is it worth to buy brand new bike ?

kmax

Lol I shall eat my words - if I were to get a proper performance bike firsthand may be the way to go. Don't want to be surprised by all the wear and tear like you say.

I want the 2011 Gladius :p

OR..

u will still diy it..hard 2 sae rite

• Replies 154

till date i bought >10 bikes already & onli 3 were re-sale. be it small Spark 135 or big FJR1300 i bought them new.

ask me worth it or not? YES! definately no regret. friend, u got to own 1 to know the feeling :thumb:

the biggest lost was my ZX 7R P1, >$9K in 7mths :sweat:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

wa zx-7r..

its litat,haha

think u alrdy xi guan(use to it) le

still looking for the machine i will buy brand new...minimum ride 3years...

my current also coming to 3 years...

CBR ?

2b bike buy new 1 lor,use long long

y i sae this,quite alot of ppl kip a 2b bike,n another 2a/2

Unless if want to ride that 1 bike for very long and not just want to ride for a transitional phase to your next bike then its ok I guess. Depreciation is baaaaad.

ya.dan after 10yrs c u wan renew anot

litat nia

You sound like a sheep lol.

CBR ?

2b bike buy new 1 lor,use long long

y i sae this,quite alot of ppl kip a 2b bike,n another 2a/2

i riding CBR1K now leh...why change to another CBR....lol

oh.i mean ur 2nd sentence there

my current also coming to 3 years...

nw looking 4 2b bike ?

huh..

cbr1k change to FZ1 ? lol

tot dwngrade or wad

• 8 months later...

digging up old thread :angel:

till date i bought >10 bikes already & onli 3 were re-sale. be it small Spark 135 or big FJR1300 i bought them new.

ask me worth it or not? YES! definately no regret. friend, u got to own 1 to know the feeling :thumb:

comic... i am poor man... cant "afford" 9k loss in 7 month.. :dot:

i'd rather buy your second hand bike and save up 9k.... :cheeky:

Rich = 1st hand.

Poor = second hand :( that's life!

that's obvious misconception ... there are lots of people buying 1st hand bike with 5~6 year installment and people who paid full cash for second hand bike at discount :angel:

1st hand;

new toy, loving it...polish, clean, wiping it every day with care more than anything else.

2nd......20th hand;

if luck, brought an apple bike. riding it shiok, shiok, not having any problem but aging parts start breaking down.

repair needs cash....than more cash needed for replacements.

no so lucky, have a lemon bike. this breakdown than tat breakdown, curse n curse also no use. pocket got big hole, money just drop out.

if rich no need to buy bike liao , buy car bang ppl down liao....

buying a bike is like having an affair.....some good some no good, some last for a week , some last for life and even some will take your life.

after getting a lok kork 2nd hand after 2nd hand 2b bike kenna eletrical catch fire lah , tire bearing leak , cone got prob........blah blah blah .....then decided to go 1st hand with class 2a

the shadow 400 lasted me 12 years....had to let go because my shape n body weight had change.

get a first hand bike...have chances to grow with the bike n know their problems and workaround them.(travel in malaysia without knowing what's puncture means and never kenna there onli in Singapore)

my preference 1st time get licence better do it with virgin......after then visit prostitute also no prob

simply put it, u screw it (1st hand new bike) or be screwed (2nd hand old bike). lol

i luv the way you put it:lol:

I see many people wants to buy brand new bike from 2B, 2A and class 2..

and most bought with loan plans and heavy interest rate..

but then i hardly see anyone ride until loan finish but shortly sell off again in Garage Sale..

so.. the question is "why people buy brand new bike.. when they can buy cheaper second (or third) hand."

2B.. people rush to buy RS125, R15, Derbi, .. even phantom, i once knew people pay 6k for brand new phantom and sell again 1 year later at less than half the price.

2A.. there are tons of super 4 in garage sale yet they go for brand new.. and sell again 1 year later.

Same for GSR..

2.. i hardly meet any rider who owns brand new bike for 10 years.

you can find many 1 year old bikes in garage sale.. selling at loss, even on machine price, let alone interest that added for loan period..

mostly on sports bikes.. which depreciates crazily yet people still go for them.

anyone can share some thoughts ? :shy:

generally same as with buying cars, singaporeans like to show off.

so cant afford, also take loan to buy.

once lose job and cant get another quick enough, life gets screwed.

how silly.

on whether worth it or not, it depends on how much joy you derive.

when i was riding bikes as main transport, i bought them mostly brand new (full cash) always.

it's my own way of controlling myself from spending much more than i can afford or willing.

nowadays i only buy used bikes becos i hardly ride and it's more for ornamental reasons.

so i'm happy that many people buy new, so when they sell, i can pick it up cheap cheap all under $20k

hehhehhehh

for me it's opposite, i had 4 new bikes and about 6 used ones.

the worse was my brand new magna 750, lost $11k in 2 years becos i sold it to friend.

but nothing compared to cars still , lose easily $20 - $30k per year.

Edited by Aie

I have bought and sold 5 used bikes and 1 new bike.

Currently riding first hand bike.

Used bikes really come with problems. Spent so much money on maintenance. First hand bike gives ease of mind cos I keep up with regular servicing and know there is no hidden problem.