this counter steer thingy is easy to see... around 10-20km/h can feel already. Try when you are riding in a straight line... you turn the handlebars left the bike goes right.....

because............

THERE IS A MYSTERIOUS BIKING GOD's HAND GUIDING THE BIKE!!!!! :lol::lol::lol::lol:

that reminds me, there was this driver in the manga "initial D" project.D that is known as god hand cos he drives with only one hand on the steering wheel. not that eg6 guy, is someone much more skilled and takumi fujirawa beat him by a stoke of luck... :cheeky:

@ahcaibiker: countersteering is very useful for making small adjustments to my riding line, i find. i think its because when i push the right handlebar, my bike wants to lean to the right because i am changing the way my front wheel is acting on the road ever so slightly...and also my weight is shifted slightly to the right too.

from what i gathered, the newton 3 laws of motions are at work here. next time i gonna try doing figure 8 with one hand. seen some ssdc instructors doing it in circuit...:angel:

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

• Replies 25.1k

@ahcaibiker: low speed and deeper turns like figure 8 or gymkhana need to turn handlebar though...so be careful :) and have fun!

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
@ahcaibiker: low speed and deeper turns like figure 8 or gymkhana need to turn handlebar though...so be careful :) and have fun!

figure 8 should be okay as it's medium speed, crank course might be abit tough...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

Two things you gotta know abt drum brakes and the wet.

1. In the wet, your tyres have considerably less grip, so it locks more easily.

2. Drum brakes are less affected by wet conditions than disc brakes, as the brake shoes are internal (in the drum) and are hence isolated from the elements....

1 + 2 = easier to lock the rear in the wet.

so u mean it only applies for drum brakes? damn! i thought it was for any kind of brakes. my first bike had a rear drum brake. my current bike use a rear brake rotor but i still go easy on the rear, fearing for locking of the wheel.

anyone here practises one handed steering? as suggested by a rider friend, i tried out one handed steering while doing lane changing and cornering and the feeling is good... it feels actually easier to control and steer the bike. my rider friend says, one handed steering will teach me how to countersteer which is a very important skill to possess.

however im puzzled by the theory part of this practice...

right wrist on throttle, twist, and push grip forward away from me, bike goes right, pull in grip towards me, bike goes left... how come?

someone pls enlighten me.

be careful when you do one handed steering. on a 135cc bike, it's rather safe. good skills for those smokers who like to smoke on the road. but on a more powerful bike, a slight twist of the throttle will throw you off balance, especially with only one hand holding on to the bar. and with both hands off the bar, be careful not to fall off the bike.

anyway, counter steering is just one of the ways to negotiate a turn. some people prefer to shift their body weights left or right to corner. some prefer to countersteer instead. for me, countersteering is important when facing car drivers who don't know how to follow the line when turning from the traffic light. a quick countersteer will make your bike lean lower and away from the car that's eating into your lane.

as for the physics behind it, it's the same concept as a spinning top that will continue on spinning until it slows down and then drop dead.

anyone here practises one handed steering? as suggested by a rider friend, i tried out one handed steering while doing lane changing and cornering and the feeling is good... it feels actually easier to control and steer the bike. my rider friend says, one handed steering will teach me how to countersteer which is a very important skill to possess.

however im puzzled by the theory part of this practice...

right wrist on throttle, twist, and push grip forward away from me, bike goes right, pull in grip towards me, bike goes left... how come?

someone pls enlighten me.

i searched fr it on youtube before, but i couldn't understand a single bit about countersteering. and if talking bout physics, mind to explain in in laymen terms? i'm a physics noob since sec sch daa. hees.

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

assuming you have a smooth and straight road...when you are riding straight, the bike tracks straight as the wheels are all pointing straight. when you push on your right handlebar slightly, your wheel is turning left very slightly. when that happens, your bike wants to go left. but your bike has momentum for going straight. so your bike starts to tilt to the right. when your bike tilts to the right, you track to the right just as leaning in.

note that you are not really "turning" your handlebars...you are merely pushing the right/left side slightly. if you "turn" your bars, your bike will move in the direction of the turn...don't go fast when "turning" your bars :)

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

While driving just past 10pm tonite along ecp towards Changi airport, was overtaken by 3 cars racing, swerving at well over 120 kph between traffic... very dark, but looked like a porsche, sports bmw and prob sports merc. Sad that people like these are still showing no respect to other road users, endangering others' lives. If a bike had been in traffic, it is very conceivable they may not see him and stop in time, at the speed they were going. Where's TP when you need them?

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

so u mean it only applies for drum brakes? damn! i thought it was for any kind of brakes. my first bike had a rear drum brake. my current bike use a rear brake rotor but i still go easy on the rear, fearing for locking of the wheel.

No. U can still lock a disc-braked wheel in the wet.

Simon was wondering why his weak drum brakes could still lock a fat (and presumedly grippy) tyre. I simply broke down the mechanics somewhat.

Drum brakes may not give you the same braking power as disc brakes, but when you factor in the wet, why not?

ytd while driving.... coming out of carpark this [lady] driver stop in the middle of the road... talk to her friend who is at the side of the road.. Nvm....

So i tap tap horn, use hand and gesture her to move to the side and talk.... Still never move.. nvm.

Tap tap horn again and wave to her to move to the side i want to get past damnit!!!

and then................ horror of horrors, the two white lights at the tail came out..... wa are you serious??? Nvm.... maybe wrong gear....

AND THEN SHE STARTED REVERSING INTO MY FRONT!!! NI N@ B8H!!!! Rapid fire tap horn and hand gesture wildly already window all roll down prepare to scold people already!!!!

And then the car stopped violently... rocking back and forth after stopping.... jam brake somemore..... and then after that heard accelerator rev harshly and the car shot in front to the side followed by another jam brake.....

As i drove pass i muttered to myself.... jialat la you!!!!.........

One thing i don't understand..... why must they always engage reverse... saw it at traffic junctions happily stop and engage reverse.... saw it on the road..... reverse happily against flow of traffic..... and now in the carpark..... got car there still reverse...... what the hell!!!!!

What does the R on the gear shifter mean to lady drivers? That it is the "Right" gear to use for all situations??

last night... karang guni man pushed his trolley out to my path... blardy hell...

he was going along the road and just push onto the lane.. may be to cross the road ? but never check back ? or never see me ??

when i press horn, he jump back to pavement and left the trolley in the middle of the road.. ah pek.. crazy ah...

lucky that it was just after traffic light and my speed was below 40kph.. and able to swerve off the trolley..

ytd while driving.... coming out of carpark this [lady] driver stop in the middle of the road... talk to her friend who is at the side of the road.. Nvm....

So i tap tap horn, use hand and gesture her to move to the side and talk.... Still never move.. nvm.

Tap tap horn again and wave to her to move to the side i want to get past damnit!!!

and then................ horror of horrors, the two white lights at the tail came out..... wa are you serious??? Nvm.... maybe wrong gear....

AND THEN SHE STARTED REVERSING INTO MY FRONT!!! NI N@ B8H!!!! Rapid fire tap horn and hand gesture wildly already window all roll down prepare to scold people already!!!!

And then the car stopped violently... rocking back and forth after stopping.... jam brake somemore..... and then after that heard accelerator rev harshly and the car shot in front to the side followed by another jam brake.....

As i drove pass i muttered to myself.... jialat la you!!!!.........

One thing i don't understand..... why must they always engage reverse... saw it at traffic junctions happily stop and engage reverse.... saw it on the road..... reverse happily against flow of traffic..... and now in the carpark..... got car there still reverse...... what the hell!!!!!

What does the R on the gear shifter mean to lady drivers? That it is the "Right" gear to use for all situations??

4 wheels are the king on the road, they can stop anyway they like when no TP around. If you happen to live near by some school, you will see near after school hour, car will even part next to the traffic light junction. Anyway, that's only for about 1/2 hour so even TP come in, they just move another round and back to the same spot.

"R" on auto gear car has different meaning.?? Guess she must in an automatic car.

R for Right hand drive, steering wheel on left side of car, for people who want to act ang moh, cannot adapt to local style after staying out for too long. :cheeky:

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

today while riding into KPE..

tis idiot big bike rider FY 1353 * check blind spot din check mirror..

his blindspot also anyhow..

turn to see right side nia..

but still cnt see mi..

bloody hell luh..

i brake & let him go lo..

i was just at left behind his wheel nia..

~!@#$%^&*()

KNN chase him in KPE also cnt chase tio..

basket !!!

Class2B - 11 Dec 08

Past - Honda Wave 125S

Current - Kawasaki KRR 150

Class3 - 26/09/09

Current - Lancer GLX 1.6

One Life, Treasure It

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x70/nengwei/R6-1.jpg

Future - YZF R6

same old crap as usual, taxi swerved into my lane, his side mirror just ~10cm away from my headlight. fortunately i pre-empt his chiu cheng maneuver and horn him back to reality.. pucking twit... don't even apologise, just sit there with a poker face... t(-_-t)

Edited by DM

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

2nd that! most drivers in this tiny dot sucks big time!

today while riding, otw home from work around 8.40pm...

saw this toyota class 3 lorry flip to it's left on the middle lane of a 3 lane road, the back was fully filled with garang guni stuff... i guess the weight was too much for the lorry to bear so it literally flipped... so lucky, i wasnt at the lorry's left side when it happened or i'll be utterly crushed under the debris... :sian:

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

Today while riding back from Tan Tock Seng after therapy, got one taxi driver, very the don't now what to say.

He changed lane to from left to middle lane already, then signal still on, I was going on the right lane, my lane very clear, so I was thinking "This guy will turn out or not? Hmmm... better keep an eye on this guy. Good. The taxi stopped already, still quite far. Maintain the throttle, hold steady.... taxi still not moving. :) I was about 100m, nope still not moving. 50m still stationary."

(time lapse while I was tinking this was about 3 whole seconds or more)

Then when I was about 1 bus lenght away, SUDDENLY! He come out! WTF?!?!? :eek:

Kann Chiong! No time to even horn!

Just brake! And hope don't crash!!!! When braking, I still remember "Rear brake not too hard, otherwise skid sideways." Managed to stop just 1/2 bike lenght away from his bumper.

The police car that let him cut into the middle lane see already also shake head. I shake my head even more..... Damn close.... :sian:

Just a reminder, remember to check your blind spot. Today got 2 incidents where checking my blind spot saved my life. Twice I want to change lane, signalled, check mirror, nothing on the right, :) so I edged abit closer to the dotted line, then automatically my body like reflex action like that, automatically check blind spot.... then.... Vrooom! A Toyota Camery zoom past my visor! Wow! Imagine if I didn't check my blind spot.... Guess my time wasn't up!

Another time was when changing lane to the left, check blind, got 1 motorcycle stalking me! :D

So slowed down let him pass, then I cut lane. :angel:

Another time was when changing lane to the left, check blind, got 1 motorcycle stalking me! :D

motorcycle stalking you? if the biker's a lady on a phantom, i wonder what you'll do. :angel:

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

motorcycle stalking you? if the biker's a lady on a phantom, i wonder what you'll do. :angel:

He'll take note whether she got check blindspot lah, got signal or not, got soft lane change or not.. etc :angel:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

No. U can still lock a disc-braked wheel in the wet.

Simon was wondering why his weak drum brakes could still lock a fat (and presumedly grippy) tyre. I simply broke down the mechanics somewhat.

Drum brakes may not give you the same braking power as disc brakes, but when you factor in the wet, why not?

that's what i thought too. lost in translation perhaps. :cheeky:

i think he'll stalk her back! :angel:

Today while riding back from Tan Tock Seng after therapy, got one taxi driver, very the don't now what to say.

He changed lane to from left to middle lane already, then signal still on, I was going on the right lane, my lane very clear, so I was thinking "This guy will turn out or not? Hmmm... better keep an eye on this guy. Good. The taxi stopped already, still quite far. Maintain the throttle, hold steady.... taxi still not moving. :) I was about 100m, nope still not moving. 50m still stationary."

Just brake! And hope don't crash!!!! When braking, I still remember "Rear brake not too hard, otherwise skid sideways." Managed to stop just 1/2 bike lenght away from his bumper.

The police car that let him cut into the middle lane see already also shake head. I shake my head even more..... Damn close.... :sian:

Just a reminder, remember to check your blind spot. Today got 2 incidents where checking my blind spot saved my life. Twice I want to change lane, signalled, check mirror, nothing on the right, :) so I edged abit closer to the dotted line, then automatically my body like reflex action like that, automatically check blind spot.... then.... Vrooom! A Toyota Camery zoom past my visor! Wow! Imagine if I didn't check my blind spot.... Guess my time wasn't up!

GOSH! i was in a similar kind of situation like you just now. i was approaching the traffic light, green in my favour. i slowed down cos i saw cars on the opposite lane wanting to turn right. true enough, the first car start to turn right when i was just 20m away from him. that one i don't care la but i expected the car behind him to check for traffic first.

BUT THE 2ND CAR ALSO STARTED TO FOLLOW HIM AND TURN RIGHT WHEN I WAS JUST LESS THAN 10 METRES AWAY FROM HIM!! bloody hell! no time to horn as i jam braked. not too hard on the rear also cos I just changed my rear tyre, still a bit slippery. i just pray that he'll brake in time and luckily enough, he stopped in the middle of my path and and give me enough space to slalom past him front bumper. as i passed by him ever so slowly, i stared at him while he gesticulated wildly at me.

WTF! never give way to me, still want to KPKB. lucky him i didn't knock onto his car purposely when he stopped right in the middle of my path! instead, i had to slalom past his car and slided my bike a bit in the process. if i had fallen instead, i would be damn sure to fcuk him upside down! the bike and the car on the perpendicular road just enjoy the show quietly. come to think of it, i slalomed so far that i almost hit the rider on the other side of the road.

today is really not my day! rode to school today. but as i turned into the little hill up along Jln Bahar, POP! i thought it was just a backfire as i had to brake before turning left. as i accelerated away, i was wondering why the bike feels very slippery. as i made a right turn, it was hard to bank right. i was already late for lecture so don't care, i just accelerated away. then again! my bike feels slippery on the road. i looked down. my front tyre seemed okay! look behind! FCUK! rear tyre was flat! blardy hell!

rode slowly at the carpark. was contemplating to park inside or outside of carpark. parked on the pavement and checked what's wrong with the bike. turned out a nail (or smth like that) has pierced through the tyre and the tube. decided to just park inside the carpark and 2 pretty malay gals who just came out from a car had to stare at me riding my flat-tyred bike ever so slowly inside the carpark when a red fino had to be the one overtaking me and the female rider also happens to be their friend. WHAT HUMILIATION!!

that one nvm. called the mechanic. 8.30am was too early. no one pick up. at 9.30am called again. this time pick up already. and he gave the number to call the tow truck and i immediately called. 11am called the tow truck guy,enquiring him where he was. still on the way. 12pm, he called me asking why i padlock my wheels. and i wondered why am i so stupid to padlock it when i wanted the tow truck to tow it back. and the timing so zhun that I had just arrived at Jurong Point, taking my brunch with my friend, whereby we took the bus, and the bus journey was 20 mins or so. and the tow truck guy asked me to come back to open the lock. i just told him to break it instead. i can't bear to take the bus back any more.

even after a long brunch at 1.30pm, i called my mechanic, instructing him to change the rear tyre as well since the rear tyre was already flat at the centre. he told me the tow truck guy was STILL ON THE WAY!! i asked him if he can get it readied by 3pm and he said CAN! power la! so, i took the train and reached the bikeshop at 3pm!! almost 1.5 hour just on public transport! train to eunos and then switched to another bus to reach kaki bukit!

luckily, when i was on the bus, the mech called me telling my bike was ready. power la! i reached bikeshop, paid him $220 and took out my bike almost immediately to go back to school. on the first turn out from the traffic light, bloody hell i skidded on my rear tyre. i forgot new tyres cannot have too much torque when turning! scared the bloody hell out of me. from eunos, i went back to school and was late 10 mins for my 3.30pm class.

later on in the afternoon, rode the other bike and went for dinner. as i was slowing down to the red traffic light, the car BESIDE tried to be funny and cut into my lane, wanting to be first in front. gave him a long horn and he stayed back in his lane. after that, my luck was not getting any better. wanted to park at the parking lots near the restaurant but 2 clever cars parked illegally such that i cannot rode up the small ramp for the bike lots. left me with no choice but to find the shortest side pavement and just whack the bike up just to park at the bike lots.

after dinner, as i turned out from the carpark, i was approaching a T-junction with no traffic lights and the 2 cars infront me were turning left so i overtook them to continue straight when i got the shock of my life. there was a guy on an RXZ who was cornering fast and damn low from the left lane into my path and almost knocking into my sides. i had to swerve damn far right just to let him finish his knee-down cornering and to be sure that he won't knock into me should he chickened out halfway during his knee-down cornering.

today is really an unlucky day for me!

Edited by firefox87
i was thinking more of R for retarded... :cheeky:

:thumb: :lol:

toyota class 3 lorry flip to it's left on the middle lane of a 3 lane road, the back was fully filled with garang guni stuff... i guess the weight was too much for the lorry to bear so it literally flipped... so lucky, i wasnt at the lorry's left side when it happened or i'll be utterly crushed under the debris... :sian:

lots of such dangerous vehicles on the road, i always try to siam them coz the lorry never up lorry, the debris also can fly all over the place... :faint:

HENG u neber kenna cab arh, else i think u may kenna "Rider riding recklessly" instead. make sense what. :faint:

and bro, we are supposed to start to change lane AFTER checking blind spot. :cheeky::cheeky: i realised my blindspot checking also combined with my start of lane change liaoz.. :faint::lol:

i was approaching the traffic light, green in my favour. i slowed down cos i saw cars on the opposite lane wanting to turn right. true enough, the first car start to turn right when i was just 20m away from him. that one i don't care la but i expected the car behind him to check for traffic first.

BUT THE 2ND CAR ALSO STARTED TO FOLLOW HIM AND TURN RIGHT WHEN I WAS JUST LESS THAN 10 METRES AWAY FROM HIM!! bloody hell! no time to horn as i jam braked. not too hard on the rear also cos I just changed my rear tyre, still a bit slippery. i just pray that he'll brake in time and luckily enough, he stopped in the middle of my path and and give me enough space to slalom past him front bumper. as i passed by him ever so slowly, i stared at him while he gesticulated wildly at me.

WTF! never give way to me, still want to KPKB. lucky him i didn't knock onto his car purposely when he stopped right in the middle of my path! instead, i had to slalom past his car and slided my bike a bit in the process. if i had fallen instead, i would be damn sure to fcuk him upside down! the bike and the car on the perpendicular road just enjoy the show quietly. come to think of it, i slalomed so far that i almost hit the rider on the other side of the road.

today is really not my day! rode to school today. but as i turned into the little hill up along Jln Bahar, POP! i thought it was just a backfire as i had to brake before turning left. as i accelerated away, i was wondering why the bike feels very slippery. as i made a right turn, it was hard to bank right. i was already late for lecture so don't care, i just accelerated away. then again! my bike feels slippery on the road. i looked down. my front tyre seemed okay! look behind! FCUK! rear tyre was flat! blardy hell!

rode slowly at the carpark. was contemplating to park inside or outside of carpark. parked on the pavement and checked what's wrong with the bike. turned out a nail (or smth like that) has pierced through the tyre and the tube. decided to just park inside the carpark and 2 pretty malay gals who just came out from a car had to stare at me riding my flat-tyred bike ever so slowly inside the carpark when a red fino had to be the one overtaking me and the female rider also happens to be their friend. WHAT HUMILIATION!!

that one nvm. called the mechanic. 8.30am was too early. no one pick up. at 9.30am called again. this time pick up already. and he gave the number to call the tow truck and i immediately called. 11am called the tow truck guy,enquiring him where he was. still on the way. 12pm, he called me asking why i padlock my wheels. and i wondered why am i so stupid to padlock it when i wanted the tow truck to tow it back. and the timing so zhun that I had just arrived at Jurong Point, taking my brunch with my friend, whereby we took the bus, and the bus journey was 20 mins or so. and the tow truck guy asked me to come back to open the lock. i just told him to break it instead. i can't bear to take the bus back any more.

even after a long brunch at 1.30pm, i called my mechanic, instructing him to change the rear tyre as well since the rear tyre was already flat at the centre. he told me the tow truck guy was STILL ON THE WAY!! i asked him if he can get it readied by 3pm and he said CAN! power la! so, i took the train and reached the bikeshop at 3pm!! almost 1.5 hour just on public transport! train to eunos and then switched to another bus to reach kaki bukit!

luckily, when i was on the bus, the mech called me telling my bike was ready. power la! i reached bikeshop, paid him $220 and took out my bike almost immediately to go back to school. on the first turn out from the traffic light, bloody hell i skidded on my rear tyre. i forgot new tyres cannot have too much torque when turning! scared the bloody hell out of me. from eunos, i went back to school and was late 10 mins for my 3.30pm class.

later on in the afternoon, rode the other bike and went for dinner. as i was slowing down to the red traffic light, the car BESIDE tried to be funny and cut into my lane, wanting to be first in front. gave him a long horn and he stayed back in his lane. after that, my luck was not getting any better. wanted to park at the parking lots near the restaurant but 2 clever cars parked illegally such that i cannot rode up the small ramp for the bike lots. left me with no choice but to find the shortest side pavement and just whack the bike up just to park at the bike lots.

after dinner, as i turned out from the carpark, i was approaching a T-junction with no traffic lights and the 2 cars infront me were turning left so i overtook them to continue straight when i got the shock of my life. there was a guy on an RXZ who was cornering fast and damn low from the left lane into my path and almost knocking into my sides. i had to swerve damn far right just to let him finish his knee-down cornering and to be sure that he won't knock into me should he chickened out halfway during his knee-down cornering.

today is really an unlucky day for me!

bro, first up, why neber ask the fino gal if she noes of any towing services? den can ask her out to thank her ma! :lol:

ok jokes aside - i learnt from a fren long time ago to horn at x-junctions, regardless of near or far, fast or slow. so long u think dez a blind spot/ gundusamy driver, HORN! that's to remind them to hear u, if they haben see u. or u might flash high beam, or combine both.

and seriously, i think u shd be glad u went through all that unscathed! :smile: