Do you use your rear brake on your motorcycle?  

34 members have voted

1. 1. Do you use your rear brake on your motorcycle?

• Yes
    • No
    • I use both front and rear brakes together.
    • I don't use my front brakes at all.
    • I don't use my brakes at all.

Crap la, no need bike and i still get the girl. Haha. So my bike is forever alone.

Anyway, on a serious note, i don't know why you guys all recommend dont use rear brake when rain. When rain, i use rear brake more because in the event of a wheel lock, rear wheel lock much easier to control than a front wheel lock.

Y muz brake until wheel lock ? Stupiak isnt it lolz... Intermitent braking, u wnt go wrong with it but coz now lazy to dat, dats y i go for ABS... No matter how heavy e rain, no wheel lock at all + traction control.. Awesome !!! ... Y not fix ABS n traction control on ur YBR ? Consperm werkzz lolzzzzz

"Shut Up n Ride"

• Replies 56

Crap la, no need bike and i still get the girl. Haha. So my bike is forever alone.

Anyway, on a serious note, i don't know why you guys all recommend dont use rear brake when rain. When rain, i use rear brake more because in the event of a wheel lock, rear wheel lock much easier to control than a front wheel lock.

Y muz brake until wheel lock ? Stupiak isnt it lolz... Intermitent braking, u wnt go wrong with it but coz now lazy to dat, dats y i go for ABS... No matter how heavy e rain, no wheel lock at all + traction control.. Awesome !!! ... Y not fix ABS n traction control on ur YBR ? Consperm werkzz lolzzzzz

"Shut Up n Ride"

Eh, if i got time to brake intermittently, i would do so right kotek?! :cheeky: I have a mantra. If you have time to horn, means you have time to react. I think one year, i use the horn less than 10 times only. If need to react fast, i am moving my bike away or braking away, where got time to press the horn.

Stupiak mangkuk hayun, pple talking bout brakes not horn.. Lolzzz... No need move ur bike away, juz carry it oso can maaa lolzzz

"Shut Up n Ride"

Stupiak mangkuk hayun, pple talking bout brakes not horn.. Lolzzz... No need move ur bike away, juz carry it oso can maaa lolzzz
I learnt how to press the brakes and horns together till its like second nature. Thanks to the drivers in SG. :cool:

Sent from Your Ericsson T10 using Tapatalk

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

braking distance not much different without rear brake

Dun b mislead... Niwae its up to u bro... Im juz imparting my knowledge n experience... Again, e rear brakes r being invented not for show... Period...

"Shut Up n Ride"

I learnt how to press the brakes and horns together till its like second nature. Thanks to the drivers in SG. :cool:

Sent from Your Ericsson T10 using Tapatalk

agreed. when i went for my defensive riding course, the instructor told us wen he lanesplitting, he will standby his thumb on the horn and 2 fingers covering the brake jux in case.. i have practiced it ever since and helped me in several situations alr. :)

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

Dun b mislead... Niwae its up to u bro... Im juz imparting my knowledge n experience... Again, e rear brakes r being invented not for show... Period...
Fully agreed. :cool:

agreed. when i went for my defensive riding course, the instructor told us wen he lanesplitting, he will standby his thumb on the horn and 2 fingers covering the brake jux in case.. i have practiced it ever since and helped me in several situations alr. :)
I always have two fingers on my levers. Its something I do since years ago when I was cycling. :cool:

Sent from my Nokia 3310i using Tapyourmom

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

braking distance not much different without rear brake

There's a difference between ABS, non-ABS and using front brakes in wet weather. In the wet, I use more rear, grabbing the front in the wet is just suicide.

Alamak! Pointing to an example other than brakes so that you can see the connection and bigger picture to it la! :cheeky:

Basically, if there is time to brake intermittently, there is time to react in the first place.

I always have two fingers on my levers. Its something I do since years ago when I was cycling. :cool:

I have 3 fingers and my right foot always at ready on the brakes! I win! Haha.

Anyway, if you always standby your thumb on the horn, then how the hell you grip the handle grip? I find it more stable if my thumb is wrapped around the grip.

Nice to see an array of comments. There's even someone who doesn't use his brakes at all! Keep it coming!

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8475/cbrnaked.jpg
Mine apply on both... Of coz e usage of both brakes depends on ur speed n how fast u want to slow down... Wat im trying to say is, make it a habit to use both coz when in times of emergency, it will really helps... Rode Fz1s b4 n while entering a right 2 lane corner at fast speed suddenly a car on e left lane cut into my lane abruptly n i was already like 1 car length away n body already shift to e right to bank into e corner.... Immediately slammed my brakes n harder on e rear n coz im already banking into e right, e rear tire automatically slide to e left... Holding on to that kinda position until its safe for me to release e rear n once i released e rear, bike automatically straighten up n i cleared that situation in a split seconds... I thank my guru for wat he thought me n thank to Almighty Allah for e gifts that He gave me... Its not bout skill but having a proper riding habits helps...

Practise bleeping everyday(u dun have to ride very fast to practise it though) n its gonna b a habit overtime so when u go track, u r equipped with dat habit.. :)

What does 'bleeping' do?

Scooter Tuning Is Not A Crime.

