And your relative speed against the lorry was way too fast also... Mind sharing what speed were u going at? No hard feelings.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

• Replies 25.1k

Quick impression of being back and riding in Singapore after a 6 day ride around the Mae Hong Son loop. In northern Thailand you really need to pay attention to the road all the time, very twisty, very steep roads you just can't get carried away and go too fast into a blind corner. Damp patches from small mountain streams, massive potholes, side of the road collapsed, construction work, lots of hazards. Did 1000km without any incidents or scares, many polite drivers giving way, and extraordinarily friendly riders on the road.

Back in Singapore, roads are flawless, straight, very little elevation changes but here it's like other drivers are trying to kill you. So strange having to readjust completely, from having to watch the road, to having to watch other drivers.

Was riding on the ECP between Bedok and Changi on Friday, late morning, very few cars, I'm doing 105/110 in lane 1 overtaking slower traffic when I see a car in the mirror approaching very fast. Experience on the NS highway in Malaysia tells me he must be doing at least 150km/h so I just get out of his way and move to the 2nd lane. He whizzes past on the right but 3 seconds later I get the scare of my life when the friend he was racing blasts past me on my left doing in excess of 160km/h. I just had not spotted there was a second car. One of the most reckless things I've seen in a long time.

Edited by di_andrei
U pause the video, and after the pause, u had a whole 3 seconds to execute your lane change lah before passing the lorry side by side. Its called a normal lane change. Just because people lane change into the lane in which u are going straight doesn't mean people cut your lane. Stop getting on the road hoping to find close shave footages. Self righteous prick looking for self pity :slapforehead:

The lorry started edging out without signalling and went into the space I was about to go in. In the 3 seconds it took to completely change to the next lane, I was already besides him.

Had I not avoided him, I would have crash into him. No doubt I had 3 secs in the video, and I avoided him easily, but remember if I did not lessen the throttle slightly, the time to react will be 1-2 secs not 3 secs.

Imagine the scenario where if you fail to react in 1-2 secs, you die.

Yes, I am a self righteous prick looking for self pity.

But if you change lane when you can see that the vehicle behind in the next lane will overtake you the moment you go into the lane, and you feel it's normal then you are a prick too.

The lorry did not cut into ur lane. I thk that the driver want to change to centre lane in advance and stay on that lane as he is going straight to SLE. The left lane in meant for turning to Yio Chu Kang Rd and CTE. I thk that the drive don't want to change lane at the last minute since the road is clear.

I also guess I want to change lane early and not intentionally out to cause accident, but if changing lane without signalling when vehicle the the next lane overtaking you is not cutting into people's lane, I don't know what is. Maybe you can explain what you definition of cutting into someone's lane means to all of us.

And your relative speed against the lorry was way too fast also... Mind sharing what speed were u going at? No hard feelings.

By the way, my speed was 95-100km/hr on the meter, I was trying to keep a constant speed that day because I was clocking milage to measure my fuel consumption.

Edited by Silent Hunter

Maybe it's the driver's mistake by changing lane without checking thus cutting into ur lane. But it seem that u alway shows other driver mistake online.....do u ever did any mistake on the road before. We're not and angel ourself. Sorry.

Bro, forgive and forget lah.

Its not like you first day riding on Sg roads. There will always be drivers who dun do their job to signal in advance or dun even signal at all. This is when its our responsiblity to make sure we riders anticipate and react accordingly. Of course i get pissed off by them too. I usually flared up for a few seconds then carry on riding as normal.

I have the most important task to concentrate on - Keeping myself alive.

To be fair, none of us signal while lane splitting...

some lessons learnt:

scary - lorry brake lights not working; probably i didnt keep a gd distance but i believe it is decent . i also should not be behind this giant lorry coz it blocked my views further up front.

Agree lesson learnt without paying the price. good for u!! But sure got scared. lol

Its not like you first day riding on Sg roads. There will always be drivers who dun do their job to signal in advance or dun even signal at all. This is when its our responsiblity to make sure we riders anticipate and react accordingly. Of course i get pissed off by them too. I usually flared up for a few seconds then carry on riding as normal.

Care to enlighten what signals should we give when lane splitting? Most of the time when we signal left or right the car on the next lane will speed up to close the gap forcing us to LS before we can safely switch lanes. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Yap, was abit pissed off when the lorry just cut in front of me when I was about to pass him. Very dangerous. But forgive and forget lah, never post his number plate to TP sabo his rice bowl, kick his mirrors or go in front play jam brake. This time also never even turn around to "Teow" him. Only go home post online that got somebody drive lorry, never signal cut into my lane.

Errrr..... Actually I do signal before I go onto the dotted line to lanesplit when there is time. :cheeky:

But when travelling on the dotted line of course stop signalling lah, otherwise misleading.

Maybe it's the driver's mistake by changing lane without checking thus cutting into ur lane. But it seem that u alway shows other driver mistake online.....do u ever did any mistake on the road before. We're not and angel ourself. Sorry.

Ok, next time I post 1 hour of video of drivers not making mistake. (but will need to cut and paste, usually someone will do something stupid to endanger someone else)

But I warn you first har.... Going to be very boring. :lol:

I know duo always warn other people very boring before he post one! :lol:

Ya, we all make mistakes this is the only incident that tick me off that day in my 1 hour of riding. So highlighted it. Once in a long while, I also make mistake, one of the most bonehead one is wait at red light junction for green arrow to come out. When green arrow finally come out, "kan cheong" engine stall. :slapforehead:. Try to restart, cannot start, green arrow flash then gone kena horn by everybody.

Ya that one really "kayu". :shy:

Edited by Silent Hunter

I do. Most of the time. To which lane I'll be going in if there's no space.

Don't be silly, this is a bike forum, want to see bike making mistakes, go car forum or stomp, surely have alot. Mostly on illegal parking and wedding escorts because if a car is to spot a biker's mistake, we wouldn't have as much accidents, drivers paying attention, that's like wow.

Care to enlighten what signals should we give when lane splitting? Most of the time when we signal left or right the car on the next lane will speed up to close the gap forcing us to LS before we can safely switch lanes. :cool:

Sadly, wat u said is very true. The best i can do is to signal right when im on lane 2 changing into lane 1. Once im in and start to LS, not much time to signal left again unless i no choice have to cross more than about 0.5m into lane 2. Seriously, anytin less than that, between lane 1 and 2, its really pointless to signal effectively. Purely my opinion.

Im not reckless so i tend to LS conservatively and adjust according to traffic conditions, my bike's capacity and my ability. At times i make sure my highbeam is on if i perceive that its goin to be a crampy LS.

Sori, im referring to those expressway jams LS where the squeezing width is too tight to signal effectively.

Other than that, im confident most of us do signal whenever possible.

I know duo always warn other people very boring before he post one! :lol:
Bingo! Maybe if I had a captured my accident on video and post then it would be exciting to watch since near misses and drivers in their own world driving seems boring for others to watch. ::rolleyes:

Me too. :D

Don't be silly, this is a bike forum, want to see bike making mistakes, go car forum or stomp, surely have alot. Mostly on illegal parking and wedding escorts because if a car is to spot a biker's mistake, we wouldn't have as much accidents, drivers paying attention, that's like wow.
I concur. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Do u mean when during LS and will move from left to right lane? Or do u mean LS but constantly on e lane divider? Becoz for e 1st case i do signal. Lol

We r not angel but if we c something wrong and do nothing about it then we r stupid and still not an angel. Or did u think by not making noise about something not right tat happened on e road = angel?

I admit tat i am also not perfect and i do make mistakes on e road. Whenever i can i will raise hand and hope e other road user fmwill forgive me. Likewise if i c something wrong and e other road user did wave i will forgive and forget.

Similarly if a road user did something tat i feel is dangerous and no wave to acknowledge, i find tat it is my responsibility to report it. Otherwise e next time it may be u or someone on this forum under tat vehicle and i will regret for e rest of my life. Becoz i kept quiet.

Lol. Good points. +1 i do wish e 2nd point happens more. Then i feel safer.

Do u mean when during LS and will move from left to right lane? Or do u mean LS but constantly on e lane divider? Becoz for e 1st case i do signal. Lol

True, i will also signal for the former. I only tend to not signal if my tires are slightly off the lane marking while LS. Maybe abt the width of my tyre away from it. Anything more than that or if i need to inform drivers or riders, i take it as a lane change and signal accordingly. I dun really feel safe riding on the line so im usually beside it. This only applies to LS.

After reading all the comments, all I wish is for everyone to be safe on the road and continue to enjoy the ride and their beloved motorbikes! :cheer:

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

After reading all the comments, all I wish is for everyone to be safe on the road and continue to enjoy the ride and their beloved motorbikes! :cheer:

i just noticed..... s4^dreamer evolved to become fz6^dreamer liao :cheeky:

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

last night a taxi at the orchard bend there cut into my lane , i give a slight horn because anticepted such thing . i can see he put up his hand .

then while approaching the traffic light and stop , he gave me a horn again , i look at him , and he put up his hand again .. wa the feeling is werid ,,,

this mornign a car did the same thign ,stop at traffic light and when i was beside him ,wind down his window and say sorry sorry.

i tot i was in dreamland still

last night a taxi at the orchard bend there cut into my lane , i give a slight horn because anticepted such thing . i can see he put up his hand .

then while approaching the traffic light and stop , he gave me a horn again , i look at him , and he put up his hand again .. wa the feeling is werid ,,,

this mornign a car did the same thign ,stop at traffic light and when i was beside him ,wind down his window and say sorry sorry.

i tot i was in dreamland still

good to know there are still good drivers in sg.

encountered such drivers a few times, they acknowledge their faults and waved sorry.

gave a friendly wave back in return.

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

You beo-ing her bike is it? :angel:

actually was beoing her panniers, then realised the tail light of the bike dun look like s4 lol :cheeky: