hi bro,

if the bike is the same as my avatar..

then i guess its me...heeh..

also saw bro kazky on KJE towards Tuas..

sorry bro, need to rush to fetch madam...

Hello bro, till we meet on the road again. Hehe. Met Kaz yesterday nite.

bro i saw ur bike and one more fjr 4843 outside the kopitiam along upp serangoon rd near bendemeer there a few days back. u everytime hang out there eh?

Sometimes on weekdays we hang out there for makan after work. Sometimes in woodlands. And on weekends usually at kampong glam.

is this weekly meet up? will try to make it one of

the week.

Weekly, we usually go makan2 in JB. Place of meet up usually random. Hope to meet u one day :)

Shawn, sorry bro. I only noticed and read your sms when i were already in JB.

Why not you post your plans to Hatyai this April here. Maybe some brothers here would love to join :)

JUNE 1999 - MAR 00 CAGIVA MITO

MAR 00 - MAR 01 KAWASAKI KDX200

MAR 01 - FEB 02 KTM 200

FEB 02 - APR 03 YAMAHA RXZ

APR 03 - MAY 05 HONDA XR400

FEB 05 - AUG 05 HONDA S4

AUG 05 - MAY 07 HONDA 05 CBR1RR FIREBLADE

MAY 07 - Dec 09 YAMAHA FZ1S

Dec 09 - FJR1300

• Replies 16.5k

just did my usual maintenance at southern motor, 1008 bukit merah lane, the last maintenance was 5 months ago. mileage from last maintenance, 2ooo km, ride occasionally...

engine oil 4 litres (1 litre $18), $72

gear oil $8

engine oil filter $22

total $102

change my front tyre also $150.

Izit fully syn oil? 18 bucks so cheap?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Shawn, sorry bro. I only noticed and read your sms when i were already in JB.

Why not you post your plans to Hatyai this April here. Maybe some brothers here would love to join :)

Ive posted on trips & trills http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=281921 .... anyway to all bros feel free to share or keen to tag along if anyone interested

I done servicing myself ...anyway $18 for full syn EO i can get mobil one or castrol and also amsoil so far i used mobil one ...filter price $16 from AM (Yamaha Agent) as for gear oil $7.50 for a bottle(Castrol) but for shop i dun know if they supply full syn EO

Edited by sgseller82

Hi guys, it was nice meeting u all last nite..although by coincidence.

Its been a while since i went for a meet-up so it was great.

My computer is down for nearly a month already so can't log in as i used to..

Amminurasyid: NIce seeing u on the road bro.. cool ride!

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

Hi guys, I'm posting on behalf of my dad and I hope you guys can help me out here.

He's riding a FJR1300 ABS 05 model.

Just last week the ABS indicator light came on which means something went wrong with the ABS itself.

He tried:

1-Switching off and on the ignition

2-Cleaning both back and front sensors

3-Changing the brake pads

Still doesn't work.

The weird thing is the indicator lights up on and off before, during and after rides.

He doesnt notice any different in braking. So what is wrong with the ABS?

Regards, Ben

hai guys,i need some help regarding sevicing of my carb, valve clearance, change timing chain + slider + tensioner...any recomended place for me to go and how much does it cost me for such service??really need ur help guys thankz....

Hi guys, I'm posting on behalf of my dad and I hope you guys can help me out here.

He's riding a FJR1300 ABS 05 model.

Just last week the ABS indicator light came on which means something went wrong with the ABS itself.

He tried:

1-Switching off and on the ignition

2-Cleaning both back and front sensors

3-Changing the brake pads

Still doesn't work.

The weird thing is the indicator lights up on and off before, during and after rides.

He doesnt notice any different in braking. So what is wrong with the ABS?

Regards, Ben

that means the ABS is faulty & will not work. The brakes will still work like normal brakes. just that when wheel lock, the brakes will not go intermittent.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

hai guys,i need some help regarding sevicing of my carb, valve clearance, change timing chain + slider + tensioner...any recomended place for me to go and how much does it cost me for such service??really need ur help guys thankz....

FJR aint got carbs.

Valve clearance I believe only HL has the capability as they have the adjustment shims in stock. They quoted me $180.

I've let Meng Tong replaced my Tensioner + Chain but the problem resurfaced pretty fast. I'm trying out HL soon and they quoted me $80-$150 for tensioner replacement depending on how much the timing has run.

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

I done servicing myself ...anyway $18 for full syn EO i can get mobil one or castrol and also amsoil so far i used mobil one ...filter price $16 from AM (Yamaha Agent) as for gear oil $7.50 for a bottle(Castrol) but for shop i dun know if they supply full syn EO

Yep. U can get fully syn for that kindof price provided u DIY. Southern charged him 18 / ltr which I tot its quite cheap incusive of labour, if its fully syn that is.

Thankz..btw i got another problem..when my rpm reached 4 my engine sundenly sound different n vibrate more....the power also seems to lost abit...the other problem is in the morning when i start my bike and warm it up, my engine will died when i engage to firsy gear...

don't think it's fully syn oil. but they said can last a mileage of 3,000 to 4,000km till next service.

my last mileage is only 2,000km for 5 months. so, i trust my next service would be 6 months later.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

read my love-hate relationship with my wee.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2305336&postcount=35

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

so, how do you dispose the waste engine oil? :)

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

don't think it's fully syn oil. but they said can last a mileage of 3,000 to 4,000km till next service.

my last mileage is only 2,000km for 5 months. so, i trust my next service would be 6 months later.

Can last a mileage of 3,000 to 4,000 km only?? Think you should know that it should be semi-syn engine oil... :)

I just changed my EO last Saturday afternoon, at the bike shop which I frequent, it is very near to the Southern Motors which you patronised.

Including labour to change the FULLY-Syn EO, it costed me S$20.

Maybe the fully-syn oil used is of a lousy brand, thus it cost me only S$20 while your Semi-syn oil may be of a very high grade, that's why it costs S$18 per litre. :)

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

Yes, I am interested to know how we can dispose the waste engine oil. :)

As far as I know, we cannot simply pour it down the drain/toilet bowl and we cannot set fire to burn them off too (that is if the EO is flammable enough to ignite). :)

Yes, I am interested to know how we can dispose the waste engine oil. :)

As far as I know, we cannot simply pour it down the drain/toilet bowl and we cannot set fire to burn them off too (that is if the EO is flammable enough to ignite). :)

I always specially ride down to a particular bike shop and place it by their waste bin.

Thankz..btw i got another problem..when my rpm reached 4 my engine sundenly sound different n vibrate more....the power also seems to lost abit...the other problem is in the morning when i start my bike and warm it up, my engine will died when i engage to firsy gear...

What model u riding? Vibration may be due to TB out of sync.

As for the stalling of engine, does it only happens during warm up?

Can last a mileage of 3,000 to 4,000 km only?? Think you should know that it should be semi-syn engine oil... :)

I just changed my EO last Saturday afternoon, at the bike shop which I frequent, it is very near to the Southern Motors which you patronised.

Including labour to change the FULLY-Syn EO, it costed me S$20.

Maybe the fully-syn oil used is of a lousy brand, thus it cost me only S$20 while your Semi-syn oil may be of a very high grade, that's why it costs S$18 per litre. :)

semi-syn eo is good enough right? it's esso brand lah. :)

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

I always specially ride down to a particular bike shop and place it by their waste bin.

The bike shop people won't "scold" us for "throwing" waste EO at their shop ah?? :cheeky:

semi-syn eo is good enough right? it's esso brand lah. :)

I may be wrong, the other more experienced FJRians pls advise if I am wrong.

I think semi-syn EO is good enough, so long as one does not "exceed" 3,000km, then go change the EO....

Actually for the FULLY-Syn EO (which I have always used for all my EO changes for my previous Fabulous-Joy-Ride), it is said that FULLY-Syn can last 10,000km before another change.

But I always change my EO at around 5,000km - 5,500km...

Cos when I was riding this joy-ride, I always feel that the engine and the gears-kicking a bit "rough" when I reached the 5,000km mark. It is only my personal feel. The rest of the FJRians may not feel likewise.

Also, like one of my friends said, though a FULLY-Syn EO can last us 10,000km, would I dare to take the "gamble" and save on the EO change and change the EO only after 10,000km, esp on a big bike?

He told me frankly that do I want to save on the EO or save the engine? :)

Also, for those who needs a long period of time, e.g. 9 months to 1 whole year, to reach 5,000km, the "slipperyness" (sorry, I am not sure about the correct term to use.) of the EO may no longer be there (heating and cooling of the EO during and after travelling may dis-intergrate the EO over long period of time) and the EO may no longer be lubricating the pistons, so our pistons may be "hurt"... :)

Just my 0.0000000000000002cents worth...

Pls don't :gun: :gun: :gun: me if I am wrong. :)

Edited by seahmh

i will alway get 2 empty 4L EO bottles from any car service shop 1 cut by the side 2 is to fill up the drained EO ...remember both must come with the bottle caps .....so i think u should where to throw after yr servicing :cheeky:

I may be wrong, the other more experienced FJRians pls advise if I am wrong.

I think semi-syn EO is good enough, so long as one does not "exceed" 3,000km, then go change the EO....

Actually for the FULLY-Syn EO (which I have always used for all my EO changes for my previous Fabulous-Joy-Ride), it is said that FULLY-Syn can last 10,000km before another change.

But I always change my EO at around 5,000km - 5,500km...

Cos when I was riding this joy-ride, I always feel that the engine and the gears-kicking a bit "rough" when I reached the 5,000km mark. It is only my personal feel. The rest of the FJRians may not feel likewise.

Also, like one of my friends said, though a FULLY-Syn EO can last us 10,000km, would I dare to take the "gamble" and save on the EO change and change the EO only after 10,000km, esp on a big bike?

He told me frankly that do I want to save on the EO or save the engine? :)

Also, for those who needs a long period of time, e.g. 9 months to 1 whole year, to reach 5,000km, the "slipperyness" (sorry, I am not sure about the correct term to use.) of the EO may no longer be there (heating and cooling of the EO during and after travelling may dis-intergrate the EO over long period of time) and the EO may no longer be lubricating the pistons, so our pistons may be "hurt"... :)

Just my 0.0000000000000002cents worth...

Pls don't :gun: :gun: :gun: me if I am wrong. :)

thanks for the info. think i am not overly concerned about such details. :)

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

i will alway get 2 empty 4L EO bottles from any car service shop 1 cut by the side 2 is to fill up the drained EO ...remember both must come with the bottle caps .....so i think u should where to throw after yr servicing :cheeky:

sound troublesome (lay chay).

i think better pay for service. i can still afford that few more dollars lah rather than dirty my hands :)

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

sound troublesome (lay chay).

i think better pay for service. i can still afford that few more dollars lah rather than dirty my hands :)

Power !!! i like tis kind of answer straight forward ....anyway it depends on individual ...well keep it up:cheers:

Actually bike shop have the big metal barrel where they put all the used engine oil into. Then they actually can sell the full barrel of used engine oil. I once saw a truck which collects all these barrels at motor shop.

JUNE 1999 - MAR 00 CAGIVA MITO

MAR 00 - MAR 01 KAWASAKI KDX200

MAR 01 - FEB 02 KTM 200

FEB 02 - APR 03 YAMAHA RXZ

APR 03 - MAY 05 HONDA XR400

FEB 05 - AUG 05 HONDA S4

AUG 05 - MAY 07 HONDA 05 CBR1RR FIREBLADE

MAY 07 - Dec 09 YAMAHA FZ1S

Dec 09 - FJR1300