Originally posted by flareon1982@January 11, 2007 10:11 pm

Do 219 sell everything that Chiap Lee has in the store? I am thinking of getting a pannier from GIVI.

The last time I went there (219) they have Givi panniers..Not sure which model you want but they've got Givi panniers for sure..

• Replies 89

I've always frequent the one along Jalan Besar (opposite Regina). The service there is quite good as compared to the other Chiap Lee. He is very patient with me when I asked him to let me try all the range of jackets they have to offer. I bought several things from him: jackets (RevIt!, Clover) & gloves!

You can try buying your stuff from him! :thumb:

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

I've always frequent the one along Jalan Besar (opposite Regina). The service there is quite good as compared to the other Chiap Lee. He is very patient with me when I asked him to let me try all the range of jackets they have to offer. I bought several things from him: jackets (RevIt!, Clover) & gloves!

You can try buying your stuff from him! :thumb:

When the other guy(Vincent) was still ard it was still ok.... Nowadays i don't even bother to go there unless i'm looking for something other places don't have..... Next time i'm gonna import my arai helmets.... get from them muz still kena attitude and more expensive....

support dainese:cheer: support shoei:cheer:

Good news is Chiap Lee lost the dealership of GIVI :cheer:

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

u mean they dun sell Givi products liao?? :confused:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/n687922172_4603.jpg

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

Do 219 sell everything that Chiap Lee has in the store? I am thinking of getting a pannier from GIVI.

i jus noticed this thread and let me share my experience.

back in june, i was shopping around for side panniers. i noticed 219 is bringing in hepco & becker so i decided to give them a try. went down to 219 (lavender branch) and approach the old man, enquiring about the boxes for my GSR. he almost instantly shot back at me "NO STOCK!". he says it'll arrive in 2 weeks time. so i left the shop and went to renew my road tax.

after which, i dropped by chiap lee and noticed they, too, carry hepco & becker boxes. I was the only customer around so i enquired about the racks for the GSR and how much. I was qouted $960 for the 30L flash model. i didnt have enough at the moment so i asked him, do u have plenty stock for this. he told me he has alot of them. i was convinced by what he said so i left, without putting a deposit. i went online when i got home, and posted at the 219 thread about my fruitless trip there. jason replied there's one more stock left and ask me to come by to grab it before it's gone. by then, i already had spend my money on things which will come out from my ass and a helmet which i wore once and never again.

then came the GST offset package. was thinking since i got extra cash why not put a deposit at chiap lee for the panniers. but the guy (i dont know who) told me, no more stock. its only been 4-5days i last visited them and they told me dont worry alot of stock. fed-up, i left. went to 219 to look for stickers, and decided to ask jason about the last rack. indeed, it was still there but jason told me he kept it for some guy from the internet forum who complained about the false remark the old man gave. i explained that i was the one, he was convinced and let me have it (and at $880). put a $200 deposit and told him i'll be back in a week to have it fixed.

as i was keying in my pin number for the nets transaction, the SAME guy from chiap lee walked in, took a bicycle from 219. he saw me, and was kind of shocked. i didnt know why he reacted that way (or why he was there in the 1st place).

after i got my panniers fixed, i told my gisser friends the story. only then i realised it's all in the family. 219, chiap lee, LAB and regina. i almost paid $80 extra for the panniers. if i would have bought it at chiap lee, i guess it was my mistake not to do any research. but i sure learned from this.

oh well. i guess this IS business.

back in june, i was shopping around for side panniers. i noticed 219 is bringing in hepco & becker so i decided to give them a try.

The local distributor for Hepco and Becker should be M-Technik Motorsports. I got me STX top case from them. Their address is

51 Ubi Ave 1, #05-08,

Paya Ubi Industrial Park.

SGP- Singapore 408933.

Tel.: +65 68 44 89 73

Fax: +65 62 34 27 73

eMail: [email protected]

http://www.m-technik.net

Past Ride since 1995 : Aprilia RS125, Honda Steed, Honda Shadow 1100 ACE, Honda ST11 0 ABS, Honda S4 VTEC 1, Honda GoldWing GL1500. Honda GoldWing GL1800, Yamaha Spark 135LE, Honda STX1300 ABS, B.M.W (Bus. MRT, Walk), SYM MaxSym 400i

The local distributor for Hepco and Becker should be M-Technik Motorsports. I got me STX top case from them. Their address is

51 Ubi Ave 1, #05-08,

Paya Ubi Industrial Park.

SGP- Singapore 408933.

Tel.: +65 68 44 89 73

Fax: +65 62 34 27 73

eMail: [email protected]

http://www.m-technik.net

yup i'm aware of this. i called them up before going down to 219. they dont have the stock for the rack. it'll only come in september and the prices are way different too. i've been to the shop before last year with a fazer-riding friend

u mean they dun sell Givi products liao?? :confused:

they are either clearing remaining stocks or doing PI...

anyway, i miss wildcard.

yup i'm aware of this. i called them up before going down to 219. they dont have the stock for the rack. it'll only come in september and the prices are way different too. i've been to the shop before last year with a fazer-riding friend

Nowadays seems like they are selling anything & everything hahaha! saw Shoei helmets on display at Jln Besar branch :giddy: good for us! PRICE WAR!!!!

anyway, i miss wildcard.

