Harley Riders gather

the video way of removing baffle is not recommended, if not done properly, it will "blue" your exhaust.

it make hell of a lot of difference without baffles..a few of us(riding nightster) have done it. when inspection comes, you just have to put back the baffles and everything is fine...takes maybe around 2 minutes or so to reinstall the baffle.

In the case of after market exhaust, you have to change to stock exhaust for inspection.

the best exhaust to debaffle is a 49-state, foillow by 48-state...these exhaust will cost much less to remove the baffle. the 50 -state. which is currently found on all new bikes after 2007, has a catalic which is harder to remove...got to slowly burn down the cat and remove slowly

I am on the 49 -state and luving it..:thumb:

Edited by maxxmadness

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

sure some of u have seen this video:

Is that the one & only way to de-baffle an exhaust?? imho, doesnt really make a diff on the sound.. doesnt sound louder at all (mayb coz of the poor video quality n considering its nt a Harley) n if dat cost me $200, i rather save up n buy an after market exhaust... another thing.. after debaffling the exhaust, will the bike pass the LTA inspection???

ok, found the right video:

MR Yee from sunburst told me screwing back the baffle will not pass the inspection. Maybe decibel or emission is higher. I think get an aftermarket exhaust is better.

funny, yesterday when i was at our local indy shop with yohji, they mention that putting back the baffle will pass the inspection and he has done it many times for his customers..:confused:

i have friends who have gone for inspection with earlier sportster and they never had any problems...of course if you like a particular after market exhaust you like for your bike, get it!!! it is after all your bike and your preferences, we only live once, make it a good one!!!:thumb:

Edited by maxxmadness

wanna ride with madness?

the video way of removing baffle is not recommended, if not done properly, it will "blue" your exhaust.

it make hell of a lot of difference without baffles..a few of us(riding nightster) have done it. when inspection comes, you just have to put back the baffles and everything is fine...takes maybe around 2 minutes or so to reinstall the baffle.

In the case of after market exhaust, you have to change to stock exhaust for inspection.

the best exhaust to debaffle is a 49-state, foillow by 48-state...these exhaust will cost much less to remove the baffle. the 50 -state. which is currently found on all new bikes after 2007, has a catalic which is harder to remove...got to slowly burn down the cat and remove slowly

I am on the 49 -state and luving it..:thumb:

yeah man...thats why i like 49state... :thumb:

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

@yohji

the stock exhuast with baffle removed is one of the sweetest low and bassy exhaust sound and i liked it that way

Thanks for introducing this lobang to me hehe!! And offering to deliver the stock exhausts to the shop!!

funny, yesterday when i was at sunburst with yohji, mr yee say that putting back the baffle will pass the inspection, he done it many times for his customers..:confused:

i have friends who have gone for inspection with earlier sportster and they never had any problems...of course if you like a particular after market exhaust you like for your bike, get it!!! it is after all your bike and your preferences, we only live once, make it a good one!!!:thumb:

Yeah the guru said that ..... but the safest bet is to keep the stock around for "raniy days" :lol:

Edited by yohji
c26492.jpg
Thanks for introducing this lobang to me hehe!! And offering to deliver the stock exhausts to the shop!!

no worries, just be glad that your iron will sound what a harley should sound by this weekend..:thumb:

wanna ride with madness?

got smoked on ECP last night by a wide rear tyre rider.

How come???

I think those with super wide rear tyres will have problem conering. Maybe the bike will want to "stand up" by itself because the tyre's shape is too "square". You can't corner well with a square tyre compared to a thinner, rounder shaped tyre. This is what I think. I might be wrong.

On a side note, I just pumped my tyres. 30psi front 40psi rear - according to manual. Feels so soft ....... like Mr Softee ... o_O

c26492.jpg
I think those with super wide rear tyres will have problem conering. Maybe the bike will want to "stand up" by itself because the tyre's shape is too "square". You can't corner well with a square tyre compared to a thinner, rounder shaped tyre. This is what I think. I might be wrong.

On a side note, I just pumped my tyres. 30psi front 40psi rear - according to manual. Feels so soft ....... like Mr Softee ... o_O

Hmmmm.....you are only partial right.......end of the day, it also depends on the rider, not only the bike.

on wide tyre, you wont be able to achieve the bend angle to take that corner at the speed you normally could on a stock size tyre, assuming all geometry and aspect of the bike remain unchanged

anyway most wide tyre bikes are usually lowered and has forward control, they are usually not meant for corners

wanna ride with madness?

two han-der-red ... two days job. i got to learn how to glide my bike when returning home at night :D

Bought Fatboy stock exhaust from ebay for USD25/shipping USD100. (still very new)

Did the debaffling in Muar, Malaysia in a car exhaust mod shop. Only 35 ringgit. They use blow torch to cut it out (with water to cool the tip of mufflers), no blueing at all. Then they smoothen the edge with a pneumatic grinder. Total 1hr. Then i got them to make 2 custom baffle for me...another 35 ringgit. Took them another 2 hr. So total 70 ringgit!

BTW, I did not ride there, drove there for a wedding...

Sound wise, not too bad..the tone is not low enough...my wife says that my previous 883 sportster/screaming eagle back in '96 sounds better...:cry:

I think i have less than 50km on it since I changed it but i seems to get louder.. maybe something to do with the packing or just my ears. Occasional backfiring when easing of on the throttle when going downhill..other than that, lost some power compared with D&D..BUT louder than D&D.

My old D&D pipes (Fatboy) is at Rosli's if anyone is interested...need to raise some funds for headlight nacelle...

Wide Rear Tire Rider?

It was dark, but it looked like >200

Wide Rear Tire Rider?

you should take him at corners...:D

ECP no corners leh.

Long bends have a few.

Unless exiting ECP.

But never exit also.

Feels soft on bike or you press the tyres?

Feels soft when I sit on it. I never go press the tyres haha. Sounds like buying fish ..

I ride 60-80kmph everyday now ... it's a different feeling. It doesn't sound nice (with stock exhausts) when I go beyond that speed haha!

I see all the pple zoom past me and thinking what is the rush. But I was one of them when I was riding my Triumph. Never touch my Triumph for 1 week already ...

c26492.jpg
ECP no corners leh.

Long bends have a few.

Unless exiting ECP.

But never exit also.

Have also i dont think u can over take :dot:

Bought Fatboy stock exhaust from ebay for USD25/shipping USD100. (still very new)

Did the debaffling in Muar, Malaysia in a car exhaust mod shop. Only 35 ringgit. They use blow torch to cut it out (with water to cool the tip of mufflers), no blueing at all. Then they smoothen the edge with a pneumatic grinder. Total 1hr. Then i got them to make 2 custom baffle for me...another 35 ringgit. Took them another 2 hr. So total 70 ringgit!

BTW, I did not ride there, drove there for a wedding...

Sound wise, not too bad..the tone is not low enough...my wife says that my previous 883 sportster/screaming eagle back in '96 sounds better...:cry:

I think i have less than 50km on it since I changed it but i seems to get louder.. maybe something to do with the packing or just my ears. Occasional backfiring when easing of on the throttle when going downhill..other than that, lost some power compared with D&D..BUT louder than D&D.

My old D&D pipes (Fatboy) is at Rosli's if anyone is interested...need to raise some funds for headlight nacelle...

Wah talk about the things we all do to get the sound we want ............ haha. I'm considered lucky because I got useful tips from maxxmadness. He's been there, done that. I should be able to put on my "new" exhausts tomorrow :)

I also dont know whether it's my ears or what. My stock exhausts sound like they are louder now after 1000km. Wow time flies .. 1000km already. 600km more to the 1st $$service$$. Oh man I hate to leave my bike at workshops :( I discover new scratches whenever I service my Triumph. Dam it. I'm not going back there anymore! Charge more but don't take care of my bike :( Sorry off topic ............

c26492.jpg

take note that tyres too soft will affect your handling as it will "lead "the steering.

Feels soft when I sit on it. I never go press the tyres haha. Sounds like buying fish ..

I ride 60-80kmph everyday now ... it's a different feeling. It doesn't sound nice (with stock exhausts) when I go beyond that speed haha!

I see all the pple zoom past me and thinking what is the rush. But I was one of them when I was riding my Triumph. Never touch my Triumph for 1 week already ...

If sit on it your suspension counts as well leh.

Could be just a feeling ba, everytime i sit on my ride it feels diff.

Have also i dont think u can over take :dot:

Is it you?

take note that tyres too soft will affect your handling as it will "lead "the steering.

Oh ok. But if I follow the manual, then should be ok right? Hmm ...

If sit on it your suspension counts as well leh.

Could be just a feeling ba, everytime i sit on my ride it feels diff.

But I didn't do anything to the suspension leh. Wah everytime you ride you feel different? In a good way or bad way? Hehe .. I'm still trying to find the most comfortable way to sit on the bike. More or less I found it already .. :D

c26492.jpg