now is balls vs balls ? lane splitting no matter wat speed is based on ur own judgement. if hum then dun lane split.. if think its too slow to stay behind a car, then go get a car and dun ride.. and seriously if u dun lane split then dun buy a bike... i see some who said they buy a bike to enjoy sticking their nose behind the car i seriously think is very kum lan...

buying cars in sg is to join the traffic jam where riding a bike is to never get in a jam..

What he mention is a fact in bike world.i agree on it.:thumb:
  • Replies 219

My kup kia and bicycle is for lane splitting, by touring bike hardly lane split, cause i dont ride it during peak hours.

Lane splitting does not make you a hero.

But lane splitting without thinking definitely makes you a idiot.

Amazing how some of us can equate lane splitting to a measure of guts.:?

Yesterday saw a bike lane split, whack into a car's rear end. The biker just rode off without a sorry or anything.

Now, what do we call this?

Edited by Constructicon

I don't squeeze in between cars so often now.

Reason because these days i got no confident in my skill, and those driver skill.

平安回家 , 陪家人吃饭很重要.

i'd rather change lanes den to lane split.

so you'll see me from 1st lane change to mayb 3rd lane den back to 1st? =x

owells.

scared.

18th June 2008 (2B)

21st April 2009 (3)

4th August 2009 (2A)

28th September 2010 (2)

with what you've put me through, still i love you.

i just got my license for 2 weeks, have been riding everyday, seriously i still don't dare to squeeze in between cars after looking at those videos the instructors have shown us during our theory lessons...

How accident have happen to motorbike while squeezing thru traffic, the video just keep playing back on my mind...lol but i try to avoid staying directly behind the cars, just a little bit off the lane, so if any jam brakes i could avoid...but i still dare not squeeze in between the cars...

anyone here who doesn't squeeze in between cars while riding?:cheeky:

me too!! :cheeky:

-_-

just wanted to share something, i was riding in the peak hour morning traffic, what's worse there was some accident and as usual alot of cars slow down and kaypoh. i entered the expressway behind a harley.. both of us lane split and i found myself behind him but that was the best choice made. traffic was almost bumper to bumper, but cars were eager to cut each others lane. but everytime approaching those cars near the line, they will turn back to their lane.

why? cause the harley will rev his bike then then the cars heard and siam him. coincidental that the cars siam him? dont think so, the number of cars siam him "2 hands also cannot count finish."

dont agree with loud pipe saving lives cos cars cannot hear bikes exhaust? well, i dont think so.

it really depends..

inline 4 will only be loud when the rpm comes... which is usually around 6-10k, depending from bike to bike.. whether stock or aftermarket pipes..

but for v-twins like harleys, they are made in such a special way that even a superbike that growls at idle at a traffic junctions, it will sound like a little kitten when next to a harley..

ear-piercing rumbling...

just wanted to share something, i was riding in the peak hour morning traffic, what's worse there was some accident and as usual alot of cars slow down and kaypoh. i entered the expressway behind a harley.. both of us lane split and i found myself behind him but that was the best choice made. traffic was almost bumper to bumper, but cars were eager to cut each others lane. but everytime approaching those cars near the line, they will turn back to their lane.

why? cause the harley will rev his bike then then the cars heard and siam him. coincidental that the cars siam him? dont think so, the number of cars siam him "2 hands also cannot count finish."

dont agree with loud pipe saving lives cos cars cannot hear bikes exhaust? well, i dont think so.

ride scrambler lor... scrambler tall, drivers can see easily. also have a bit of the same effect.

paint it white and wear white helmet for the ultimate "shocker" effect

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

Lane splitting does not make you a hero.

But lane splitting without thinking definitely makes you a idiot.

Amazing how some of us can equate lane splitting to a measure of guts.:?

Yesterday saw a bike lane split, whack into a car's rear end. The biker just rode off without a sorry or anything.

Now, what do we call this?

Hmmm irresponsible? It just deepen rider and driver hatred.

I don't squeeze in between cars so often now.

Reason because these days i got no confident in my skill, and those driver skill.

平安回家 , 陪家人吃饭很重要.

"平安回家 , 陪家人吃饭很重要." Yes, please everyone keep it in mind. There's someone else waiting for your return. God bless everyone.

i'd rather change lanes den to lane split.

so you'll see me from 1st lane change to mayb 3rd lane den back to 1st? =x

owells.

scared.

Its not scared, but you place safety ahead of you. Which is good :thumb: Lane splitting doesn't make anyone a hero.

Beside I did lane split, I realise that chances that you apply brake on the white marker are high. Which increase your chance losing traction and fell off from the vehicle. Its hard for us to anticipate the move of the driver... if the traffic is moving, try not to lane split... like "hallucinating" mentioned try changing lane instead.

lane splitting is no doubt dangerous.

I've nearly gotten kiap in between a lorry and a car (damn freaking close) 'cause either

1) the driver purposely move in so prevent me from splitting, and didnt give a damn about what's going to happen to the rider .

2) driver not paying total attention to the road, hence having the tendency to sway from time to time (I believed this is quite normal .. see alot of cars swaying like nobody's business, and and you thought they're going to lane change. )

Adventure.

