Malaysian kup rider? There was once I was following an noisy kup lane splitting slowly too. Then the car of the left decided to cut across the lanes through us, he siam, I honked my extra loud horn to warn the car. The Kup rider thought I honk him and stared at me. Lol.

Kup with Sgp plate, but I highly suspect he's from up north from his behaviour.

My colleague from the north owns a Sgp registered plate.

• Replies 25.1k

Some lane-splitters who are road hogging, can't be bothered if they are road hogging.

A few months back, I was land-splitting though a slow moving traffic and as usual, there's a road hogger.

I gave a gentle beep to bring awareness to the hogger. He looked at his side mirror, saw me, but dismissed it. Many opportunities presented to him to give way and let me pass, but he didn't.

I beeped a few more times. Still, many opportunities presented to him to give way and let me pass, but he didn't.

Finally, after following him behind for some time I took the next chance to pass him.

Sure enough, there was a wide-enough gap and I took the chance.

Immediately after I overtake him (safely), he sped up on his kup, like a racer!

He gave chase and and tried to overtake me through the gap at the side.

At this time, I had already caught up to the next chain of bikes.

My front tire was in-line with the rear bumper of the car close to me.

Even with just about 30cm small gap (from my front tire to the car's rear bumper), he cut right in front of me!

Immediately I brake to save my own skin. Had my reactions been a millisecond too slow, something bad is going to happen.

What is wrong with him? He had many chances to go to one side, into the gap to give way to me, but no.

He had to squeeze into the gap to overtake me, after I overtake him.

What a dangerous maneuver! Too bad, my bike wasn't equipped with a camera then.

Honestly, I hate ppl who repeatedly honk/rev at the riders in front when both are lanesplitting.

I don't horn repeatedly. Just a beep. A very short beep.

Pardon me, if I didn't make myself clear. :cheeky:

When I say

I beeped a few more times.

I meant a single beep, at a few intervals.

I, myself detest people honking impatiently at the rider or driver.

if you hate getting honked at or rev-ed at, give way la. :sian:

Malaysian kup rider? There was once I was following an noisy kup lane splitting slowly too. Then the car of the left decided to cut across the lanes through us, he siam, I honked my extra loud horn to warn the car. The Kup rider thought I honk him and stared at me. Lol.

i think Msia kup riders got alot of patterns to show.

I was lane spliting and the kup behind was tailgating me so i move to the right to give way, kup rider decides to take his own sweet time to overtake.

another incident was while lane spliting during super heavy traffic whereby all the lanes were jam/super slow moving due to an accident infront, kup behind kept tailgating. everytime i encounter vehicles closing the gap with not enough space to lanesplit, i brake and i can hear the braking sound from the kup. they simply dun understand that this kind of traffic tailgate me also no use, i wanna give way also cannot. i need bigger space for my bike to pass and vehicles closing the gap is beyond my control mah

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

I was lane spliting and the kup behind was tailgating me so i move to the right to give way, kup rider decides to take his own sweet time to overtake.

another incident was while lane spliting during super heavy traffic whereby all the lanes were jam/super slow moving due to an accident infront, kup behind kept tailgating. everytime i encounter vehicles closing the gap with not enough space to lanesplit, i brake and i can hear the braking sound from the kup. they simply dun understand that this kind of traffic tailgate me also no use, i wanna give way also cannot. i need bigger space for my bike to pass and vehicles closing the gap is beyond my control mah

One possibility that they took their own sweet time to overtake you is that they were checking you out. You female rider right? :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

They take own sweet time becoz they hocked tat got sg plate bike give way. Anyway i understand ur pain of difficulty in LS and great tt u do try to give way. I only give way when it is at least slow cruising speed and e road ahead is wat i did more dangerous or risky and i choose not to LS, in this case i will just move to center or right side of lane 1.

If those crawling type of slow traffic how to give way? and during slow traffic, often we c something similar to "rubber band" effect, where cars will move and ve to stop, move an stop. If u look from bird's eye, it would seem like a rubber stretch then contract. This situation is also in my opinion high risk to give way or overtake during LS. Like someone mention before, if a bike try to use e empty space tat appears to overtake e front bike, if e car tat move off ve to stop, e bike tt trying to overtake and accelerate, may not be able to brake in time. To overtake in this situation will require hard acceleration which is very risky in this tight space.

I don't usually give face to M'sia kup.

They like to cut in front of you, right? So I assume that they can get as good as they give.

U be surprise that

Everyday i happen to come across road hoggers to work to tuas. There will be like 4 bikes behind waiting.

To make matter worst

Harly davidson are among those who likes to hog.

They're living up to their namesake. ;)

if you hate getting honked at or rev-ed at, give way la. :sian:

Maybe he means those that immediately honk like crazy, never give a small beep or whatever first. I got encounter while cycling, on extreme left of empty road, slow taxi behind more 100m away, honk like crazy at me, wth?! Some people got no control when use horn, cannot maintain.

Every morning on my way to work at Tuas, I never fail to give way to bikers when lane splitting. Because I pillion my GF to work, I will lane split at a slower speed. There was this day, I gave way to 6 bikers & all 6 of them wave at me as a gesture of "Thanks". Somedays, I don't get any "Thanks" at all.

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

Every morning on my way to work at Tuas, I never fail to give way to bikers when lane splitting. Because I pillion my GF to work, I will lane split at a slower speed. There was this day, I gave way to 6 bikers & all 6 of them wave at me as a gesture of "Thanks". Somedays, I don't get any "Thanks" at all.

Those who don't thank deserve a honk from u. Plus. Maybe the first of the six bikers waved first then the rest just obliged lo. Good road courtesy anyway.

Thank goodness for riders like u man

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

usually if i were to give way, i will just slip back into the middle of first lane, and give a go-ahead wave to let them know i'm holding my line in first lane for you to pass.

and always i get a wave of thanks in return. :)

bikers are generally friendly in such cases, from what i've met.. but of course there are the black sheeps whom hog and hog while LS.. :sian:

They like to cut in front of you, right? So I assume that they can get as good as they give.

some sg bikes also like to do stupid or reckless stunts which cause some drivers thinking tat all riders r like tt. Thus would u like it if other drivers were to do to u "something" just becoz some reckless riders do to them "something"?

I may ve misunderstand but ur comment seems to be treating all MY kups as e same when i do hear of good stories about them. And naturally on e road i hope tat other road users like me also c positive examples rather than all negative examples. :) do hope u wont really purposely go and cut MY kups just becoz u c some MY kups cut others dangerously. Not all r like tat, same as not all drivers r f up and thus we should not make enemies out of all MY kups or drivers just becoz of some bad eggs. Im also a driver and dun wish to ve some riders try to "bully" me becoz of bad eggs drivers. Likewise when i ride, i also dun wish tat other road users will bully me becoz of bad eggs sg riders!! :/

usually if i were to give way, i will just slip back into the middle of first lane, and give a go-ahead wave to let them know i'm holding my line in first lane for you to pass.

and always i get a wave of thanks in return. :)

bikers are generally friendly in such cases, from what i've met.. but of course there are the black sheeps whom hog and hog while LS.. :sian:

For me i do e same except tat i use my signal light to show tat I'm going to keep right, i keep e signal light on while im giving way. Becoz i feel safer to keep both hands on handlebar as a form of focus. In e past i tried using hand wave but feel less focus. :)

One possibility that they took their own sweet time to overtake you is that they were checking you out. You female rider right? :cool:

yes, i'm a female rider. but maybe they were checking me out to see if i completely gave way to them and whether it's safe for them to overtake me

They take own sweet time becoz they hocked tat got sg plate bike give way. Anyway i understand ur pain of difficulty in LS and great tt u do try to give way. I only give way when it is at least slow cruising speed and e road ahead is wat i did more dangerous or risky and i choose not to LS, in this case i will just move to center or right side of lane 1.

If those crawling type of slow traffic how to give way? and during slow traffic, often we c something similar to "rubber band" effect, where cars will move and ve to stop, move an stop. If u look from bird's eye, it would seem like a rubber stretch then contract. This situation is also in my opinion high risk to give way or overtake during LS. Like someone mention before, if a bike try to use e empty space tat appears to overtake e front bike, if e car tat move off ve to stop, e bike tt trying to overtake and accelerate, may not be able to brake in time. To overtake in this situation will require hard acceleration which is very risky in this tight space.

sometimes these msia kups and a minority of our local riders are putting the rest of the riders at risk with their overtaking maneuvers during lane splitting

yup. sometimes when there isnt ample space to safely move aside, these msia kups cant wait for u to do that and just squeeze in between just to overtake.

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

Just nice a while back we discussed about bicycles and I get to record a bicycle that in my opinion did a dangerous act. This is just my opinion.

Agreed. That is dangerous. Not to stereotype but usually will see that done by those considered 'mature' cyclists. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

For me i do e same except tat i use my signal light to show tat I'm going to keep right, i keep e signal light on while im giving way. Becoz i feel safer to keep both hands on handlebar as a form of focus. In e past i tried using hand wave but feel less focus. :)

some might not understand that your signalling right is to give way to them.

but whatever suits you most comfortable, so long the intention is the same. :)

Hi guys, share with u guys, today early afternoon before e rain come, i was at the expressway riding speed limit around 90km/hrs toward amk ave 1 CTE.. There is a car-lancer red-who makan mine lane nrm i slow down give way to him wat he did is to point his wonderful middle finger at me wth.. make me piss off is the driver is BOTAK summore is chinese age around 35++ throw SINGAPORE ah GONG face omg. He drive reckless change lane without sigal n tailgate ppl ass.. sure one day his kama will come..if i know his car no. Plate i gurantee chop make this issue big to the repulic of singapore...

some sg bikes also like to do stupid or reckless stunts which cause some drivers thinking tat all riders r like tt. Thus would u like it if other drivers were to do to u "something" just becoz some reckless riders do to them "something"?

I may ve misunderstand but ur comment seems to be treating all MY kups as e same when i do hear of good stories about them. And naturally on e road i hope tat other road users like me also c positive examples rather than all negative examples. :) do hope u wont really purposely go and cut MY kups just becoz u c some MY kups cut others dangerously. Not all r like tat, same as not all drivers r f up and thus we should not make enemies out of all MY kups or drivers just becoz of some bad eggs. Im also a driver and dun wish to ve some riders try to "bully" me becoz of bad eggs drivers. Likewise when i ride, i also dun wish tat other road users will bully me becoz of bad eggs sg riders!! :/

The only reason why some riders ride like that is because of idiot drivers.

Haha, I will always try to wave thanks whenever I can when the bike in front gives way during LS.

When the rider keeps left for me to pass, I use my left hand to wave so no problem.

But if they filter right for me to pass, I cannot wave because I use left hand wave they cannot see.. use right hand then cannot throttle to accelerate. :p