2B at BBDC or CDC?

Go to solution Solved by snooptrader,

CDC or BBDC in terms of bikes and lessons?   

16 members have voted

1. 1. CDC or BBDC in terms of bikes and lessons?

• BBDC
    • CDC

On 9/9/2022 at 7:07 PM, Janeoh said:

😂😂😂 I've been driving mpv since... 2008... but my current one (Sharan) is the most unwieldy one yet! But okay lah ... it does what I want - ferry many ppl around and comes w integrated booster for the two small ones. 

I saw my neighbor's bike!

3644DEAB-B59B-4D83-8587-387DF62154F9.thumb.jpeg.b28f8154e0f8b9e057639acf1e221f82.jpeg

so nice right! But I found out it's manual. Sian. I won't buy manual... auto/clutchless for me, thanks. Hahahahah

Haha mine is just a small car.. easy for mi to control.. 

Initially im also like auto/clutchless only but once i get used to it actually im fine with the manual.. hahaha 

3 hours ago, adesmond2 said:

I’m down with covid (2nd time) 😓😓😓😓 exactly same symptoms as u mention above.. feverish headache.. running nose n the standard.. 😓

Oh no.. hope u get well soon..

7 minutes ago, snooptrader said:

Oh no... make sure that fever is not related to the injury... the pus area is probably the body fighting potential infection (I'm not a doctor, so it's highly speculative)..

The booster is a must for me as my "vaccinated status" was expiring and need to take it, not that I'm like keen to take it and not being able to work out for a good fortnight, but will probably go for walks or cycle... but nothing major... have to consult my family doctor.

Oh yea, Hondas are really good engine... but they are really pricey when I was comparing the CB150R... compared to say the MT-15... that is why they are not really used by the delivery guys... MSX (Grom) looks like an interesting bike but I don't think I'm skilled to ride as a bike at this juncture.. :D

... learning 2B... the journey just continues...

Im suspecting the fever is related to the pus thou.. anyway it just burst on its own.. so will continue to monitor n see how ba.. hopefully with both big abcess burst n drained, it will get better ba.. wanted to go a&e after dinner but i think now no need already.. 

The MSX is really a small bike.. 125cc only.. it sure is interesting but u sure that is something u would like? 😂 If ur legs are long then u would have problems with it.. mine is the MSX

1 minute ago, Nakuru said:

Haha mine is just a small car.. easy for mi to control.. 

Initially im also like auto/clutchless only but once i get used to it actually im fine with the manual.. hahaha 

Oh no.. hope u get well soon..

Im suspecting the fever is related to the pus thou.. anyway it just burst on its own.. so will continue to monitor n see how ba.. hopefully with both big abcess burst n drained, it will get better ba.. wanted to go a&e after dinner but i think now no need already.. 

The MSX is really a small bike.. 125cc only.. it sure is interesting but u sure that is something u would like? 😂 If ur legs are long then u would have problems with it.. mine is the MSX

@adesmond2 oh shoot!! I missed that you had Covid; hope you get well soon, and yes, that is a real possibility for all of us.

@Nakuru monitor the fever and if it gets any worst; go to A&E, don't wait for last minute when things become more serious. If the pus drains and fever subside, should be getting better I hope.

On the MSX, that is why, would probably look at the Duke or MT-15, if the learning centre bikes is "okay" for me, I guess these might be "okay" for a first bike, but if going for "pre-owned", need to have someone experienced view the machine with yours truly... if the depreciation don't mix sense... buy new... though for 2B vs 2A, the latter tend to offer more value when new... just my own opinion when doing the math...

18 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

i've had some seat time on the MSX (aka Grom) as that's the first bike we learnt on in Honda Chiang Mai... i'm 1.78m.. sitting on it was really cramped for me but it was nimble and easy to handle. 

on the 2nd day, we moved to CB150R. So much better fit for me (in terms of riding posture)

on your pus and abcess - did the hospital schedule any follow up appointments for you? if it's quite long away, it might be good to go see a GP this week and get a medical professional to look at it. Especially since you are running a fever.

51 minutes ago, snooptrader said:

I'm definitely towards a street / naked bike, purely for the fact that I like those aesthetics of the bike type and handling should be practical enough for roads.
I had the impression that the Duke 200 was liquid cooled but I like bikes that would offer a lot of torque - transferred preference from car... :D

Agreed on the bike being water cooled versus air-cooled, less strained on the engine... the only thing air cooled is my PC, which I don't overclock and the temps are lower than most AIOs anyway.
:D sidetrack a bit... :D

So, if I had to choose 2 as of now... MT-15 (more manga look with the transformer looking front) or the Duke 200.... I guess the MT-15 is rentable... but not sure where the Duke 200 could be rented from.

Priorities first; learn the basics... on how to ride before I go fantasizing about bikes... LOL...

ok i might be wrong on the duke being air-cooled LOL.  

the duke engine heats up significantly if riding slowly for more than 15min (speeds between 10-20km/h) in the day. this is me doing slow speed maneuvers in a carpark. Going up to normal speeds brings the water temperature down. Not sure if this is typical for the bike or just because it's old. I took a closer look at the bike today and saw it had a coolant tank and filler cap, so it's not air-cooled 😄

Just now, shiba2b said:

ok i might be wrong on the duke being air-cooled LOL.  

the duke engine heats up significantly if riding slowly for more than 15min (speeds between 10-20km/h) in the day. this is me doing slow speed maneuvers in a carpark. Going up to normal speeds brings the water temperature down. Not sure if this is typical for the bike or just because it's old. I took a closer look at the bike today and saw it had a coolant tank and filler cap, so it's not air-cooled 😄

LOL, it's ok sir, our main work aren't bikes.. this is our leisure.. my work is as far as from bikes in terms of association...

Yes, heard that the Duke gets hot quite fast.. but the thing is, as long i don't have the experience, it is merely hearsay which holds no water... I'm just trying to keep my patience and enjoy the journey, after all, the COE prices are still pretty much steep and enjoying the journey though it's pretty far for me every weekend. LOL, it's really a journey to the west.. I don't mind that, just that when it rains, it can be miserable but what the heck, once on the bike, happiness shines through... most important is to keep at it... that is what I keep telling myself.

• Like 1

57 minutes ago, snooptrader said:

@Nakuru monitor the fever and if it gets any worst; go to A&E, don't wait for last minute when things become more serious. If the pus drains and fever subside, should be getting better I hope.

The fever is like on n off at 37.3 - 37.6.. thou it has been 3 days already.. so since it burst now.. shall see how ba.. if not tml have to go le..

40 minutes ago, shiba2b said:

on your pus and abcess - did the hospital schedule any follow up appointments for you? if it's quite long away, it might be good to go see a GP this week and get a medical professional to look at it. Especially since you are running a fever.

Nope.. the next appointment is 23 sep.. shall monitor till tml..

1 hour ago, snooptrader said:

That looks like a "cafe racer" style bike to me....  Keanu Reeves ride that sort of bike in the city... he owns a bike company... It even has old skool drum brakes for that nostalgia feeling.. :D

front is abs, back drum.... from what I can see hahahaha but ya, that's the sort of bikes I like. But it's manual. Sian

1 hour ago, Nakuru said:

The fever is like on n off at 37.3 - 37.6.. thou it has been 3 days already.. so since it burst now.. shall see how ba.. if not tml have to go le..

That’s fever all right…. I usually don’t get fever and I empathise totally… yes, do get yourself checked if you don’t feel well… 😐 

1 hour ago, Janeoh said:

front is abs, back drum.... from what I can see hahahaha but ya, that's the sort of bikes I like. But it's manual. Sian

It’s ok, just learn and you will get used to it… it can be quite engaging…. Especially on a bike… :) 

3 hours ago, snooptrader said:

That’s fever all right…. I usually don’t get fever and I empathise totally… yes, do get yourself checked if you don’t feel well… 😐 

I actually dun feel much diff.. just body temp high only.. its still 37.6 now.. 

17 hours ago, Nakuru said:

I actually dun feel much diff.. just body temp high only.. its still 37.6 now.. 

How you feeling today? That's still a fever but weekend in ICU is the worst as most specialist are out... mostly duty MOs me thinks...

Lesson 3.01
Third time on this module and the weather was again pretty good and windy. I am not sure about you, but the wind was amazingly strong in the east at about 1pm... and the day was cloudy. Not like it was going to rain, but cloudy.

Got ready early this time and left the house to make the "journey to the west" and traffic was relatively light with just on incident along the way, but manage to reach the west about 30mins before the lesson and went in early.

Today's students were pretty all unfamiliar faces but were pretty friendly folk. 3 repeats like yours truly but I'm thrice the repeat.. . Got on gear and then followed the instructor to the start line. Did a quick warm up on the first gear and half-clutch and slow down using the foot-brake.

The instructor was pretty quick and practical, asking who were the repeats and asking where our weak points were. Next he demonstrated and explained how the plank and the slalom was done. next we were told to just try it and he would observed us. The first attempt; went off the plank....

.... then I confessed that I would be a challenge to him, but he firmly and kindly said that, he would teach us technique and get all the students up on the plank / clear the slalom.

The instructor got me to pillion him and he managed to clear the plank and did a round to demonstrate throttle, clutch and brake control while narrating his technique to me. This was the golden as then, managed to get it right albeit with some fast / slow pace on the plank. In the next few rounds stayed on the plank with only one major "off", due to looking at the plank (instructors know when we make mistakes like that). This was probably the module which had the most plank time as the instructor assisted to get this mule to ride the plank fairly "okay". 

Next, the students were told to prepare guards for 3.02 which I am grateful even if we have to wear the guards. Appreciated the way the instructor helped to give me special focus, so as to teach me "live" how to control the bike on his hand controls and using his foot-brake. He can even tell me the speed he uses.. it's humbling as you can tell how instructors control the bike and not just twist and go like most bikers.

At the end of the lesson, came back, took a shower, bought dinner and reflecting on the lessons. Still much to learn and absorb. If there is more chance to practice; will do so. Must get these right so as to be competent.

Will be going for 3.02 after I return from an overseas trip. :)

• Like 1

On 9/8/2022 at 2:03 PM, Janeoh said:

Clutch can adjust?!?

previous session it was really tight! So you can imagine the queuing and clutching in all the way... arm and finger pain! The instructor used my bike to demo. Then when he was instructing but clutch in a gear 1, he also use right hand to hold for a while 😂

then last session the clutch was nice and loose but the biting point was almost when I finish releasing all the way. 😂

but cos I got so much practice going round and round, by the end of the session it didn't make a difference, got used to it already. 

now I know can adjust clutch. 

It was raining yesterday so no chance to practice bicycle. But I realise, maybe I'm trying to turn bike like turn car 😂

So much talk about Duke 200 I went to google it 😂 looks intimidating!

theres this cute bike in my carpark, I'll take a photo of it when I see it again. 

Watch from 1:15 onwards for the adjustments. The front portion is more technical. 

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/796352/Honda-Msx125.html?page=65

For MSX adjustment. 

Edited by Siphon
  • Like 1

On 9/11/2022 at 7:20 PM, snooptrader said:

How you feeling today? That's still a fever but weekend in ICU is the worst as most specialist are out... mostly duty MOs me thinks...

The abcess burst on its own so i drain n clean it up.. put some antiseptic cream n i think fever's gone too.. abcess is not growing any bigger.. no addition abcess too.. i managed to use the crutches now but only for short distance cos very tiring.. haha

On 9/11/2022 at 7:36 PM, snooptrader said:

So u managed to pass 3.01.. nice 👍👍 u can practice more when u go for circuit revisions so no worries on tt.. n wow.. u traveling again.. where to this time? 

• Like 1

On 9/11/2022 at 7:36 PM, snooptrader said:

Lesson 3.01
Third time on this module and the weather was again pretty good and windy. I am not sure about you, but the wind was amazingly strong in the east at about 1pm... and the day was cloudy. Not like it was going to rain, but cloudy.

Got ready early this time and left the house to make the "journey to the west" and traffic was relatively light with just on incident along the way, but manage to reach the west about 30mins before the lesson and went in early.

Today's students were pretty all unfamiliar faces but were pretty friendly folk. 3 repeats like yours truly but I'm thrice the repeat.. . Got on gear and then followed the instructor to the start line. Did a quick warm up on the first gear and half-clutch and slow down using the foot-brake.

The instructor was pretty quick and practical, asking who were the repeats and asking where our weak points were. Next he demonstrated and explained how the plank and the slalom was done. next we were told to just try it and he would observed us. The first attempt; went off the plank....

.... then I confessed that I would be a challenge to him, but he firmly and kindly said that, he would teach us technique and get all the students up on the plank / clear the slalom.

The instructor got me to pillion him and he managed to clear the plank and did a round to demonstrate throttle, clutch and brake control while narrating his technique to me. This was the golden as then, managed to get it right albeit with some fast / slow pace on the plank. In the next few rounds stayed on the plank with only one major "off", due to looking at the plank (instructors know when we make mistakes like that). This was probably the module which had the most plank time as the instructor assisted to get this mule to ride the plank fairly "okay". 

Next, the students were told to prepare guards for 3.02 which I am grateful even if we have to wear the guards. Appreciated the way the instructor helped to give me special focus, so as to teach me "live" how to control the bike on his hand controls and using his foot-brake. He can even tell me the speed he uses.. it's humbling as you can tell how instructors control the bike and not just twist and go like most bikers.

At the end of the lesson, came back, took a shower, bought dinner and reflecting on the lessons. Still much to learn and absorb. If there is more chance to practice; will do so. Must get these right so as to be competent.

What's 3.02? Traveling again? Biz or pleasure? 😂

3 hours ago, Nakuru said:

The abcess burst on its own so i drain n clean it up.. put some antiseptic cream n i think fever's gone too.. abcess is not growing any bigger.. no addition abcess too.. i managed to use the crutches now but only for short distance cos very tiring.. haha

Ewl... but I'm glad it's getting better 😊

yay! To mobility! 

• Like 1

On 9/13/2022 at 1:57 AM, Nakuru said:

So u managed to pass 3.01.. nice 👍👍 u can practice more when u go for circuit revisions so no worries on tt.. n wow.. u traveling again.. where to this time? 

At least the abscess is drying out and should be signs of recovery. With the fever gone, that is a great sign. Crutches aren't easy to use and good to know that you are on the way to recovery! Yes, can be tiring, but motivate yourself that you can walk and then run again.

3.01 after the third attempt and even then, I won't say that I've mastered it. Need to practice more!
I'll be going to Thailand for a long weekend. :)

On 9/13/2022 at 5:51 AM, Janeoh said:

What's 3.02? Traveling again? Biz or pleasure? 😂

3.02 is "Emergency brake" ; need to wear guards again which is ok... guess will wear older pair of jeans in case they get torn.

Traveling is for pleasure. In the institution I work for, I won't want to travel for work... just too rush. I rather be based here. Some firms on the other hand, have very friendly travel policies... so it depends... but yes, my travel is solely for leisure :D

• Like 2

On 9/13/2022 at 5:51 AM, Janeoh said:

Ewl... but I'm glad it's getting better 😊

yay! To mobility! 

think pretty far away from mobility sia.. 

On 9/14/2022 at 7:41 AM, snooptrader said:

At least the abscess is drying out and should be signs of recovery. With the fever gone, that is a great sign. Crutches aren't easy to use and good to know that you are on the way to recovery! Yes, can be tiring, but motivate yourself that you can walk and then run again.

3.01 after the third attempt and even then, I won't say that I've mastered it. Need to practice more!
I'll be going to Thailand for a long weekend. :)

3.02 is "Emergency brake" ; need to wear guards again which is ok... guess will wear older pair of jeans in case they get torn.

Traveling is for pleasure. In the institution I work for, I won't want to travel for work... just too rush. I rather be based here. Some firms on the other hand, have very friendly travel policies... so it depends... but yes, my travel is solely for leisure :D

everyday is just getting harder.. n i been lazing around instead of moving more these few days.. just feeling mentally n physically tired lol

i wanna go travel soon too.. had to change my trip in nov cos of my leg.. not sure whether i can even go KL in dec or not now.. 

• Sad 1

13 hours ago, Nakuru said:

everyday is just getting harder.. n i been lazing around instead of moving more these few days.. just feeling mentally n physically tired lol

i wanna go travel soon too.. had to change my trip in nov cos of my leg.. not sure whether i can even go KL in dec or not now.. 

Must try to do physio where possible; move in an approved (by the physiotherapist) manner.

This definitely weighs on the mind as well as the body but keep on focusing on getting well.

Take some goals like walking to across the living room and take breaks in between.

When you get well, you can travel as much as you can.

Most important is for the area to recover and then build those atrophied muscles back.

Next thing you know, you will be driving and then riding.

Keep mentally strong and all here are rooting for you to recover

Edited by snooptrader
  • Like 1

14 hours ago, Nakuru said:

the situation is definitely tough and depressing. Can you go out? Wanna meet up? We can just meet a short while in the mornings (when the kids are in school)... I can go to where you are/pick you up. it'll be short since I need to get back to pick my kids up (and I have a feeling you're quite far from me) 😂

Anyways... we have a lesson tonight. Hahahahah. Lesson 3. Haven't progressed at all!

i realise that I'm fearful of making "tight" turns even on the bicycle. I see a drain I panic. 

my hb dropped his bike while doing figure of 8 during the previous lesson and until now his wrist is still hurt - I've been driving cos it hurts him to drive and he's been dropping things. 

we'll still go for the lesson, but he said if he feels he can't do it, he'll just sit it out and wait for me. 

will be going for simulator sessions next week. Do I just need a helmet and covered shoes? Long trousers and guards don't need? 

1 hour ago, snooptrader said:

Must try to do physio where possible; move in an approved (by the physiotherapist) manner.

This definitely weighs on the mind as well as the body but keep on focusing on getting well.

Take some goals like walking to across the living room and take breaks in between.

When you get well, you can travel as much as you can.

Most important is for the area to recover and then build those atrophied muscles back.

Next thing you know, you will be driving and then riding.

Keep mentally strong and all here are rooting for you to recover

I haven start the physio yet.. doc says i can start physio since last check up but stupidly the physio appt is in oct lol..

When i feel mentally ok i will like walk with the clutches n putting min weight on my left leg.. but only from like toilet to bed which is like 1m? Hahaha 

My thigh used tp be very sunken on the top n very flat but husb say it has been growing back n looking more like how it shld be.. i dunno.. to mi still looks sunken lol

I actually think i can go back driving already but the thoughts of having to crutch all the way to my house's mscp is gonna be a torture 😂

17 minutes ago, Janeoh said:

the situation is definitely tough and depressing. Can you go out? Wanna meet up? We can just meet a short while in the mornings (when the kids are in school)... I can go to where you are/pick you up. it'll be short since I need to get back to pick my kids up (and I have a feeling you're quite far from me) 😂

Anyways... we have a lesson tonight. Hahahahah. Lesson 3. Haven't progressed at all!

i realise that I'm fearful of making "tight" turns even on the bicycle. I see a drain I panic. 

my hb dropped his bike while doing figure of 8 during the previous lesson and until now his wrist is still hurt - I've been driving cos it hurts him to drive and he's been dropping things. 

we'll still go for the lesson, but he said if he feels he can't do it, he'll just sit it out and wait for me. 

will be going for simulator sessions next week. Do I just need a helmet and covered shoes? Long trousers and guards don't need? 

Haha no worries la.. we can meet up when my legs r better.. now my wounds cannot expose to sun so i have to take a long time prepping to leave house etc.. i stay in punggol btw haha

Ya it happens.. especially when we get older, the fear limit just keeps increasing for everything 😂 tight turns are really pretty scary at the start but once u did it a few times then it will come naturally

Oh no.. need to rub ointment on his wrist.. hope he recovers soon.. 

For sim, no need helmet.. can wear gloves if u wan.. i wore cos i ocd about the people b4 me.. 😂 need long pants.. guards no need 

50 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

I haven start the physio yet.. doc says i can start physio since last check up but stupidly the physio appt is in oct lol..

When i feel mentally ok i will like walk with the clutches n putting min weight on my left leg.. but only from like toilet to bed which is like 1m? Hahaha 

My thigh used tp be very sunken on the top n very flat but husb say it has been growing back n looking more like how it shld be.. i dunno.. to mi still looks sunken lol

I actually think i can go back driving already but the thoughts of having to crutch all the way to my house's mscp is gonna be a torture 😂

Haha no worries la.. we can meet up when my legs r better.. now my wounds cannot expose to sun so i have to take a long time prepping to leave house etc.. i stay in punggol btw haha

Ya it happens.. especially when we get older, the fear limit just keeps increasing for everything 😂 tight turns are really pretty scary at the start but once u did it a few times then it will come naturally

Oh no.. need to rub ointment on his wrist.. hope he recovers soon.. 

For sim, no need helmet.. can wear gloves if u wan.. i wore cos i ocd about the people b4 me.. 😂 need long pants.. guards no need 

I knew it! Haha it's not near me. 😂 

totally understand how Sian it is to go out change need to prep 😂 right now I even just send my kids to buy stuff for me cos I dun wanna change to go downstairs to buy 😅

Re: Sim. good to know! Thanks 😊 

2 minutes ago, Janeoh said:

I knew it! Haha it's not near me. 😂 

totally understand how Sian it is to go out change need to prep 😂 right now I even just send my kids to buy stuff for me cos I dun wanna change to go downstairs to buy 😅

Re: Sim. good to know! Thanks 😊 

Hahaha.. i need to drain the human water tank as much so tt i wun need to go toilet when im out.. n oso need to wrap up the wounds etc.. very mafan la..

Last Night got another spot bleed on its own n got pus when i squeeze out.. sighz.. when will it heal properly sia..

7 hours ago, Janeoh said:

hope your lesson went well? 

riding bicycle while very different from handling a motorbike is still quite useful. Helps train motor skills and hand-eye coordination. Perhaps it'll be good to ride the bicycle more in-between motorbike lessons? 

sim - no need helmet. I've seen an angmoh do it in berms n t-shirt but he was the odd one out. Most wear long pants and proper shoes. No need to wear guards. Remember to rev the sim bike like crazy to move off.. otherwise it will stall. Very different from the real bike we use for lessons.

• Like 2

6 hours ago, Nakuru said:

Every step is progress and try to make the effort to walk to places where it's like a goal achieved. I really think that it's not easy but must try to make the effort to be mobile again. Yes, appointments are hard to fix especially at hospitals. Keep on trying at it so that you can get better please.

As Jane said, when you get better... come out... ask your hubby to carry your crutches and help you along.. :)

Singapore Bikes... meeting newbies who have no 2B.... :D at least not yet... lol..

• Like 2

one thing i realized now that i have been riding on my own for a few weeks - i can do a left u-turn more comfortably than a right u-turn 😅

i put it down to the countless sessions at the S-course station, where the end of the S-course is essentially a left u-turn.

i'm quite nervous when doing a normal u-turn out on the roads, with traffic behind me. I realized a car can u-turn much quicker than a bike lol. Or i simply need more practice.

1 hour ago, shiba2b said:

one thing i realized now that i have been riding on my own for a few weeks - i can do a left u-turn more comfortably than a right u-turn 😅

i put it down to the countless sessions at the S-course station, where the end of the S-course is essentially a left u-turn.

i'm quite nervous when doing a normal u-turn out on the roads, with traffic behind me. I realized a car can u-turn much quicker than a bike lol. Or i simply need more practice.

Yes, I think I can understand the trepidation of riding on one's own... not easy versus being guided.. even though we drive. As those two vehicles are really differen.t

Well, at least you are riding. :)