Hello! does anyone done a major servicing on carburator ?

I did mine, like change the insulators, the fuel pins as well as the semi-balloon thingy (which i duno what its called)

after the changes, my bike sound more bombastic (Firm) as well as the fuel consumption decrease.. : ) but all comes with a price.

Just wondering if any1 did the same as well & how long will this condition lasts.

Do share with me :cheeky:

Cheers! :angel:

Edited by @swat_

The happiest person has worries too

But, he knows very well that everyone has worries

Therefore he gives happiness to the worried people.

• Replies 207

Hello! does anyone done a major servicing on carburator ?

I did mine, like change the insulators, the fuel pins as well as the semi-balloon thingy (which i duno what its called)

after the changes, my bike sound more bombastic (Firm) as well as the fuel consumption decrease.. : ) but all comes with a price.

Just wondering if any1 did the same as well & how long will this condition lasts.

Do share with me :cheeky:

Cheers! :angel:

Care to share how much the total cost and where did u do the servicing?

Bikes & Ex Bikes:

Phantom200,SP,X1,R1-03,CB400

i did my servicing at one of the bike shop at autobay (kaki buki)

damage around $450.. :)

true.. can feel that the bike can run more smoothly & of course more powerful..

hahaha : )

all about good tuning(carb balancing and correct air/fuel mixture adjustment), but why so expensive($450,$520.80)...?is it dynojet jetkit ?

Class 2 = 2007 CB400 Ver.S

Class 2 = 2008 TA 150

Class 2 = 2009 CB400 Vtec II

Nopez... Carb parts are generally expensive as they aer precision made parts. But they do last a long time after replacing them. Check on your float jets (jet that is under the white float with the rubber pointed tip) when you do carb servicing. These jets are prone to wear faster than other parts.

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

Recommended once a year or 30,000km whichever comes first.

$80 for standard cleaning and balancing + some of their extra services like lubing cables and adjust your chain lar... If need to replace parts additional cost lor.

Yup, we should do annual servicing lol..

I did mine when I just took over the bike..

LOL spent $500 to change the internal parts..

Wow..$500?...i thought i did mine at $232 is already ex...i guess mine is not that bad....dun tink it helps to decrease my FC...need to think of something else..

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n74/outspoken_69/newsignature2.jpg

I wanted to change the world. But I have found that the only thing one can be sure of changing is oneself.

does anyone know why my bike feeling like choking and have morning cold start problem after service + tune + replace all 4 jets valve? the rpm also very unstable?? thanks

LICENCES

class 2B: 07sep06 (cg125, nsr150, cbf150, x1r, ta200)

class 3: 30apr07 (Mitsubishi lancer, Nissan sunny, Toyota corolla, Volkswagen golf tsi)

class 2A: 27may08 (revo, vtec1, majesty250)

class 2: 08jun10 (fz6n, GSX-R600L4, tmax530)

does anyone know why my bike feeling like choking and have morning cold start problem after service + tune + replace all 4 jets valve? the rpm also very unstable?? thanks

its cool to be unstable, it SHOULD drops under 1k when its cold but above 1k when its warm up.

if your rpm is above 1k when its cold, meaning your timing is out. same theory as class 2b bikes if timing high = easy kick start = consume more fuel = higher wear and tear.

so after warm up if its still unstable then you probably need to see the mechanic again.

No matter big bike or small bike, once you can't stop, you're still a fallen bike. :sian:

when warmed, rpm is ard 1.4-1.6 but the needle very unstable. when cold, rpm is ard 1 so when start engine that time, the bike is like choking (petrol doesn't move smoothly) and keep on die off until i rev and rev it.

my fc still quite alright, 24km/L.

i dun understand the timing mean? = higher wear and tear>?

LICENCES

class 2B: 07sep06 (cg125, nsr150, cbf150, x1r, ta200)

class 3: 30apr07 (Mitsubishi lancer, Nissan sunny, Toyota corolla, Volkswagen golf tsi)

class 2A: 27may08 (revo, vtec1, majesty250)

class 2: 08jun10 (fz6n, GSX-R600L4, tmax530)

Maybe not synchronized or balanced properly for your carbs. A well balanced carb will not fluctuate so much in the rpm. Will stil fluctuate but not so much cos carbs are mechanical and EFI are elctronics controlled.

when warmed, rpm is ard 1.4-1.6 but the needle very unstable. when cold, rpm is ard 1 so when start engine that time, the bike is like choking (petrol doesn't move smoothly) and keep on die off until i rev and rev it.

my fc still quite alright, 24km/L.

i dun understand the timing mean? = higher wear and tear>?

Your rpm suppose to be stable when your bike is warmed up or normal operating temp.

i would like to let you guys in on an experiance i had recently with a particular bikeshop near TP HQ.

this shop owner is very well-known for his hands on carburator and i have been there a few times through the years. but recently in particular, i left the shop with displeasure and as a dissatisfied customer swearing never to head back there again.

my bike was sent for bi-annual synchronise. carburator washed was done 6 months ago hence this time was only synchronising. he insisted i wash the carburator which i declined. after synchronising and on the way back i experianced mini-backfires when engine braking; definitely something amiss. cost: $40.

when sent back the following day, he retorted that its because of the carburator and in a sly way suggesting to me to open up the carburator and wash, which i then agreed - since it would probably fix the problem. whilst doing, he asked whether i would want to change the spark plug which i declined since i've already done so a month earlier. AFTER everything, i took it out for a spin and problems was not rectified BUT instead backfire persisted and spark/flame was seen during engine braking and acceleration. i sent it back to C. and he told me its because of the spark plug saying, "the first time i hear your spark plug, i dont like the sound already. something surely wrong. maybe from yesterday until today spoil the plug. not my tuning." i refuted back if he had known why didnt he check in which he replied, "but you say you just changed mah". i told him to retuned but he told me to get my spark plug checked first. coz if its the spark plug, i would only waste his time. and he closed the shop. cost paid: another $90

swore to his incompetency, i pushed my bike to HKL where ah huat checked my spark plugs and all four were ok. great even. he tried to resynchronise which backfire still. i ordered him to check my carburator again which he opened + washed and put everything in place again. took it for a spin and bike sounded healthy. no backfire whatsoever, just like before. cost: $90 (but satisfied)

C in many is undoubtedly good, but he did not render assistance to rectify the problem i had. and what HKL did was the same to any carb cleaning and synchronise: to open and wash my carb and synchronise and THAT rectified the problem! it could only mean his JOB in doing the above was not properly done! in my opinion he was already reluctant to do my bike as most repairs/service werent from his shop and in the first place i only wanted to synchronise. his prudency, needless to say, was limited.

never have i ever blacklisted a shop until now. for strong supporters of Kay&Tee, no offence to your beliefs. but we bikers deserve to share their pleasant and unpleasant experiance(s) with one another.

disclaimer: characters and shop name is for illustrative purposes only. did not depict actual figures.

Very illustrative.

Could have done it at Combine Motors like I suggested above. Mine has been a year and its still running good. And I believe you've seen and heard my bike... Expensive lesson learnt seh...

i would like to let you guys in on an experiance i had recently with a particular bikeshop near TP HQ.

this shop owner is very well-known for his hands on carburator and i have been there a few times through the years. but recently in particular, i left the shop with displeasure and as a dissatisfied customer swearing never to head back there again.

my bike was sent for bi-annual synchronise. carburator washed was done 6 months ago hence this time was only synchronising. he insisted i wash the carburator which i declined. after synchronising and on the way back i experianced mini-backfires when engine braking; definitely something amiss. cost: $40.

when sent back the following day, he retorted that its because of the carburator and in a sly way suggesting to me to open up the carburator and wash, which i then agreed - since it would probably fix the problem. whilst doing, he asked whether i would want to change the spark plug which i declined since i've already done so a month earlier. AFTER everything, i took it out for a spin and problems was not rectified BUT instead backfire persisted and spark/flame was seen during engine braking and acceleration. i sent it back to C. and he told me its because of the spark plug saying, "the first time i hear your spark plug, i dont like the sound already. something surely wrong. maybe from yesterday until today spoil the plug. not my tuning." i refuted back if he had known why didnt he check in which he replied, "but you say you just changed mah". i told him to retuned but he told me to get my spark plug checked first. coz if its the spark plug, i would only waste his time. and he closed the shop. cost paid: another $90

swore to his incompetency, i pushed my bike to HKL where ah huat checked my spark plugs and all four were ok. great even. he tried to resynchronise which backfire still. i ordered him to check my carburator again which he opened + washed and put everything in place again. took it for a spin and bike sounded healthy. no backfire whatsoever, just like before. cost: $90 (but satisfied)

C in many is undoubtedly good, but he did not render assistance to rectify the problem i had. and what HKL did was the same to any carb cleaning and synchronise: to open and wash my carb and synchronise and THAT rectified the problem! it could only mean his JOB in doing the above was not properly done! in my opinion he was already reluctant to do my bike as most repairs/service werent from his shop and in the first place i only wanted to synchronise. his prudency, needless to say, was limited.

never have i ever blacklisted a shop until now. for strong supporters of Kay&Tee, no offence to your beliefs. but we bikers deserve to share their pleasant and unpleasant experiance(s) with one another.

disclaimer: characters and shop name is for illustrative purposes only. did not depict actual figures.

Y nv head firther down to planet bro?? D shop tat ur nt happy wit, i sincerely feel they are overated.

A fren did up his gsx1000r ter wit servicing and some accesories lite cnc lever and brakehoses.. Cost him a whopping 1400 bux!! I told him he got chopped but stood by that shop.

Wat a way fpr the shop to earn money.. By cheating pple who trust tem

today i went to unique to service my carb. in the end changed the small small thing, and the rubber thing. total damage is $240 + i buy a bottle of scottoiler refill. can feel the different. no choice. cannot play play when it comes to your carb right?

Yamaha x1

Honda super 4 spec 1