One thing to note here, in a fishtail situation DO NOT release the rear brake when the bike is sideways. If it's sideways enough the rear will regain traction suddenly and cause a highside. Better to keep the rear locked, use your front brake to slow the bike down, steer smoothly against the skid to try and get the bike straightened out.

But only release the rear brake when the front and rear wheels are in line or the bike might spit you off.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

• Replies 37

Agree with Endlessloop. Rather than get into a e brake situation and then take emergency action, trying not to get into such a situation is the better option. Do read up street smart thread. :cheer:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Guest Nick_li

read this from a safety expert... sorry i tried to look for link... but i guess removed liao... trying to remember as much as possible...

it all depends on which stage of the skid u are at...

1) abt to skid... drop gear. release clutch. nvr panic. NVR jam the brakes. brake... but not too much...

2) half way down... brace urself for the impact... tug in ur head... nvr try to jump from ur bike... cos normally when u do... u jump into another vehicle's path...

3) already down... NVR think abt ur bike. abt hard lah but try.. nvr panic. look out for surrounding harzards... if possible... Horn. to make sure ppl notice u.. hold on to it... then turn behind to look out for traffic......

hope this helps... but ppl dun flame me all this not from me... i skidded once bocos of a stupid plank.... torn my ligaments, my ankle was caught under the bike... dragged for 10 meters i think...

Wa... Honestly i find it impossible la. Unless you are talking about Matrix kinda slow motion speed that a skid happens. This kind of thing, its instinct. Whether you recover from the skid, near skid, how you land, its all instinct, and happens so fast you usually either get up after that alive or you don't get up at all. Perhaps Endlessloop will agree its best not to get into a skid. :cheer:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Originally posted by KeraKing@April 15, 2007 04:59 am

change better tyre if u hadn't done so.

:mad: i go cdc help bikes change tyres??? LOL

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

To better handle skids is none other than to skid intentionally under controlled environment. Get ready, jam ur rear, and release. You may be wary the first time and not managed to lock the wheel but you managed if you do a couple of times more. Of course, erm, you got to be able to withstand the amount of wear you'll do to the tyre. I do it once in a while until it became a habit... :nono: I'm trying to kick it...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

actually from what i learn from bbdc defensive riding is to practise n get used to the skid...after the course i always practise lock rear wheel and do controlled skidding at my MSCP everyday back from work becos the floor is more smooth and easy to incurred a skid without wasting my tyres...i start off with only a straight lock wheel skid...but subsequently when i gain confident i do a 20deg,45deg and now i can do an almost 180deg skid. All these are done in a controlled condition and dun ask me how to control the bike becos i believe when u do practise it, trust me...ur body will react accordingly(quite hard to explain also lah..haha)...after you get used to it, it's quite fun and u will feel a great sense of satisfation... i think those lau jiao here will agree with me...and the most important think to remember is not to PANICK....

http://www.bikehk.com/photo/2005/p004233/001.jpg

My past n present ride...

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

1998 - CBR400RRR (FP6854H) / Skipper125 (FL8169K)

1999 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / RVF400 (FQ7918X) / LC125 (FB9950)

2000 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Kawasaki ZXR750 P1 (FN5572M) / Toyota Starlet EP70 (SBH908R)

2001 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / TZM 150 (FS4806U) / Daihatsu Hijet (GM3346G)

2002 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Toyota Starlet EP80 (SBR6249S)

2003 - Skipper125 (FL8196K) / XR200R (FS7249H)/ CBR900 (FJ76H)

2004 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Africa Twin 750 (FR1403Z) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2005 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Honda Foresight 250 (FP9848G) / Atlantic200 (FZ5766H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2006 - Atlantic200 (FZ5576H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Tucson (SGC1185U)

2007 - DRZ400SM (FBBXXXX) / SWIFT SPORT (SGNXXXX)

Next - ....350Z???

seriously, its more to exprience of the rider. Some skidded but managed to recover but some dont, cus during this short timing, i dont think ur brain can register and figure out the best solution.

I skidded recently on my brand new CBR, its was morning when it happened, no sand, no water..little traffic..worse part till today i cant even figure out how i skidded and none of my friends believe my accident. Stationary moving off position from traffic light, corner to the right side and the next thing i know, my rear tyre give way. Nothing that i can do to save my bike and me but my exprience which i gained during my off-road days...its to let go of my bike and tried to turn my back to the road and avoid using my hands to stop myself from skidding and in fact i used my No. 3 boots to make myself stop.

I stopped skidding almost immediately after letting go, thats when i saw my bike going towards the road kerb and bang! Just imgaine I tried to hold on to the bike and make it stop using my body...i think i will have more injures and maybe some bones broken.

After sending to my mechnic for repairs, i realized this accident actually can be avoided because he told me, maybe its my tyres that resulted to this accident..it was too hard and too cold, not even sticky at the point of accident.

I think sometimes letting go of your bike is still the best solution, because sometimes when u know u are about to fall, u tried to make some adjustment see whether can save back the bike during this very short time, the next time u know u are heading towards the kerb or some soild objects. Better let go if possible, live and ride another day than hugging onto ur bike.

Dont know whether u all knew this incident back in 2004 during this supercross race in old turf. This rider lost control of his ktm and racing towards the steep bend (its was used for high speed cornering), he went up with his bike to touch the birds and broke his leg. if he have let go his bike, he just need to buy another set of forks and ride again

2003-2004: Yamaha WR200

2004-2006: Honda XR400RY

2006-2006: Honda Super4 Spec3

2006-2010: Honda CBR600RR'06

2010-2011: Harley Davidson Sportster 883

2011-2012: Harley Davidson RoadKing

2013-2015: Honda X11

2015-????: Harley Davidson Rushmore Street Glide

Originally posted by FactoryEffex@April 25, 2007 02:55 am

seriously, its more to exprience of the rider. Some skidded but managed to recover but some dont, cus during this short timing, i dont think ur brain can register and figure out the best solution.

I skidded recently on my brand new CBR, its was morning when it happened, no sand, no water..little traffic..worse part till today i cant even figure out how i skidded and none of my friends believe my accident. Stationary moving off position from traffic light, corner to the right side and the next thing i know, my rear tyre give way. Nothing that i can do to save my bike and me but my exprience which i gained during my off-road days...its to let go of my bike and tried to turn my back to the road and avoid using my hands to stop myself from skidding and in fact i used my No. 3 boots to make myself stop.

I stopped skidding almost immediately after letting go, thats when i saw my bike going towards the road kerb and bang! Just imgaine I tried to hold on to the bike and make it stop using my body...i think i will have more injures and maybe some bones broken.

After sending to my mechnic for repairs, i realized this accident actually can be avoided because he told me, maybe its my tyres that resulted to this accident..it was too hard and too cold, not even sticky at the point of accident.

I think sometimes letting go of your bike is still the best solution, because sometimes when u know u are about to fall, u tried to make some adjustment see whether can save back the bike during this very short time, the next time u know u are heading towards the kerb or some soild objects. Better let go if possible, live and ride another day than hugging onto ur bike.

Dont know whether u all knew this incident back in 2004 during this supercross race in old turf. This rider lost control of his ktm and racing towards the steep bend (its was used for high speed cornering), he went up with his bike to touch the birds and broke his leg. if he have let go his bike, he just need to buy another set of forks and ride again

ah, i always feel skidding has to do with braking technique & road conditions.

Now tat's something new.. thanks for coaching! :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

Originally posted by PinKcHicK@April 29, 2007 05:22 am

ah, i always feel skidding has to do with braking technique & road conditions.

Now tat's something new.. thanks for coaching! :smile:

2b would actually be more dependent on braking techniques and road conditions.

class 2 bikes on its own are much powerful compared to 2b bikes. that's why they need tyre warmers for hardcore track go-ers! warm the tyres up to temperature and make it stick to the tarmac..

hmmm abt a efficient braking..........

as for my expirience over the road i guess the best is to apply front n rear brake vice versa......as if u r applying more brake to ur front the speed of ur rear tyre would be more so it will free play n coz the tyre to skid away.........if u apply more on rear it will coz the bike to lose balance as ur front is faster........so i guess its best to pump the front brake n apply engine brake n try balance with ur both legs on the ground.........i have come across when people suddenly run across zebra crossin during rainy days n all i did was this n it did help me....

p.s any comment im not a very experienced or pro rider, this is all of my own comment

Always Look Ahead and Ride

01/07-05/08 bajaj pulsar ug3FBB1977R

01/08-05/08 Aprilia RS 125 FBB436C

05/08-01/10 Suzuki GSR 400 FBC6602J

07/08-03/09 Yamaha R125 FBD766R

01/10-???? Mazda 3 Luxury SJV4**0B

here's smth which i feel is crucial.

AFTER GETTING NEW TYRES, it is v impt to run in ur tyres. new tyres need to be run in because they are covered with a layer of wax, and waxed up tyres do not offer much braking power and less so in the wet.

here are two methods of running in.

one - just ride normally for 1000km. hopefully nth happens during those 1000km of riding. by then the layer of wax wldve burned out. this method is not that good. really really

two - find an empty rd and do ur slalom pylon for 200-300km. it's time-consuming but it's safer and fun.

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/9130/dsc00165vw0.jpg