I think it all boils down to whether you got the $$ and the bike you love so much. Like all bros/sis here said, the feeling of a new bike is different from a second hand one....don't have to worry about mech/elect probs......as compare to second hand ones. When you are young and violent, you tend to change bikes to keep with trend/new models(agree!?). But as you aged...like me now...I tend to eye for a cruiser type and then keep till it either bury/burn together with me lah!!

Cheers to all riders!!!!

• Replies 154

Sometimes some bikes are so good to keep, very hard to find 2nd hand. Even if one comes along, you usually be suspicious of the sale. So buying a virgin deletes all the risks of lemon.

Since i took riding lessons years ago, i was drooling over american bike mags and all those big cc bikes. Dont know anything about small bikes. Its true small cc bikes tend to have problems more than big bikes, big cc have higher rpm and torque, average rider can never trash the engine. All my big bikes 2nd hand no problems, virago 1100, steed400, rvf400. But skipper125, vespa150, electrical prob here n there. finally bought a xj900 brand new, 8th year already, my keeper.

hm cuz ppl normally use small bike for transport and rough use

few ppl use big bike for transport... n for big bike owner paid so much money... will of course take care of the bike

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

I love my small bikes. Abuse every day and use for almost all purposes imaginable and never spoil :D

I tend to choose workhorse, uncomplicated types. Don't want to pay for big bike maintenence cost with my kind of mileage (12,000km in 3 mth etc). Don't want fragile or complicated things like super-scooters, sportsbikes, etc. Normal bike will do. YBR, RXZ are sensible choices.

As for the good ol new vs 2nd/3rd/4th hand etc.

I could lay down like 8k plus for a brand new R15. No kick - everyone and their sister rides new bikes. Big plastic toys.

Or get a Phantom in almost scrap condition, get shop to rebuild, thereafter DIY maintenence & performance tuning. Super shiok because the scrap condition means a chance to do up the bike in a way that's superior to its standard format. Learn to do mechanic and electrical work some more. It's free education, and when it comes to getting where you need to go, somehow I like big noisy dinosaur 2B bike to do it on, rather than something as automated and fancy as a food blender :D

imo

i just think tt if wana kip a bike 4 long,just get new 1

tts wad everybody think

let's face it.. most of the riders who opt to get used bikes normally cant afford new ones.. if new bikes were dirt cheap who in the right mind wld wanna get a 2nd hand bike.. diff ppl have diff priorities when purchasing a bike.. thr r oso many diff factors influencing the final decision of either a new or used one

Edited by Wayang

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

if 2b bike ard 6k-8k(1st hand)

okay wad-1yr warranty,no nid scare this n that spoil

for a perfect one

I love my small bikes. Abuse every day and use for almost all purposes imaginable and never spoil :D

I tend to choose workhorse, uncomplicated types. Don't want to pay for big bike maintenence cost with my kind of mileage (12,000km in 3 mth etc). Don't want fragile or complicated things like super-scooters, sportsbikes, etc. Normal bike will do. YBR, RXZ are sensible choices.

As for the good ol new vs 2nd/3rd/4th hand etc.

I could lay down like 8k plus for a brand new R15. No kick - everyone and their sister rides new bikes. Big plastic toys.

Or get a Phantom in almost scrap condition, get shop to rebuild, thereafter DIY maintenence & performance tuning. Super shiok because the scrap condition means a chance to do up the bike in a way that's superior to its standard format. Learn to do mechanic and electrical work some more. It's free education, and when it comes to getting where you need to go, somehow I like big noisy dinosaur 2B bike to do it on, rather than something as automated and fancy as a food blender :D

so after the r15 becomes 2nd hand, it ceases to become a plastic toy and becomes a real bike?

btw, there are new rxzs, ybrs too

wld hardly call a food blender a toy though, awful waste of food giving it to the kids to play with

let's face it.. most of the riders who opt to get used bikes normally cant afford new ones.. if new bikes were dirt cheap who in the right mind wld wanna get a 2nd hand bike.. diff ppl have diff priorities when purchasing a bike.. thr r oso many diff factors influencing the final decision of either a new or used one

no la if the bike model discontinued, then bo pian buy the 2nd hand also...

hopefully some rich expat is leaving singapore and you get hold of one with only 4500km on it :p

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

i like to know my bite from new - all the way to scrap

safer.....period

The R15 I want is perhaps, 10 years old, possibly enough mileage to reach China, go one round and come back, all the fairings like going to fall apart.

I'll buy it over and convert it into another type of bike altogether :D

Sounds like my YBR. Only difference is that the engine is still strong.

The R15 I want is perhaps, 10 years old, possibly enough mileage to reach China, go one round and come back, all the fairings like going to fall apart.

I'll buy it over and convert it into another type of bike altogether :D

i tot r15 is new bike ?

Hmm... I get uncle's GN125, put windscreen, fairing and side boxes = Bronze Wing! :D

(psst, you don't do these crazy things to brand new bikes :D therefore used bike more fun :D)

haha.ya

you dao li

Sounds like my YBR. Only difference is that the engine is still strong.

lol..ur ybr hw long le ?

falling apart ?

N mainly depends on one's preferences...

For me getting a new bike is worth to me cos of this reason tat 2nd hand bike might hv problems.... N i don wan to hv headaches wif all the problems tat i might face....

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

ask Throttle... he keeps on getting 2nd hand bikes.. so he couldnt afford new bike ?

and how many brand new bike owners are paying full cash and scream out loud "i can afford it"

i paid my bike full cash 2nd hand, i could well afford brand new as well but i chose to save $$ and get free accessories.. :angel:

til now i have bought 4 brand new bikes.. currently on my 4th one now.. and all tat i can say is nothing beats a VIRGIN. :angel:

hey bro... can you let us know how much you bought ur brand new bikes... and how much you sold them ?

so we can get to the point... "is it worth to buy brand new bike?"

the cost of Machine "VIRGIN".. :cheeky:

I can see lots of goody on sale section, really nice bikes, dukes, harleys, cruisers all at a steal. All seems to be only 1 owner! The downside of a new bike is depreciation in selling price. Downside of used bike is additional costs in repairs. Which lose more? Depends on bike model, but mostly new bikes lose more.

kmax.. afford oso means "willingness to spend" i'm not saying that ppl who buy 2nd hand bikes r poor or dun have the money.. its juz tat they r not willing to spend more and prob have other priorities

like i said b4.. thr r many factors influencing a purchase.. like back in 2006.. i fell in love wif the new model r6.. how am i goin to find a 2nd hand one for tat.. anyway i like new bikes.. so i'm willing to pay.. no regrets

kmax.. afford oso means "willingness to spend" i'm not saying that ppl who buy 2nd hand bikes r poor or dun have the money.. its juz tat they r not willing to spend more and prob have other priorities

like i said b4.. thr r many factors influencing a purchase.. like back in 2006.. i fell in love wif the new model r6.. how am i goin to find a 2nd hand one for tat.. anyway i like new bikes.. so i'm willing to pay.. no regrets

too bad you do not own it anymore bro, your R6 was nice bike with nice plate.

haha.. thanks man.. i do miss it from time to time.. but i oredi have my eyes on something else so wat to do.. gotta sell it.. i dun print money either

so wads ur ride nw

yamaha fino.. one reason y i had to buy it brand new is becos i wanted to carry over my no plate.. if i were to put my no plate on a 2nd hand bike it wld cost me $1.3k

lol..ur ybr hw long le ?

falling apart ?

Only the inferior plastic parts. But replaced already, like new. Engine still strong. Argh. the 'B' in 'YBR' Stands for 'Boring'. Haha.