[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

This morning, I almost fell down.

When I was cruising at 90 km/h on Woodlands rd, the traffic light turn yellow. I decide to stop although it is too close. Then my rear wheel started to skid. I tried to balance but almost fell.

The problem comes from my rear brake is too sensitive and my front brake is too loose. I used to ride on a bike with sensitive front brake and loose rear brake.

I wonder where can I adjust the front break. I went to the shop Bt Batok st 23 before and ask one of the staff this question. He just said that it was not the break oil's problem.

For Phantom, the rear brake is overpowered. Thats why if you jam rear brake, you will skid. Try to utilise more front brake. Slowly depress the front brake all the way in and i mean slowly! Then u can use less rear brake liao.

Anyways, can go adjust the front brake at one of our trusted shop. Planet. Refer to above for numbers.

mean like the piston loose loh... Kling Kling sound from your engine when riding.. the sound not really fit as compared to when your engine is cold...

Bring your bike to Planet and let Chong test ride lor... If really kling kling then i think got problem liaoz...

• Replies 7.2k

want to ask:

i dont know is this root cause or not..

when my bike in HOT condition (after 15 minutes ride), i can feel that my bike engine like not so fit~ feel like the piston not really fit when riding..

but at early morning or engine in cold condition, this will not happen...

is it related to the engine oil i using??

by what u are explaining is your cam chain has come loose and skipped some teeth and now the engine timing on your bike is slightly out. Needs a tune up.

As the bike warms up it will feel like you are riding a brick.

Engine timing has three states.

1. correct....... 2. advanced...... 3. retarded

if your engine timing advanced the engine will run fast and when u switch the key off the motor will keep running and wont switch off start away.

if your engine timing retarded it will do what u explain and run like a brick not very fast and the hotter it gets the slower you go .

Hi, i need help, when i close my throttle and clutch in at high speeds, there will be a loud backfire. I dun want to spoil my engine. Should i go down to doctor chong?

Recently changed

Air filter

valve/Air vacuum

Another question. If i set my idling higher than required, will there be any side effects? Hotter engine, significantly higher fc?

Hi, i need help, when i close my throttle and clutch in at high speeds, there will be a loud backfire. I dun want to spoil my engine. Should i go down to doctor chong?

Recently changed

Air filter

valve/Air vacuum

Another question. If i set my idling higher than required, will there be any side effects? Hotter engine, significantly higher fc?

heh.. mine too! dunno why become like this.. tmr might go pay ah chong a visit... probably need a tune up... it got so bad yesterday that it pops when i clutch in to gear up...! and when i slow down ah, wah... BAM...! i tried to fine tune the A/F also like not much diff... 2 days d... T_T

urs probably need a simple carb tune due to the air intake related changes...

higher idle wont cause significantly higher FC... slightly, maybe... but should not be noticeable, unless u adjust it until unpractically high...

thanks. ah chong say the screw or smth is loose and to pay him a visit when im free. he say wun damage anything. i scared its backfiring.

Hey ppl.

Just "inherited" a phantom(he bought on 2006 with fuel indicator) from my uncle.. what model is it?

may i know what is the max load for phantom?

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)

Hey ppl.

Just "inherited" a phantom(he bought on 2006 with fuel indicator) from my uncle.. what model is it?

the exact model should be on log card... :D

or u can simply refer as TA200 new model..

max load ?

this rider plus big side box are still ok on phantom.. :p

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/devilika/08-11-2007-big-bikes/DSC00502.jpg

Hey ppl.

sexy....

http://i37.tinypic.com/2s1ar6h.gifhttp://i38.tinypic.com/2gwyjx2.gif

oops off topic :offtopic: :cheeky:

the exact model should be on log card... :D

or u can simply refer as TA200 new model..

max load ?

this rider plus big side box are still ok on phantom.. :p

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/devilika/08-11-2007-big-bikes/DSC00502.jpg

erm.. no offence.. but can have the exact weight? :lol:

Commercial name is Phantom Custom 4.

i see.. thanks..

sexy....

http://i37.tinypic.com/2s1ar6h.gifhttp://i38.tinypic.com/2gwyjx2.gif

oops off topic :offtopic: :cheeky:

:dot: now riding what? kawa 250?

DIY instructions

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

:dot: now riding what? kawa 250?

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2228/2204579732_aaf121702b.jpg?v=0

wanna change back to..

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2379/2080465843_9416d36656.jpg?v=0

playing stunts :thumb:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2228/2204579732_aaf121702b.jpg?v=0

wanna change back to..

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2379/2080465843_9416d36656.jpg?v=0

playing stunts :thumb:

bro.. i just kapo my uncle's phantom..

any tips?

like what kind of servicing to do to it and where is good?

DIY instructions

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

any tips?

hmm according to wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_Phantom

max load is 126kg?

O.o??

DIY instructions

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

any tips?

don't say kapo, how is it passed on to you?

Bring to planet motors ask ah chong or his long term in service mechs do a check for you. Check your EO level, spark plug, filter, chain+sprocket, tyre pressure, alignment, comfort etc :cheeky:

When you wanna let me help you check your rs and offer you tips? :thumb:

he change a job.. dont need to ride bike.

so i just take lor..

have rs and phantom.. can ease my wear and tear on my rs..

shall drop by planet soon.. hows the queue on weekend? crowded?

my rs is in good hand. no worries.

i am worrying abt the weight limit stuff.. zzz

anyone?

DIY instructions

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

he change a job.. dont need to ride bike.

so i just take lor..

have rs and phantom.. can ease my wear and tear on my rs..

shall drop by planet soon.. hows the queue on weekend? crowded?

my rs is in good hand. no worries.

i am worrying abt the weight limit stuff.. zzz

anyone?

lucky you, get a free transport bike ;) queue is okay, why worry about weight limit when you're not overweight? you're not gonna load a 50" plasma tv aren't you? :giddy:

i am not la. but plus my gf will over liao.

i am not as light as u think i am :/

DIY instructions

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

i am not la. but plus my gf will over liao.

i am not as light as u think i am :/

we met before, don't worry I'm around 60 and I've pillioned 100kg passenger and other things before. Just make sure you check your suspensions and tyre pressure after which ;)

how much u think i weight :dot:

i am 90plus lei. :cool:

u pillion 100kg passenger for a while but i will have to pillion almost everytime..

how much my tire should be? 200 front 220 back?

i think my uncle is using bridgestone..

the stock suspension is tune to 3. i think i should tune to 4-5 right.. wonder will it wear out fast..

just change my rs shock at 750 dollar :cry:

DIY instructions

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

erm.. no offence.. but can have the exact weight? :lol:

hmm according to wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_Phantom

max load is 126kg?

O.o??

definitely over 126kg... :p

1 spark plug and 1~1.2 liter engine oil change every 3000km... some stretch till 5000km but i find the gear changing not smooth after 3000km.

air filter can get from ah boy for cheap... still u can get K&N filter from SBF MO for about 50$ and no need to worry about filter anymore.

what else.. tyre, chain, sprockets... definitely cheaper than maintaining RS :p

definitely over 126kg... :p

1 spark plug and 1~1.2 liter engine oil change every 3000km... some stretch till 5000km but i find the gear changing not smooth after 3000km.

air filter can get from ah boy for cheap... still u can get K&N filter from SBF MO for about 50$ and no need to worry about filter anymore.

what else.. tyre, chain, sprockets... definitely cheaper than maintaining RS :p

serious?

hmm..

cool.

did u tune ur supsenion?

default at 3 but can tune to 4-5 for heavy load..

no need worry abt filter? hmm the stock one not good enough?

DIY instructions

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

My bike skidded and fall last week. Now whenever after i ride and park my bike, the will be few drop of black liquid dripping from below my engine. I wondering is it my engine oil leaking or some screw is loose?

you know it's really hard for anyone to tell you what's wrong. i recommend you go bikeshop let them take a look.

ur situation, have to see it personally then able to tell one.

you can easily check it urself if you can spare the time. bring along some cloth to clean the dirty oily patch area u suspect, so you can see whats wrong.

how much u think i weight :dot:

i am 90plus lei. :cool:

u pillion 100kg passenger for a while but i will have to pillion almost everytime..

how much my tire should be? 200 front 220 back?

i think my uncle is using bridgestone..

the stock suspension is tune to 3. i think i should tune to 4-5 right.. wonder will it wear out fast..

just change my rs shock at 750 dollar :cry:

no prob lah... me also 90 + box + crashbar... i think without pillion already close to 100kg load? + pillion almost 3-4 days a week confirm >126kg...

i pump standard 200/220... some ppl prefer to pump more...

serious?

hmm..

cool.

did u tune ur supsenion?

default at 3 but can tune to 4-5 for heavy load..

no need worry abt filter? hmm the stock one not good enough?

stock one paper type leh... will get dirty after some time...

i've never played with suspension before :D

can u at least tell us what is that black liquid.... oil ? petrol or rain water ?