Motorbike Models, Anyone?

Guest Ashe^^

Hi Everyone... Would like to ask around.... whether got models on Harley davidson... i dun want the ones sold @ Taka's harley boutique... I am hoping to get the bigger scale of FLSTF also known as "Fat Boy"... if not mistaken...the scale is 1:9 or vice versa.... thanks alot...

BTW.. wat is the meaning of die cast..?? and anyone knows where to get models on Suzuki's "Hayabusa" or honda's "Blackbird"??...thanks!!!!

actually u want pre-constructed models izzit? try the shop at specialist shopping center. i saw both pre-constructed as well as model kits of harley models there. not sure their scales though. and i think i saw model kit of the haya at the marina and specialist sc shops.

hey guys, today i checked shops at marina, centerpoint, specialist sc and far east: i still cant find any model kit on either the R1 or the Ducati998. i thinking of trying tiong baru and bugis soon. anybody got suggestion where most likely i can find?

and btw for those interested, i saw air brush sold at raffles city robinsons toy department. same brand wif 4 diff models costing between $80 to $120, including one can of 'air' (at least i think thats wat the cannister was).

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

• Replies 851

Guest S|mu1@t0r*

any kind soul out there can recommand a good air compressor n air brush?

wat the cost?

izzit advisable 2 buy 2nd hand?

saw a big air compressor on yahoo's auction tat support 3 airbrush!!($250)

my budget ar $300 4 both............

:sweat: :sweat: :sweat: :sweat: :sweat: :sweat: :sweat:

Go to Hobby Point at Tiong Bahru.

You can get a brand new airbrush and compressor for $280..

Better to get brand new..

About the Life! Article, I feel that it is all nonsense as I am doing model cars and what they feature was all bullshit.. No homework done before posting the article....

Visit my Modelling page at

www.sr-garage.com

i'm about to complete a Tamiya brand 1:12 scale model of Ducati916. i noticed got a lot of spare parts left over, with the manual itself acknowleding them as unused parts, so its not that i blur blur never fix something. the funny thing is, some of these unused parts are quite large, including one that looks like a radiator. and they're not duplicates of parts that i've used, they're unique parts. is this normal for tamiya brand or model kits in general? any idea what they're for?

just wondering.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Guest S|mu1@t0r*

dear srlxy,

where the shop, mi cannot find leh.......

mi go tiong bahru plaza don have!!

so.....$280 can buy liao!!

then roy hobby take mi as carrot head!! said $400+ 2$500 4 a set!!!

some more the compressor so small!!

can teach mi?

don worry, i got learn b4 abit @ roy hobby!

Fcuking hell pay $150 4 6 lesson

but mi oni go 3 or 4 oni!!

busy n oso siam.....

dear srlxy,

where the shop, mi cannot find leh.......

mi go tiong bahru plaza don have!!

so.....$280 can buy liao!!

then roy hobby take mi as carrot head!! said $400+ 2$500 4 a set!!!

some more the compressor so small!!

can teach mi?

don worry, i got learn b4 abit @ roy hobby!

Fcuking hell pay $150 4 6 lesson

but mi oni go 3 or 4 oni!!

busy n oso siam.....

the shop is now located at the 5th floor, if i'm not wrong the 280 to 300 range will be sparmax airbrush and one black color small but powerful compressor called baby or something.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

Guest S|mu1@t0r*

yo smokin, the whole set gd anot? can spray thin fine line?

5th floor?izzit GV tat level? but don think tat level got any model shop. help plz. :pity:

you MUST take the lift to the fifth floor. u cant reach the shop via escalators. once u step out the lift u will see popular bookshop in front of you. turn left, a very short way down the corridor and u will see the model shop. its a stupid floor, ppl not likely to walk past, dunno why they opened those units on that floor for retail.

can tell u it a veri X...hobby!!

not necessarily. like me, i sacrificed end result quality for lower expenses. spent $25 on tamiya ducati916 (normal price is $32 of coz) and just bought 3 jars of paint at $3.90 each: gloss black, matt black and chrome silver; and 2 diff size ordinary paint brushes. approximate total cost: $40.

of coz cant compare to the quality of those displayed at the shops in terms of paintwork. i only used 3 colors and used brush, not air brush. but still, considering i cant afford airbrush as well as the myriad of colors suggested by the manual, i'm quite satisfied wif my work relative to the cuts in expenses i adopted.

its all up to the individual of coz. serious ones, then yah expensive hobby. like me, just for fun, not so ex.

Guest Scarlett

Ok.. i tried making a zx12 before for a pal's christmas present, but have yet to find a suzuki gixxer1000 model though...would love to assemble one myself though

but then i bought this model last month, and it has become my favourite! Been looking for something like this, and couldn't believe my luck when I saw it while shopping with my boy.

Too hard to resist the temptation, and bought it. And it's worth every cent of it. It even has wet tyres on it because during the actual race in Mugello, it was raining, and rossi was using wet tires.

the details are just so amazing!!!

Always liked the mugello design, and it's my boy's favourite too, so bought this model for him, and it became a shared item though! :p Now wonder when he gonna get the mugello helmets for me.. hehehehe...

he even designed a jacket with mugello design for me more than a year back.. so the mugello holds significant meaning for us...

oops :offtopic: so here are the pictures of the bike... model i mean. though not make myself one la.. but also consider hobby for collecting them right? hehehe :p

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/files/hippopomugello.jpg

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/files/mugellofront.jpg

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/files/mugellosideprofile.jpg

Guest fat_nerd
Ok.. i tried making a zx12 before for a pal's christmas present, but have yet to find a suzuki gixxer1000 model though...would love to assemble one myself though

but then i bought this model last month, and it has become my favourite! Been looking for something like this, and couldn't believe my luck when I saw it while shopping with my boy.

Too hard to resist the temptation, and bought it. And it's worth every cent of it. It even has wet tyres on it because during the actual race in Mugello, it was raining, and rossi was using wet tires.

the details are just so amazing!!!

Always liked the mugello design, and it's my boy's favourite too, so bought this model for him, and it became a shared item though! :p Now wonder when he gonna get the mugello helmets for me.. hehehehe...

he even designed a jacket with mugello design for me more than a year back.. so the mugello holds significant meaning for us...

oops :offtopic: so here are the pictures of the bike... model i mean. though not make myself one la.. but also consider hobby for collecting them right? hehehe :p

hey that's nice.. where did u come across that?

i myself collect a few also.. those ready made types... Brand is Maistro, can be bought almost everywhere.. $6.90 only lol

but relatively small..

so far got gsx1000, gsx 750, cbr600, zx12, haya, n gsx600

does the sound of a gsx1k make u drool???/ :lol:

:bounce: Yo boys and gals out there who are into modelling..... Just went to Marina Square yesterday and saw some cheap buy there. some older bike models selling at $9.90..., older gundam 1/144 scale selling between $9.90 to $14++ to $40++.

The offer is especially appealing to first time modellers or newbie like myself to sort experiment on cheaper models first before embarking to more ambitious attempts. :clap:

I bought 2 gundams. already cheap, but I frequent there, so boss give further 10% discount :bow: May be going down there again tomorrow to purchase some more.

:bounce: Yo boys and gals out there who are into modelling..... Just went to Marina Square yesterday and saw some cheap buy there. some older bike models selling at $9.90..., older gundam 1/144 scale selling between $9.90 to $14++ to $40++.

The offer is especially appealing to first time modellers or newbie like myself to sort experiment on cheaper models first before embarking to more ambitious attempts. :clap:

I bought 2 gundams. already cheap, but I frequent there, so boss give further 10% discount :bow: May be going down there again tomorrow to purchase some more.

Care to give the exact location of the shop? :confused:

Life short, play hard

You will be sorry when you see me.

Speed is not how fast you can go,

But how fast you can handle.

Ppl always think they\'re good but

It\'s others tat judge them not themselve.

R u referring to the model shop near the acarde and bowling alley? i suppose tat's the only model shop ard rite???

Strange mutual dependence this, in which the appearance needs the reality in order to exists, but the reality needs the appearance in order to be known- William James

R u referring to the model shop near the acarde and bowling alley? i suppose tat's the only model shop ard rite???

Yes, you're right. But the number of models are getting lesser coz I'll going purchase more..... :cheeky: Hard to find such deals. Some more maybe the boss may give me 10% discount again.... :smile:

By the way :shades: anyone of you guys around wanted to do scale modelling but afraid of the troubles involved. :pity: Maybe you all can try going for basic modelling course at Marina Square. During GSS now, the basic course cost just $80(if I remember correctly). Must buy the model and stuff from their shop though.

Just hope this may be useful for you guys out there who might want to try out scale modelling. I myself may go for the course... Coz skill really fark up... :thirsty:

i juz went to tiong bahru plaza c those model wanted to buy 1 to fix but than i c it say paint n cement is not included.wat does it mean ah?mean the model is only 1 color (say red)?than plus some sticker for u to paste?how about cement?than at bugis i sawa pple using (i think they called it air brush?) the paint to spray the model.......anyhow care to explain to me????????? :sweat: :sweat: thanks