Originally posted by EVOIIIGSR@Feb 23 2005, 03:11 PM

guys - guys ... dont get worked up ... i last heard its actually about the gender ...

I rode to one Shell station along upper thomson rd ... and was reminded to stand and fill up ... not wanting to cause a commotion i heed to the pump attendant advice ...

a couple of minutes later ... my wife rode in and she happily rode in to the same station and happily pump sitting down ... the pump attendant went over to her but did not insist on her to stand up ... i actually didnt hear their conversation ...

so I asked her how come she need not stand up ...

she says she told the pump attendent that guys need to stand up and pump to prevent spraying outside the small hole in the tank .... whereas girls ... they need to sit down to prevent spraying outside the tank ...

so you see ... somethings guys dont get it ...

is dat suppose to be a joke :confused:

http://img252.echo.cx/img252/5066/ppp012vm.gif

I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals. --- by Winston Churchill (1874 -1965)

Always expect the unexpected!

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

Driving on the highway is not a competition. It is a cooperation, the sharing of a limited resource. --- Matt Reed

STOC #5806

• Replies 268

Stand up and pump? No prob with me.

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Originally posted by sfowner@Feb 23 2005, 06:05 PM

Stand up and pump? No prob with me.

Good For You... :thumb:

Cos is a problem with the most of us....

At 1st i also very tulan, pay so much $ then still have to stand up and pump, somemore my bike not light, after after a few pump also used to it already, i find it ok now. the most important thing that makes me go back to shell is V-Power. Love it.:thumb:

Originally posted by speedo@Feb 23 2005, 12:04 PM

:slapforehead: Haiz... Shell advise you to stand up then you stand up lor. How much more fuel can u pump in when you make it upright? :sian: The most obvious reason to stand up is to be able to run away faster if really something happens.

It is true that the chances catching fire are low. This is just a safety precaution. I believe this will soon be the trend in all pertrol kiosk.

typical sgporean been perfectly brainwashed to take wadever bs tat comes to u though some things do not make sense at all

gd for u ! u r a happy citizen !

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg
Originally posted by ngws77@Feb 23 2005, 12:40 PM

do you guys think that it has to do with static charges or something? because i think that i have read some where that we are 'not supposed' to touch metallic parts of a car while pumping petrol also because there might be a static charge or something.

anyway, maybe i'm a very ignorant biker and do not know the advantages of pumping petrol while on my bike... because i have always pumped petrol standing up.

then cars are a whole lot of masses which hold 2-3times more petrol than bikes so the hazard is twice or 3 times more hazardous

do they implement the rule that carss passengers mus alight also?

Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@Feb 23 2005, 12:42 PM

I think its for safety..

At least when the petrol splashes and catches fire, u wun burn ur c*** off. :cheeky:

i dun think the bike will catch fire, i think it will blow

so standing or sitting actually dont make a difference

Originally posted by ah_tee@Feb 23 2005, 07:20 PM

i dun think the bike will catch fire, i think it will blow

so standing or sitting actually dont make a difference

petrol will burn, not blow...blow only when it's under high pressure...

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Originally posted by jkaiser@Feb 23 2005, 08:27 PM

petrol will burn, not blow...blow only when it's under high pressure...

20 litres at the same time in a tank wif a small opening wont blow ?

when i was young, i ignited a 5 litre can by the beach, guess wad happen ? :sweat:

Originally posted by ah_tee@Feb 23 2005, 08:48 PM

when i was young, i ignited a 5 litre can by the beach, guess wad happen ? :sweat:

won't, no air to support the combustion. An empty tank is more likely to blow than a full tank, it's a fact.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

After pumping rite, do u guys get off the bike to pay?

You still have to get off anyway unless u have speedpass.

I use the speed pass at mobil. i still get off to pump my petrol.. actually,i get off so i can bio into the fual tank to see how much i pump :cheeky:

Fact is: some like to sit, some like to stand.

Nobody should force those who like to stand to sit and pump, and nobody should force those who like to sit to stand.

I don't think this is too much to ask for.....

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by ah_tee@Feb 23 2005, 07:18 PM

then cars are a whole lot of masses which hold 2-3times more petrol than bikes so the hazard is twice or 3 times more hazardous

do they implement the rule that carss passengers mus alight also?

hmm i have not seen passengers being asked to alight... but maybe because the cabin is insulated from static charge... really not sure... just helping to figure out why this might be the case. because when i top up petrol for my car i have seen signs that tell me not to touch metallic parts of the car when pumping petrol... so maybe its something to do with metal...

but of course i am not saying that it is dangerous. its like mobile phones being used in a petrol station may spark off something right? but i am sure alot of us from answered calls before while pumping.

but if there is even 1 in 1, 000, 000 chance of it happening, shell does not want to take responsibility??? something like a disclaimer you know? if not later sue them for tort of negligence.... okay i am getting to far fetched...

and personally i dun think the reason behind this is as serious as a fire or explosion. maybe scared fall off or static charge... because of the movement of the petrol into the tank.

i maybe misinformed on this but like you know we guys shiver when we piss because of the charge? girls dun get that...

fuking bullsh!t.

boycott the mofo.

besides, mobil discount card yield better freebies.

http://www.bikez.com/bike/21626/index.jpg

let me hear you giggle like a convent girrrrllll!

Originally posted by eVa@Feb 23 2005, 11:55 PM

fuking bullsh!t.

boycott the mofo.

besides, mobil discount card yield better freebies.

Boycott sounds GOOD to me.... :goodluck:

its impossible to stand n pump a ful tank for my valk inst manz... 27 litres lehz.

no main stand.. hw to pump... really silly idea....

if really dangerous.. the person pumping the petrol is the 1st to get it??

so now.. they shld let the professional pump petrol for us??

n c hw well they can do it..

try on mine 1st... 350 kgs n upz..

some big models got main stand.. dat one bo bian.. but mine nope..

so tell them to try mine.. n c hw they feel lor..

full of sh*t manz...

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by ah_tee@Feb 23 2005, 08:48 PM

petrol will only burn and that is a fact. to cause an explosion, a detonator is required to cause a sharp shock ignition to a highly volatile liquid or solid explosive. at most liquid fuel will produce an incendiary effect at atmospheric pressure. put a lighted matchstick to C4 and it will just fizz out. u need to create this shock effect from a strong and sudden high temperature spike to cause an explosion. try laying a lighted ciggie to kerosene and it will drown out too.

anyways, when petrol burns, it is equally as dangerous

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

wow this is crap man.

just put camera on each pump if so scared ppl run away while pumping.

fire? shouldnt be a big issue isnt it? when was the last time i heard a petrol station catching fire due to bikers pumping petrol while sitting down?

maybe they trying to improve customer service, in particular the safety of their customers.

dont think i'll pump there anymore.

Sep'04 - Nov'05 (1yr, 2mths): NSR150SP (FR2577Z)

Nov'05 - Dec'06 (1yr, 1mths): GSX400R (FJ6410L)

Dec'06 - Sep'08 (1yr, 9mths): CBR929RR (FS3851U)

Sep'08 - Mar'12 (3yr, 5mths): TA200 (FV4581B)

Mar'12 - ???????????????????: GL200R (FBE5662G)

Originally posted by william_liu@Feb 23 2005, 11:19 PM

Fact is: some like to sit, some like to stand.

Nobody should force those who like to stand to sit and pump, and nobody should force those who like to sit to stand.

I don't think this is too much to ask for.....

hmmm.. rite.. n the best part is.. we r the ones payin...

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

anyways, these rules are implemented for a reason no matter how unlikely the mishap may happen. a precaution nonetheless is still better than ignorance. since it may affect our mortality and doesn't impose extra fees, i won't mind at all. never had the habit of straddling while pumping anyway :D

advice to people: before jumping on the 'we-hate-shell' bandwagon, pls sit your ass down and think rationally. most people don't even know what we are discussing about, read a few comments and started nodding heads in approval.

p.s people who can't think are excused

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

Me going to make the SWITCH soon...

1 doesn't make much difference.....

But a whole lot of people make a hell lot of difference.....

:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

"Insisting on perfect safety is for people who don't have the balls to

live in the real world."

- Mary Shafer, NASA Ames Dryden

Tell that to the stupid shell guy next time. Static my ass, this is SGP for crying out loud, relative humidity is 98% and last I check, bikes dun have air con, no dry air env to create static.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)