yesterday while riding.

stopped at junction due to red light. from my perpendicular direction, light turned green and a gilera rider rode past my front and made a turn. right hand on throttle.... and left hand grasping an iphone plugged to earphones trailing into his helmet.

i already dun think its a good idea to listen to earphones while riding, but i can grudgingly admit in theory doing so is not any more dangerous than in a car windows up radio on.

but with the iphone in your left hand and controlling/steering your gilera with only your right hand, you clearly have intention to control the iphone while on the move. it is dangerous enough pulling such stunts when you're driving a car, but you're doing it while piloting a bike?!

2 questions for you, rider:

1) ride bike without using iphone will die meh?

2) ride bike and use iphone can die or not?

Gilera auto, its easy enuff, try smsing on a manual bike..oops.

• Replies 25.1k

Gilera auto, its easy enuff, try smsing on a manual bike..oops.

i know the gilera is auto and thats why technically he can pilot the bike with only the right handlebar, but if you call that 'easy' then go ahead and do lor. i oso can technically pilot my auto car without using my left hand, no need to worry about balance some more, but doing so while the left hand is operating an iphone, i do not consider it easy nor safe nor smart.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Saw this from the facebook group, Bad Drivers' Hall of SHAME.

Hardcore road rage. -.-

Those bikers were pretty skillful to have survived it.

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)

not bad after what the driver did , i am suprise they never drag him up wallaop him to a pulp and smash his car

was a female driver if i am not wrong.

@duo. I can understand sometimes short trips we just wish to relax. But e other day when i took a short trip an used my open face helmet instead. Felt so exposed. I think ride bike we ve to be very discipline. :/

@bfg. Not sure wats e spd but on e expressway quite a few time lane 2 very open. If just change lane then no need worry about tail gate. Of coz small road nothing to say. In front got car wat e driver expect?

Also curious wat cam u using. How come can turn front and back? Though e view of back not very good. Maybe angle wrong ba.

bfg1981, why didn't you keep left and let him pass on the expressway?

And what camera you using?

How come can flip over to video the back one?

the road shown in the video is not part of the expressway, it is the flyover near khaki bukit (not sure what it is called though).

i believed he could have avoid being tailgated by giving way to the car behind since there was a stretch where lane 2 was clear. then again, some people would say that since lane 2 was clear, the car could have overtake the bike instead of tailgating. well, it ends up being the "chicken 1st of egg 1st" debate.

@wait4me will be very clear with regards to this theory :lol: :lol: :lol:

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

The flyover is call Bartley Road East Viaduct.

I'm using this http://www.tachyoninc.com/microhd.php, able to record at own discretion, easily on/off with 1 button. Velcro-ed to left side of helmet. Riding a scooter, left hand quite free. Unfortunately, side of helmet are slanted. Thats why the whole image was not horizontal. Speed limit was 70 and we were traveling 120 already. I had went 150 to get away from the driver but slow down cos its way above the speed limit. Driver caught up with me and continue tailgate. Thats when I started recording.

Video also shows the reflection from the left side mirror. Very clearly, the driver got the intention to tailgate.

the road shown in the video is not part of the expressway, it is the flyover near khaki bukit (not sure what it is called though).

i believed he could have avoid being tailgated by giving way to the car behind since there was a stretch where lane 2 was clear. then again, some people would say that since lane 2 was clear, the car could have overtake the bike instead of tailgating. well, it ends up being the "chicken 1st of egg 1st" debate.

Was traveling along upper serangoon road from Kovan towards Paya Lebar road to work on lane 3 just now, and a cyclist decided to suddenly cut from the extreme left lane (4 lanes) to Lane 2 to access the serangoon viaduct right in front on me and forced me to jam brake. That numbskull was lucky I was riding a bike and able to evade him, was it not me and a car he would have been rear ended...

and there are people pressing for bicycle lanes with these kinds of dangerous cyclists around??? think some more before talking please.......

Signature editted as unauthorised commercial advertising. Please contact Senior Moderator/Admin for more advertising details

I'm using this http://www.tachyoninc.com/microhd.php, able to record at own discretion, easily on/off with 1 button. Velcro-ed to left side of helmet. Riding a scooter, left hand quite free. Unfortunately, side of helmet are slanted. Thats why the whole image was not horizontal. Speed limit was 70 and we were traveling 120 already. I had went 150 to get away from the driver but slow down cos its way above the speed limit. Driver caught up with me and continue tailgate. Thats when I started recording.

Video also shows the reflection from the left side mirror. Very clearly, the driver got the intention to tailgate.

If u change lane then no need to speed liao. :) for ur own safety too. ^^ but glad no harm came out of it.

Think most of e time as a rider, we r ahead of e traffic easily. If a car is catching up, could be just due to rushing due to some reasons. If got free space on lane 2 can just give way. then can happily travel watever spd u wan. ^^ no need to be upset by "stupid" road users who wan to tailgate. If he follow u on lane 2 then different story liao.

Then again e same could be said for e car. Y didnt e car just change to lane 2 and overtake? Well neither rider or driver change to lane 2 thus we wont ever noe.

Ps: e interesting thing about ur camera is tat can flip to front or back. How does ur mounting look like? Hope can share a pic.

If u change lane then no need to speed liao. :) for ur own safety too. ^^ but glad no harm came out of it.

Think most of e time as a rider, we r ahead of e traffic easily. If a car is catching up, could be just due to rushing due to some reasons. If got free space on lane 2 can just give way. then can happily travel watever spd u wan. ^^ no need to be upset by "stupid" road users who wan to tailgate. If he follow u on lane 2 then different story liao.

Then again e same could be said for e car. Y didnt e car just change to lane 2 and overtake? Well neither rider or driver change to lane 2 thus we wont ever noe.

yeah lor, i agree. rather than put yourself in constant danger with a car smelling your ass at 100 plus kph. might as well save yourself the agony and change lane when clear and let the driver rush to hell or wherever. Must always remember that we as bikers, always on the losing end, even if we are right. must do what we can to stay safe.

That is the very place people like to speed. I have spotted TP a couple of times there. At the tiny shoulder on the most left. :cool:

Was traveling along upper serangoon road from Kovan towards Paya Lebar road to work on lane 3 just now, and a cyclist decided to suddenly cut from the extreme left lane (4 lanes) to Lane 2 to access the serangoon viaduct right in front on me and forced me to jam brake. That numbskull was lucky I was riding a bike and able to evade him, was it not me and a car he would have been rear ended...

and there are people pressing for bicycle lanes with these kinds of dangerous cyclists around??? think some more before talking please.......

I am an avid cyclist. But am not pressing for bicycle lanes as I have seen these type of cyclist when I cycle or ride my motorbike. I gained experience from both. Vehicles tend to just speed when there is a zebra crossing not giving care to whoever is about to cross. I have also seen a long trailer making a U-turn by going over the road divider as the driver was very lazy to drive all the way to the end to U-turn.

When I spot cyclists especially at Changi coast or Loyang I always have my thumb ready on the horn and my right fingers on the brakes. Seen a group of them signalled by waving their hand to make a right turn but sadly they only waved and did not even check and just turn assuming they have right of way as would most drivers. Maybe because most of these cyclists are drivers. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

yeah la , this theory .. si bei sian ..

make ppl Inconvenience at their own convenience

cause very sian , i need to check blind spot , then signal , then overtake then check blind spot again and signal and cut back in , and maybe after doing that , one minute down the road , got another road hogger slow me down , this time no lane 2 , then the biker will laugh at me and overtake me again , so i follow him loh

That is the very place people like to speed. I have spotted TP a couple of times there. At the tiny shoulder on the most left. :cool:

I am an avid cyclist. But am not pressing for bicycle lanes as I have seen these type of cyclist when I cycle or ride my motorbike. I gained experience from both. Vehicles tend to just speed when there is a zebra crossing not giving care to whoever is about to cross. I have also seen a long trailer making a U-turn by going over the road divider as the driver was very lazy to drive all the way to the end to U-turn.

When I spot cyclists especially at Changi coast or Loyang I always have my thumb ready on the horn and my right fingers on the brakes. Seen a group of them signalled by waving their hand to make a right turn but sadly they only waved and did not even check and just turn assuming they have right of way as would most drivers. Maybe because most of these cyclists are drivers. :cool:

Ps: e interesting thing about ur camera is tat can flip to front or back. How does ur mounting look like? Hope can share a pic.

Had the cam hand-held with left hand while shooting behind.

Mounting via velcro which was supplied when bought cam.

