till boil in a bike...

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2365/2226771327_1468cf5b9b.jpg

13 Aug 2008 - Class 2B

8 Sep-now - NSR150SP

27 Nov 2009 - Class 2A

13 Jan 2010 - Super 4 Ver S

Huatster888, so far my travelling from hougang to changi airport thru TPE never overheat, only when travelling with alot of traffic light stop or even at tunnel KPE then the overtemp indication will light up but still when it light up i had the bypass switch for the fan. So i don t think the fc is cos by overtemp. I m working afternoon 2morrow, if not can join u. perhap some other day, let me know. thx

me too.. I went there, start pt ECP to end pt TPE, gear 6, rpm 4, maintain speed ard 70, after payalebar exit, Light come on. I think coz hot air around..

After 200km of 3k to 4k rpm gear changes i gave up trying to force myself to gear change at these rpms liao. Simply cannot take it. So switch back to my normal riding. After some 330+km i went to top up 14.2litres petrol. Agar agar is about 24km/l. If i had stuck to 3k-4k rpm change throughout, its definitely 25 or even 26km/h.

However, to do 25 or 26km/h will require cruising at about 70 or 80 on expressways on the left lane, some free wheeling towards traffic lights and when downslope, accelerations from traffic lights like a car etc. Riding frugally means that you give up some of the benefits of good riding, and that includes proper use of the throttle to accelerate to free spaces and engine brakes to slow down.

The S4 offers good engine braking at 4-7k rpm for street riding, drastically reducing the need for the brakes, taking away one the biggest causes of motorcycle accidents. Setting entry speeds into corners early and being in the right gear before leaning in means that the bike is more stable as you're banked over, allowing you to power out early towards the next corner without having to twist the t

twist the throttle wide open, again taking away another factor to motorcycle crashes. If you choose to lane split, and I believe many of us do, dropping a gear or two also keeps the power handy, in case you need to get out of trouble or e-brake when that taxi cuts into your path. Riding frugally simply means riding less safely. I urge those who are considering to change their riding habits due to

current all time high petrol prices to reconsider whether their safety is worth the risks of that few dollars every few days. Surely, a lifestyle change like reducing one or 2 sticks of cigarette a day or cutting down on booze will go a long way towards saving money and your health.

Those few days of riding with the best consumption I ever had was also one the darkest days ever, when i did not look forward to my next ride, knowing that I'm missing out on a lot of good riding. Perhaps I will put this info to good use if i ever lose my way too far north and run low on petrol...

Summary for Vtech 1 to share. (Consumptions on the same bike)

3k-4krpm gear change---25km/l

Normal

riding- 20km/l

NSH riding 140-190km/h --- 16-17km/l

Came across this quote from a fellow S4 Rider way back in 07.

Hope this helps to keep things in perspective!

hey guys, jus to share some info.

basically, stock air filters offer less airflow, thus less power. aftermarket airfilters offer higher airflow. higher airflow means richer Fuel/Air (F/A) mixture, which means better power, but only to a certain point. when there's too much air(when airfilter holes become enlarged), the power output reduces. same thing applies when there's too little air flow(when airfilter get clogged up).

ie to say, K&N / BMC filters do help with FC, but only to a certain extent. ultimately, it's how you ride.

jus taking my own bike (vtec 1) as a case study:

when i jus got my bike, was changing gears at 5k rpm, crsuiing speeds at 90. FC was 320 hit reserve.

then change to 4k rpm change gear, 340 hit reserve

then change to 3.5k rpm change gear, 360 hit reserve.

now i change gears at 3k-3.5k rpm, dun drag on lower gears, dun open vtec (in sg only)

present record : 390 hit reserve, tank emptied at 468.5km (i was only bout 50 meters away from the petrol station!)

anything below 3k rpm, it'll be damn slow in pick up. i'm not saying my method is the best, but it works for me

that amounts to 26km/L.

and i found out that still works for cruising speeds up to 100km/h.

try to travel more on highways if u can, it'll help in fuel economy, cuz moving off and idling (due to multiple junctions) takes up more petrol

Another good quote :thumb:

Anybody can advise?

Can but some mod to suit the mounting holes may be needed. From the image..the extra straight end piece is a mod (locally welded) and look freaking ugly.

There are those that fits PB1 and Ver S. Look around and asked..there is as I have one...short and sweet.

hi ah pek , when free? need x1r. also recommended friends to do your x1r.

Anytime my friend...but one day ahead notice in case I don't have any in stock. Just let me know what daya nd time you can come. Thanks :0)

me too.. I went there, start pt ECP to end pt TPE, gear 6, rpm 4, maintain speed ard 70, after payalebar exit, Light come on. I think coz hot air around..

nvr experience it before though. frm home use tpe,kpe all the way till telok blangah exit until vivo, no fan or temp indicator out. riding at 90km/k inside tunnel.

2nd scenario. if before i head to jb to pump petrol, i travel for an hr then head to causeway. at jb custom then my fan on wen the officer is scanning my passport. nvr encountered light on. maybe ur coolent is out or maybe u using cheap coolent?

Im loving every moment with my LV.

After 200km of 3k to 4k rpm gear changes i gave up trying to force myself to gear change at these rpms liao. Simply cannot take it. So switch back to my normal riding. After some 330+km i went to top up 14.2litres petrol. Agar agar is about 24km/l. If i had stuck to 3k-4k rpm change throughout, its definitely 25 or even 26km/h.

If you're concerned about Fuel Consumption, I'd suggest the most practical solution will be downgrade to a much better fuel saving bike.

I believe 400 cc bikes fc ranges from around 20km/l to 26km/l.

But if you are riding the 400 cc bike like a 125 cc bike, what's the joy and fun of riding a 400 cc.

So kudos to you for changing back to your normal riding style. :thumb:

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

Hmmmm...talking about FC. Actually it had never occurred to me to think of it over my 30+ years of riding and of so many various cc and brands...its only till I join SBF...ha....x3! Kcuf lah...just wack and ride safely...you live and ride safely and choose to ride or at all, a "two wheelers" by choice for some..enjoy the use of petrol for whatever ride you have guys!...wait till crusie and try and save on fc while driving a Merce (every 4 days pump $60!)...been there bros!

If you not a fast rider or enjoy fast speed occassionaly what an S4 can offer..get the same speed, damn good fc and still looking good..you fare well with a Honda Night Hawk or a CBF 150!

hey riders,anyone heard about this product - Atom Power?

Anyone used it before?any reviews..just curious.HAHA:angel:

http://singapore.gumtree.sg/c-Cars-Vehicles-Motorbikes-Parts-other-ATOM-POWER-FUEL-SAVING-HELPS-YOU-SAVE-on-ROAD-TAX-W0QQAdIdZ165819621

27 DEC 2007 - CLASS 2B

15 JAN 2008 - HONDA NSR 150 SP

07 APR 2009 - CLASS 2A

30 MAY 2009 - HONDA CB400 VERSION S

14 SEP 2009 - CLASS 3

14 OCT 2010 - CLASS 2

02 SEP 2011 - HONDA CBR600RR HRC

13 MAY 2013 - VESPA PX200 1985

22 JAN 2014 - DUCATI STREETFIGHTER S

If you're concerned about Fuel Consumption, I'd suggest the most practical solution will be downgrade to a much better fuel saving bike.

I believe 400 cc bikes fc ranges from around 20km/l to 26km/l.

But if you are riding the 400 cc bike like a 125 cc bike, what's the joy and fun of riding a 400 cc.

So kudos to you for changing back to your normal riding style. :thumb:

yea true enuf to wat is being said. how bad can it go? whack hard and enjoy the speed. im riding hard and having an aftermarket exhaust still running on 22km/l.

Hmmmm...talking about FC. Actually it had never occurred to me to think of it over my 30+ years of riding and of so many various cc and brands...its only till I join SBF...ha....x3! Kcuf lah...just wack and ride safely...you live and ride safely and choose to ride or at all, a "two wheelers" by choice for some..enjoy the use of petrol for whatever ride you have guys!...wait till crusie and try and save on fc while driving a Merce (every 4 days pump $60!)...been there bros!

If you not a fast rider or enjoy fast speed occassionaly what an S4 can offer..get the same speed, damn good fc and still looking good..you fare well with a Honda Night Hawk or a CBF 150!

u forgotten bajaj pulsar. haha! i everyday back frm work always play hard wif my fren riding drz..

hey riders,anyone heard about this product - Atom Power?

Anyone used it before?any reviews..just curious.HAHA:angel:

http://singapore.gumtree.sg/c-Cars-Vehicles-Motorbikes-Parts-other-ATOM-POWER-FUEL-SAVING-HELPS-YOU-SAVE-on-ROAD-TAX-W0QQAdIdZ165819621

i think so many products out there are similar, i guess. "Give more power", "fuel economy" "easy start in the morning" bla bla bla...i assume by putting all this stuff will make ur bike super duper powerful.:dot: :dozed:

Im loving every moment with my LV.

Hello peps.

Im a new owner of Version S.

Was shock to see theres no coolant in my radiator just now, Nowander temp indicator keeps litted & blinking.

Hw u people?

[12/11/07 - 12/09/08] Honda TA200 Phanton FX 3*3* X

[12/01/08 - 20/05/08] Yamaha Rxk 135 FD 4*5* S

[12/09/08 - present] Daelim Daystar X5 150 FBC **55 B

[12/07/09 - 15/01/10] Piaggio X9 EVO 200 FY *77* T

[15/01/10 - 14/08/11] CB400 Version S FP *99* T

[10/09/11 - present] Yamaha X1R FBB *96* T

[19/3/13 - 2/1/14] PGO Gmax 200 FBF 1**1 Y

[18/1/14 - present] BMW F700GS FBJ 1**0 J

Since ya guys been talking about FC? What is the average FC for Ver S n PB1 just for a rough guage?

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2365/2226771327_1468cf5b9b.jpg

13 Aug 2008 - Class 2B

8 Sep-now - NSR150SP

27 Nov 2009 - Class 2A

13 Jan 2010 - Super 4 Ver S

yea i'm riding it the way it should be ridden and on aftermarket exhaust.

getting about the same as you 21 - 22 km/litre.

there's a thread on FC.

Honda Super 4 Version S - 30-32km/litre (as quoted)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=102319&page=7

i wonder how he did it, perhaps change gear at 3k rpm and travel expressway 90%. or maybe his figure was when Version S was a new machine.

"Vtec 2/3/Revo Mainstand: $130"

As quoted from Unique Motorsports.

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

sorry ah pek so long den reply...

erm ya the red light always on

and i think they snook me la say full service cause the engine oil leaking, the red light always on and always in morn need 2 open choke den can start... I thiNk i kanna CHEATED MAN... den my front fork go over small hump slowly also got tis "kock kock" sound dunno wat sia ask them they say wat steering cone not tight, den adjust tight also got sound wah lao eh wanna go CASE le report them can not?

sorry ah pek so long den reply...

erm ya the red light always on

and i think they snook me la say full service cause the engine oil leaking, the red light always on and always in morn need 2 open choke den can start... I thiNk i kanna CHEATED MAN... den my front fork go over small hump slowly also got tis "kock kock" sound dunno wat sia ask them they say wat steering cone not tight, den adjust tight also got sound wah lao eh wanna go CASE le report them can not?

"go CASE le report them can not?" Hmmmm...may be you should. They may get scare AND DO A PROPER REPLACE OF ALL BAD PARTS FOR YOU :angel: You save a lot of others from such cheating gain when it comes out in the News Paper :cheeky: