• Replies 109

I am in.

What's the plan Dragonforce? :confused:

And what can I do to support this movement? :)

we will need to gather pictures to draw comparisions, e.g of bikes with good led signal lights and good stock signal lights.

All relevant research and studies relating to the case we want to bring up. e.g loud pipes makes drivers more aware of our existance. i personally believe in this, as i really encountered myself before when i was driving, the bike was exhaust was loud enough for me to notice he is coming my way, wait for him to overtake then i change lane. but I personally don't think there's any study on this strong enough for lta to bring up the db level and lax on the illegal exhaust issue, just to quote an example here.

those good in diy can help is the best, change to led snap photos, and change back to stock, snap photos.

Sounds like a DIY session at Madman like old times. :smile:

Or can go to the "Clinic" Strip signal lights and replace with LED, take photos/videos then change back.

any1 tried writing in to lta before? if didn't, let's write in. i don't mind drafting a letter. But in order to have some impact, pictures, research studies/evidences/surveys/ are necessary. who is willing to chip in?

eg. evidences that led signal lights are proven to be brighter and more visible to road users, pictures to go along with it, stock and led signal lights.

they are more focused on catching what's easy to generate revenue from us instead of catching what is really more dangerous for the road users.

I really don't see how exhaust wraps, led signal lights, pole lights, aftermarket adjustable rearsets, weld repaired exhaust can be more dangerous than a douche on a road oblivious to its surrounding, driving like he owns the road.

I'm sorry to say that after dialogues with them regarding this, nothing changed

Is it not a known fact LEDs uses lesser power than the incandescent bulbs? It is also brighter and emits lesser heat. Even LTA uses LEDs for our traffic lights and the blinking lights on the front/rear of emergency vehicles. I However be ready to receive nonsense replies/excuses from them. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Loud pipes are very irritating.

Sure, it alerts sleepy drivers to the presence of the bike, but it got to be loud enough to go through the car sound proofing and semi-comatose state of most Sg drivers.

Everytime the joker who lives at my block comes back on his bike with the damn loud pipe, I hope someone will throw a bag of thrash on him. Simply inconsiderate.

What's so difficult about putting in a noise cancelling baffle?

LEDs. Most of the bikes I've came across put the tiny LEDs which you need to see hard to realise it's blinking. You see the bike move, then the LED.

Seen countless bikes with no mirrors or 1 sided mirror and those riding around in piss pots helmets which belongs to the 30s, presumably to suit the vintage bikes while coursing on the highway.

Sure, its a free world but I guess it these jokers in the bike fraternity that spoils the market for most.

Many times, we do not do ourselves a favour and whine about stuff.

True. Loud pipes is irritating but it is also true that loud pipe do get my attention when im driving.

I live near tpe and I can comfirm u those too loud pipes is waking me, my wife n my baby up.

Now days u will see more n more ppl living near the expressway.

How bout making it easier for us to buy a aftermarket exhaust system and do the inspection. As long as it meets the required db.

Coz shops are marking up the price

True. Loud pipes is irritating but it is also true that loud pipe do get my attention when im driving.

I live near tpe and I can comfirm u those too loud pipes is waking me, my wife n my baby up.

Now days u will see more n more ppl living near the expressway.

How bout making it easier for us to buy a aftermarket exhaust system and do the inspection. As long as it meets the required db.

Coz shops are marking up the price

I'll second that notion ! Haha.

Hafta agree that those EXTREMELY loud pipes sure are bothersome !

Don't see the need for a grand entrance into carparks. Having em loud pipes, the least they could do is just cruise along (low rpms) while looking for lots.

Mostly its those loud pipes from scooters, cubs, drz

They need to know the difference. There are loud but deep tone pipes which sound nice.

Most choose to mod and use pipes that loud high pitch kosong pipes.

Its not just bikes. Its also comes from cars too. Damn !!!

Leds signals. As much as I wanna agree but there are cheapo led signals which give out weak brighness.

One need to compair when its in bright day light and some distance away. Like 5 cars away.

any1 tried writing in to lta before? if didn't, let's write in. i don't mind drafting a letter. But in order to have some impact, pictures, research studies/evidences/surveys/ are necessary. who is willing to chip in?

eg. evidences that led signal lights are proven to be brighter and more visible to road users, pictures to go along with it, stock and led signal lights.

they are more focused on catching what's easy to generate revenue from us instead of catching what is really more dangerous for the road users.

I really don't see how exhaust wraps, led signal lights, pole lights, aftermarket adjustable rearsets, weld repaired exhaust can be more dangerous than a douche on a road oblivious to its surrounding, driving like he owns the road.

I wrote to them before & got crap replies so I gave up.

Me (11/06/2013): Based on the OneMotoring's LTA information & Guidelines, I understand that only Air Horns are not allowed to be fixed onto any vehicle. However I was told by the Vicom Inspection Officer that my Electromagnetic horn does not pass inspection because that it was too loud. Perhaps LTA should provide a better guideline to the public, so that we do not spend unnecessary money to get horns that is not approved.

LTA (18/06/2013): Please allow us to clarify that we do allow the fitting of after-market electric horns provided they do not give an unduly harsh, shrill, loud or alarming sound (similar to that of an air horn), or a multi-tone horn capable of producing a succession of different notes on vehicles.

In addition, such electric horns fitted on motor vehicles must bear approved markings to show that they comply with internationally recognised standards, such as those adopted in the European Union countries, Japan and the United States of America.

We hope the above clarifies. Thank you for writing in.

Me (20/06/2013): Thank you for your reply, but it did not clarify my doubt. May I ask how much decibels is considered to be unduly harsh, shrill, loud or alarming sound? What about those vehicles that is factory fitted with such horns? Why would these vehicles pass inspection? Would you be able to advise?

LTA (01/07/2013): We would like to reiterate that the LTA requires horn systems to comply with internationally recognised standards, such as those adopted in the European Union countries, Japan and the United States. These standards would encompass specifications and requirements involving shape and dimensions of horn components, sound level values, testing procedures to be observed when testing vehicle horn types, installation requirements and position of horns when fitted to a vehicle etc. With regard to your enquiry on the decibels, we wish to inform you that the allowable sound level values of these horn systems follow specifications listed in the international recognised standards mentioned above.

With regard to your enquiry on the vehicles that were factory fitted with such horns, we would like to inform you that all motor vehicles to be registered for use on the roads in Singapore are required to comply with the registration and technical requirements set out in the Road Traffic Act (RTA) and its subsidiary legislation such as the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles, Registration and Licensing) Rules, the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles, Construction and Use) Rules, the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles, Lighting) Rules etc. These vehicles have met the required internationally recognised standards and therefore, can be approved to be used on our roads.

We hope the above clarifies and thank you for writing in.

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

Me (11/06/2013): Based on the OneMotoring's LTA information & Guidelines, I understand that only Air Horns are not allowed to be fixed onto any vehicle. However I was told by the Vicom Inspection Officer that my Electromagnetic horn does not pass inspection because that it was too loud. Perhaps LTA should provide a better guideline to the public, so that we do not spend unnecessary money to get horns that is not approved.

LTA (18/06/2013): Please allow us to clarify that we do allow the fitting of after-market electric horns provided they do not give an unduly harsh, shrill, loud or alarming sound (similar to that of an air horn), or a multi-tone horn capable of producing a succession of different notes on vehicles.

In addition, such electric horns fitted on motor vehicles must bear approved markings to show that they comply with internationally recognised standards, such as those adopted in the European Union countries, Japan and the United States of America.

Me (20/06/2013): Thank you for your reply, but it did not clarify my doubt. May I ask how much decibels is considered to be unduly harsh, shrill, loud or alarming sound? What about those vehicles that is factory fitted with such horns? Why would these vehicles pass inspection? Would you be able to advise?

LTA (01/07/2013): We would like to reiterate that the LTA requires horn systems to comply with internationally recognised standards, such as those adopted in the European Union countries, Japan and the United States. These standards would encompass specifications and requirements involving shape and dimensions of horn components, sound level values, testing procedures to be observed when testing vehicle horn types, installation requirements and position of horns when fitted to a vehicle etc. With regard to your enquiry on the decibels, we wish to inform you that the allowable sound level values of these horn systems follow specifications listed in the international recognised standards mentioned above.

With regard to your enquiry on the vehicles that were factory fitted with such horns, we would like to inform you that all motor vehicles to be registered for use on the roads in Singapore are required to comply with the registration and technical requirements set out in the Road Traffic Act (RTA) and its subsidiary legislation such as the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles, Registration and Licensing) Rules, the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles, Construction and Use) Rules, the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles, Lighting) Rules etc. These vehicles have met the required internationally recognised standards and therefore, can be approved to be used on our roads.

Looks like a template reply to me. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

This is called "Beating Around the Bush".... which Govt agencies are experts at.

You ask them a specific question, expecting a specific answer. And these fucckers can only smack the pubic hair around the snatch.

basic summary of everything...

1) ALL modifications are illegal unless LTA give you permission.

2) MOST non stock items are also illegal or are going to be soon.

3) All welding even for repairs are not allowed unless you get permission.

4) what is legal in the past may be illegal now or in the future. It may be legal before, but when LTA decides to make it illegal, you have to abide, saying that when you bought the bike ( new or old ) time it is legal is no excuse. LTA is the BOSS

5) in all uncertain areas, what LTA say is illegal, it is illegal. they have the last say.

edit: oops left out 6) even if they say is legal now or give you permission now, it is NOT permanently legal, they can change their minds later.

basically, NUTS ( No U-Turn Symdrone as said by Mr. Sim Wong Woo ) applies to all matters in Sg.

EVERYTHING is ILLEGAL unless the authorities say is legal TEMPORARILY FOR NOW.

bottomline, forget changing anything, the bike is not yours anyway. you are only leasing it until the lease date expires.

No happy? too bad, who ask you to be born a Singaporean. I am one of those that didn't chose wisely in my reincarnation choice, before i was born. i know better the next time.

if you are one of those they CHOSE to be one AFTER you are born, you have even less right to blame the government. You chose to join us remember? :thumb:

Edited by bruce71

Raptor: ( quote )

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

damn sian. so i see quite a few writing in already, without success.

i just spoke to a buddy, he told me his aftermarket exhaust fail inspection, even though it was legal 2 years back. 2 years ago can pass, now fail, even when he done no modifications to it. WTF is this sh!t. told him say they didn't know the aftermarket exhaust no cat..

damn sian. so i see quite a few writing in already, without success.

i just spoke to a buddy, he told me his aftermarket exhaust fail inspection, even though it was legal 2 years back. 2 years ago can pass, now fail, even when he done no modifications to it. WTF is this sh!t. told him say they didn't know the aftermarket exhaust no cat..

This is seriously WTF ! They can use ignorance as an excuse and we can't. Then WTH for did we pay all the extras $ to get a blardy street legal system. :banghead:

I feel you bro. just had multiple failures at my inspection just now. I didn't even change a single thing to my bike since last year's inspection -.-

fkin pissed off now.....

A day without riding, is a wasted day.

I feel you bro. just had multiple failures at my inspection just now. I didn't even change a single thing to my bike since last year's inspection -.-

fkin pissed off now.....

As what bruce71 said. What was legal back then would be illegal now. :cool:

KRGT-1

maybe it would be easier to just ask shop to send for you?

it would be additional cost yes but as long as brakes working, it should pass.

I used to own a bike with HID and illegal exhaust but shop got it thru the inspection.. but that was 3 yrs ago.

:clap:
maybe it would be easier to just ask shop to send for you?

it would be additional cost yes but as long as brakes working, it should pass.

I used to own a bike with HID and illegal exhaust but shop got it thru the inspection.. but that was 3 yrs ago.

Sad to say that ain't true. Brakes too powerful also will fail. Must be stock. Improvement over stock is illegal. As many Drz riders have proven These days.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

was at vicom in the east earlier today for my car inspection.while it was being inspected,saw an old uncle had his rxk bike inspected n fail due to no sound from his horn.it cud be for safety reason but cant they just pass him n remind him to fix his horn.old man cari makan also no chance sigh...

Ride safe.Leave the race to the racers.

Well it's all part of the plan.

Make it as difficult as it humanely can be to own a private transport so people will just give up and take public transport.

:clap:
Sad to say that ain't true. Brakes too powerful also will fail. Must be stock. Improvement over stock is illegal. As many Drz riders have proven These days.

Seriously doesn't make sense. It is as good as the long hauling debate about PSB stickers. We modify the bikes to our own liking, and oftentimes the modification can make the ride better and safer (e.g. better brakes). It is not like we are intentionally harming the public in the process (with the exception of loud pipes). If this goes on we are all going to be riding cookie cutter bikes and will have a hard time identifying them in carparks lol. Seriously, why would anyone modify their bikes, if not to improve the overall performance of the bike? I mean, some mods SHOULD be banned (read: loud pipes, tiny LEDs), but I don't see a reason why other mods are banned too?

Somebody really needs to knock some sense into the authorities. Making a complete ban on all modifications is just the easy way out. These people are just getting too comfortable in their office chairs.

` ` ` ,=; ` ` ` ` ` ` `

` ` `/_____ ` ` ` ` ` `

` `()[_____\,,,,. ` ` `

` `_//\=x(_)\/ __ ` ` `

` / `\ \{}}}/ / `\ ~ ~`

`| () | \(_)=| () |~ ` ~

` \__/ ` ` ` `\__/ ` ` `

Had my inspection done, failed for pipe wrap, horn. Led lights were removed. In my opinion I think it wasnt so bad but I had to make two trips.

I saw one scrambler fail quite bad something about the throttle and a cb400 or somthing like that got checked with a torchlight. Think it depends on what bike too.

There is a lot of debate on this matter, so much it seems like flogging the dead horse.

I think certain modifications are actually beneficial, like the whole braking system, pads, discs, pumps, brake hose etc. Chains and sprockets should be allowed as well (within reason) as the rider can customize his ride to either get better pickup or better mileage.

Pipes is subjective. I myself prefer deep tones, not shrill tones. Not too loud also. I don't mind having akra or yoshi pipe etc, with silencer in. I know some people like to remove silencer, but if they keep pulling throttle in hdb neighbourhoods, i will pour water. I know they like the sound, sibeh orgasmic, but please lah, pple trying to sleep. Be more courteous a bit, msia not far away.

As teraboi said, we all want our rides to look good, and unique. If the only difference is the number plate, then we're all gonna have a hard time searching for our bike in big carparks.

Unfortunately, LTA is the law. And they seem to be very stubbornly stupid on this issue. Very rigid thinking, not dynamic enough.

The only way i see changes will be made is that we start to infiltrate their structure at high level positions, and start making decisions that make more sense.

The clamping down on modification not only hurts the vehicle owners, it hurts the motortiam business, which many are small shop owners. It also means that the market for aftermarket parts are shrinking in Singapore, and those companies will be likely to invest less in Singapore, which will then lead to less jobs, less GDP, less economic growth and opportunities. Not to mention, less knowledge on automotive parts and less creativity in designing paint schemes and stickers, since fully stock bike with sticker design can fail cos not same as registration details.

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR