Few days ago I got a letter from TP dept. Says I was speeding(exceed speed limit of 60kmph road). It's suppose to be fine of $130 and 4 demerit points. However, in this instance, NO summons action will be taken against me. It says this letter serves as an advisory to the driver.

I am wondering. Does TP do this now-a-days? Give us 2nd chance? Anyone got this type of letter before? Or I get 2nd chance because I have a very clean record? Or is it the TP who "caught" me did not have solid enough evidence? Busy with someone else? Or maybe not sure I was that fast-just guessing.

Better And Better

• Replies 30

It is because most probably the one who wrote down ur plate number is an off duty police officer. He do not have the speed capturing device = cannot state the exact speed you are travelling = cannot summon you.

Unless you speed was captured by the speed camera.. thats a different story.

But if you beat the traffic lights, an off duty officer can issue a summon.

Bikes

Men ride it. Boys dream about it.

another scenario is TP officer manning the speed camera unable to capture ur vehicle.

they will also send 'warning' letter.

actually, no need TP officer. any off-duty police officer can submit ur particulars for traffic offence. illegal parking, dangerous driving, etc..

'90 DT200RR | '95 Skipper 125 | '94 RXZ 135 | '99 WRE 125 | '80 Super 150 | '99 KTM200EGS

'91 NC30 | '00 GN250EY | '03 YZF-R1 | '00 Y125Z | '04 X-1 | '06 R6

'07 GSX1300R

PC3USB | Ti-Force Sumo | BMC Race | Discacciati | Swage | Venhill | ZG | Motovation | Ariete | Michelin PilotRoad 2 | SPY Alarm

i got the same letter as u before.. actually its because they captured u speeding more than 10km/h but less than 20km/h above the speed limit.. so lets say if its a 70km/h road.. u were travelling at 80m/h.. so technically ur speeding, but ur still speeding less than 20km/h. any more than 20km/h, u'll get the 130 bucks fine and 4pts.. so its jus a warning to u.. but if u keep accumulating the warnings, u'll get summoned in the end.. so to sum it up, its a wake up call to watch ur speed! cheers!

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg

My friend got a warning letter for speeding and he told he couldn't have gone above 65 on that particular road... I guess it TP would juz send u a warning letter if there wasn't much excess speed to prove that u were speeding... mebbie juz perhaps that the extra speed is due to differences in sprocket size...

Relax!

if u were really speeding u would be slapped with a summon already. dont worry about it

i juz got the letter today. lol

heard from my friend, tat everyone is given a chance.

so, the 2nd time the letter comes, means 4 demerit pts and $130

2006 - current: X1 110, RX-Z 135, DR-Z 400SM, 125Z, X1 110, Wave S 125, KTM 400 EXC, Harley Davidson 883 XL, KTM 690 SM R, BMW R1200 GSA, Harley Davidson Dyna Low Rider 100th Anniversary, Honda Wave S 125, Honda PCX 150, Yamaha Tmax 530

nah not everyone given a chance..

i speed 120km/h (140 on my meter) for a long way on sle i think from amk to w'land. then never realise this highway patrol follow me.. haha

kana stop at w'land exit and kana fined and points.

he said i speed too long dats y

so i guess it depend on how fast u go over the speed limit and also how long u speed.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg

I think no chance will be given if stopped by TP or patrol. Not unless your reason is damn good.

I am surprised he said "you speed too long". That mean if speed up (100-120) to over take some cars and back to legal speed of 90 that is acceptable.

Better And Better

dont you look at your mirrors?!?! cant see that a TP is behind you?!?

or you folded your mirrors so you achieve a more aerodynamic shape for speed?? keke...

im referring only to speedtraps..

btw, if wanna overtake, den juz nice u went till 110 or 115km/h below the overhead bridge and theres the tp standing there using the laser gun. will the person still be charge ?

