• Replies 158

Guest sohst
Originally posted by anodise57@May 6 2004, 10:00 AM

upz sia... got chance come to KKFC on S4 outings leh.. .show us ya bike.... sure be interestin to check it out in real life....

love to show but i'm not the one with moriwaki.

if the owner of the red roadwin with moriwaki willing to show up, i'll sure to come n check it up too.

maybe patrick15 is willing to show u his, what say u pat?.

anyway if u rode cb400 s4, it's about the same minus the 3 cyl. power, weight and heat.

I will be glad to show my bike to those interested. Just pasted on a harris tank pad and had my crash bar fixed on. Will post a pic if i manage to borrow a digital camera from someone.

Anyway, I just had a chat with the uncle with the moriwaki exhaust system at choonh kok Jurong east, improves power with better release of gas from the engine, sounds nice..........but not like sohst said, its illegal according to the lady boss. The next bad thing, it cost a bomb of $980!

Guest sohst

My apology to all, I was misguided by my unconscious mind.

Presumed it was legal when LTA approved aftermarket products if it is able to meet safety and environmental hazard criteria.

U r right, any mod on exhaust system have to seek LTA's approval.

Exhaust system

(e.g. exhaust manifolds, catalytic converters, mufflers, etc.)

The exhaust system, which consists of the exhaust manifold, catalytic converter and muffler, is used as part of a vehicle’s exhaust emission control system to ensure that the exhaust emission meets our environmental requirements.

Any modification to the exhaust system would therefore require LTA’s approval.

The following should be submitted to LTA for evaluation:

a) Certification from the product manufacturer stating that the proposed aftermarket exhaust system is suitable for the make and model of the vehicle.

b) Evidence or test reports to show that the aftermarket exhaust system when fitted to the vehicle on a per make and model basis complied with prevailing exhaust emission standards.

Note: Removing catalytic converters and mufflers are not allowed as it will adversely affect the exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle.

Other general guidelines for Vehicle Modifications by LTA.

Guest sohst

A higher resolution Roadwin wallpaper (1024x768 pixels).

Seems quiet in this column. anyone with this bike or interested in this bike care to share more views and/or questions?

These few weeks on the road, quite a few guys ask me about my bike(roadwin) while waiting at traffic light. So far most of them say its nice and thought it is higher cc rather than 125cc. Roadwin has big tyres, broad body and thick front fork, so looks like 2A bike. This is its good point as well as negative point.

Chat with a BBDC instructor and he say the big tyre slow down the pick up, and he heavy body is not well supported by the small engine. So im thinking of ways to improve engine performance, any inputs anyone?

I just bought the fuel broquet catalyst, still havnt put it in yet, cos doing tabulation for fuel consumption. its around 30-35km/litre. hopefully the $40 balls can make my engine smoother and more powerful, and also more fuel efficient! will feedback to sohst after trying it out.

Lastly, i think the engine not quite smooth, thinking of washing carb and do some tuning, but no experience in this.

Guest sohst

Hiya!! miss me already..:sleep: :sleep:

don't think u should do anything to your bike yet, it is a new bike.

pickup is a bit slow cos of big tyres (17 inches) too, no problem with that. it's a trade off for stability at cornering and high speed cruising.

anyway i have top up four tank full so far, and tabulated fuel consumption at different pickup speed.

here is what i've recorded for each tank full, on how many kilometers per litre.

Date____Odo__Trip__Gas___Km/l___Remarks

01/04___180__----__ 9.13___------__1st top up

17/04___500__320__8.38___38.19__throttling to 4k engine rpm during pickup.

01/05___893__393__10.45__37.61__throttling to 5k engine rpm during pickup.

13/05__1267__374__10.36__36.10__throttling to 6k engine rpm during pickup.

back to normal 4~5k pickup, will monitor.

quite a good fuel consumption even it is driven hard, i'm using a pocket pc to record all these readings.

i also used castrol r4 10w-50 changed after 500 km which i feel it is too thick for new engine, recommended grade 10w-40 by manufacturer, (i think) having thicker oil provides more resistant thus higher fuel consumption.

:sleep: :sleep:

waiting for you to use broquet, i hope it proves it's worth. i'm still skeptical about this broquet, so far reading fuel catalyst articles doesn't say it works.

one guy even prove that broquet is a scam cos if it really works why oil companies uses other fuel catalyst materials for their processes.

the end, will add more stuff on roadwin bike and i hope other owners contribute too.

:sleep: :sleep:

Just went to view bike at Bukit Batok. They shop quoted me $7500 OTR, the ladyboss say it's due to the COE hike. What are your views on this one?

http://blog.badmotorfinger.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/2009_bmw_s1000rr_5.jpg
Guest sohst

COE is high now, just wait for economy to pickup then demand for bike is low cos many will switch to driving cars.

If u r riding now hold on to your bike or can upgrade to another second hand newer or bigger bike.

Lastly, If u must get a new bike consider those make in Thailand. I think they r at least $1~2k cheaper (COE still the same) but if u got cash then wat's the point of asking.

Originally posted by sohst@May 16 2004, 12:49 PM

COE is high now, just wait for economy to pickup then demand for bike is low cos many will switch to driving cars.

If u r riding now hold on to your bike or can upgrade to another second hand newer or bigger bike.

Lastly, If u must get a new bike consider those make in Thailand. I think they r at least $1~2k cheaper (COE still the same) but if u got cash then wat's the point of asking.

Haiz....currently I don't have a bike coz I scrapped my RDLC last month. But I don't think will ride for now till my leg injury heals.

http://blog.badmotorfinger.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/2009_bmw_s1000rr_5.jpg
Guest sohst
Originally posted by mecha_design@May 16 2004, 02:24 PM

Haiz....currently I don't have a bike coz I scrapped my RDLC last month. But I don't think will ride for now till my leg injury heals.

Wish you fast recovery! :bouncefire: :goodluck:

Switching from LC to a 4-stroke engine, u will find that 4-stroke lack power but fuel consumption is much lower.

:goodluck: :goodluck:

Agreed, my old LC got booster, when reach high RPM in gear 2 can feel sudden surge in speed. But also eat petrol and 2T like nobody business.

Originally posted by patrick15@May 14 2004, 10:48 PM

Seems quiet in this column. anyone with this bike or interested in this bike care to share more views and/or questions?

These few weeks on the road, quite a few guys ask me about my bike(roadwin) while waiting at traffic light. So far most of them say its nice and thought it is higher cc rather than 125cc. Roadwin has big tyres, broad body and thick front fork, so looks like 2A bike. This is its good point as well as negative point.

Chat with a BBDC instructor and he say the big tyre slow down the pick up, and he heavy body is not well supported by the small engine. So im thinking of ways to improve engine performance, any inputs anyone?

I just bought the fuel broquet catalyst, still havnt put it in yet, cos doing tabulation for fuel consumption. its around 30-35km/litre. hopefully the $40 balls can make my engine smoother and more powerful, and also more fuel efficient! will feedback to sohst after trying it out.

Lastly, i think the engine not quite smooth, thinking of washing carb and do some tuning, but no experience in this.

What you can do is to change the OEM rims to lighter ones. Then you also might want to consider to change the sprocket settings. Not sure what the pipe is made of but if can get those legal light ones would be better. Basically you want to make the bike lighter so that the bike will get decent power.

Managed to borrow a digital camera and got a few shots of my bike to share. Enjoy......

I also injured my leg 2 years ago while riding my phantom, know the sucky feeling of walking with crutches. Wish mech design a speedy recovery!

Guest sohst

To all new daelim bike owners,

I'm not happy with choong kok agency charging us more for castrol oil.

S$23/= for castrol R4 and other places r selling at S$21.50 even in BP stations.

I believe other castrol oil grades r also sell at higher price and they charge for S$5 extras if I buy oil from other places.

Because the bike is under warranty, otherwise two year warranty can be voided if I do not send for the require services.

I make a lot of noise to the shop people but they all say it's their boss decision.

So I'm calling all owners to make complains about this high price and be fair.

Thank you all.

:mad: :mad: :mad:

Originally posted by sohst@May 22 2004, 02:48 PM

To all new daelim bike owners,

I'm not happy with choong kok agency charging us more for castrol oil.

S$23/= for castrol R4 and other places r selling at S$21.50 even in BP stations.

I believe other castrol oil grades r also sell at higher price and they charge for S$5 extras if I buy oil from other places.

Because the bike is under warranty, otherwise two year warranty can be voided if I do not send for the require services.

I make a lot of noise to the shop people but they all say it's their boss decision.

So I'm calling all owners to make complains about this high price and be fair.

Thank you all.

which choong kok branch did u went to?

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Guest sohst
Originally posted by nights@May 22 2004, 05:22 PM

which choong kok branch did u went to?

kaki bukit branch, do u mean other branch r selling lower prices :confused:

then i kenna chopped twice already :mad: :mad:

Originally posted by sohst@May 22 2004, 08:40 PM

kaki bukit branch, do u mean other branch r selling lower prices :confused:

then i kenna chopped twice already :mad: :mad:

There is other branches but price wise i m not very sure but u were saying they are charging u $23 while outside is selling only at $21.50 rite? Well in a way, buying from outside is definitely cheaper but that will also mean u have to change the oil yourself and u have to find ways to dispose the old oil. I believe the mech also check your brake and some other minor stuffs of your bike at the same time too rite? Just an additional $1.50 might as well treat it for their svc lor....

But of course end of the day, perhaps u can suggest to the boss about their pricing, in the meantime i try to find out more for u.

Originally posted by speedo@May 21 2004, 06:18 PM

Think I've seen your bike before in Jurong.

How I know? Cos I remember the 'Super Four' sticker on the bike frame :slapforehead:

Yarrr the super four sticker makes the bike look stupid, a mockery if I would say.

Guest sohst
Originally posted by nights@May 22 2004, 11:56 PM

There is other branches but price wise i m not very sure but u were saying they are charging u $23 while outside is selling only at $21.50 rite? Well in a way, buying from outside is definitely cheaper but that will also mean u have to change the oil yourself and u have to find ways to dispose the old oil. I believe the mech also check your brake and some other minor stuffs of your bike at the same time too rite? Just an additional $1.50 might as well treat it for their svc lor....

But of course end of the day, perhaps u can suggest to the boss about their pricing, in the meantime i try to find out more for u.

no lah, when u buy a new bike they say free service for two years but that day i want to buy my own oil and they want to charge extra $5. other motor shop, they change oil 4 u FOC when u buy oil from them.

mech there don't even bat an eye to do any inspection maybe the one called 'roy' will, others i think not. it a new bike unless u complain then they will take a look.

worst I told them about stick gear shift and he just apply plenty full of oil to my chain, only notice it when i got back cos rear wheel splashed full of oil.

new bike more concern about warranty, if do it yourself or by other motor shop gives them excuse to void the warranty if something goes wrong.

any good and reliable motor shop to recommend?

maybe i can forget about the warranty if service r no good n price not fair.

Guest sohst
Originally posted by mecha_design+May 23 2004, 12:31 AM-->
QUOTE (mecha_design @ May 23 2004, 12:31 AM)
Guest sohst
Originally posted by nights@May 22 2004, 11:56 PM

big boss always not there but told everyone in the shop from the mech, sale person, clerk, admin, etc.

i told every employee there n all they say it's the boss decision.

n no one wants to convey the message, just smiles at u.

Originally posted by sohst@May 23 2004, 02:14 PM

big boss always not there but told everyone in the shop from the mech, sale person, clerk, admin, etc.

i told every employee there n all they say it's the boss decision.

n no one wants to covey the message, just smiles at u.

The boss is there upstair in thier office which i have seen a few already....

Maybe like wat u have said, it a new bike tat why...and just like when u buy any appliances and when it spoil, if u dun call in the warranty provider to repair for u, the warranty will void...