My personal experience:

slightly more than 2 months ago, i asked spectacle skinny guy at chiapLee if can repair my helmet the side piece beside the visor. He say no problem just pay to import in the side piece but have to wait 2 months. 2 months later, he still haven call so i tulan, call him, then he keep dragging n say the same thing, that when it arrives, he will call me. Then i asked him so roughly when, he reply same thing. NB if this drags on for a few more months i shall take this issue to CASE liao.. paid in full somemore.. wtf.

FU2***L NSR 150 SP Pramac (RIP)

FBB 1***H Spark 135 Lmt Ed (RIP)

FZ4***B Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

Sad to say, the Distributor of Arai in SG does not have stock for repairs..... Wahaha what a joke. I'd send an email to arai Japan to let them know how lousy their distributor is. They would probably be very interested to know.

Guest @h_püi™
only then i realised it's all in the family. 219, chiap lee, LAB and regina. i almost paid $80 extra for the panniers. if i would have bought it at chiap lee, i guess it was my mistake not to do any research. but i sure learned from this.

oh well. i guess this IS business.

you mean 219, chiap lee, LAB and regina under one management?

I am a regular customer at Chiap Lee, bought 5 helmets from them since 2003. my last 4 helmets from the eldest twin brother and countless accessiories. The younger twin brother is not as helpful, he would always quote a price and walk away. I don't know why he does that but that is his style. The older twin brother is very knowledgable abt Arai and Clover products hence I only deal with him.

Actually it was very bad service from Chong Aik that drove me to buy from Chiap lee when I first bought an expensive helmet. As the parts are interchangeable so I always stick with Arai.

In regards to them serving better to Ang Mos, I do not agree but it is quite true that most of the Ang Mos who walk in for the 1st time when I was in the shop, they would buy on the spot while Asians like me would ponder a few trips b4 deciding. So after many years working in the same shop, I think this is one of the reasons why the brothers form these habits. Arai products speak for itself, just like Toyota.

This is just my personal experience and opinion, pls do not flame me.

im quite a regular customer of them too and realise tat is thier style... i guess they cant be bothered by those who come in and keep asking for price and walk away.... it rather tiring for them to keep explaining the same things and no sale made.... arai is top end helmet, well known... buyer shud do some research from review in internet or mag and go there to grab if the price is right for them.... in my opinion their attitude is still normal.... and most of bike shop are double standard.... sometime they see what bike u ride there... if it jus a cub kia they dun really wanna entertaint you... if you ride a sportbike... or sport touring bike there to buy something or service they are very frenly..... i always have this double standard treat as im normally riding cubkia.... but when i ride my sportbike those ppl are so nice... get used to it liao.. :dot:

ArcFire: i'll keep u guys updated as to how much longer i have to w8 for 1 stupid plastic piece to arrive. probably a few more months? i really lan lan cos alrdy paid the full sum, as required by chiap lee.:angry:

FU2***L NSR 150 SP Pramac (RIP)

FBB 1***H Spark 135 Lmt Ed (RIP)

FZ4***B Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

im quite a regular customer of them too and realise tat is thier style... i guess they cant be bothered by those who come in and keep asking for price and walk away.... it rather tiring for them to keep explaining the same things and no sale made.... arai is top end helmet, well known... buyer shud do some research from review in internet or mag and go there to grab if the price is right for them.... in my opinion their attitude is still normal.... and most of bike shop are double standard.... sometime they see what bike u ride there... if it jus a cub kia they dun really wanna entertaint you... if you ride a sportbike... or sport touring bike there to buy something or service they are very frenly..... i always have this double standard treat as im normally riding cubkia.... but when i ride my sportbike those ppl are so nice... get used to it liao.. :dot:

If this kind of attitdue i comfirm will not buy from them again... it seems like dog eyes see ppl no up like tat.... hate this kind of service... i rather spend abit more... no offend

Rot In Hell!!

you mean 219, chiap lee, LAB and regina under one management?

not same management. i believe they're brothers and cousins.

hmm, wonder how come so many people experienced bad service from the twins at chiap lee. to be fair they offered me excellent service the first time i bought an arai from them and that was back in 2005.

1. i am not ang moh.

2. i wasn't riding big bike. (they wouldn't have seen it anyway cos i parked far away)

3. i asked for their cheapest helmet.

in fact, i was so impressed with their service i went back to buy another helmet just a few months after i bought the first one (for gf). and just bought a jacket and gloves a few months ago. the service everytime was good.

just sharing my experiences with them.

i dun get poor service from them. they dun bother me, better still... i can take my time n look ard. if every now n then they come n ask if u need help, wun u feel vexed that someone is following u n keeping asking u the same question?? if need help or got question, then ask them. if not, i dun think u even need to bother about them ignoring u.

another point is the way u speak to other ppl. if u got attitude, do expect the same... not everybody know everyone's pattern. its a give n take... dun like chiap lee's service, dun go!! i dun like LAB n Regina's service oso... so i dun go!

Hahaha...... Poor service is not just about asking or not asking if you need help. That in itself is a form of skill, knowing when to approach a customer. But the biggest problem is how they answer you when you ask them questions. Same like y you dun go lab/regina, you ask them something, they tell you price and tell you "lui lai lui lai"(stretch out hand to take money).

I've personally never given any sales staff attitude unless they give me attitude. Cos i know how hard it is to do sales but as a customer you expect a certain standard, especially coming from the sole distributor of Arai helmets in sg.

I'm certainly not patronising them ever again unless absolutely necessary.....