• Replies 833

If u guys got go boon siew for servicing, then u will know that 3L is good enough.

2 months ago i went boon siew for servicing and they even challange me that 3L is enough.

When they finish servicing my bike, they let my engine run for 2 - 3 min and let it rest for 2 min and ask me to see my clear glass window and its chun chun at the mid of the min and max lvl.

FYI it is recommended that to change ur oil filter when u change ur EO.

And if really got problem, then my FBA spec 3 muz have problem right now cause i change my EO and Oil filter every 2000km and yet now going to 10000km liao still no problem at all.

hw much is the price 4 3litres maxima engine oil?? is it good?? i need to go 4 my

2nd service n wuld like to know about the brand..

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

Originally posted by Vincent80@Nov 24 2006, 11:10 PM

If u guys got go boon siew for servicing, then u will know that 3L is good enough.

2 months ago i went boon siew for servicing and they even challange me that 3L is enough.

When they finish servicing my bike, they let my engine run for 2 - 3 min and let it rest for 2 min and ask me to see my clear glass window and its chun chun at the mid of the min and max lvl.

FYI it is recommended that to change ur oil filter when u change ur EO.

And if really got problem, then my FBA spec 3 muz have problem right now cause i change my EO and Oil filter every 2000km and yet now going to 10000km liao still no problem at all.

Eh... was wondering whether you got check the level in next morning after overnight parking?Thought EO is better to check when not warmed up?

:?

Life's a gift... That's why they called it the present. :cool:

Originally posted by fabian@Nov 25 2006, 03:27 AM

Eh... was wondering whether you got check the level in next morning after overnight parking?Thought EO is better to check when not warmed up?

:?

you are right bro ...........it's better to check the engine oil level when all the oil has settled back into the base of the engine.........using the dipstick would be very accurate but this is only so if u maintain the bike in centre position and not on the side stand .............

actually, u guys can refer to the sticker near the engine oil cap where u pour the engine oil......it's stated........with filter change =3.2litres..........

my 2 cents.........

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]

like what i always say, it's better to follow manufacturer's specification. no matter wat others tell you about how much is enuf, it's alwyas gd that u follow the book..........

from wat i gather, most of the bros here change EO ard 5000km ... i have been following this mark all my life and nothing is wrong with my bike .......and oil filter can actually last ard 10000km ..........

the choice is urs bros..........my 2 cents

why some shops selling EO at a higher price and some shops at a lower price.

for example,esso gold at some shops selling it at $20+ and some shops selling at $15?

is the quality of the EO the same? or it differs?

btw have anyone have tried LAB esso gold? is the oil ok?

bros, it's all about profit and margin ,

u charge higher price but with that price comes with betterservice, others will still patronise ur shop ..............

however if u charge low or market rate, yet service like **** (eg: tools knocking against the bike and tank while servicing the bike) , u'll only have that customer for that once ............

that's y places like Looi's motor is favoured by alot of big bikers.....should go take a look .....heard it's ex but it's one to one service, once they start on ur bike, they'll finish it .

Brother mudman i agree with u , Looi is indeed a bit costly but their service best . all big bike go there service. I even bought my spec3 with them.. free 3 run in engine oil at 800km, 2000, and last 3000km.

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg
Originally posted by anric79@Dec 6 2006, 11:20 AM

Brother mudman i agree with u , Looi is indeed a bit costly but their service best . all big bike go there service. I even bought my spec3 with them.. free 3 run in engine oil at 800km, 2000, and last 3000km.

wow anric79 bro ...they even threw in free EO change for the run-in ............

there we have it ..........a satisfied customer ............

=) Upz for the post bro ..........now all those who wana get the new spec 3 will be really tempted! :cheeky:

can i like steal the thread for awhile instead opening a new thread since is abt engine oil.

im confuse tat our s4 uses abt 3 n half bottle of engine oil right. yesterday i changed my oil n oil filter and onli uses abt 3 n less den a quater of EO. den i happily ride back now like cannot see the lvl from the transparent case. will lesser or insufficient EO hurt the engine?

anybody can help? :giddy:

2004-2004: Yamaha RXZ135

2004-2006: Gilera Runner SP180

2006-2006: Honda Hyper Vtec

2006-2008: Yamaha YP250

2008-now : Honda SW400

2009-now : Honda Jazz 1.3LX

Small capacity, Big Storage!'

Scooters Are The Best Creation

http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h159/marcuslim_2006/Slide1.jpg

U can only see the engine oil level when u bike is levelled off, meaning the bike is in centre and not tilted or resting on the stand ...if u're trying to do this stunt of looking at the EO level, make sure ur stand is down, position ur bike next to a wall(the left side of the bike beside the wall and yet not touching it), then pull the handle using ur right hand and use ur left hand to support the frame, holding the area of the frame where the rear reservoir for the coolant is located....after that you should be able to see the EO somewhere in the centre of the glass........do all these only when ur engine has cooled down complete, this way, it's more accurate ...this stunt requires alot of handstrength and also sense of balance ...so do this at ur own risk ...............if the engine oil is slightly black, dun worry, it's alright ....it means it has been cleansin the internal of ur engine and that particles that are dirty are left suspended in the EO

the total capacity of the engine is 3.8 litres

for EO change without filter change, it's 3 litres

for EO change with filter change, it's 3.2 litres

:smile: :smile: :smile:

there's another easier way, ask someone to sit on ur bike in levelled off position and u take a look....

OR

unscrew the engine oil cap(the one where the engine oill is refilled from, sit on the bike , tke out the cap and you can see a dipstick below, use a tissue to clean it then dip it back it and screw in and out and take the dip stick up again to look at the level...it should be betw max and min ......... this way is done in hte same manner as how a person would gauge his EO level in a car........

but my bike dun have a dip stick tats the problem im having.. mine is a spec1 but dunno why dun hav. u mean while riding the EO not accutrate ar. cause i sit on it n bend dw to see. cant see anything. i changed fitler and EO together i think onli 3.2litres.. ard there onli

strange tt u do nt hve a dipstick.....bendin down of cos can't c bro.....if got mirror or camera then see reflection or take pic.

always check only after engine has cooled completeLY.....this is becausethe eo tkes a longtime to compltely settle bck to the base.....it is the same theoryas warming up,whether the EO is slowly lubricated to various parts in the engine block......

I think the VTEC series do not have the dip-stick... Cuz.. there is a see-through glass were we can see the level of our EO. btw, mine is Spec 2 and there is no dip-stick..

gerry looi workshop .... damn expensive BUT gd workmanship .....

they even keep ur purcase or service in their database ... so when u wan to sell u bike ... easy ..... juz ask for old receipts printouts ....

trusted them with my s4 and rxz ..... engine wise lar ....

All Bros,

IT's VERIFIED......WE DON"T HAVE DIPTSTICKS!! so paiseh ...keep on thinking it's my old bike steed400 vlx ....cos i always check using the metal dipstick it had!

My apologies..........

So the glass is the only channel thru which we can see our EO levels bros........:giddy:

Originally posted by shahrul_azmil3@Dec 7 2006, 08:39 AM

gerry looi workshop .... damn expensive BUT gd workmanship .....

they even keep ur purcase or service in their database ... so when u wan to sell u bike ... easy ..... juz ask for old receipts printouts ....

trusted them with my s4 and rxz ..... engine wise lar ....

went there to repair my steed b4 ...the malay mechanic is very honest .........he knows my bike low batt le, purposely take out batt to help me charge up and told me if really cannot, then come back and change .......

i love their service though abit ex.....:smile:

ver S n below use dipstick. vtec 1 n above use sight glass.

mayb i shd try looi's service next time. since it sound ex but good.

Originally posted by skateboy@Dec 7 2006, 03:47 PM

ver S n below use dipstick. vtec 1 n above use sight glass.

mayb i shd try looi's service next time. since it sound ex but good.

now i know ver S have dipstick bro ...thanks for the info .........

Thanks alot guys. have been alot of help..

Cheers!!