In any case, both brakes are there for a reason. So instead of omitting the other, why not use them in tandem of one another? The manufacturers aren't stupid enough to include a rear brake on higher cc bikes just so it can lock up, it's there for us to understand and master it.

Hence, after hearing that 60/40 thing from Driving centers, I decided to forego it as I don't want to gauge how much is 60/40. So for me, I would depress the rear brake together with the front brake, keeping it at an equal pressure (Roughly) with the front and increasing the front till the bike comes to a halt.

Cause I would view the rear brake as an equalizer. To slow down the bike while the front brake stops it. It would also prevent the forks from diving too much as compared to if only the front brake is used.

Either way, to maximize braking power. Ensure that your brake pads are not worn out, don't go for the likes of WP and GoldFren, brake lines are taut and bled, pistons of your calipers in smooth operation and lastly brake disc are not warped.

On most modern bikes, the brakes are more than sufficient to ensure that it is able to overcome what force that is provided by the drive train.

Hahaha, yeah. For those errant drivers, the horn is one of the best solution. For the more daring ones, follow up by flipping the bird.

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

Alamak! Pointing to an example other than brakes so that you can see the connection and bigger picture to it la! :cheeky:

Basically, if there is time to brake intermittently, there is time to react in the first place.

I have 3 fingers and my right foot always at ready on the brakes! I win! Haha.

Anyway, if you always standby your thumb on the horn, then how the hell you grip the handle grip? I find it more stable if my thumb is wrapped around the grip.

Bro where in my reply did I say I always standby my thumb on the horn? Please try not to say handle grip. Sounds very noob. :cool:

KRGT-1

Bro where in my reply did I say I always standby my thumb on the horn? Please try not to say handle grip. Sounds very noob. :cool:

Hahaha forgive him bro.. He's juz a small boy learning to ride lolz...

"Shut Up n Ride"

In any case, both brakes are there for a reason. So instead of omitting the other, why not use them in tandem of one another? The manufacturers aren't stupid enough to include a rear brake on higher cc bikes just so it can lock up, it's there for us to understand and master it.

Hence, after hearing that 60/40 thing from Driving centers, I decided to forego it as I don't want to gauge how much is 60/40. So for me, I would depress the rear brake together with the front brake, keeping it at an equal pressure (Roughly) with the front and increasing the front till the bike comes to a halt.

Cause I would view the rear brake as an equalizer. To slow down the bike while the front brake stops it. It would also prevent the forks from diving too much as compared to if only the front brake is used.

Either way, to maximize braking power. Ensure that your brake pads are not worn out, don't go for the likes of WP and GoldFren, brake lines are taut and bled, pistons of your calipers in smooth operation and lastly brake disc are not warped.

On most modern bikes, the brakes are more than sufficient to ensure that it is able to overcome what force that is provided by the drive train.

Hahaha, yeah. For those errant drivers, the horn is one of the best solution. For the more daring ones, follow up by flipping the bird.

Totally agree with u... Sometimes im wondering, got $$ to buy expensive bike but use cheapo brake pads ?? Then complain e pads no good lah, eat up e discs lah, blah blah blah... Come on lah, pay so cheap n yet wants it to perform well.. Where got meaning... Juz change my brake pads.. Bought e oem kawa brake pads... Juz e front one side wud coz me $145 at agent so a pair is $290... Bought it online for full set front n rear for $250 inclusive of shipping n gst... I wont compromise when brakes n tires r concern... That's one of e many important factors to determine whether u gonna reach ur destination safely..

"Shut Up n Ride"

Paiseh Paiseh! I was supposed to quote another guy but in the end quote you. The multi quote thing has not been working on this SBF since 3 months after the change. Sorry bro!

Supposed to be this instructor... :faint:

As for Abang Wan, cari pasal only... Aiya, lucky you cute. :cheeky:

Forgiven. :cool:

Totally agree with u... Sometimes im wondering, got $$ to buy expensive bike but use cheapo brake pads ?? Then complain e pads no good lah, eat up e discs lah, blah blah blah... Come on lah, pay so cheap n yet wants it to perform well.. Where got meaning... Juz change my brake pads.. Bought e oem kawa brake pads... Juz e front one side wud coz me $145 at agent so a pair is $290... Bought it online for full set front n rear for $250 inclusive of shipping n gst... I wont compromise when brakes n tires r concern... That's one of e many important factors to determine whether u gonna reach ur destination safely..
Agreed. I even got ebc pads for my tiny bike. The bleeding of the brake lines is the most important. Can get all good expensive stuff but if the bleeding is not done properly then everything have gone to waste. :cool:

Paiseh Paiseh! I was supposed to quote another guy but in the end quote you. The multi quote thing has not been working on this SBF since 3 months after the change. Sorry bro!

Its ok. Was just messing with you. :cool:

KRGT-1

So do I have to bleed my brakes? As ebc front brake pads and rotors shipping in soon to me.

Sent from my MB511 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

So do I have to bleed my brakes? As ebc front brake pads and rotors shipping in soon to me.

That depends. :cool:

KRGT-1

Sekali keluar

Depends

Haizzzzzz. . . . . .

No need to bleed brakes ar. That was what I've been taught at ite balestier. Unless there's air bubbles. If there's air bubbles then the brake system has to be check for leaks.