I just saw the entire video. This is just my humble opinion. Perhaps I'm 'kia-see' (faint-hearted).

I've seen some bad-ass drivers who will actually bang a rider on purpose. Seen it with my own eyes. Car drivers have less fear as they have a lower risk of getting hurt in an accident. It's just not worth the while getting into an accident with a creep like this.

In many occasions, it's not whether we are road hogging or not. The thing that really matters is the driver's emotion at that time on the road. He looks hot-headed judging from the way he tails you. When a driver is hot-headed, he can do anything and that's not going to be good for us riders.

So the 'kia-see' rider like me would move to the left. I saw a few good opportunities to move to the left other than the option of lane-splitting.

Here are some of the early opportunities that the 'kia-see' rider would seize:

1. At about 00:28, the taxi was moving to the left lane which gives you a lot of space to move to the left.

2. At about 01:09, after passing that MPV, another big pocket of space.

3. At 01:19, after that yellow taxi moved to the left, an even bigger pocket of space

Edited by s4^dreamer

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

• Replies 25.1k

Yea.. I humbly choose to disagree with TS. To me when I ride, if there's anybody faster than me, I'll just let them pass. In that case there still is some gap for the car behind to chase the car infront. So if I were TS, I would just let him pass, since he's obviously at a faster speed.

Not a matter of I'm keeping to the legal speed limits, more of who's driving faster.. Always let the faster car go. We as bikers will always catch up with them in traffic like that..

And... Another thing that gets on my nerve riding on eways.... The sign that shows " give space, don't tailgate"

Well if the guy weren't hogging the lane would I need to tail gate??

Just my fair comment. Don't mean to step on anybody's toes.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

I've seen some bad-ass drivers who will actually bang a rider on purpose. Seen it with my own eyes. Car drivers have less fear as they have a lower risk of getting hurt in an accident. It's just not worth the while getting into an accident with a creep like this.

In many occasions, it's not whether we are road hogging or not. The thing that really matters is the driver's emotion at that time on the road. He looks hot-headed judging from the way he tails you. When a driver is hot-headed, he can do anything and that's not going to be good for us riders.

I've seen many times, drivers on expressway, especially when stuck in jam, like to reduce the space inbetween lane 1 and 2 where most bikers ride through. Probably out of jealousy that they're stuck and we're not? Just be careful and look out for idiots who act like this... Trying to kill someone or cause an accident isn't a laughing matter, they probably won't learn until they pay for their mistakes.

http://www.dominionsolutions.info/28.jpghttp://www.dominionsolutions.info/8.jpghttp://www.dominionsolutions.info/29.jpg

http://www.dominionsolutions.info/30.jpghttp://www.dominionsolutions.info/27.jpg

I just saw the entire video. This is just my humble opinion. Perhaps I'm 'kia-see' (faint-hearted).

So the 'kia-see' rider like me would move to the left. I saw a few good opportunities to move to the left other than the option of lane-splitting.

1. At about 00:28, the taxi was moving to the left lane which gives you a lot of space to move to the left.

3. At 01:19, after that yellow taxi moved to the left, an even bigger pocket of space

Car drivers have a lower risk of getting hurt in an accident? Hmm... I can't be too sure about it... Because if another car bangs me again for whatever f*** reason, he better make sure I die on the spot... Or else I'll make sure he suffers as much as I do... ;)

Yea.. I humbly choose to disagree with TS. To me when I ride, if there's anybody faster than me, I'll just let them pass. In that case there still is some gap for the car behind to chase the car infront. So if I were TS, I would just let him pass, since he's obviously at a faster speed.

Not a matter of I'm keeping to the legal speed limits, more of who's driving faster.. Always let the faster car go. We as bikers will always catch up with them in traffic like that..

And... Another thing that gets on my nerve riding on eways.... The sign that shows " give space, don't tailgate"

Should come out a new sticker saying, "I don't tailgate, you're road hogging." paste on their windscreens... Hahhaha...