So car comes up behind you, and lane 2 is clear... so you speed up, he speed up, and rinse and repeat. And he's in the wrong?

You could have moved to lane 2 and let him go speed to wherever he wants. Since you stayed in lane 1, you can't prove anything. Your fault to allow him to tailgate you.

I'm more surprised that they still continued chasing the car even after being shown psychotic tendencies. That's just asking for it. If one or more of them got wiped out, they were asking for it.

.......And got it.

i think the act of tailgating under any circumstances is wrong simply because tailgating is a dangerous act especially when done to a biker, and no road user has the right to endanger other road users no matter the circumstances. singaporean drivers seem to feel that tailgating is a justifiable act to pressure the front vehicle to get out of the way.

having said that, i usually change lane and let the faster car behind me through; and i'm on a cbr600rr cruising at 110. if i give way and the car really press on above 110, its his funeral why the heck should i care.

but local drivers really need to stop the mentality that tailgating is an acceptable method to tell the vehicle in front to get out of the way.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

i think the act of tailgating under any circumstances is wrong simply because tailgating is a dangerous act especially when done to a biker, and no road user has the right to endanger other road users no matter the circumstances. singaporean drivers seem to feel that tailgating is a justifiable act to pressure the front vehicle to get out of the way.

having said that, i usually change lane and let the faster car behind me through; and i'm on a cbr600rr cruising at 110. if i give way and the car really press on above 110, its his funeral why the heck should i care.

but local drivers really need to stop the mentality that tailgating is an acceptable method to tell the vehicle in front to get out of the way.

Doesn't matter what is right or wrong. You could be dead right.

Just let the dude get past you and on his way to his appt with a treehug or lamppost wrap. It's his business.

And don't bother chasing him down just to give him hand gestures or stares. Cos that's IMO, the most ineffective, useless, and stupid thing a biker could do. The driver isn't gonna care what you think about his/her driving. And how are you going to stop him anyway, pull out in front of him?

Doesn't matter what is right or wrong. You could be dead right.

Just let the dude get past you and on his way to his appt with a treehug or lamppost wrap. It's his business.

And don't bother chasing him down just to give him hand gestures or stares. Cos that's IMO, the most ineffective, useless, and stupid thing a biker could do. The driver isn't gonna care what you think about his/her driving. And how are you going to stop him anyway, pull out in front of him?

throw egg on windscreen

Saw this from the facebook group, Bad Drivers' Hall of SHAME.

Hardcore road rage. -.-

Those bikers were pretty skillful to have survived it.

Not sure if the riders were really skillful or just plain lucky!

Seriously, everyone in the video were mad. From driver to riders.

Edited by lollibear
throw egg on windscreen

Time to buy 10 eggs and see where can we mount it.. =P

preferable to mount and able to shoot anywhere we aim.. front/back is the best, side not much use as that would not make them stop. :p

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

throw egg on windscreen

Time to buy 10 eggs and see where can we mount it.. =P

preferable to mount and able to shoot anywhere we aim.. front/back is the best, side not much use as that would not make them stop. :p

What a waste. Those eggs are too costly to be used like that. Waterbombs should suffice. Use your creativity to think of what to fill it up with. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Please keep in mind that any group will always have it's share of stupid people. Initial requests for the lane were made by mostly proper cyclists, I believe, but sensationalising of these requests has definitely made some cyclists jump on the bandwagon, using it as an excuse for their stupid cycling. I cycle, properly, and have seen a fair share of both ignorant drivers and considerate drivers. Seen stupid cyclists while on public transport too. In my opinion, what we need instead of cycling lanes is better education, not just for cyclists, but for drivers and such as well.

Honestly, I hardly wave and signal to turn, as I stop and wait for a safe slot instead of pestering drivers to give way. Only make hand signal for drivers behind to overtake me, probably because my route is mostly left turns, just stay on yellow lines can liao. :p

But one thing I definitely do is keep checking behind before turning, and what I noticed is that even without waving to signal, a decent number of drivers noticed my checking and actually yielded to me. Once on a two lane road, had a taxi sudden stop in front of me(for passenger, so typical...), quick check other lane see if clear, a VW Golf was behind, but noticed me check and slowed down for me so I can quickly go around the taxi, good guy, but of course many dicks are still present on the road -.-