Harley Riders gather

30,000km is leaning towards a kiasu conservative number

Belt durability just as most tranny parts depends on many factors including the condition that you ride your bike in, your level of aggression when riding etc.....

I think the new ones have too many sensors for their own good.

not many sensors lah.

Even HD must keep up a bit with technology.

not joking... but then maybe my belt is longer, i do have a wide belly

belt is close 600, labour is 160+... then there is GST. I think if u have the warranty/service package, u get 20% discount. this was done at Komoco

$800 for a belt!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! Please tell me that you are joking???????

:faint::faint::faint::faint::faint:

2008 Night Rod Special, 1993 Ducati 900SS, 2011 Ducati Diavel Dark Knight

http://www.1130cc.com/gallery/files/2/5/9/7/0/_147621.jpg

Someone has their facts wrong. Belts will generally last 100kklm at least before needing replacement under normal conditions. Go and speak to some mechanics. 30k klm I have never heard of one lasting such a short period and assume it is an exceptional circumstance.

went asking ard for info on harley...

yup she is a simple machine...

but her parts nid to b flown in ...

tat 1 of the cost & the branding of course....

yup belt maintainence depend on hw hard the bike is ridden....

was told can last up to 80,000km

per belt goes abt $400.... (without labour)

gt a quote fr a dealer located in cck opp ex keat hong camp

hmm

$800 for a belt sound reari serious sia....

ani one 2 advise the pricing...?

& when changing belt...

gt 2 change it "rollers" & stuff isit or...?

nonetheless ...

tml going dw HD Spore for a look & test ride mayb...

book appt already (cannot believe hw pro they are...nt bad...lol)

nw is tinking to change or nt 2 change.....

& wat cc sportster 2 go for...

the 883 R look tempting...lol

btw other than agent servicing the bike....

is there any other dealers ard which are gd (& i believe will be cheaper than agent)

or best still go find the agent...?

Thanks for the info mates....

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs773.ash1/166356_131601833567489_100001530181591_182770_5027349_n.jpg

More for less . . . Always!!!

M.B Products : Lifestyle, Performance, Electronics, Security, Accessories . . .

Click here ---> Visit Motore Bici Section for more details

Someone has their facts wrong. Belts will generally last 100kklm at least before needing replacement under normal conditions. Go and speak to some mechanics. 30k klm I have never heard of one lasting such a short period and assume it is an exceptional circumstance.

Admit my estimation is probably on the very kiasu side of things.

30,000km is really sibei conservative number, even if rider guns the bike, on harsher road conditions etc. not forgetting that the belt will deteriorate over time even if unused.

But on the same notion, Some people will use their brake pads much longer then others.

aiyoh Hagar, next time no need to say "someone" , if it's me just say, "Throttle mai talk ****". and i'll explain myself.

can only last 30,000km? oh dear, i was hoping at least 100,000km. I just changed mine due to a puncture on the belt. if include labour and GST, about $800. price probably varies depending on model.

i didnt say can only last 30,000km lah

I said easily 30,000km (which means more) and I was referencing it to my own riding scenarios.

nonetehless...

whetever it last 30,000km or more or etc...

bike & bike behave diff...

depend on each bike ...

let alone riders rite....

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs773.ash1/166356_131601833567489_100001530181591_182770_5027349_n.jpg

Under normal or even rigourous riding I'm sure the belt can last for a lot of km easily but if u let my Father in law ride it, it'll break in about 500 metres haha. HE did jus that and I had it changed for 500 or so, can't rem exact figure.

Hi mate...

pondering over a 883 carb(98) & a 883 efi (08)...

is there any diff ...?

sound wise i believe the carb make better sound....

was quote 10k for a 98 model (stock) & 16k for a 08 model (wif additional SE pipes)....

both are 2nd hand....

btw mainatnce wise....

isit tat "hetic" in terms of $$$

the belt system...

do a change due to wear & tear ...

pricing at agent or any other rec shop...?

any advice fr the riders here...?

This was the same question i asked myself after my effort to get an Iron fell through...thanks to the guy owning the green triumph o_O (Aye Yohji, any news when mine...oops, i mean your Iron coming?? Need to see it in the flesh man)

I think there are 3 so-called types of sportster:

1. the frame mounted, carb engine (till 03)

2. the rubber-mounted, carb engine (till 07) and

3. the rubber-mounted, efi engine (till present)

So you decide how raw a harley you want. For a bone-shaker at >120kmh go for option 1... that's what i got :D. Also there's quite a bit of difference in power between the 883 and 1200, especially on the straight. If you're getting a second hand one, then you should leave your option open for a 1200.

Cheers and happy looking :thumb:

Luckly you clarified this belt thingy. If not, 30k is quite consuming sia. I think I will sell off my bike soon if I can;t sustain it.

by the way do they still sell the R?

No more sportster 883R. They only selling nightsters 2010 model and above. If anyone wants the breakdown of the bike, I can email him. The breakdown cost is from HD SG.

thanks for all the info mates....

btw the 883R HD Spore has it...

was quote $18,800 machine price....

when i call & enquire wif a sales exec....

was informed tat all HD Bikes will have a price hike (by abt a few hundreds dollars) aft 1st wk of Oct...

Sp4eaking abt speed....

a 883...

comfy cruising spped wifout being "beheaded" by the wind blast...?

&

of course wat the max speed it can go...?

Tink i will go for a 883....

since i rather new to cruiser esp HD

dun wan to "invest" so much yet...lol

get a entry grade ....

feel the "feel"

like the maintenence etc etc...

b4 going "full time" on HD

but so far the posture on a sportster 883R is wonderful...lol

thanks for all the info mates....

btw the 883R HD Spore has it...

was quote $18,800 machine price....

when i call & enquire wif a sales exec....

was informed tat all HD Bikes will have a price hike (by abt a few hundreds dollars) aft 1st wk of Oct...

Sp4eaking abt speed....

a 883...

comfy cruising spped wifout being "beheaded" by the wind blast...?

&

of course wat the max speed it can go...?

Tink i will go for a 883....

since i rather new to cruiser esp HD

dun wan to "invest" so much yet...lol

get a entry grade ....

feel the "feel"

like the maintenence etc etc...

b4 going "full time" on HD

but so far the posture on a sportster 883R is wonderful...lol

Bro, issit 2010 model? Coz they told me 2009 no more.

dun tink 2010 has the Rmodel...

coz i check on net ...

so far nv see...

R model is 2007 rite...?

coz 08 & 09 no R model..hmm:sian:

the sales exec nv told mi wat year model it is....

when i enquire over the phone...

tml will find out ...lol:cheeky:

wonder HD Spore bring in 883 Iron 09...?

very chio ...:thumb:

i more of a "matt" guy ...lol:cheeky:

dun tink 2010 has the Rmodel...

coz i check on net ...

so far nv see...

R model is 2007 rite...?

coz 08 & 09 no R model..hmm:sian:

the sales exec nv told mi wat year model it is....

when i enquire over the phone...

tml will find out ...lol:cheeky:

This is the quote from HD on AUG 09:-

Thank you for your consideration on our lovely machines.

With regards to your enquiry, I’m afraid all our 883 models are sold. The nearest models we have in-coming is the XL1200N Nightster, numbers will look like this should you want to consider,

MY 2010 XL1200N

NIGHTSTER

DISPLACEMENT

1200CC

PRICE

$23,990.00

INSURANCE

$1,070.00

TOTAL

$25,060.00

LOAN

$21,500.00

DEPOSIT

$3,560.00

MONTHLY

$430

for

months

$667

for

months

Loan subject to approval

Prices are subject to change without notice.

Prices do not include COE.

More.......

For the sale of 883 models, no word from the US till next year.

- Booking fees to ensure a unit in your name is SGD 1,000.00

- First unit arriving in august will subject to homologation in LTA, physically on the road in Sept

- We use Maybank and interest rates at 3.875% per annum for 1 – 3yrs and 4% per annum for 4 -5yrs

- Insurance for 1200CC is SGD 1,070.00 (comprehensive coverage)

- Yes, you can source for your own insurance

These are the units arriving and ETA means Estimated Arrival.

2010 XL 1200N HDI

SPORTSTER 1200 NIGHTSTER

BLACK

ETA SEP 2009

2010 XL 1200N HDI

SPORTSTER 1200 NIGHTSTER

BRI SLVR D/BLACK DENIM

ETA SEP 2009

2010 XL 1200N HDI

SPORTSTER 1200 NIGHTSTER

BLACK ICE DENIM

ETA AUG 2009

Hope it does help you somehow.

This was the same question i asked myself after my effort to get an Iron fell through...thanks to the guy owning the green triumph o_O (Aye Yohji, any news when mine...oops, i mean your Iron coming?? Need to see it in the flesh man)

Aye garyhwk,

The bike is on Singapore shores already but will take a few days to clear customs. Hopefully my arse can be on it by this weekend :lol:

c26492.jpg

Hi stwb1981,

There are only 2 pieces of 2009 883 Irons in Singapore. Me and another guy bought the 2010 version. These will be all the Irons coming to Singapore till 2011 (according to the dealership).

c26492.jpg
Hi stwb1981,

There are only 2 pieces of 2009 883 Irons in Singapore. Me and another guy bought the 2010 version. These will be all the Irons coming to Singapore till 2011 (according to the dealership).

I think I know this other guy that you were talking about... happen to ride into the same workplace with him one day... :cheeky:

happened to follow behind an XR1200 with twin silver termis pipes at CTE this morning ... really fast and agile

2008 Night Rod Special, 1993 Ducati 900SS, 2011 Ducati Diavel Dark Knight

http://www.1130cc.com/gallery/files/2/5/9/7/0/_147621.jpg

haiz sadz...

the 883 iron look fantastic !!!

nvm i will wait ....

if there are stilkll more iron coming in ...lol

I LOVE the sporty. Should have kept mine but couldn't handle 2 class 2 bikes. But then come to think of it, maybe could have. But too late. Sigh. Don't get me wrong, I would love to own a big twin too but I think if I'd jump back on the seat of the harley wagon, I'll get a sporty again.

It was quite sad that about 2 yrs back there wasn't much sporty riders around. Wanted to go for a zip thru town with others and there wasn't much response then. Good to see it's slowly growing. :thumbs up:

you sold yours when my was being assembled at the plant...told you not to sell, now with the white roadkings off to KL, look like i am the only one rumbling around, beside johan i guess...:(

btw, hello everyone, me just back from a good 1 week holiday..the only thing bad is the take off and landing, hate that headache feeling...no wonder i end up being a road pilot...:D

Edited by maxxmadness

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

quote: hello you dont have to own a Harley to be with the big boys..There are big boys playing superbike too ya..More fun and thrill seeking than just ronda ronda with orang tua..Get a life man..When you hit 50 than i say its o.k.Young hot blood like you one to be a ***** rider...Better buy bicycle and ride and save your money dude[/size][/color].." Unquote

A colleague of mine told me this when I said I was gonna buy a H-D XR1200. He's riding a R1-09, btw..I got so fed up by his comments I lost my mood during 1st day of Hari Raya. quote*

ahem* reminds me on myself when i was playin track and riding sportbike many yrs ago...

My 1st impression for HD is...public nuisance

then i realise it's all becoz i didnt taste the grape and assume its sour.

i changed my words after sitting on it.

now...im happy to own one. :)

whoever thoughts you dont have to come by. Diff preference lah.

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son