2006 - current: X1 110, RX-Z 135, DR-Z 400SM, 125Z, X1 110, Wave S 125, KTM 400 EXC, Harley Davidson 883 XL, KTM 690 SM R, BMW R1200 GSA, Harley Davidson Dyna Low Rider 100th Anniversary, Honda Wave S 125, Honda PCX 150, Yamaha Tmax 530

Originally posted by ctng@March 18, 2007 02:59 am

Few days ago I got a letter from TP dept. Says I was speeding(exceed speed limit of 60kmph road). It's suppose to be fine of $130 and 4 demerit points. However, in this instance, NO summons action will be taken against me. It says this letter serves as an advisory to the driver.

I am wondering. Does TP do this now-a-days? Give us 2nd chance? Anyone got this type of letter before? Or I get 2nd chance because I have a very clean record? Or is it the TP who "caught" me did not have solid enough evidence? Busy with someone else? Or maybe not sure I was that fast-just guessing.

wake up yr idea lah, give u chance for speeding alrady, u still can say "got 2 nd chance if got clean record"

U thk a lot of ppple got bad record meh?

Maybe yes lah if all r like u, first time offence give chance (got record already) then still give chance then 3 rd time kena caught.

kena fail or jail oso good.

The wind is blowing...

The sky is getting dark...

The storm is approaching...

But my bike still ride on...

Blue Thunder Forever...

Originally posted by archenemy@March 22, 2007 10:17 pm

dont you look at your mirrors?!?! cant see that a TP is behind you?!?

or you folded your mirrors so you achieve a more aerodynamic shape for speed?? keke...

i was also thinking abt the folded mirrors

Originally posted by MonoWorld@March 20, 2007 01:36 pm

an off duty officer can do all these? :giddy: :giddy:

Of course! Don't tell me you expect an off duty police officer to turn the other way should he happen to see a crime in progress? :faint: I summoned a car for beating a red light in my view when I was off duty so long ago. As long as a police officer can furnish the registration plate, make, model and colour of your vehicle, very hard to fight the case if you are summoned for an offence... :sweat:

Originally posted by angelo@April 05, 2007 04:22 am

eh.. overtake can go above speed limit meh? i tot in driving centre they say cannot over speed limit when overtaking?

erm .. can .. overtake means pick up speed n overtake after den go back to legal speed .. tt;s y they got the range of extra 20km/h above speed limit b4 they reli summon u ..

Originally posted by angelo@April 05, 2007 04:22 am

eh.. overtake can go above speed limit meh? i tot in driving centre they say cannot over speed limit when overtaking?

In drive school, everything go by the book. In real life, you do whatever(explainable) to drive in a safe manner.

I would say it depends on how you do it and the mood of the TP and your luck.

There was once I overtook a car (from mid lane to outer lane) at about 110kmph. Immediately after ot, I moved to mid lane to 95kmph(I always do that). After that I saw a TP on my rightside mirror. He was actually coming fast from my back. He just ot me and nothing happened. I actually think if you are not riding aggressively they will not touch you.

Better And Better

if overtaking den suay suay kena tat laser gun n SNAP!

tink dun care whether u overtaking a not. Coz u r snapped spding.

Originally posted by mamu27@March 20, 2007 02:05 pm

another scenario is TP officer manning the speed camera unable to capture ur vehicle.

they will also send 'warning' letter.

actually, no need TP officer. any off-duty police officer can submit ur particulars for traffic offence. illegal parking, dangerous driving, etc..

i still can't understand this..

if the man is unable to capture the vehicle, how is he able to know who to send the

'warning' letter to?

anyway, i agree about the off-duty cop thing. makes you think twice about who's

actually watching..

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

Originally posted by sikonesis@April 06, 2007 01:44 am

if the man is unable to capture the vehicle, how is he able to know who to send the

'warning' letter to?

He can't capture the speed (just estimate) but he did capture the plate no.

Better And Better

With the warning letter, there will be a record of it in the police computer system. Should you get caught for any traffic offences after that, they will definitely take summon actions. No chance given. I kena before so I know... :sian: