[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Guest @h_püi™

For carb expert....

we all know that the air-fuel ration is determine by the tuning screw... anyone know screw close(turn in) mean air more or fuel more and screw open (turn out)?

• Replies 7.2k

For carb expert....

we all know that the air-fuel ration is determine by the tuning screw... anyone know screw close(turn in) mean air more or fuel more and screw open (turn out)?

pilot screw. also known as Air screw stated in ta200 manual. My trial and error suggests turn OUT is more air, TIGHTEN is less air.

Amt of fuel is controlled by size of needle and jets inside the carb.

feel free to dispute. :cheeky:

i found out that there are a couple of factors that cause backfiring.

1. check your air filter, tighten all the links to the carb. I ever tighten a few more rounds on the rubber pipes and sound reduced dramatically.

2. Engine oil you use matters a lot. I'm running in, and Mechanic insist i use fully. Backfiring reduce till very little. How i know? my first EO was cheapest fully syn money can buy, now 2nd change use Motul. World of difference. Maybe the harder the engine gotta work, the more pop sound due to excess fuel??

3. Pilot Jet, screw it out bit by bit till the sound is almost zero. Be careful though, too lean and u will face other problems due to heat. May also face problems of engine dying easily, or difficult to cold start. If you dun know how to listen to the engine, dun touch this.

4. air valve below fuel tank. Everyone blames this part when pop pop occurs. I personally think it need not be the problem.

ps. My machine has soft pops too, sparkie reading says its running a little rich (slightly rich better than lean anyway), but my pilot screw is 3 turn out, that's considered a lot. Before top overhaul it was reasonable at 1 and 3/4 turns, now its ok at 3 turns. a bit worrying.

i use sandpaper on my sparkies every month for minor touching up and making sure the gap is reasonable

ok will give it a shot..

hmm i don't bother bout spark plug.. =X S$3 every 6 mth is ok wad..

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif
ok will give it a shot..

hmm i don't bother bout spark plug.. =X S$3 every 6 mth is ok wad..

regarding the sparkie, now my minimum is platinum. Can really feel the difference. iridium is too ex for me.

I believe a decent brand new sparkie, is better than an old but supposedly wonderful sparkie.

let it cool takes some time, use water where he pump is.There is a Tap there where you can see some drivers using it to pour over their tyres I believe.Bro how have you been pumping your tyre?? :faint:

bro where've you been, still worrying?

yes pls.freee flow at kiosk

My tyres are 200 - 220 front and back. Works excellent for the wet weather, Wear and tear is ok too. Too light and i feel unsafe lar. haha

actually regarding the use of water, i sorta disagree. If the water gets to your hot engine, the sudden drop in temperature may cause uneven expansion and contraction and eventually other problems.

During a rainy day, temperature will dip first, then rain starts splashing, so its really not that bad. On a hot sunny day, u splash water, i think its not the best.

picture yourself, Super hot day, sweating, dying from the heat. Suddenly go and drink big gulp, Mother, Father Teachers and all the old people will tell u its suicide.

If is a cloudy day, an ice cream wun hurt much.

Pump air on a lazy weekend at a nearby petrol kiosk before going out to play lor. Along the main roads, there are various brands of kiosks every 10km.

my 2 cts worth.

regarding the sparkie, now my minimum is platinum. Can really feel the difference. iridium is too ex for me.

I believe a decent brand new sparkie, is better than an old but supposedly wonderful sparkie.

whoa.. i'm only using the NGK-R sia.. :p

ya same here, i feel NGK is good enuf lah for my decent little machine:cheeky:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment

btw just wondered do u guys keep extra spark plug in ur bike?

2 dollars more can only buy me a drink at kopitiam, and it lasts easily 6 months, i dun mind.

less likely to "si chia" on wet days, more power to keep in front of kuku drivers who never check blind spot, and youngsters who try to drive like "lao chiao" but with zero concern for other road users..... reasonable.

btw just wondered do u guys keep extra spark plug in ur bike?

have 3 extra in my box. Good for standby in the wet conditions these days. 1 platinum, 2 normal. Courtesy of motordiam anyway, asked and was given, after spending quite a bit on other stuff.

2 dollars more can only buy me a drink at kopitiam, and it lasts easily 6 months, i dun mind.

less likely to "si chia" on wet days, more power to keep in front of kuku drivers who never check blind spot, and youngsters who try to drive like "lao chiao" but with zero concern for other road users..... reasonable.

have 3 extra in my box. Good for standby in the wet conditions these days. 1 platinum, 2 normal. Courtesy of motordiam anyway, asked and was given, after spending quite a bit on other stuff.

why standby spark plu for wet condition?

coz ure bike might die during rainy days,dude u been reading the earlier posts or not?:cheeky:

Yo.. My bike couldn't start this very cold and wet early morning :cry: . Engine was cold and even with the choke, it wouldn't start. I had to push start it 3 times :giddy: and hold the throttle on till the engine warmed up fully before it was normal again o_O .

How come like that and what can i do abt it? :(

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Yo.. My bike couldn't start this very cold and wet early morning :cry: . Engine was cold and even with the choke, it wouldn't start. I had to push start it 3 times :giddy: and hold the throttle on till the engine warmed up fully before it was normal again o_O .

If your bike is ta 200 then try run your starter with the ignition off for about 2-3 times. If ta 150 kick start with ignition off. Wait for a while, turn on and kick start anew. It might help.

Once you start head for your mech. it maybe it needs a carb cleaning.

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

Think he means that you can actually unscrew the plug and dry it, then place it back, and it's 100% again.

ps: Mark's a mechanic :p

I would try to dry the end of the wire going to the spark by blowing into it. But still I keep a sparkie in the box, ...just in case,....:angel: .

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

Regarding backfire it has bothered me since the first ride.

Been thinking, if we change the electric wire which goes to the spark to one which support dual head spark (about $18 at Chong Aik) and chage the spark to a dual head will it reduce the incesant backfire?

It seams to me that fuel is not being burnt fully resulting in constant backfire.

Any help is greatly appreciated:thumb:

"They" still do URALS

Regarding backfire it has bothered me since the first ride.

Been thinking, if we change the electric wire which goes to the spark to one which support dual head spark (about $18 at Chong Aik) and chage the spark to a dual head will it reduce the incesant backfire?

It seams to me that fuel is not being burnt fully resulting in constant backfire.

Any help is greatly appreciated:thumb:

erm, i thought all spark plug need the same amt of electric to create spark. Dual head spark plug does not need any extra power.

Yeah, backfiring seems to be due to too much extra fuel not used. Most people just adjust the pilot screw lor, changing the Jets are too troublesome/costly. Maybe its a combination of factors lar.

U can try to change the air pump. At 60+ bucks, i think i can live with the sound. Until got blue flame then i worry. Did my math, i spend money to get rid of a little sound, burn fuel more efficient, but like not worth the money.

If you know how to DIY, maybe FJT could sell it at better prices.

maybe try increasing your idling? or just spend a few dollars in getting a new spark plug or clean it like they said.

huh.. so far mine no problem leh...

coz ure bike might die during rainy days,dude u been reading the earlier posts or not?:cheeky:

eh.. Mark is a mechanic who's damn good with electrical lor.. you know who you're talking to anot..? :p

:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

:offtopic: Mark! when you gonna pass me the tester..? :cheeky:

Think he means that you can actually unscrew the plug and dry it, then place it back, and it's 100% again.

isssh haha ok my bad:cheeky:

My tyres are 200 - 220 front and back. Works excellent for the wet weather, Wear and tear is ok too. Too light and i feel unsafe lar. haha

actually regarding the use of water, i sorta disagree. If the water gets to your hot engine, the sudden drop in temperature may cause uneven expansion and contraction and eventually other problems.

During a rainy day, temperature will dip first, then rain starts splashing, so its really not that bad. On a hot sunny day, u splash water, i think its not the best.

picture yourself, Super hot day, sweating, dying from the heat. Suddenly go and drink big gulp, Mother, Father Teachers and all the old people will tell u its suicide.

If is a cloudy day, an ice cream wun hurt much.

Pump air on a lazy weekend at a nearby petrol kiosk before going out to play lor. Along the main roads, there are various brands of kiosks every 10km.

my 2 cts worth.

frankly speaking, I rode my bike for some time already. Still I don't get it till its very hot.If you were in a motogp going at those high speeds your theory(I already knew) applies..to me its negligible..

I myself know about eg. running and pores open etc etc and don't shower kinda thing.Have to cool down..then use your "ice cream won't hurt method"

if you were to pour water over your tyres, naturally you won't let it touch the hot engine as much as possible.

I rest my case.

If your bike is ta 200 then try run your starter with the ignition off for about 2-3 times. If ta 150 kick start with ignition off. Wait for a while, turn on and kick start anew. It might help.

Once you start head for your mech. it maybe it needs a carb cleaning.

Mine is TA200. The starter motor like can't crank the engine at all. But after i rode around for abt 10 mins. Either because the Engine warmed or the batt charged it was all back to normal... then the rest of today the issue nv resurfaced.

Spark plug change and a carb cleaning will solve this problem?

try from the cheapest solution offered

1) take out spark plug and clean it - FOC

2) get a spare plug to change and try -few bucks

3)clean carb- $20 +/-??

Thx for the suggestions. Really hope i dun have to push start this bike again... Really tuff man... run run run half clutch, clutch in furthur, feel the engine chugging, on throttle, engine rev, disengage clutch... Dangerous also lol later runaway bike.