• Replies 65

JUst relax your upper body. Remember to take a deep breath in & out.listen for oldbird advise i sure they will help u. u wont believe me during my time lesson 1 i go for 9attempt, lesson2 i go for 6. lesson 3 i go for 4attempt, tp i go for 4 attempt just to obtain class 2b..

Just an update, 2 weeks ago I completed Lesson 1 with a total of 7 times. :thumb: Had my 1st time at Lesson 2 just now today, was not expecting to complete Lesson 2 in just 1 time anyway. The very obvious mistakes I made due to being unfamiliar, includes going on the wrong route in the circuit, checking wrong direction of blindspot, checking blindspot before signal, forget to cancel signal, turn on wrong signal, change lane at wrong spots, delay when moving off. Overall I was quite blur, but at least now I am more familiar with Lesson 2. Really need more practice to be familiar with the route and requirements of lesson 2! :sian:

Anyone knows if its possible to get a map of the CDC circuit so that I can self-revise before going Lesson 2 again?

Anyway, thanks for all your encouragements on Lesson 1!!:)

It would be good if you could highlight your age, sex, educational level, job and any skills that you have. We can help to advice on it. The way i see it, its more of your learning style, etc. that you can use to your advantage when learning.

For example, i am an audio person. As the instructor verbally tells us what to do, i can process everything once and imagine it in my head as well as find the pros and cons of doing it a certain way. Before i even get on the bike, i can already predict what i will and will not do wrongly.

When i read what you posted, you know what you are doing right and wrong, but you are not showing it when you are riding, perhaps due to confidence issues, esteem issues or what not.

I'm just an 18 year old 2nd year poly student. I guess my learning is abit more visual, that's why I had to go through at least once of Lesson 2 before being able to better understand what is required in Lesson 2. As I posted in my update just few mins ago, I even went the wrong route in the circuit for Lesson 2!!

whatever it is, dun be discouraged when you didnt make it to the next lesson. its okay if you fail or gotta repeat lessons as you are still learning. same goes when you were in sec school, didnt understand or fail to answer your teacher when he/she asked you a question during lessons. but when comes to exams, you die2 know that you need to pass. again, same goes to your bike lessons, you know also that you need to really pass your tp at first attempt. so what i wanna point out is, its okay if you have to keep on repeating lessons so that you can understand better, at the end of the day you might pass your tp at first attempt :cool:

CLASS 2B - 2012 | CLASS 2A - 2014 | CLASS 2 - 2015

Past & Current Ride -

YAMAHA Y125Z - FBA 5025 S(2012-2016)

YAMAHA FZ16ST - FBK 218 H(2015-2017)

YAMAHA FZ1000S - FX 9676 T(2017-2017)

YAMAHA RXZ 135 - FQ 5622 L(2017-2017)

HONDA NC750X ABS - FBK X2XX E(2017-????)

I'm just an 18 year old 2nd year poly student. I guess my learning is abit more visual, that's why I had to go through at least once of Lesson 2 before being able to better understand what is required in Lesson 2. As I posted in my update just few mins ago, I even went the wrong route in the circuit for Lesson 2!!

In my opinion, visual learners are those who see once then they get it right. Kinesthetic/tactile learners must keep doing and doing until they get it right. More practical.

If you are the kind that have to keep doing and doing until you get it right, then you have to keep practicing. Imagine doing the course in your head, visualise how you are going to go through the course and the processes when you see the course and when you practice, just do i as you practiced in your head. Drill, drill again, drill sommore.

Just failed Lesson 2 again yesterday, I asked the instructor on my mistakes, he said that my safety check, blindspot and signaling is ok, but did not pass due to handling of bike. I think it includes wobble too much when moving off and stopping, then too many times right leg down. To prevent wobbling when moving off to immediately turn left of right, should I just keep my elbows more straightened? Or just don't keep shaking handlebar?

maybe speed too slow .... it took me 1 year to get my 2B , :cheeky: each lesson took me 3-4 times ... so very time i to book ... for class ... i book 4 days in a row .... ..if fail.. come back next day ... no need to wait long long ... :)

Just failed Lesson 2 again yesterday, I asked the instructor on my mistakes, he said that my safety check, blindspot and signaling is ok, but did not pass due to handling of bike. I think it includes wobble too much when moving off and stopping, then too many times right leg down. To prevent wobbling when moving off to immediately turn left of right, should I just keep my elbows more straightened? Or just don't keep shaking handlebar?

Why you don't want to shake the handle bar? Do you know why you were shaking the handle bar and wobbling in the first place? Rev more, rev to red line if necessary, feel the power, get used to it. Then you will be more confident. You are your worst enemy from what you had been sharing. You are definitely unsafe for the road even in the event you passed TP. Feel the bike, don't just memorise what you need to do, you have to understand when you need to do.

Edited by shunoski

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

to prevent wobble during moving off, u need to throttle MORE, then using the usual half-clutch, move off. dont be afraid of throttling MORE to move off. the reason why u wobble is cos u dont have enuff torque to move off from standstill, and to stay upright, u need to create momemtum

some thoughts:

1. super glue yr right foot to yr foot peg! not literally but u know what i mean.. its a psychomotor thingy..

2. i think turning of handle bar happens when u are looking down.. for me during learning i picked a high point on a building to keep my eyes up.. i took 5 lessons of 1.03 at bbdc becos of wobble too =D the key thing is *look where you want to go* if u look up u will stay up and not wobble.

3. as nbk3 stated, u need to open more throttle. or rather maintain throttle. the rear wheel automatically stay upright due to gyrscopic force if u hv enuff power to rear wheel hence else more torque.

4. this one applied to me but i dunno abt the rest: try to seat the helmet you're wearing properly so the weight distribution is more downwards yr neck and spine. initially i didnt do that and i realised the weight of the helmet makes me look down... and hence wobble!

just my 2 cents!

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Unfortunately for you, bikes are not something you learn visually, ask any rider if he learns how to ride just by looking, then go try corner with his knee down on a bike he has never ridden before. You have to feel, feedback from the engine, suspensions, brakes are all important.

Agree.. my instructor used to say riding must use yr heart and feeling into it.. to be specific u can look out for:

1. butt feeling for rear wheel traction and power

2. engine sound / vibration

3. clutch finger tip control and biting point

4. brake "biting point"

5. all the contact points that u use to weigh the bike and the effects on the suspension plus weight distribution.

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Agree.. my instructor used to say riding must use yr heart and feeling into it.. to be specific u can look out for:

1. butt feeling for rear wheel traction and power

2. engine sound / vibration

3. clutch finger tip control and biting point

4. brake "biting point"

5. all the contact points that u use to weigh the bike and the effects on the suspension plus weight distribution.

really have to feel the bike especially while moving off on the slope!

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk

CLASS 2B - 2012 | CLASS 2A - 2014 | CLASS 2 - 2015

Past & Current Ride -

YAMAHA Y125Z - FBA 5025 S(2012-2016)

YAMAHA FZ16ST - FBK 218 H(2015-2017)

YAMAHA FZ1000S - FX 9676 T(2017-2017)

YAMAHA RXZ 135 - FQ 5622 L(2017-2017)

HONDA NC750X ABS - FBK X2XX E(2017-????)

To me, it doesnt matter how long you take when you are in the school. If you rush and do not really understand how to ride a bike or how to "feel" a bike while riding, high chance is that you will meet up with an accident when you are on the road. Good Luck!

I failed my prac 1 3 times and i stopped going for 3 years. In total i failed my prac 1 4 times and passed on the 5th. Prac 2 failed 3 times, passed on the 4th. Prac 3 failed twice and passed on the 3rd. Prac 4 to 7, i passed on the 2nd attempt. And i failed my TP 4 times and passed on the 5th. I failed by points. Dun worry. We all have times that we failed miserably. Better to fail in school then failing on the road, bro. :)

Bro, soon all these experiences that you face and will be facing during your driving school days will be over before you know it. :lol:

I failed my practicals so many times throughout 2B until the instructor said that there is no more paper to put his chop. So, I just laughed and said, "Just staple more paper lor... But actually, it also means that I am your big customer. You see... More stamps means more $$".

Just persevere. Don't bother about what others think. You will get there.

I agree with what the others are saying here. You've got to feel the bike. The biting point. Listen to the engine: this will help you in judging whether the bike is going to stall or not.

Look far and relax your body. The more tense your body is, the lesser the bike is going to respond to you.

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

Agree with the practice part, i passed practical 1 in 3 tries but i failed TP 4 times (Nearly 6 months waiting time). Why? Because i didn't take any revision before doing it, you will always have to "warm up" before passing anything.