Agreed tat there were more than 1 chance for e rider to run away and basically dun bother with e car.

Fair comment. But if im driving and there's a car in front of me. Just becoz a car behind choose to speed up and brake, speed up and brake, tat means I'm road hog?

So using e same situation just becoz I'm riding and i can overtake using smaller spaces doesnt mean I'm road hog just becoz i choose to follow e car in front right?

Note tat I'm not taking into consideration e emotion of e car behind yet. Agree tat if hot headed driver behind just siam first. No point play and risk.

I'm only asking about, is e rider in e video road hog? My opinion is no since its a expressway. E rider spd maybe 100+? So he only kept maybe farthest scenario 3 to 5 car length. I find tat quite ok.

Once yes of coz e rider could ve long gone far far away and dun bother with e car. And yes e rider could ve did extra and squeeze to e side to let e car go. But I'm asking base on assuming if e rider is instead a car, then is it road hog. If not then if is bike is it road hog?

I concur. :D

Car drivers have a lower risk of getting hurt in an accident? Hmm... I can't be too sure about it... Because if another car bangs me again for whatever f*** reason, he better make sure I die on the spot... Or else I'll make sure he suffers as much as I do... ;)
Likewise. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

usually i will either move to the left and give way to car if traffic is clear or i will just lane split away from the tailgater

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

oops.. dbl post

Edited by xue ling

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

Maybe dun wish to lane split? Riding not = LS and LS not = riding. Think u never c before car LS. Lol.

Anyway i feel tat e rider not toad hogging since traffic was not light, not as if e way ahead was clear. Whenever e way ahead clear up, e rider always catch up also.

If this is considered road hog then i think i ve done it often too and i apologize for my actions. But sometimes dun feel like LS lei. I feel tat if way ahead is clear and i dun wan to speed up the i should give way to vehicle behind. But if there is always a vehicle in front, wat do u expect me to do? (if i dun wish to LS)

Maybe u can define wat is road hogging in ur opinion first?

Ok bro, maybe i did not see the video in detail enough because it was too long a video. Perhaps TS did not road hog, going by the strict definition of road hogging. And the car driver was definitely being a prick for tailgating over such a long distance. You may be right on the count that TS did not road hog.

Aside from this, I guess many bikers will agree TS is also asking for it.

Faced with a persistent tailgator, the options are simple.

Lane split and go to safer space or give way.

You can argue till cows start flying that TS has right to travel on lane 1 at speed limit. That the tailgator was wrong. That traffic laws should be obeyed. That TS should not be forced to give way. That drivers should respect rear space of bikers. You can go on and on TS was in the right and the driver was wrong. I will actually agree with u on some areas.

But I wouldn't do what TS did. I also think few bikers will do what he did.

I do the simple thing, what a bike does best. I dissapear from his windscreen view. End of story. Simple. No need drag 10min and post video on SBF. When I'm more docile I give way. Also end of story. 50 50 drag 10min is bad for biker.

http://i356.photobucket.com/albums/oo9/Pplater08/casey-stoner-wheelie-wallpaper-1803.jpg
Fair comment. But if im driving and there's a car in front of me. Just becoz a car behind choose to speed up and brake, speed up and brake, tat means I'm road hog?

So using e same situation just becoz I'm riding and i can overtake using smaller spaces doesnt mean I'm road hog just becoz i choose to follow e car in front right?

Note tat I'm not taking into consideration e emotion of e car behind yet. Agree tat if hot headed driver behind just siam first. No point play and risk.

I'm only asking about, is e rider in e video road hog? My opinion is no since its a expressway. E rider spd maybe 100+? So he only kept maybe farthest scenario 3 to 5 car length. I find tat quite ok.

Once yes of coz e rider could ve long gone far far away and dun bother with e car. And yes e rider could ve did extra and squeeze to e side to let e car go. But I'm asking base on assuming if e rider is instead a car, then is it road hog. If not then if is bike is it road hog?

I agree with u TS not road hogging. But as biker TS should respond differently. When I driving, I guai lan driver behind also, feel like it can play slow poke driving with tailgator. Nowadays old liao. No more ka jiao driver behind. No point lah

I've seen many times, drivers on expressway, especially when stuck in jam, like to reduce the space inbetween lane 1 and 2 where most bikers ride through. Probably out of jealousy that they're stuck and we're not? Just be careful and look out for idiots who act like this... Trying to kill someone or cause an accident isn't a laughing matter, they probably won't learn until they pay for their mistakes.

I think drivers would not deliberately block us from lane splitting. I think this is mostly unintentional. Why? Because they will soon realize it is futile to block a biker from lane splitting. Most of the time they were probably unaware of their poor lane positioning.

I think us bikers should avoid a siege mentality that drivers are out to harm us or make things difficult for us. Doing so will make things more pleasant for everyone. Its often a lot simpler than we make it out to be.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Ok bro, maybe i did not see the video in detail enough because it was too long a video. Perhaps TS did not road hog, going by the strict definition of road hogging. And the car driver was definitely being a prick for tailgating over such a long distance. You may be right on the count that TS did not road hog.

Aside from this, I guess many bikers will agree TS is also asking for it.

Faced with a persistent tailgator, the options are simple.

Lane split and go to safer space or give way.

You can argue till cows start flying that TS has right to travel on lane 1 at speed limit. That the tailgator was wrong. That traffic laws should be obeyed. That TS should not be forced to give way. That drivers should respect rear space of bikers. You can go on and on TS was in the right and the driver was wrong. I will actually agree with u on some areas.

But I wouldn't do what TS did. I also think few bikers will do what he did.

I do the simple thing, what a bike does best. I dissapear from his windscreen view. End of story. Simple. No need drag 10min and post video on SBF. When I'm more docile I give way. Also end of story. 50 50 drag 10min is bad for biker.

Oh no no u misunderstood me. I also wont do wat TS did. I would ve "disappeared" e instant i notice a tailgater behind me. :)

Laws and such r sadly in my opinion more for cars. Riders dun realy ve e luxury of being able to crash then argue with other pple on whose right whose wrong.

Anyway just to clarify, my previous replies is only asking. Is TS road hog. I wasnt debating if it's right? Smart, etc. Tat will be up to individual's opinions and habits.

I think drivers would not deliberately block us from lane splitting. I think this is mostly unintentional. Why? Because they will soon realize it is futile to block a biker from lane splitting. Most of the time they were probably unaware of their poor lane positioning.

I think us bikers should avoid a siege mentality that drivers are out to harm us or make things difficult for us. Doing so will make things more pleasant for everyone. Its often a lot simpler than we make it out to be.

Agree tat mostly not intentional but there may be some i wouldnt noe.

But for sure it is common tat some drivers in a jam will pay less attention and their cars may drift cross e line or similar. Or when got hole to change lane fail to check or such. Not delibrate but still...

Ps: i think it is good to ve e seige mentality tat cars r out to kill us. This way riders can hooefukky be nore alert and focus and be prepared. But of coz I'm just suggesting to use e "seige mentality" to helo us ride better, i too dun think cars r out to kill us though there might be some for real.

hmm for me, i drive due to work 95% of the time, even when i'm hot headed (maybe after facing some near accidents from other sheitty drivers) i will try not to tailgate, if the vehicle infront fails to give way due to whatever reasons, i will just look for opportunity to change lane to overtake.

i will also keep a lookout for faster vehicle/s behind me, if possible, i will just give way, afterall, he/she wanna go faster than me, whats the harm in letting them pass and ride/drive behind them?

i dun think that biker in the vid is road hogging imho, but he could have given way due to 2 reasons, 1 - he doesnt have to risk his and his pillion's safety, 2 - that driver could have his reason for the need to speed, seriosly man, whats so hard about giving way?

Blacky Aka Xiao Hei May 2011 to ???

Danielling1981 -- Thanks for clarifying. Understand what u mean now.

Guiderer -- Agree with your post too.

http://i356.photobucket.com/albums/oo9/Pplater08/casey-stoner-wheelie-wallpaper-1803.jpg
Agree tat mostly not intentional but there may be some i wouldnt noe.

But for sure it is common tat some drivers in a jam will pay less attention and their cars may drift cross e line or similar. Or when got hole to change lane fail to check or such. Not delibrate but still...

Ps: i think it is good to ve e seige mentality tat cars r out to kill us. This way riders can hooefukky be nore alert and focus and be prepared. But of coz I'm just suggesting to use e "seige mentality" to helo us ride better, i too dun think cars r out to kill us though there might be some for real.

Agreed. However most of the reckless driving I encounter seems like they are out to kill us. Its joke and fun till someone dies. :rolleyes:

I believe u guys haven't met with a tailgater on a small road of speed limit 50, I going at 70, he tailgate less than 1 car length...
Quite a number of times. Even had a taxi tailgate flickering the high beam and horning me when I was in the 2nd lane on the expressway when lane 3 and 1 was clear in the wee hours of the morning. :what:

hmm for me, i drive due to work 95% of the time, even when i'm hot headed (maybe after facing some near accidents from other sheitty drivers) i will try not to tailgate, if the vehicle infront fails to give way due to whatever reasons, i will just look for opportunity to change lane to overtake.

i will also keep a lookout for faster vehicle/s behind me, if possible, i will just give way, afterall, he/she wanna go faster than me, whats the harm in letting them pass and ride/drive behind them?

i dun think that biker in the vid is road hogging imho, but he could have given way due to 2 reasons, 1 - he doesnt have to risk his and his pillion's safety, 2 - that driver could have his reason for the need to speed, seriosly man, whats so hard about giving way?

I do have the habit if checking the mirrors every few seconds and if I spot a tailgater or someone faster I will just let them pass provided if its safe for me to move out of the way. Sadly rarely do I see drivers get out of the way to a bike pass them hence the LS. Ego? Ponder. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

I believe u guys haven't met with a tailgater on a small road of speed limit 50, I going at 70, he tailgate less than 1 car length...

My opinion is tat u r not in e wrong and u r not road hogging. But i would just let him go if i can. :) later then pass him again and give him ^o^

Ps: i encounter before. Not rare not often either. If i in e mood i run. If not in e mood i siam.

Danielling1981 -- Thanks for clarifying. Understand what u mean now.

Guiderer -- Agree with your post too.

No probs. My bad also for not clarifying clear wat i was discussing about. Think there is always 2 perspectives to think of.

1) from eyes of law.

2) from view of e ground. (mean in reality)

In this particular discussion. Road hog is hmm dependent on definition by law. Although it is not (i think) illegal but there is a fairly (i think) common definition which is depending on e vehicle in front. If u r e 1st vehicle and other lane empty then road hog.

Of coz some pple may feel tat as long as other lane empty and i tailgate u, u should give way. So if i driving, I'll dun care u becoz if i can overtake e vehicle in front i will already ve done so. I still follow front vehicle nicely becoz spd is already high 100+ or other lane is not tat empty. If riding, I'll be long gone.

E above is base on perspective from eyes of law. If change to reality then different lo. But for me still same la. Driving not road hog dun care. Riding not road hog still siam. Lol. Sry but i also v mentality tat car protect me, but i dun use it to anyhow drive.

I do have the habit if checking the mirrors every few seconds and if I spot a tailgater or someone faster I will just let them pass provided if its safe for me to move out of the way. Sadly rarely do I see drivers get out of the way to a bike pass them hence the LS. Ego? Ponder. :cool:

Think i am quite lucky. Often ve car give way to me. Either while LS or while I'm in lane 1. Bikes also do give way. But in all e situations also got fair share of never give way vehicles kla. Never give way of coz more than give way but e feeling is still good knowing tat still got good road users around.

And i will always try my best to give a wave even during LS though very quick wave. If safe enough will wave and thumbs up and other patterns.