Which do you recommend for a 2B licence holder?  

69 members have voted

1. 1. Which do you recommend for a 2B licence holder?

• Phantom
    • Aprilia RS 123 GP 07'
    • Others (Please specify in reply.)

I would really be greatful if someone introduces to me a bike that is below 200cc and has a look of a sports bike. :smile:

List of what I look for in a bike by priority:

• Below 200CC (For a 2B licence holder.)
  • Looks (Sports bike look.)
  • Comfortability (Certainly wouldn't mind a vespa. But would prefer a sports bike.)

Love is a beautiful pain, with sweet pleasures.

No bike? No fear, feed your cravings on bicycles. =)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v81/xiaoboy/Image3772_toobig.jpg

My bike have the most prominent rims. =p

Click here for the picture.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10721;7/st/20080607/e/my+18th+Birthday%21+/dt/13/k/8b15/event.png

| Motorcycle Specs | Parking Idiots | Race Replica Graphics/Sticker Kits | Yamaha Star | Yamaha Sports | SG Road Accident Stats | Motorcycle Dictionary | Bikes' Engine Sound Zone|

• Replies 38

You might want to consider

1) your budget, how much you are willing to spend? and how much money you have to maintain your bike?

2) do you want fuel economy?

3) sports bike = less comfort due to riding posture

4) how long you wanna ride your 2B bike?

5) resale value

Your new Aprilia 125 is easily gonna cost you >$10K and not to forget maintenance on sports bikes is higher than commuting bikes.

Sports bikes have more power and consumes more fuel naturally. Phantoms, Waves are more fuel economy. Phantoms are 200cc 4stroke and should be able to go 120km/hr while Waves-also 4 stroke goes abt 95km/hr then wobbly liao. 2B sports bikes can generally go >150km/hr on the meter and maybe that Aprilia is gonna reach >180 on the meter...but hey...too fast cannot handle means potentially higher risk on the road for yourself and others!

If you ride that Aprilia 1 year and decides to upgrade to a 2A bike, then you're gonna suffer a hugh lose...maybe $2k-$4k when selling yor bike if you didn't buang. If bike not pretty, then maybe lose more.

If you can afford, have utmost confidence on the road and is wlling to wear proper riding gear when riding always and absolutely loves the Aprilia... then go ahead :smile:

If you want to commute, then between the 2 options, get phantom...better fuel consumption, more comfort riding posture, won't lose so much money when selling and perhaps easier to sell too.

Personally, I advise you to get a 2nd hand bike..maybe 2-3 yr old one...and ride to gain experience first....then decide whether you wanna get a new bike or that Aprilia that many drools on :cheeky:

Be contented and you have the world... be greedy and you'll never be happy.

If you have the patience, go to the different bike threads to read up on the maintenace and what are the problems that existing riders face...

I assure it will be time well invested.

Basically you can choose from

1) Scooters-eg, vespas (old types that uses hand gear change, and modern belt driven twist and go type), Benelli Adiva (comes with shelter from rain and shine!), Piaggio X8/X9, Gilera runners etc

2) Sports bikes-Aprilia 125/ Honda SP/ Kawa Kipps/ TZMs etc

3) Cubs- Honda Waves / Click/ Air Blade / Yamaha SparkZ / 135LC / X1 / 125Z / Suzuki Raider etc

4) Scramblers - KSR110 (very cute!), XR200 etc..

5) Naked bikes - RXZ/ RXK (old liao) / Bajaj Pulsar 180 / Honda CG125 / Suzuki GN125 / Yamaha YBR125 etc

6) Cruisers- Honda Phantom/ Shadow/ Daelim Daystar / Suzuki Marauder / Intruder 125 / Yamaha Virago 125 / Kawa Boss175 / Hyosung Aquila etc

Too many!! Just to name a few that crossed my mind! So please read more, ask people and if possible, try to sit (I didn't say ride..cos illegal) before deciding which one to get.

GOOD LUCK! :thumb:

Be contented and you have the world... be greedy and you'll never be happy.

If u are a "looks" person, go for sports bike like sp or krr first. Aprilla is not easy to maintain unless u got a lot of cash to burn. I believe u are the sports bike kind of person and u get a scooter or phantom, no matter what benefits they bring u will also regret when u look at other ppl riding sports bike.

If u are intending to upgrade, look around for a cheap 2nd hand sports bike to tide u thru 2b.

You buy a first-hand 2b Sportsbike, within months, you'll be itchy for that Class 2A and Class 2 license because those big bikes will eat you up no matter how fast your RS125, SP or KRR can go. My most valuable advice to you is to gain riding experience first. Get s Phantom or a Kup. Once you've got experience, you can go for speed. If at the start you go for speed without experience, then I have to say sooner or later, your luck will run out. Ride safe and ride to live another day.

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

Originally posted by SlayGay@March 04, 2007 02:18 pm

If u are a "looks" person, go for sports bike like sp or krr first. Aprilla is not easy to maintain unless u got a lot of cash to burn. I believe u are the sports bike kind of person and u get a scooter or phantom, no matter what benefits they bring u will also regret when u look at other ppl riding sports bike.

If u are intending to upgrade, look around for a cheap 2nd hand sports bike to tide u thru 2b.

I've got to agree with you. Thought of what you wrote while thinking of switching my choice of having a sports bike to tide through my 2B licence. Now I think I'll make my decision. I'll ride a Phantom for the first month or so. Then switch to a Kawasaki KR then on. (:

How does that sound?

Love is a beautiful pain, with sweet pleasures.

No bike? No fear, feed your cravings on bicycles. =)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v81/xiaoboy/Image3772_toobig.jpg

My bike have the most prominent rims. =p

Click here for the picture.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10721;7/st/20080607/e/my+18th+Birthday%21+/dt/13/k/8b15/event.png

| Motorcycle Specs | Parking Idiots | Race Replica Graphics/Sticker Kits | Yamaha Star | Yamaha Sports | SG Road Accident Stats | Motorcycle Dictionary | Bikes' Engine Sound Zone|

Get a KRR about $2k pluz

Dont get something brand new like the Aprilia 07...for sure, your ass will want to ride something faster, poweful once getting your 2A

But then after seeing that your have still 14mths away to your 18th birthday..things might change..older plate of KRR might be even lower than $2k

2003-2004: Yamaha WR200

2004-2006: Honda XR400RY

2006-2006: Honda Super4 Spec3

2006-2010: Honda CBR600RR'06

2010-2011: Harley Davidson Sportster 883

2011-2012: Harley Davidson RoadKing

2013-2015: Honda X11

2015-????: Harley Davidson Rushmore Street Glide

When I was 16, I LOVED the looks of the Aprilia RS. Calculated my $$$ and I can afford the expenses. After I got my licence, the thought of dropping the bike/getting into accident due to lack of experience came. Also, I know people riding Kips/SPs/TZMs. So I made the switch to a Kawasaki KRR instead.

Wise decision I feel, because I got into an accident three months after I started riding. Total costs was around S$400 to bring bike back to optimal condition. Would still be crying and eating grass if it had been an Aprilia.

Do consider costs. Maintaining the bike is about the same with the rest, good 2T, a change of engine oil and plugs and you're good to go. Remember that replacing parts on an Italian bike is always more expensive compared to a local one.

Most local 2b two-strokers can outrun an Aprilia on a straight road, seen a RXZ shallowed a RS125 full. Aprilia is probably the best 2b bike for cornering, but I seen amazing cornering on Kips and TZMs also. And friend, if you're a probation rider, I dun think u wanna be attacking corners on an expensive bike unless its on a clean and controlled track.

Ride an RS125 if you want a bike that handles well due to it's designs, huge tyres and better brakes, good looks along with a "racing" stance that resembles ones found on bigger bikes and simply, the head turning attraction the bike gets. And also, if your finance allows it.

But if you want a bike that can go fast, alot of available modifications, get a Kips or a TZM instead. Personally, by ur caterias, I would recommend that u get the newest Gilera Runner VXR. Very sporty, good fuel consumption, GOOD pickup, looks good with a box and definitely a comfy bike to ride. Good luck in ur bike hunting :thumb:

Originally posted by Cheeesy@March 04, 2007 10:00 pm

I've got to agree with you. Thought of what you wrote while thinking of switching my choice of having a sports bike to tide through my 2B licence. Now I think I'll make my decision. I'll ride a Phantom for the first month or so. Then switch to a Kawasaki KR then on. (:

How does that sound?

hey if you're filthy rich, u could try all the bikes you want but the thing is, do you have that kind of money ?

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

how much would be a 2nd hand tzm be?

Sh-it happens:slapforehead:

Aug 07 to Apr 08 - Honda Wave

Oct 09 to June 10 - Kawasaki Krr 150

Feb 11 to Sept 11 - Suzuki DRZ (K7)

Aug 11 to March 12 - Honda Sonic 125

June 12 to Dec 12 - Super Four CB400 Ver S

January 13 to Dec 13 - Yamaha Spark 135

Nov 13 to Present - Super Four CB400 Vtec I

i have a tough question ladies and gentlemen :p

I wanna buy a 2nd hand bike.

I want to put a box.

I was tinking to buy a kawa kips.

Kips + box = Uncle like.

I dun want a phantom, not keen on auto scooters.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

Originally posted by PinKcHicK@March 14, 2007 11:11 pm

i have a tough question ladies and gentlemen :p

I wanna buy a 2nd hand bike.

I want to put a box.

I was tinking to buy a kawa kips.

Kips + box = Uncle like.

I dun want a phantom, not keen on auto scooters.

Get a runner then

Originally posted by FactoryEffex@March 15, 2007 01:36 am

Get a runner then

runner oso auto?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

go with ur heart..ur money rite,dont listen to wat ppl say.but dont regret it lah.i dont regret getting my rs even though piston jam twice,parts expensive,ppl say problematic bike n blah blah blah..

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

Originally posted by PinKcHicK@March 15, 2007 07:35 am

runner oso auto?

Yup its a auto bike.... very nice looking bike, i meant the newer models

So easy , if got $$ buy 06 RS 125 .

i oso wan but no $$ if not i 100% buy tat bike

1 July 05 - 6 June 07 kawasaki KRR

8 June 2007 - 30 Apr 09 x9 EVO :p

4 May 2009 - Now DRZ400 :thumb:

if u wanna put box..mayb gt kupchai like wave..x1..125z or spark..bt if u wan sports bike den i thnk u shld go fr rxz..

:: Oct 06 - ~ Toyota Corolla 1.6 ::

:: Mar 07 - ~ Kawasaki Kr ::

:: RidE FoR PassioN..Nt FashioN ::

Originally posted by Aprilia6969@March 22, 2007 07:59 pm

There's A Bike Called RS 123?

u mean Aprilia 125?

i am riding yamaha tzm.=)

Yamaha tzm-(31/11/2006-18/11/2007)

Gilera Runner VXR200-(02/12/2007-25/02/2009)

Drz sm 400

either SP or Kips can be considered as well and cost much lesser than aprilia :smile:

Originally posted by quikslvr@March 17, 2007 09:52 pm

go with ur heart..ur money rite,dont listen to wat ppl say.but dont regret it lah.i dont regret getting my rs even though piston jam twice,parts expensive,ppl say problematic bike n blah blah blah..

agreed .. if u intend to stick to 2B for long Aprilia RS125 is a good bike to keep..

I currently own 1 RS125 and intend to get the new 06 RS125 as transport once my finance comfortablely allows..

Originally posted by Blahhh@March 09, 2007 03:36 am

Most local 2b two-strokers can outrun an Aprilia on a straight road, seen a RXZ shallowed a RS125 full.  Aprilia is probably the best 2b bike for cornering, but I seen amazing cornering on Kips and TZMs also.

there are alway a few fast RS hanging ard jus tat the ones you met are not so good conditioned ones, ask ard or try to play with one rojak paintwk rs 125 and u will know wat an relatively good condition rs125 can do ...

jus wan tell u its not very possible for an rxz,krr, sp to makan an good condition rs with arrow easily, an rs may lose but not to the extend of makan easily..

2B bike so fast for wat sg rd limit only 90km/h.. bike stock is the best :lovestruck: