Yamaha FJR1300

mini-dero

hey broz! anyone up for a ride next sat or sun??

Lets go play corners like we used to~!

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

• Replies 16.5k

1.) AshenZ (Galaxy BLue) aka BG, AY9999R

2.) Teamlm (Storm Silver) aka Denrick Liew, FZ18S

3.) Mutant_sheep (Storm Silver) aka ah pui, FU7A

4.) FJRider (Galaxy Blue) aka Jason, FY8668T

5.) Rahman (Galaxy Blue)aka Rahman, FG786H

6.) Terry (Techno Jade) aka Terry, FY2997H

7.) Omnislash (Maroon) aka Chua, FW8437

8.) Sonic seed (Silver) aka Elliot, FU6008A

9.) Rebornbiker (Techno Jade) aka Marcus, FX2055G

10.) SpEr (Storm Silver) FX4168B

11.) deanz4 (Maroon) aka Dean, FBA7854C(Metallic Desert

12.) ThongKH (Silver) FV5789

13.) Capirexx (white) aka Danny, FT7004

14.) Ezkenky (Blue) aka Ken , Fm9998Y

15.) Ant44 aka Anthony, AT44

16.) Cryptic aka Ram, (GalaxyBlue) FE 900 E

17.) Happy_cookies 06' (Grey) aka Steve, FU8288C

18.) Zamani (Silver Storm), FBB7732R

19.) arul_007 (Silver) Arul , FX 2035P

20.) new_surfer (Silver '06) FBB 745 A aka Sophian

21.) Zamani (Silver Storm), FBB7732R

22.) The Intelligence aka Riz FBC 362

23.)comot1300 aka si budak dol aka Ramlan(storm silver)FX 3404 B

24.)chuckychan aka Chan(silver/blue)FZ 8727 B

25.) surfnsplash aka shahlin (silver) FBB9644Z

26.) Teddy [05'GalaxyBlue] FZ6662S

http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m260/FaizalBakar/cycleTP.gifhttp://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m260/FaizalBakar/FJRlogo.jpghttp://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m260/FaizalBakar/cycleTP.gif

hey broz! anyone up for a ride next sat or sun??

Lets go play corners like we used to~!

looks like all the FJRian tourers have gone to Hatyai liaoz.... and those that are still ard, all busy working, leaving their bikes to collect dust at home... :angel:

no one to go play corners with u already.... :sian:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

come come.... tomoro go out for dim sum and ride to mersing(??) :)

My Ride:

Phantom 200 ( Jun 04' - 28th Jan 05')

Super 4 Spec III (28th Jan 05 - 14th July 06)..Defender Jr.

Silver Storm FJR1300A ABS (14th July 06)..Defender

Where I been Done..

06' 3NCR ( Sg - Betong - Phuket - Hatyai )

07' MHS ( Sg - Hatyai - Hua Hin - CM - MS - GT - Doi Tung - MHS - Doi Ithanon )

08' Phuket ( Sg - Phuket - Hatyai )

See my ride @ happycookies.multiply.com :thumb:

Had an unfortunate incident of brushing against a pillar just after the Malaysia toll booth while coming back into Singapore and as a result I scratch my right side pannier and drop my entire side pannier's locking mechanism somewhere in Malaysia without realizing it.

I was a bit careless and was somewhat pressure to get away from the toll booth because a Malaysian "Kup Kia" was behind me.

I am always very careful at the custom and toll booth and always take my time but this time I made a mistake.

Anyway the scratches was minimized with liquid rubbing compound and wax but my pannier box locking mechanism is a bigger problem.

My entire lock was missing and upon calling Hong Leong, I was at first told that I have to replace the whole pannier box because the lock comes with the pannier box. :faint:

When the sales staff check further, he says that I can order the replacement lock alone but it will be operated with a different key. :sian: The cost of a new lock is $125.

After studying the pannier box locking mechanism, I decided to modify it myself since getting a replacement lock from Yamaha will still be as flimsy as before.

I manage to install a lock to secure the pannier cover and also jammed the pannier handle from inside so that it is more secure than the original setup. :angel:

I will not review here how I did it because of security reason, but I think anyone here will know how to modify it if they take some time to look into the box.

Hope brothers here will not need to go through what I have been and be careful when passing through the narrow gap at the custom and toll booth.

Lastly be aware that our pannier box lock can easily "Pop" out when the pannier box cover is hit.

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

Bro Rebornbiker, i face a similar situation like urs.

My FJR is onli 5 mths old but sadly, both my panniers mechanism lock have came out.

I noticed that for both incidents, i was cruising at high speed (above 200km/h).

The 1st incident was at GP Shell otw back to SG. The whole screw came off but luckily the lock is still there.

As the screw is soooo tiny, i had a hard time looking for replacement screws, in the end, i used my old unused PC fan screw.

The 2nd incident occurs when i'm in Thailand, cruising at high spee oso. But this time, damn unlucky. The locking mechanism came off as well!

Luckily, when i bought the bike, they game me a spare lock, which i'm using now.

IMO, Yamaha side panniers really sux, and any Tom, **** or Harry can easily break thru the lock with the right tools.

Seriusly Yamaha should improve on their locking mechanism.

The Road less Travelled

http://multiply.com/mu/aaronazmi/image/1/photos/177/600x600/51/PIC-0105-1.JPG?et=EPg%2B7KSmSyqSCJnhbA%2C62w&nmid=309411908

for the tiny screw drop off just a small trick could solve the problem, use lock tight.

but as for the suckie machanism i can't do anything liao. there is a few way to "enhance" it. like, make another set of lock at Sengkuang, bla bla bla..

but imho, try not to store any valueble stuff in it while overnight at any place.

tomoro morning yong peng tim sum ride ON...

meet 8am @ GP ESSO....

all bikers r welcome include Malay bro n sis since opp e tim sum, have some malay stall that selling malay food too... :)

My Ride:

Phantom 200 ( Jun 04' - 28th Jan 05')

Super 4 Spec III (28th Jan 05 - 14th July 06)..Defender Jr.

Silver Storm FJR1300A ABS (14th July 06)..Defender

Where I been Done..

06' 3NCR ( Sg - Betong - Phuket - Hatyai )

07' MHS ( Sg - Hatyai - Hua Hin - CM - MS - GT - Doi Tung - MHS - Doi Ithanon )

08' Phuket ( Sg - Phuket - Hatyai )

See my ride @ happycookies.multiply.com :thumb:

Had an unfortunate incident of brushing against a pillar just after the Malaysia toll booth while coming back into Singapore and as a result I scratch my right side pannier and drop my entire side pannier's locking mechanism somewhere in Malaysia without realizing it.

I was a bit careless and was somewhat pressure to get away from the toll booth because a Malaysian "Kup Kia" was behind me.

I am always very careful at the custom and toll booth and always take my time but this time I made a mistake.

Anyway the scratches was minimized with liquid rubbing compound and wax but my pannier box locking mechanism is a bigger problem.

My entire lock was missing and upon calling Hong Leong, I was at first told that I have to replace the whole pannier box because the lock comes with the pannier box. :faint:

When the sales staff check further, he says that I can order the replacement lock alone but it will be operated with a different key. :sian: The cost of a new lock is $125.

After studying the pannier box locking mechanism, I decided to modify it myself since getting a replacement lock from Yamaha will still be as flimsy as before.

I manage to install a lock to secure the pannier cover and also jammed the pannier handle from inside so that it is more secure than the original setup. :angel:

I will not review here how I did it because of security reason, but I think anyone here will know how to modify it if they take some time to look into the box.

Hope brothers here will not need to go through what I have been and be careful when passing through the narrow gap at the custom and toll booth.

Lastly be aware that our pannier box lock can easily "Pop" out when the pannier box cover is hit.

Bro, can pm me some advice to modify/secure the pannier lock and how to prevent break-in? Also on how to prevent it from falling off when travelling at high speed like how Zamani's fell off?

If possible, I meet you sometime and buy you kopi, and you can advise me firsthand?

Bro, can pm me some advice to modify/secure the pannier lock and how to prevent break-in? Also on how to prevent it from falling off when travelling at high speed like how Zamani's fell off?

If possible, I meet you sometime and buy you kopi, and you can advise me firsthand?

If your lock is still intact, Change the screws to another type and tighten it. I've chnaged mine and it hasnt loosen since den. To prevent theft, go seng kwang and change to metal ones.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Arul, u live JE? Saw you at st 24. I think you saw me as well.

And I saw new surfer at 2nd link. Sorry didn't say hello. Our community getting bigger. Most not in our forum.

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Our pannier box including the latch is made of plastic, so no matter how we reinforced it, it will still be vulnerable to break-in or vandalism.

IMO even with Seng Kwang's replacement latch, it is only slightly better than the original setup.

Look at the rectangular plastic wedge that comes up when the pannier's handle is press. We can prevent it from going down from the inside of the box.

As for the box cover lock/latch, I have replace it with one of those drawer 90 degrees lock ($3.80) which in my opinion is more rugged. :cheeky:

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

Our pannier box including the latch is made of plastic, so no matter how we reinforced it, it will still be vulnerable to break-in or vandalism.

IMO even with Seng Kwang's replacement latch, it is only slightly better than the original setup.

Look at the rectangular plastic wedge that comes up when the pannier's handle is press. We can prevent it from going down from the inside of the box.

As for the box cover lock/latch, I have replace it with one of those drawer 90 degrees lock ($3.80) which in my opinion is more rugged. :cheeky:

Hmmmm, ok, I'm going to try some DIY work together with a visit to Seng Kwang just to be safe.

Thanks bro.

Thanks to Omnislash too :)

bro frankly i think seng kwang is over charging the little metal thingy.. i htink he will qoute u abt 60dolars per pice.. that time i went to make my rack they ask me to make eh.. they they say out the price its rediculars.. so ex..

if anyone here have a friend who do metal ask him do then do in bulk should be cheaper alot..

think a lot of ppl will on one..

so anyone?/

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif

60/pc consider cheap loh... He charge me 90 per pc. They know they are the only one who can do. Of course they chop.

Updates,

Haven't had the time to see her cos work is also very very tedious at my end and to add to the problem is the lack of transporation.

anyways, She's been open up and as feared the timing chain ruptured its damaged the internal parts and now ah keong is trying to get a quote from the suppliers, hopefully i'll go down to the on monday, to see what is the damage like. *Shakes his head*

i still am shocked, i only went for rear brake disc/brake pad changes and synconising just 3 weeks ago after noticing the idling was a tad bit high. Was pending to send her in for a oil change this week.

Very Depressed now.

was at HKL this morning for my Maxxer's EO change, and saw your "900" "opened up"... :giddy:

your Top-cylinder is opened up, and i can see the 4 piston heads... looks like its not gonna be cheap man..... o_O

another thing bro, yr front tyre, hmmm, almost threadless... very dangerous to ride in such weather....

Good Luck :thumb:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

i think its around there 90 per pice... its day light robbery lor..

by the way omnilash do u get the piece?? can u post the picture coz i have a friend could help me do at a better price but he need to see first..

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif

bro frankly i think seng kwang is over charging the little metal thingy.. i htink he will qoute u abt 60dolars per pice.. that time i went to make my rack they ask me to make eh.. they they say out the price its rediculars.. so ex..

if anyone here have a friend who do metal ask him do then do in bulk should be cheaper alot..

think a lot of ppl will on one..

so anyone?/

i think its around there 90 per pice... its day light robbery lor..

by the way omnilash do u get the piece?? can u post the picture coz i have a friend could help me do at a better price but he need to see first..

If really can do a similar one, at a cheaper price than Seng Kwang, I believe a lot of the FJRians will be interested.

I, for sure, will be interested, cos the "plastic black piece" (on the pannier) which our lock (just besides the pannier handle) locked onto, is cracked. I always wanted to change both the "plastic black piece" of the two boxes to metal ones (from Seng Kwang). But was quite off by the price, that some FJRian mentioned here, that Seng Kwang charged. S$90 - S$100 per piece is a bit of day-light robbery. :giddy:

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

****~ i missed out on the ride~!~!

hey ah pui n cookies... if nxt time ride cfm, pls sms me....

I do not usuali surf the forum liaoz..... so sorry..... :(

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Dear FJRians, a dear kaki couple of mine had just left for their round-the-world (rtw) trip. It's a dream for many of us but do we have the courage and determination to do so?

http://www.singaporedream-rtw.blogspot.com/

Donations (thru the blog via Paypal) will be deeply appreciated. Any amounts also can. Help a fellow singaporean biker couple realise their dreams! Singapore: A city of possibilities! :cheers:

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

Arul, u live JE? Saw you at st 24. I think you saw me as well.

And I saw new surfer at 2nd link. Sorry didn't say hello. Our community getting bigger. Most not in our forum.

I think its at night right when u saw me...I think i just came back from genting.. If i not wrong.

There will always be next time.

My dream bikes...:thumb:

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o183/new_surfer/At-Fjr-Concours.jpg