Do you use your rear brake on your motorcycle?  

34 members have voted

1. 1. Do you use your rear brake on your motorcycle?

• Yes
    • No
    • I use both front and rear brakes together.
    • I don't use my front brakes at all.
    • I don't use my brakes at all.

• Replies 56

Front and rear use together! Rear only good if ur stopping on a slope to prevent rolling back.

Sent from my Dell Streak using Tapatalk

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

Of course. Its there not just for show. :cool:

Sent from Your Ericsson T10 using Tapatalk

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Riding supermoto. Under hard braking the rear is almost useless apart from sliding the bike and lookin cool. Normal riding only use it for slow speeds as above have sad.

Ride safe people!!

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

yeah!

i mean who doesnt ? lol

but i heard some 'racer' didnt have rear brake-lighter

yeah!

i mean who doesnt ? lol

but i heard some 'racer' didnt have rear brake-lighter

Haha not only u heard it, i heard it a plenty n when asked, their reply is "i follow all those regular trackers n they taught me like that so i follow lor" ... Plain stupiak to e core... Even moto gp lacers use rear brakes so wat toking tis mangkuk ? Lolzzz ... All i can say is these lacers r not going fast enuf dats y only front brakes r sufficient to slow them but i know a couple of lacers who buang-ded at Sepang n PG coz using only front brakes to slow down upon entering corner, then another lacer cut their line n mangkuk brakes e front even harder n nxt thing, u see e lacer becums superman doing acrobats in e air but unlike superman, tis lacers ends up with broken collar bones n more lolzzz...

To those who preached by using front brakes only, my advise is to change that bad habit now... Dun learn e wrong things coz e consequences r expensive...

"Shut Up n Ride"

Riding supermoto. Under hard braking the rear is almost useless apart from sliding the bike and lookin cool. Normal riding only use it for slow speeds as above have sad.

Ride safe people!!

Those mat salleh started practising without even using brakes.. Juz throttle control :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

Haha not only u heard it, i heard it a plenty n when asked, their reply is "i follow all those regular trackers n they taught me like that so i follow lor" ... Plain stupiak to e core... Even moto gp lacers use rear brakes so wat toking tis mangkuk ? Lolzzz ... All i can say is these lacers r not going fast enuf dats y only front brakes r sufficient to slow them but i know a couple of lacers who buang-ded at Sepang n PG coz using only front brakes to slow down upon entering corner, then another lacer cut their line n mangkuk brakes e front even harder n nxt thing, u see e lacer becums superman doing acrobats in e air but unlike superman, tis lacers ends up with broken collar bones n more lolzzz...

To those who preached by using front brakes only, my advise is to change that bad habit now... Dun learn e wrong things coz e consequences r expensive...

I use to use both brake all the time like what driving centre taught, then a few riders told me it is not a good idea as it might skid the bike when braking too hard during emergency, as sometimes when u are scare u just jam the brakes. They teach me to tap the rear brake before braking the front, so the rear brake is only use at the inital braking

Can give more disadvantage of not using rear brakes? cuz your example is for tracking right? I

i agree rear brakes shud be used, but i tink it depends from rider-to-rider as well as bike-to-bike. i personally riding a phantom, and like all cruisers, its a long-wheelbase bike. under hard braking, there is almost no weight on the rear. apply too much on the rear = fishtail = KISS THE ROAD. locked the rear several times in the 1st few mths owning the bike. so i adapt by using the front 99% of the time. in emergencies, i hv adapted in such a way that i jammed the front (never lock up since got alot of weight in d front) and only in severe cases i nd a little more braking power, i tap the rear gently. been thru it enuf times that it has now become 2nd nature.

however, when taking 2A wif the S4, being a normal street bike, i realise the rear becomes more usable, therefore i'm able to apply more on the rear during the e-brake section.

i believe there is no ONE correct way of doing this. many variables. even some racers hv different techniques. watched on-the-throttle on youtube n one rider mentioned how he gradually depress his brakes compared to some other riders, who jams the brake hard and abrutly. they are all still fast. its just a matter of which is more suited for the rider. :)

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

I use to use both brake all the time like what driving centre taught, then a few riders told me it is not a good idea as it might skid the bike when braking too hard during emergency, as sometimes when u are scare u just jam the brakes. They teach me to tap the rear brake before braking the front, so the rear brake is only use at the inital braking

Can give more disadvantage of not using rear brakes? cuz your example is for tracking right? I

Mine apply on both... Of coz e usage of both brakes depends on ur speed n how fast u want to slow down... Wat im trying to say is, make it a habit to use both coz when in times of emergency, it will really helps... Rode Fz1s b4 n while entering a right 2 lane corner at fast speed suddenly a car on e left lane cut into my lane abruptly n i was already like 1 car length away n body already shift to e right to bank into e corner.... Immediately slammed my brakes n harder on e rear n coz im already banking into e right, e rear tire automatically slide to e left... Holding on to that kinda position until its safe for me to release e rear n once i released e rear, bike automatically straighten up n i cleared that situation in a split seconds... I thank my guru for wat he thought me n thank to Almighty Allah for e gifts that He gave me... Its not bout skill but having a proper riding habits helps...

Practise bleeping everyday(u dun have to ride very fast to practise it though) n its gonna b a habit overtime so when u go track, u r equipped with dat habit.. :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

i agree rear brakes shud be used, but i tink it depends from rider-to-rider as well as bike-to-bike. i personally riding a phantom, and like all cruisers, its a long-wheelbase bike. under hard braking, there is almost no weight on the rear. apply too much on the rear = fishtail = KISS THE ROAD. locked the rear several times in the 1st few mths owning the bike. so i adapt by using the front 99% of the time. in emergencies, i hv adapted in such a way that i jammed the front (never lock up since got alot of weight in d front) and only in severe cases i nd a little more braking power, i tap the rear gently. been thru it enuf times that it has now become 2nd nature.

however, when taking 2A wif the S4, being a normal street bike, i realise the rear becomes more usable, therefore i'm able to apply more on the rear during the e-brake section.

i believe there is no ONE correct way of doing this. many variables. even some racers hv different techniques. watched on-the-throttle on youtube n one rider mentioned how he gradually depress his brakes compared to some other riders, who jams the brake hard and abrutly. they are all still fast. its just a matter of which is more suited for the rider. :)

Yup, may diff cc bikes, builts, react differently.. My experienced based on 1000cc bikes i rode b4.. But now riding a bike with ABS n traction control, those braking issues r things of e pasts.. Braking with ABS equipped bike, i juz gotta brake hard n hold it n e bike will slow down immediately without locking e rear wheels... Had couple of near miss incidents on my ride to Pattaya n my buddy was so impressed with e bike performance that he traded his fjr for it :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

Yup, may diff cc bikes, builts, react differently.. My experienced based on 1000cc bikes i rode b4.. But now riding a bike with ABS n traction control, those braking issues r things of e pasts.. Braking with ABS equipped bike, i juz gotta brake hard n hold it n e bike will slow down immediately without locking e rear wheels... Had couple of near miss incidents on my ride to Pattaya n my buddy was so impressed with e bike performance that he traded his fjr for it :)

I have to agree with this.

ABS on my bike probably saved my ass a couple of times to date.

Once was riding in the rain when a lorry just cut into my lane w/o warning. Whatever 'years of riding experience' went right thru the window. I just grabbed/ stamped the brakes and the safety net ABS saved me and bike.

There will be people who says skill and experience is everything, and all accidents can be prevent. ABS is unnecessary.

I leave it to these living gods and their motorcycles.

For us mortals, just get a ABS bike if you can.

I have to agree with this.

ABS on my bike probably saved my ass a couple of times to date.

Once was riding in the rain when a lorry just cut into my lane w/o warning. Whatever 'years of riding experience' went right thru the window. I just grabbed/ stamped the brakes and the safety net ABS saved me and bike.

There will be people who says skill and experience is everything, and all accidents can be prevent. ABS is unnecessary.

I leave it to these living gods and their motorcycles.

For us mortals, just get a ABS bike if you can.

yeah but i seldom see riders ride abs bikes. I read thr the forum it seems that ppl dont believe in abs bikes. And i dont wan to buy a new bike I rather buy 2nd hand bikes since I usually get bored of the bike after 1 year and its hard to find abs bikes in 2nd hand market

Haha havent even try bike with ABS already dun believe in it, funny lah dis pple lolzzzz... For me its new bike, less head n heart ache... :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

Haha havent even try bike with ABS already dun believe in it, funny lah dis pple lolzzzz... For me its new bike, less head n heart ache... :)

yeah lor i also dont know why. I believe in technology as it usually works better than human judgement. May be I will get a new abs bike next year and try it out. But wallet will get a big hole if i sell the bike away

ABS equipped bikes maybe cost a few hundred more, but a slip down the road will cost much more in repair and god knows what else.

Well, there will be those who stick to their views about the pointless of ABS and how it affect's their riding on track, off-road...etc.

But 99.9% of us rides on real road everyday where ABS is a very good piece of safety net.

Anyway, it's a free world and everyone's entitled to his opinion.

Just don't dissuade others of a potential life saving technology just becos they don't get or like it.

I quote this phrase from the Aliens Vs Predators movie:

"Same principle as a condom. I'd rather have one and not need it, then need it and not have one."

yeah lor i also dont know why. I believe in technology as it usually works better than human judgement. May be I will get a new abs bike next year and try it out. But wallet will get a big hole if i sell the bike away

Its always e case bro... Wanna buy big bike with good specs/tech, b prepared to lose $$... :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

ABS equipped bikes maybe cost a few hundred more, but a slip down the road will cost much more in repair and god knows what else.

Well, there will be those who stick to their views about the pointless of ABS and how it affect's their riding on track, off-road...etc.

But 99.9% of us rides on real road everyday where ABS is a very good piece of safety net.

Just don't dissuade others of a potential life saving technology just becos they don't get or like it.

"Same principle as a condom. I'd rather have one and not need it, then need it and not have one."

Yup its free world bro but for those who havent try it n started to comment on it, i juz find tis type of pple, a moron ? Lolz...

"Shut Up n Ride"

Yup its free world bro but for those who havent try it n started to comment on it, i juz find tis type of pple, a moron ? Lolz...

"Shut Up n Ride"

I believe in ABS technology. I accidentally activated when i was driving lol.

i like abs too.

http://esmfitness.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/six-pack-abs-2.jpg

unfortunately me and my bike do not have abs but we still do get girls.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

Crap la, no need bike and i still get the girl. Haha. So my bike is forever alone.

Anyway, on a serious note, i don't know why you guys all recommend dont use rear brake when rain. When rain, i use rear brake more because in the event of a wheel lock, rear wheel lock much easier to control than a front wheel lock.