• Replies 3.9k

Nice reading feedback from u guys abt Planet Motors...should visit there for my next servicing as i am still roaming around for a regular shop for servicing..

They're a great choice for bringing in newly bought used bikes for inspection. Give the crew a list of complaints and they'll happily work through your "complaint list" no matter how busy it is.

I have not tried giving them purely performance related issues to work on however - rejet, clean carburetor etc.

74th Time at Planet!

3:40pm

Weather:Overcast

Mood: Grinning

Back from my very very very short Malaysia trip, cut short because of a brunt out starter relay. Only manged to get back because Ah Chong taught me how to hotwire the bike over the phone.

At Planet, I got Ah Chong to change the relay, and reconnect the IU, while waiting for the part to arrive wait long long ... almost 2 hours. I met Mr Vidak, haha, hair grow out liao. He treated everyone coke before adjusting his chain and buzzing off on his KSR.

When the Relay arrived, Ah Chong tested it before securing it with new bolts, and checked the IU... ehhhh.... Got connect leh..... Then he unplugged the wires and saw inside no fuse!!! Muahahaha! Reconnect with a new fuse and viola! IU on again! :smile:

Paid $60 for the relay (shop price) Retail price is $70.

Fuse FREE! :clap:

Definately going back to Planet when I need servicing in the future! Otherwise I would still be stuck in malaysia!

On the way home bike felt weird then realised, choke was on..... :sian:

74th Time at Planet!

3:40pm

Weather:Overcast

Mood: Grinning

Back from my very very very short Malaysia trip, cut short because of a brunt out starter relay. Only manged to get back because Ah Chong taught me how to hotwire the bike over the phone.

At Planet, I got Ah Chong to change the relay, and reconnect the IU, while waiting for the part to arrive wait long long ... almost 2 hours. I met Mr Vidak, haha, hair grow out liao. He treated everyone coke before adjusting his chain and buzzing off on his KSR.

When the Relay arrived, Ah Chong tested it before securing it with new bolts, and checked the IU... ehhhh.... Got connect leh..... Then he unplugged the wires and saw inside no fuse!!! Muahahaha! Reconnect with a new fuse and viola! IU on again! :smile:

Paid $60 for the relay (shop price) Retail price is $70.

Fuse FREE! :clap:

Definately going back to Planet when I need servicing in the future! Otherwise I would still be stuck in malaysia!

On the way home bike felt weird then realised, choke was on..... :sian:

u reach 100 times i will bao one x red packet for u :thumb:

http://i356.photobucket.com/albums/oo9/Pplater08/casey-stoner-wheelie-wallpaper-1803.jpg

Didn't know Planet got manufacture Motorcycles for movie stuns one! :cheeky: :lol::lol::lol: http://finance.cctv.com/special/C19252/20070925/images/102961_1190689009245.jpg

whahaha.. both of them look familiar!!! When did i see them at planet sia? hmmmm..

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Weekday afternoons is the best time for electrical work :) The price was $30 for refurbishing my electrical system (but, I didn't need to replace any fuses, or electrical components, just rewiring for fun and for future DIY projects). Bike spent 5 hours in the shop. Well worth it!

Reached at around 1.30pm, saw a few workers in the shop and Ah Chong at his table.

Me: Ah chong, my bike got wiring problem, fried up already.

Ah Chong: My worker not working, cannot do your bike.

Me: WTF!?

Pushed my bike out, head to another shop. I towed my bike form Jurong by the way.

You just fell victim to Little Einstein's famous sarcasm :)

I'm usually charged $300 for minor repairs/maintenence and treated to replies of "wah spoil already, no hope" when I bring other bikes in. None of that is true once you poke the doctor a bit :)

Ah i see, well his prank didn't really look like a prank, seriously. Oh well, he caused me to go to another shop and i ain't going back there anymore. Well done "Ah Chong". :clapping:

Well, if you have been reading my posts you will know that he will always say the repair will cost $1,000 and things like that.

Don't take it literally.

But maybe in your case, he was exaggerating a bit, but it's true. I am sorry that you wasted your time going down. Planet's business is usually very hectic. Maybe his workers are really all fully engaged, and wiring is something that takes time. A lot of time. I left my bike there for a few days when I changed my wire harness.

Went in the morning with new wire harness, wiring was only completed by evening and the fuel tank, plastic fairrings, and seat were only refitted onto the bike the next day. I stayed there until almost 8 pm just to make sure the bike can start using the new wiring. Got to reward the guys abit, the official closing time there is 7pm. Only took back the bike on the 3rd day after they washed the carb and send for inspection.

If you need the bike within 1 day, then yap. You did the right thing going to another shop that is less crowded.

Reached at around 1.30pm, saw a few workers in the shop and Ah Chong at his table.

Pushed my bike out, head to another shop. I towed my bike form Jurong by the way.

Ah i see, well his prank didn't really look like a prank, seriously. Oh well, he caused me to go to another shop and i ain't going back there anymore. Well done "Ah Chong". :clapping:

Well today he was really short handed. A couple of his workers weren't there. My gf's bike queueing there since last night, now not sure if by tml evening can be done. But at least the bike will definitely be tip-top.

Too bad you took what he said personally.

Good for the rest of us though :D one less person in the queue.

Edited by SNapEl

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

lolx.. chill.. :)

You just fell victim to Little Einstein's famous sarcasm :)

I'm usually charged $300 for minor repairs/maintenence and treated to replies of "wah spoil already, no hope" when I bring other bikes in. None of that is true once you poke the doctor a bit :)

haha.. yup yup.. just now i was there earlier also.. but when i say, chiong ar, no time? nvm.. i come back 30min later.. heehee... den he say.. ok lah.. give me another 10min.. btw, i only wan to change headlight.. :)

ah chong always like to play joke, as usual.. lol.. :angel:

yup yup... *he prefer doing old customers.. haha.. we are more "straight-forward" and know exactly what we want.. LOL...

lolx.. chill.. he's always joking around.. there's people who really dislike him thru..

anyway, an real fact..

one of my friend say, "planet ar? i die die wun go one!" always anyhow joke and "over-joke"

den got one time.. his bike cannot start.. he went other places.. say must overhaul.. den he went ah chiong.. ah chiong use a spammer wack his engine area.. den start.. no problem for the next few months.. FOC.. haha..

no dents.. den chiong say.. just wack correctly.. dun wack wrongly..

den now? he's a fan of planet.. lolx.. :)

Well, if you have been reading my posts you will know that he will always say the repair will cost $1,000 and things like that.

Don't take it literally.

But maybe in your case, he was exaggerating a bit, but it's true. I am sorry that you wasted your time going down. Planet's business is usually very hectic. Maybe his workers are really all fully engaged, and wiring is something that takes time. A lot of time. I left my bike there for a few days when I changed my wire harness.

Went in the morning with new wire harness, wiring was only completed by evening and the fuel tank, plastic fairrings, and seat were only refitted onto the bike the next day. I stayed there until almost 8 pm just to make sure the bike can start using the new wiring. Got to reward the guys abit, the official closing time there is 7pm. Only took back the bike on the 3rd day after they washed the carb and send for inspection.

If you need the bike within 1 day, then yap. You did the right thing going to another shop that is less crowded.

whaha... yup yup.. go to the another bike shop that you needed.. :p

Well today he was really short handed. A couple of his workers weren't there. My gf's bike queueing there since last night, now not sure if by tml evening can be done. But at least the bike will definitely be tip-top.

Too bad you took what he said personally.

Good for the rest of us though :D one less person in the queue.

whahhahaa... *silently agreed... lesser people is better for us.. :p

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

75th time at Planet!

First time there for this year too!

07/01/2011

01:30pm

weather:Drizzling

mood: Today must remember to take back my DR800 spare parts! Still trying to remember how many times I went there. :cheeky:

Went to Planet, today to fixed up my cracked riser.

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc310/xiangqing/Planet%20pics/IMG_4004.jpg

At Planet, everyone was hiding inside because of the rain, actually I thought I will be stuck there for a long time because of the crowd, but to my surprise, most of them were finishing, I only waited about 15 mins before Ah Chong ask me to push my bike in. :)

When I pushed the bike in, first thing Ah Chong ask me was today your bike can carry things or not. Hahaha! He also remember I got things left behind in his shop from the last time!

Then I showed him my 'Damaged' risers and told him I want to change back to stock one. He see see look look, then told me not the riser break, it's the screw dropped out! WTH !!! Hahahaha! :lol: I even brought the old stock risers from home!

It's easy to mistaken the riser as broken, because the stock ones have a bolt sticking out of it.

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc310/xiangqing/Planet%20pics/IMG_4008.jpg

Ah Chong then took out the bolt from the other riser and with my handle bars dangling, he told me to go to the shop across the road to buy back a bolt using the one he took out as a sample.

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc310/xiangqing/Planet%20pics/IMG_4006.jpghttp://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc310/xiangqing/Planet%20pics/IMG_4007.jpg

Then he tighten everything back.

Price of bolt = $1

Labor charge = Free! :clap:

On the way out I saw a GSXR400 beeing scraped, and asked Ah Chong if can have the lock. Ah Chong gave me Free! :)

Thanks! :angel:

Then it's off to Regina's to buy bike cover. My bike cover got stolen! Damn!

As I was pushing my bike out of the shop, one of Ah Chong's suppliers came in to look for him, and asked where the Boss is, I told him "Towkay Jia Peng" He shake his head and say "Wah! Very bad, you say him Jia Peng."

Jia Peng in Hokkien= Eating rice

Jia Peng in Mandarin= Died and sent off in a Royal Funeral :lol:

NB: I thought today no cold jokes from Ah Chong, Seeee Kaaa Leee his supplier's jokes colder then Ah Chong's one! :lol: :sian:

Really is cold joke for a cold day! :lol:

Edited by Silent Hunter

yup yup. i seen a gsr 400 there before too.

Do planet service suzuki bike? (eg. GSR 400).

yup yup. i seen a gsr 400 there before too.

I seen a Suzuki DR800 there before! :angel:

76th + 76.5th Time at Planet!

Date: 10/01/2011

Time: 11:40am + 11:55pm

Weather: Drizzling

Mood: :) Happy

Well well well, my new starter motor from UK finally arrived. So went to Planet to let Ah Chong fixed it up. Looks like a reconditioned one though, because got discolouration. :(

But as long as it is in good condition... Oh well...

So pushed start the bike there! Ah Chong say I hero, like that also can push start! Haha! :D

But at Planet already alot of people, at least another 4 bikes still lining up. Ah Chong said cannot collect by tonight. So left the bike there, abit disappointed cannot collect same day, but just my luck, today's customers came early. :(

So left my key with Ah Chong, Ah Chong still wrapped up my keychain with a piece of paper because he said my keychain very nice, scared people steal, before writing my bike number on it. :lol:

Just before I left, Ah Chong then told me maybe must overhaul (This time he serious) because not sure if the starter can come out without opening the engine, because it was very tight fit. :eek: :? Very worried, then after I left, I remembered that last time, when I first got the bike, I went to another shop to service, and the mech there took it out before to clean the carbon brushes by first removing the exhaust, so called back and told Ah Chong that confirm can take out, only a 10 min job to remove. Yay! :clap:

Sure enough, that night Ah Chong called to tell me that, he just fitted in the new starter, the bike can start liao, starting very strongly too!

First time, everytime! :smile:

But because it was already 7:25pm, they will be closing soon. So if I want it by tonight, he will leave it outside and hide the key in the fairrings. So that's how come I got the 76.5th tiem at Planet! Took a bus to collect the bike, Damn... took an hour to get there. By bike only 1/2 that time.

Over at Planet at night, the place was very different, so Ulu....:sian:

So quickly wear my rainoat took my key and (a bit not used to it, because can start on the first time worrr!) started the bike as normal and rode back! But owe Ah Chong service charge for this time round! :cheeky: Must pay him back before Chinese New Year, otherwise unlucky!!! :lol:

Edited by Silent Hunter

...... double post...

Edited by adesmond2