hmm...y u interested in getting them?

The only way to find love isn't finding the perfect person, but by loving the imperfect person perfectly. True love doesn't have a good ending. It simply doesn't end.

2003 Nov - 2005 April -TZR125

2005 April - 2006 Nov -TA200

2006 Nov - 2010 June -TA200 & RS250

2010 June - Now - FZ1 & RS250

2015 June - Now - GSA 1200 & RS250

• Replies 102

emm... i like KABAR knives, but the price mentioned in yahoo auction looks abit ex..

compared to shearas marketing's SOG.

there is 1 type of knife i would like to collect and use. it is the taiwan jing men (gold door) gang dai (metal knife). it is jing men speciality only. it is kitchen knife made from empty bomb shell. very some knife have very slick design. the knife is famous of its hardness and sharpness. If i do get to visit taiwan 1 day, i will sure buy 1 for memory. i saw 1 at china xiamen shopping centre, but i don't know if it is the type i am taking about. anyway, i saw this knife during a show tat introduce taiwan (for touring show).

i used to be crazy over knife too - during (rambo 1 movie era). read alot about it. the fever has subside now. but i like to remind myself of those good old days.

sounds cool... bro.. the knife will attract ghosts as it is made from bomb shell ??

it is pretty well know, becos bomb shell are using good metal (in the old days). there is alot of bomb shell in "taiwan jing men" becos many years ago, china xiamen and taiwan jingmen always bomb each other. those NS serving jingmen actually will get KIA and are usually on red alert (last time).

So, the resident have many bomb shell loaded on to their area. they collect it, and made it into kichen knife.

any brother visiting taiwan jinmen, can actually help us buy 1 there. U must visit the actual place - there is a musum about it (watch from the tv show).

it is pretty legal to bring in to sg with kitchen knife set. Just remember don't use hand carry, but be in the laugage that check into the plane.

china xiamen shopping centre have for sales also, but i feel that it must be purchase from the origin location then can be memory.

for eg, budda ambulet can also buy anyway, but i will prefer to buy from a temple with monk blessing. same theory.

i wonder. if kitchen knife set need to be declare on the custom or not? anyone work in the custom? can help answer? i hope one day i can visit taiwan and purchase my dream kitchen knife set. maybe in 5 yr time.

well.. if u have reason to bring, i.e kitchen knife, customs wont make prob, ofcuz have to put into luggage, even small Swiss Knife they wont let u bring hand carry, last time, they didnt allow my wallet chain (chain attached to wallet and belt) to bring in.

if u manage to find picture or some story about such powerful stuff, share us here bro. coz i cant find any related "jing men" on google.

i remember u can ask for the type of design to be made. and get the master to write your name on the knife, etc. it is like custom maker lor. but i don't know how much. i saw once also in jack wu show. he just draw a shape and the maker make a knife of that shape. also go write word on the knife congrad his jacky wu show good forture or etc.

this is one chinese culture knife. usually when u see knife, it is either jap or west country. normally people don't show interests in chinese knife culture. but they are forgetting that knife making begin with chinese.

http://f06batchimg.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/users/9/0/8/0/newworldnet2006a-imgbatch_1181779845/400x400-2007061400003.jpg

I got my set of Kyocera ceramic kitchen knives from Japan, it's 50% cheaper than what we have to pay in Singapore...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg

yap. i don't think kitchen knife should have any problem with custom. but just to be sure, do u got the the red zone to declare?

cool.. i know Kyocera for only cameras..

sharper than my zwilling henckel set but I heard ceramic knife is brittle, I only use it to cut fruit and slice meat and it feels light in the hand, don't really like it....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg

emm. may be ceramic can go thru metal detectors, hahaha, can bring into flight? or can go thru custom? :p

thanks for info. i can only see pics, cant read language as my pc doesnt have language installed, and i cant speak nor read chinese.. heheh

well, this is kind of chinese history lesson. this knife is very famous for it hardness and sharpness. it slic thru paper in one soft stroke.

the history is basically china bomb taiwan and taiwan bomb china.

jing men (china) and xia men (taiwan) is just a sea apart. similar to singapore and johor. so these two provision always exchange bomb shell (shooting each other every day). i mean this is old time story that happen long long ago.

anyway, the most empty shell area is "jing men". then a black smith took a shell, cut it out and hammer it into a knife for the fellow countrymen. becos of it hardness and sharp, the knife got famous and people start buying it.

so, the knife becos a symbol of the local and becos a collector item too. as u can see in the picture.

a good knife actually is very long lasting. my grandfather was a fruit seller that have a knife that past down to my father. he refuse to let us use one. it is very very sharp.

compare to nowadays machine make knife.

i really hope one day i can tour taiwan - jing men and buy myself a nice set of "jing men gang dao" kitchen knife set.

p/s: you want me to guide u the step to show chinese in your pc (if itis using xp). but then again, since u don't read chinese, u decide if u want. ok?

thanks for info. i can only see pics, cant read language as my pc doesnt have language installed, and i cant speak nor read chinese.. heheh

actually since there are so many knife lover. we can start a shop that sell custom make knife. hehe.. (don't know if it is against the law or not)

similar to those pottory making work shop or those sewing work shop or etc. this is a black smith work shop. hehehe.....

just thinking aloud.

hahah.. i've been to 3 knife shops in sg.

1. caesars, at textile center and suntec city..http://www.caesars.com.sg/

2. shearas marketing (SOG agent and camping equipments)

3. small shop in china town food street.

they have really huge collecion and i'll bankrupt to get what i like.

Guys, wondering if you know where i can get a 'kukri'

Fyi, the kukri is what the Gurkhas are carrying when they are on duty.

My Nepalese friends can't seem to help me bring in a kukri.

Dun mind telling me where i can get one? And get it registered too.

To have a normal life, you work for what you need.

To have a great life, you work for what you want.

i think my kitchen got quite alot of types of knifes, but i wanna keep samurai leh.... anyone can tell me where to get? need license?

Looking at the ride tells everything about the rider

to keep a samurai sure needs a liscense.. but think in sg its quite costly

2002-2003 -->aprilia Rs125

2002-2005 -->honda Ta200

2003-2008 -->aprilia Rs250

2006-2008 -->honda ta150

15 jan2008 - 5 Apr 2012 --> x8 400ie

5 Apr 2012 - now --> busa the falcon..

i finally saw the "ceramic" kitchen knife at a shopping centre. the color is black one. look nice. the ad say it is super sharp. look like i have to do some reading myself. but the price is ex leh. sigh...