Beside I did lane split, I realise that chances that you apply brake on the white marker are high. Which increase your chance losing traction and fell off from the vehicle.

losing traction wun cause you to fall.. this is a wrong understanding..

losing traction means you will be skidding if you continue to apply your brakes..

and when you lose traction, back off the brakes and let just the bike roll or open the throttle slightly..

With the kind of traffic flow that I'm facing when I'm travelling to my workplace in the morning and from my workplace to my home in the evening... I can forget about not lane-splitting...

Awww... the traffic is just so bad... If I don't lane-split, I think it'll take me an hour to get home.

I know i know... Many of you are going to say that lane-splitting is dangerous right?

For me... I always have this rule: NEVER LANE-SPLIT over +30km/h. I always keep within the +20-30 km/h. So that if a car pops out, I will have time to brake to a stop.

Most importantly, if you can't lane-split faster than the others (like me), then just move into the lane and lane-split after them. Never be pressured to go faster than what you are willing to do.

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

you guys ever seen cars trying to lane split? I've seen so many cars/lorries etc driving on the dotted lines, dont want to go left, dont want to right. i want over take also a bit scared. haha.. :faint:

Just hv to be careful on the roads...

Even though u don squeeze in between cars / lane splitting, we just prompt to accident easily....

A bike hv 2 wheels with no cover on the left n rite....

Whereas for car got 4 wheels n got protection rite, left, on top n behind...

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

you guys ever seen cars trying to lane split? I've seen so many cars/lorries etc driving on the dotted lines, dont want to go left, dont want to right. i want over take also a bit scared. haha.. :faint:

tt means that the driver is sleeping... give him a good horn!

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

now is balls vs balls ? lane splitting no matter wat speed is based on ur own judgement. if hum then dun lane split.. if think its too slow to stay behind a car, then go get a car and dun ride.. and seriously if u dun lane split then dun buy a bike... i see some who said they buy a bike to enjoy sticking their nose behind the car i seriously think is very kum lan...

buying cars in sg is to join the traffic jam where riding a bike is to never get in a jam..

I agree to a certain extent... Some guys in this thread mention abt arriving only 5 mins earlier.. Are you sure?

Have you ever tried pillioning someone and lane splitting from AYE Jurong to Marina Square @ 60km/h. In clear traffic, usually, I can reach around 20++ mins, I took 1 hr because of the jam. and If you were to stay put in the jam with those cars. Gosh.

All as well, ends well.

I choose where to lanesplit. I work very near the Woodlands Industrial area so I share the roads with Malaysian riders and trucks and lorries. These people are a nightmare to share roads with.

I lanesplit:

a) at traffic lights if I'm very far back at the queue. However, when the lights turn green, I let the Malaysian bikers go first;

b) at traffic jams AFTER I let the Malaysia riders pass (don't like them crowding behind me);

c) to clear 1-2 cars especially if there's a turtle car on the right lane;

d) to avoid accidents e.g. if some blind driver swerves into my lane.

I don't lanesplit when:

a) I need to pass trucks and lorries in moving traffic. I will change lane instead;

b) there's a huge swarm of Malaysian riders all lane-splitting at the same time.

Because of these Malaysian riders and trucks, I also have to choose the time I leave work. I try to avoid peak hours because that's when all these people rush for the Causeway.

Oh yah, the day before, I saw one Malaysia bike under the wheels of a Johor tour bus on SLE. Needless to say, the rider was lane splitting and somehow went under the rear left wheel. Amazingly, he was still standing with only injuries to his chin it seemed.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

Encounter this almost everday..and they follow u tightly like nobody biz..and they like to share lane with bike and force me out of the lane...

I choose where to lanesplit. I work very near the Woodlands Industrial area so I share the roads with Malaysian riders and trucks and lorries. These people are a nightmare to share roads with.

I lanesplit:

a) at traffic lights if I'm very far back at the queue. However, when the lights turn green, I let the Malaysian bikers go first;

b) at traffic jams AFTER I let the Malaysia riders pass (don't like them crowding behind me);

c) to clear 1-2 cars especially if there's a turtle car on the right lane;

d) to avoid accidents e.g. if some blind driver swerves into my lane.

I don't lanesplit when:

a) I need to pass trucks and lorries in moving traffic. I will change lane instead;

b) there's a huge swarm of Malaysian riders all lane-splitting at the same time.

Because of these Malaysian riders and trucks, I also have to choose the time I leave work. I try to avoid peak hours because that's when all these people rush for the Causeway.

Oh yah, the day before, I saw one Malaysia bike under the wheels of a Johor tour bus on SLE. Needless to say, the rider was lane splitting and somehow went under the rear left wheel. Amazingly, he was still standing with only injuries to his chin it seemed.

HEy, my friend saw the accident also....he told me about it when he reach office...sometimes i wonder if they know how to cherish their life more? they split lanes like playing soccer..lol..

Another thing.

If cars are moving along side by side, I find it safer to lane split and squeeze between them. Chances are they will see the other car beside them and won't change lane.

If cars are staggering with gaps beside them, I'll be more careful. They may just swerve into the gap while you try to overtake.