Practical 6.01(100mins): $34.67(Peak) PASSED!

9.10pm. My first rd lesson! Man! Its damned fun lor! At last can ride at a higher speed compared to crawling slowly in the circuit. Anyway, im required to ride close to Bukit Batok Rd's limit of 70km/h. Managed to push abt 65km/h before running out of rd for a left turn. Haha! I rode more conservatively in the estate as i dun c the need to rush it. Certainly felt diff riding at nite but other than tat, its as per normal. Juz pour out all i've learnt inside the circuit wil do. Blind spots muz check, stop lines muz stop, signals muz b correct, junction checks muz perform n the usual give-way rules. Simple enuf. Oni the observing of riding formations can sometimes b confusing. But stil, tat was easily overcome! :thumb:

Enrolment Fee: $47.08

Basic Theory Lessons: $8.03 x 2 = $16.06(Exempted)

Riding Theory Lessons: $8.03 x 2 = $16.06(Exempted)

Riding Theory Practices: $14.98

Riding Theory Evaluation: $5.35

Riding Theory Test: $6.00

Defensive Riding Theory: $24.09

Circuit Practicals: $258.32

Circuit Revisions: $91.60

Road Practical: $34.67

Self Practices: $110.44

Provisional Driving Licence: $25

Traffic Police Practical Test: $36.05

Edited by Veil
  • Replies 576

Wow, this is a great thread!!!

Hi, I am a newbie to this Forum. This is my 1st post!

I joined 'cos I wanted to learn how to ride, and was searching for tips on how to go about it, and chanced upon this thread.

Many kudos to Veil and the others who have been contributing their experiences here, esp Veil - that's a very, very good diary you are writing here, so helpful to a noob like me.

Like Veil, I also tried my hand at learning to ride, many many years ago though. However, I gave up (for several reasons) after my 1st few lessons at BBDC. But now, I have that itch again - hope to ride a Harley someday! :cool:

In fact - I plan to go down to BBDC tonight and do all the registrations to kickstart my biking experience. :deal:

Hi Veil

1. From your list of lessons, I notice you have done 4 Circuit Revisions; are these voluntary or the instructors advise to do before your 5.02

2. You also took about 8 Self Practice sessions - are so many SP necessary, or you feel that it is better to be prepared by doing SP?

CR and SP is up to you. if you got the money and time, why not? ;)

can improve on your skills :thumb:

Hi Veil

1. From your list of lessons, I notice you have done 4 Circuit Revisions; are these voluntary or the instructors advise to do before your 5.02

2. You also took about 8 Self Practice sessions - are so many SP necessary, or you feel that it is better to be prepared by doing SP?

@Fried Rice: Rd lessons throttle reali whack ah! Si bei song! Btw, my TP is on 23rd Feb. I failed my 7.01 on 15th Feb due to u-turn but passed the 2nd try on 16th Feb. 8.01 juz cleared on 17th feb. Phew!

@jackrabbit: Welcome to the family! Thks for findin my thread useful! Hope it wil guide u thru ur journey too! Ya, my circuit revisions were voluntary. No gun was pointed at me. I did it to discover n solve as many mistakes/hiccups as possible before goin for 5.02. Oso to ease my fear of facing an evaluation. The SPs was to input more riding experiences into my body so tat i can auto react n perform predictably. The more i ride, the more my confidence climbs. A simple n effective formula for me. Its not compulsory n up to individual but certainly helps.

Edited by Veil

Practical 7.01(100mins): $34.67(Peak) FAILED...

7.20pm. At the start of the lesson, U-turn practice was conducted in the smaller circuit. Wah Lau eh! I juz can't do it properly! Nw i realised tat all along i've been neglectin my u-turn skill! Bike drops! Right foot downs! Wide turnings! Wobblings! These kills my morale. Soon im out on the public rd for the review of test route. I need to ride thru the route 2 time w/o any major fault. I can tell u nw tat i failed due to the u-turns. 1st turn wobbled. 2nd turn nearly hit the kerb. Needless to say wat verdict the instructor gave me...

Road Practicals: $69.34

Self Practices: $110.44

Edited by Veil

Practical 7.01(100mins): $32.53(Off-peak) PASSED!

1.20pm. The sun is burning hot! Back today to face my weakness again. I reached bbdc early at 11am n asked any instructors on the proper procedures for a gd u-turn. Before i start my lesson, i went straight to the day's instuctor, told him my problem n seek for additional advice. Nw i noe i shud hold abit of pressure on the foot brake, on throttle+half clutch, slow control forward for abt 1 metre, turn handle towards the right to face the giveway line, quickly close throttle, clutch in n brake to a stop. If its done correctly, the meters of the bike wil b nicely inline with the giveway line while bike body wil be slightly slanted. Next step wil b lightly holding the foot brake, throttle abit harder, half clutch, look at the lane to turn into n complete the task. Honestly, althought i've ardy progressed to tis stage but certain skill reali need everyday riding experience. Instructor's knowledges are precious gold! Plus, its absolutely free. Be shameless, clear-minded n tap on their skills. Dun forget tat!

9th Self Practice(100mins): $12.20(Off-peak) DONE!

5.10pm. I did oni 2 circuit test route ride while focusing more on my u-turn practice. Turns after turns. Rounds after rounds. Feeling giddy ardy. I muz get tis into my system by today. I went on non-stop until i'm satisfied wif my proficiency. Got it liao! I'm ready for the final stage. Btw, my right ankle was slightly charred due to the engine cap's heat when i slow control it too much. But worth it man!

Road Practicals: $101.87

Self Practices: $122.64

Edited by Veil

Practical 8.01(100mins): $32.53(Off-peak) PASSED!

1.20pm. The final evaluation stage! Tis is an exact replica of hw the TP test wil b like wif all the "Tua Pek Kongs" stationed at strategic spots to "give" u their blessings. Lets begin!

First up! 1 round of warm-up on the circuit test route. Then followed by the evaluation. Lane change to right after the bend ok. Right turn ok. Lane change to left ok. 2 Left turns ok. Up n down Slope ok. Left turn after slope ok. S n Crank course ok. Lane change to right ok. Right turn ok. Lane change to left ok. Narrow plank n Slalom Pylon ok. Phew! E-brake ok! Swee swee got thru all tat! No immediate failure. I did all my blindspots, junctions n safety checks. Yeah! But its stil too early to rejoice yet...

Next, 1 round on the public test rd as warm-up. Watch out for the elusive "Ninjas"(assessors) hiding under the mrt track, behind trees/bushes or under hdb void deck. My tinking is tat if u can c them, they r juz humoring u but if u dun, they r waiting for tat chance to devour u. Start the rd evaluation! Nearly sabo-ed by a speeding, weaving car when im halfway thru my lane change at bukit batok rd! WTF! It rudely cut into my path n recklessly slalom closely to the 3 learner's bike infront! They all panic like hell n wobbled as a result! Lucky i spotted it approaching fast on my rear mirror n slowed down juz enuf to react. I sincerely wish tat stupid idiotically retarded pea-brained M.F driver all the best for his/her remaining short life! Lucky my mood nt very affected n u-turn was done nicely. After u-turn, most of the nervousness was gone as i rode back to bbdc. I scored oni 8 demerit pts! Not so bad as i got them inside the circuit n not on the public rd. *Delay moving off x 2 = 2pts each. *Abrupt lane change = 4pts. Stil within the 18pts limit. YES! Nw i can finally relax abit n wait for my TP test on 23rd Feb! Nw at the end point of my 2B journey. Wat an eventful experience... Tears comin out liao... I tink i need some alcohol...

Road Practicals: $134.40

Self Practices: $122.64

Edited by Veil
So sori. I wil repost it. Hws ur 3.02 then?

Haha its okay! I passed my 3.02 (: Was really scared at first before the lesson cause always see people falling there, but turns out not that scary! haha.

Taking my 4.01 tmr! Now i'm worried I cant turn well >

Haha its okay! I passed my 3.02 (: Was really scared at first before the lesson cause always see people falling there, but turns out not that scary! haha.

Taking my 4.01 tmr! Now i'm worried I cant turn well >

Ryan, tat was fantastic! 4.01 reali noting to b scared of. Tis stage is a chance to put ur basic skills, courage n judgement to gd use. E-brake is the most scariest of all but since u've passed it, nothing can stop u anymore.

10th Self Practice(100mins): $14.34(Peak) DONE!

9.10pm. I did my usual circuit test route n u-turn practices. 2 more days to my TP test date. I can't afford to screw up. Muz focus...

11th Self Practice(100mins): $12.20(Off-peak) DONE!

3.20pm. Tis is my last Sp. I've reali gt nothin much to say abt tis session. Hoped all i've done was enuf to get me thru the test. Gd luck to myself.

Self Practices: $149.18

Edited by Veil

Traffic Police Practical Test(estimated 30+mins): PASSED!

Reporting time: 7.30am sharp at BBDC motorcycle office.

I opened my eyes... "Shiz! Its nw 6.55am!" No time to shower, brush teeth! I juz grabbed a t-shirt, the jeans i've worn ytd, my riding necessity n dashed out of my hse! Better not be late pls! Better dun be late pls! Phew! Managed to on-call a cab n reached bbdc at exactly 7.30am! My head throbbing wif pain... Urgh!

7.35am. At the motorcycle office, instructors verified my ic/name n handed me my detail slip(Row 2) n test tag(No.17). After tat, i submitted my IC n PDL in a plastic sleeve. A briefing cum video clip on the Do's n Don'ts during the test was conducted from 8-8.30am. Then a short break was given til 8.45am. Had a smoke to calm my nerves. 2 sticks to be exact. Back to the office...

8.50am. For warm-up, i did a round of practice on the circuit test route n on u-turn. I needed more confidence so i queued for another round. Kiasu ok. The Uncles haf arrived... Time for the test to begin. All of us fall-in at the small circuit according to detail row for another identity verification n bike checks.

9.30am. Start the test! The 1st tester waved at me to proceed when its my turn. Heart beating very fast! Here i go! So far so gd! No cork-ups on all the circuit obstacles! The real challenge was the moment i rode out of bbdc for the public rd test! On my own now! No instructors to block the traffic or watch out for me at the u-turn. I haf to ride based on my judgements! Completed the whole test when i rode back to bbdc n parked my bike. Had a sip at the water cooler, returned my tag n cool off abit. Tats it!

10.10am. Its time for canteen break, smoke break or watever break. All testees were to gather at Level 3, Classroom 5 at 11am sharp for the results. 11.12am... 11.23am... 11.30am...! When wil the result be out!? Argh! The wait was excruciatingly painful! My bladder reaching its max capacity soon! No choice... Haf to squeeze tight... Tahan...

11.40am. The first few testees who failed got their tag numbers called out. Followed by a few more every 5mins. Super nervous sia! Pls lah... Better not be me... Dun wan to hear my number... No tag 17 pls... Tolong lah... After abt 30+ tags were called, an instuctor closes the classroom door... leaving oni those who haf passed inside for the graduation video! YEAH! YES!

12 demerit pts! Where or hw i got the pts doesn't matter nw! Wats impt is tat i passed my TP! All the $ i've spent... All the SPs i've did... All the effort i put in...

Now i can finally shout... I'm A Rider!

Edited by Veil

Expressway Familiarization Ride(100mins): FREE!

3.20pm. I went back hm for a shower/lunch n headed back to bbdc for EFR. I submitted my Class 3 Driving Licence at 12pm for processin. At tat moment, i was so happy to see a Class 2B sticker added to it! Nvm tat bbdc got to hold on to it til i've reported back for tis ride. I can't describe the feeling of donning the EFR tag s i rode out of bbdc on a P-Plate bike! Its raining heavily, had to wear raincoat, my shoes were wet, so were my gloves... But so wat?! Wif an instructor guiding infront, another behind jaga-ing, we rode to KJE, BKE, PIE, Jalan Bahar, Discovery Centre, Farmart. Along the stops, they imparted certain knowledges liked, wat type of tyre grooves r better for wet riding, hw to read the manufactured date on the tyre, hw to react in the rain at high speed n lots more. It was a fun ride! Get to whack throttle to 90km/h! Wat a rush!

Seriously, no regrets signing up for tis! The benefits? First, i dun even need to queue up when applyin for my licence at level 2. Instructor juz jumped queue, did everytin for me n i got it on the spot! Second, i wil b given an early test date when im back for my 2A. Sweet lah!

Tis so-called graduation ride oso concludes my 2B journey. Haf fun n enjoy the goings for ur journey too! Dun ever give up! N dun forget to look back at the memories when u've attained ur precious Class 2B Riding Licence!

Ride Safe!

*On 14th Feb, i got to noe tis cute gal who's oso taking her 2B at bbdc. She's nw my gf! Kekekeke! :p

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sub Total: $47.08 ($79.20 if including exempted BTLs/RTLs)

Sub Total: $50.42

Sub Total: $633.50

Sub Total: $61.05

Grand Total: $792.05 ($824.17 if including exempted BTLs/RTLs)

Edited by Veil
congrat. i think i spend a total of about $1300 for my 2B which i passed last Oct.

Thanks woah! Tis has been a very wonderful experience for me! The amount we spent nt impt s long s it earns us tat licence. Cheers!

Hey Veil, you never go for road revision?? I just failed my 8.01 today due to right leg down at U-turn T_T

Hi Nik, imo i dun find it neccessary to go for RR coz i drive so can sort of remember a short route easily. Somemore RR so ex! Sori to hear abt ur right-footed at u-turn. Go book a Sp n spend it practising ur u-turn. Was it rainin when u took ur 8.01? U stil got time before the TP on 9th Mar.

Hey Veil, nope it's not raining when i took my 8.01. Got 14 points and 1 Imm. Failure due to the right foot at U-turn. The first round of road the instructor told me cannot put it down. Second round I nervous, brake too hard, then right leg down again. I'm going for another 8.01 on Sunday afternoon.

U juz need to nail tat u-turn on Sun to pass! I noe its hard to tell u to relax coz i oso quite nervous for my 8.01. Tell urslf tat its easy, its easy n repeat it in ur mind all day. Do ur Sp beforehand n be at bbdc 1 hr early on Sun. Ask every instuctor u see there for advice.

U alr at 8.01. Haf faith in ur skills. Trust urslf.