depends on how u define riding. i have two;

ride for work and ride for leisure. i think this is why many people have two or more bikes with different purposes. some with a car and a harley.

of course some got dual purpose, wanna have best of both worlds. but reality is during peak hour, its hard to enjoy your ride. if u do, good for u :D

• Replies 75

The KPE is definitely more of a boon than a bane.

How slow does one ride till can sweat? Mighty slow sia. Or were u pushing??? Try recall.

ya, some people just like to exaggerate.

It just means hot la. Ok la, maybe just warm, not hot.

As part of my job, I had to inspect the KPE tunnels for structural defects. There was once I was talking to one of those operators is that it's costly to turn on all ventilation fans. It was so bad that the smog is visible.

Poor ventilation + hot

the slow speed is because they scared if got accident inside, hard to evacuate.

remember the France Mont Blanc incident? car accident inside, burned up, people cannot escape in time and end up alot of people got cooked to a crisp.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mont_Blanc_Tunnel

the slow speed is because they scared if got accident inside, hard to evacuate.

remember the France Mont Blanc incident? car accident inside, burned up, people cannot escape in time and end up alot of people got cooked to a crisp.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mont_Blanc_Tunnel

Nah. The slow speed is to prevent accidents from happening in the first place. The KPE has many emergency exit points because it runs underneath flat ground, not a mountain.

The problem with the KPE is not the speed limit. That is secondary. It's the ventilation and temperature.

i remember seeing this video regarding an accident inside the tunnel due to extreme cold. the roads froze up and there was no friction. all cars piled up in the end. this is one disadvantage of tunnels.

but in KPE, there are many exits, and the centre divider can be opened up to direct traffic at several locations along the tunnel

cte best tunnels i like :D kpe.. fuk it unless u like to feel hot air

Dun forget bro, they got other cameras(non speed camera) watching too.. Got a fren riding busa n 1 day kena stopped by TP or LTA cant recall n e 1st thing dat e officer commented, "So u r e 1 everytime at e KPE tunnel speeding away eh" n my fren goes :faint::faint::faint:

I too received a warning letter that an officer spotted me speeding in KPE at 80+km/h.. I never speed pass the cams before and never see this "officer" before.. I wonder..

Its better to have KPE than without. Even if we don't enjoy riding there, its presence diverts traffic from CTE, SLE, Tampines Ave 10 and Upper Serangoon, which are the major alternatives to KPE's Northeast bound traffic. More roads can't be a bad thing. We can enjoy the other roads with more open space. Without KPE, every other Northeast bound chap will now come make riding less pleasant and jam up the other roads :dot:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Lucky its juz a warning bro :) .. E other officer is e one in e unmarked police car which u wnt suspect anything until u realise n its too late then...

Wateva it is i'll avoid KPE as long as i can unless when im driving :)

Yeah, anyway it happened before the unmarked vehicle was announced.. :faint:

depends on how u define riding. i have two;

ride for work and ride for leisure. i think this is why many people have two or more bikes with different purposes. some with a car and a harley.

of course some got dual purpose, wanna have best of both worlds. but reality is during peak hour, its hard to enjoy your ride. if u do, good for u :D

Peak hour plus tunnel? Been there, I'll try not to do it again. KPE gives me this warm sh!tty feeling on my body, even if outside is blazing hot, i rather be there. Afterall riding is about being exposed to the elements, don't like rain? Don't ride.

Kpe has 3 speed cameras. So far I always travel between 75-80km/hr. seems ok. I guess becoz the speedo not accurate, probably +-10km/h?

I follow the sentiments of some here.

The tunnel will most probably be speed restricted to 70km/h (or maybe 80 in a few stretches), and the probable reasons will be either too many bends in the tunnel, or tunnel safety needs to be adhered to hence slower is safer.

KPE ventilation is a joke as well. If the bias is on motorcycles, consider this: wait until your car's cooling system malfunctions. I presume the emergency teams will only turn on more ventilation fans in the event of a fire.

I doubt the Marina Coastal Expressway (or MCE as i believe it's called) is going to be a straight-through underground expressway. And unless that particular authority that couldn't even manage the CTE even after 4 attempts to raise the ERP rates have an efficient idea, the MCE is just going to be a booger stuck in the nostril every morning.

I follow the sentiments of some here.

The tunnel will most probably be speed restricted to 70km/h (or maybe 80 in a few stretches), and the probable reasons will be either too many bends in the tunnel, or tunnel safety needs to be adhered to hence slower is safer.

KPE ventilation is a joke as well. If the bias is on motorcycles, consider this: wait until your car's cooling system malfunctions. I presume the emergency teams will only turn on more ventilation fans in the event of a fire.

I doubt the Marina Coastal Expressway (or MCE as i believe it's called) is going to be a straight-through underground expressway. And unless that particular authority that couldn't even manage the CTE even after 4 attempts to raise the ERP rates have an efficient idea, the MCE is just going to be a booger stuck in the nostril every morning.

The ERP is probably some retard's idea to reduce traffic, same with COE, both of them does jacksh!t and all they do is generate revenue for them. Anyway, I don't expect them to come up with any new ideas other than increase here and there, make more revenue for them etc.

what is a better idea u reckon?

Coe controls vehicle population

Erp controls vehicle usage

I think this is really good measure honestly. Just that erp not high enough to deter usage.

In Hkg, petrol is about S$2.80 per Litre. U see, it taxes u all the time, even when u travel at non jam areas or non peak period, unlike erp which taxes u at certain area, certain period.

Next up will be the gps erp system that is being tested out now. Just came out in the news recently

Coe controls vehicle population

Erp controls vehicle usage

I think this is really good measure honestly. Just that erp not high enough to deter usage.

In Hkg, petrol is about S$2.80 per Litre. U see, it taxes u all the time, even when u travel at non jam areas or non peak period, unlike erp which taxes u at certain area, certain period.

Next up will be the gps erp system that is being tested out now. Just came out in the news recently

thumbs up.

some ppl really dont see the big picture. Or are not able to see.

IMO, raising of COE price got to do with social problem too.. Few years ago the price of new cars dropped tremendously due to great reduce in COE price n a brand new KIA CERATO FORTE cost a mere $40K.. N with e ease of taking car loans of 10 years from financial instituition, most youngsters with a gross salary of $2K can buy a car easily without having to pay any downpayment (compare to in 90's u gotta pay 30% of e car price at least n max loan is 7 yrs).. With more younger pple getting into debts due to "sikit atas" lifestyle n everytime use e credit card to pay until burst.. With $2K (after deduct cpf est bout $1.6k) how to service car loan n credit cards ??.. In order to pay up e loans n credit card bills, some resort to loansharks n dig more bigger hole to bury themselves, worst they r putting their family n neighbours into trouble when house kena harrased(splash paints/burned etc)... In e end car kena reposessed n kena sue by bank n become bankrupt... Now e price of e above car at least $80K up so let u guys do e math :) ... All tis r not being quote as 1 of e reason n published coz its human rights ma...

"Shut Up n Ride"

it was published just a few months back in ST that now car buyers who take loan have a monthly average gross income of $5k (when COE above $40k), compared to previous group of buyers with average gross income of $3k (when COE around $10k).

Yup after they realised too pple couldnt service their loans...

"Shut Up n Ride"