• Replies 45

i am riding spark 135 and have only use 3 different tires so far. stock, Dunlop TT900 and michelin pilot sporty.

the stock is completely horrible. it slip easily when the road is wet. as for michelin, i find that it grip as good as TT900 if not better, but not as nimble. likely due to wider tires that i am using for michelin therefore it does not response as well as TT900. i never have any problem with both tires whether wet or dry. of course, one should ride with caution during wet condition no matter what brands of tires you are using, their performance will be affected.

i have heard story of michelin pilot sporty on lousy grip for wet condition but it not true. some people just give advise when they have never use it before.

i am riding spark 135 and have only use 3 different tires so far. stock, Dunlop TT900 and michelin pilot sporty.

the stock is completely horrible. it slip easily when the road is wet. as for michelin, i find that it grip as good as TT900 if not better, but not as nimble. likely due to wider tires that i am using for michelin therefore it does not response as well as TT900. i never have any problem with both tires whether wet or dry. of course, one should ride with caution during wet condition no matter what brands of tires you are using, their performance will be affected.

i have heard story of michelin pilot sporty on lousy grip for wet condition but it not true. some people just give advise when they have never use it before.

All my accidents happened on a Michelin Pilot Sporty.

I had bad experience with michelin pilot sporty tyres.

Why not get better tyres? Metzeler, Bridgestone, etc etc since u can afford R125?

or maybe get the high end michelin tyres instead.

just my humble opinion.

i was on pilot sporty, 100 front, 130 rear.

the tires are pretty decent for dry (which tires aren't?) but it's the sensation of losing grip whenever I go past white lines or arrows even during dry conditions.

not too mention, i was afraid to even tap on the rear brakes when it rains. it has never failed to skid a little. It happens during dry weather too.

however, due to a puncture (luckily), i stuck on a set of bridgestone BT045s (110 front, 140 rear( and the sensation of losing grip over white lines vanished. too add, it has instilled a greater sense of safety and confidence when it rains.

Last but not least, the BTs has a wider tire profile compared to the sportys. So it looks appreciably larger even though it's only 1 size up.

that said, i will probably not go back to sportys..

BMW R1200GSLC 2014 (20smiles/miles)

Mini Cooper S Clubman 2011 (10smiles/miles)

due to the tires?

This.

i was on pilot sporty, 100 front, 130 rear.

the tires are pretty decent for dry (which tires aren't?) but it's the sensation of losing grip whenever I go past white lines or arrows even during dry conditions.

not too mention, i was afraid to even tap on the rear brakes when it rains. it has never failed to skid a little. It happens during dry weather too.

however, due to a puncture (luckily), i stuck on a set of bridgestone BT045s (110 front, 140 rear( and the sensation of losing grip over white lines vanished. too add, it has instilled a greater sense of safety and confidence when it rains.

Last but not least, the BTs has a wider tire profile compared to the sportys. So it looks appreciably larger even though it's only 1 size up.

that said, i will probably not go back to sportys..

The tires are damn nice when dry. Really, really nice. Decent in went. But once you go over the painted road markings, its another story altogether.

Get the most expensive tire if you can.

This.

The tires are damn nice when dry. Really, really nice. Decent in went. But once you go over the painted road markings, its another story altogether.

i don't seem to have this problem(touch wood). maybe my riding skill is better:cheeky:

Its the bike. Some bikes handling is different with different tires. If you ride the same bike as me, then perhaps, your riding skill is better. Even so, weight, height, sitting position, posture, contents of top box, how the top box is mounted, all this will affect the handling of the bike.

come on... give credit when it due:shy:

shld be, my bike using pilot sporty now...

ZERO issues with white line even during wet condition..... Altot i still take precaution during rainy days but been using this model for past 2 years and it feels great no matter dry or wet.... Somemore the price is affordable...

:pray::pray:
During rainy time, i wont go SLE/TPE exiting Ave 2.. damn scary, i went there twice i nearly skidded using that pilot sporty..

Been using that exit for 2 years coz i stay there..... no issue leh, i tink its the handling of the bike and the CG of it i guess....

:pray::pray:

yup,bridgestone.

any one tried Shinco? cheap cheap and heard its quite ok. However, not for those who love cornering. normal riding is ok.

Been using that exit for 2 years coz i stay there..... no issue leh, i tink its the handling of the bike and the CG of it i guess....

same. pass by that road almost daily with no issue.

For 2B bikes hor, if got $$ get the bridgestone BT39. Its much better than the Michelin sporty.

I'm using Michelin sporty now btw, cos the bridgestone dun have 110/80 rear tyre for my R15..

04 Aug 2008 - Class 2B

13 July 2010 - Class 2A

02 Sept 2011 - Class 2

Aug 08 to Oct 09 - Honda Phantom TA200

Dec 09 to Dec 13 - Yamaha YZF R15 v1

Apr 12 to Oct 15 - Suzuki Bandit GSF1250S L1

any one tried Shinco? cheap cheap and heard its quite ok. However, not for those who love cornering. normal riding is ok.

i'm using the Shinko SR714 on my nouvo.. like u said, cornering not as flexible.. but normal riding perfectly fine.. have been using it for over a month no skidding or whatsoever.. =)

[Past Rides]

Honda Phantom TA200 - Yahama Nouvo S - Honda S4 Ver S

[Current Ride]

Honda NC750XA