[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

hmm...my bike fall down in a stationary position in the carpark...and my fuel seems to leak out...quite a big patch...is it normal when bike fall and petrol leak out?

http://quick.imgfree.net/images/56505.jpg

Riding SP since 17th May 2006

• Replies 7.2k

It seems like i am experiencing some problems while riding. Whenever i approach a red light, i applied my brake then my engine will die off. I don't know what is the problem with it, tune the idiling higher also like that. Riding a TA200. It doesn't used to be like this. Please advise.

maybe the clutch wasn't somehow pulled in properly... or although u pulled in all the way, it somehow didn't disengage the gear...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v47/herculie/Valky_Siggy.jpg
Originally posted by Herculie@May 28 2006, 08:08 PM

hi bros... i'm not sure if this Q has been asked.. i cant seems to search, maybe i m lousy at it.. haha.. sorry..

i am now confused by a friend. just wanna know whether fully or semi EO is better for phantom 200.. and their rating on the bottles, 20/50, 10/50w, 15/50w etc.. wat are all those and which one is better for us?

thanks bros..

15/50w will be good for TA200.

Originally posted by kaikai83@Jun 2 2006, 12:30 AM

It seems like i am experiencing some problems while riding. Whenever i approach a red light, i applied my brake then my engine will die off. I don't know what is the problem with it, tune the idiling higher also like that. Riding a TA200. It doesn't used to be like this. Please advise.

maybe it's a air-fuel mixture problem?

For you O Lord, will bless the righteous; with favor You shall surround him as with a shield. Psalm 5:12

Originally posted by kokping@Jun 2 2006, 12:29 AM

hmm...my bike fall down in a stationary position in the carpark...and my fuel seems to leak out...quite a big patch...is it normal when bike fall and petrol leak out?

yes it's very very normal for fuel to leak out when bike fall

For you O Lord, will bless the righteous; with favor You shall surround him as with a shield. Psalm 5:12

Originally posted by danieltanboonhuat@Jun 2 2006, 09:39 AM

yes it's very very normal for fuel to leak out when bike fall

to prevent this from happening jus off the fuel supply under ur oil tank everytime after u reach ur destination this will reduce the fuel lost if not the next time u find a big pool of petrol and ur oil tank empty:cry:

sometimes its jus one of the pipes break off or crack jus go down to ur mechanic and let them look at it. but make sure its not leaking when u make ur way there if not good luck liao! :goodluck:

D@v3d3v|L

Originally posted by Davedevil@Jun 2 2006, 10:19 AM

to prevent this from happening jus off the fuel supply under ur oil tank everytime after u reach ur destination this will reduce the fuel lost if not the next time u find a big pool of petrol and ur oil tank empty:cry:

sometimes its jus one of the pipes break off or crack jus go down to ur mechanic and let them look at it. but make sure its not leaking when u make ur way there if not good luck liao! :goodluck:

hmm... but it will be troublesome to do so everytime you park???

if i despatch rider then one day fifty times?

i guess no one expects their bike to fall ba anyway...

by the way for S4 where is the switch?

Originally posted by Herculie@Jun 2 2006, 12:43 AM

maybe the clutch wasn't somehow pulled in properly... or although u pulled in all the way, it somehow didn't disengage the gear...

Cannot be ba. I everytime also brake the same way, and i pull in full clutch one. But can hear the engine getting weaker when i press hard on my rear brake, then engine cuts off.

Originally posted by danieltanboonhuat@Jun 2 2006, 10:59 AM

hmm... but it will be troublesome to do so everytime you park???

if i despatch rider then one day fifty times?

i guess no one expects their bike to fall ba anyway...

by the way for S4 where is the switch?

For s4,

if you are talking about ver s,r,pb1 = switch is same position as ta200. manual switch.

vtec series - vacuum tank, thus no switch.

petrol will not leak out even you pull out the petrol tube accidentally.

Originally posted by kaikai83@Jun 3 2006, 03:13 AM

Cannot be ba. I everytime also brake the same way, and i pull in full clutch one. But can hear the engine getting weaker when i press hard on my rear brake, then engine cuts off.

maybe u can try changing clutch cable.. i used to hav the same prob wit u.. when brake and down gear den idiling become low and when clutch out the engine suddenly die.. is it like wat u say? after changing doesnt experience this prob liao le.. dunno if it works for u.. :goodluck:

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/upload/205650/images/300x200/2848almeriaij070-01.jpg

..i lovin' it..:thumb:

Originally posted by arjen@Jun 3 2006, 05:11 AM

For s4,

if you are talking about ver s,r,pb1 = switch is same position as ta200. manual switch.

vtec series - vacuum tank, thus no switch.

petrol will not leak out even you pull out the petrol tube accidentally.

thanks man,

Originally posted by etky85@Jun 4 2006, 12:28 AM

maybe u can try changing clutch cable.. i used to hav the same prob wit u.. when brake and down gear den idiling become low and when clutch out the engine suddenly die.. is it like wat u say? after changing doesnt experience this prob liao le.. dunno if it works for u.. :goodluck:

does the problem occure only when clutch in? what if before you come to a stop you enage neutral gear does the engine stop as well?

if it doesn't stop when in neutral gear, most proabaly your clutch cable or plates ba

Found the answer, it is the air flow. Got a neighbour who knows how to tune bike. He did some tuning for me, then no more problem. Now the bike running more powerful.

Hi all, Phantom newbie here.

I just bought a TA200 two weeks ago.

My phantom's rear stop light does not lighten up when I step on the rear brake. Is this normal? If not, how should I fix it?

Also, (I know this may sound stupid) I am unable to remove the seat! :confused: I am unable to get my spanner in a position to turn the side bots. Is it that the side bots can only be opened by L-shaped spanners? Btw, I have side boxes. Are these boxes obstructing the bots?

Haizz.. I dunno whether i did something wrong... When I tighten my chain, I loosen the axle nuts (the one on the adjusting scale) on both side. Then I forget which side I did how many turns. Sia la.. Will this effect any misadjustments?:confused:

My phantom's rear stop light does not lighten up when I step on the rear brake. Is this normal? If not, how should I fix it?

Go to bike shop and buy, cost $5 at most

Also, (I know this may sound stupid) I am unable to remove the seat! :confused: I am unable to get my spanner in a position to turn the side bots. Is it that the side bots can only be opened by L-shaped spanners? Btw, I have side boxes. Are these boxes obstructing the bots?

Must use another type of spanner

Haizz.. I dunno whether i did something wrong... When I tighten my chain, I loosen the axle nuts (the one on the adjusting scale) on both side. Then I forget which side I did how many turns. Sia la.. Will this effect any misadjustments?:confused:

this one, i am not very sure, but if need to adjust chain, just go to shop. normally it is free.

Luintoxon: E light sensor for rear brake pedal is not as sensitive as e front brake lever's, which means u hav to depress e rear brake harder for e brake light to b activated. Tis happens for my Phan. =)

As for whether e sideboxes r obstructing e bots, it depends on where u install e sideboxes. For my case (Un-removable E21), I usually hav to open up e sidebox covers before my spanner can remove e bots easily. E covers would b restricting my spanner's movement if I dun do so.

I suppose in e case of tightening e chain, as long as e adjusting scale reading of both sides r e same, they should b alright. Juz try to tighten e nuts as tight as possible, wif almost e same number of turns. Shldnt affect tat much as long as e wheel is facing forward. Experienced riders/mechanics pls correct me if I'm wrong. (",)

sky_vinz

any one know where to get the cheapest deal for phantom stock "light Bulb" ? ah boy havE? :help:

A New Rider A New Bike A New Hope ~!

~~TA200 Phantom custom 4 ~ 2004 to 2006

A old Rider , A old Bike but still A New Hope~!

~~Dragstar 4TR custom 2006 to 2007

A forgotten Rider, An old legend, A returned Hope~!

~~VMax12 2007 to 2007

A returned Rider, Another legend, forever hope~!

~~Shadow400 2009 ...

Originally posted by Alexander2004@Jun 8 2006, 02:10 AM

any one know where to get the cheapest deal for phantom stock "light Bulb" ? ah boy havE? :help:

for headlight? Any motordiam should have bah.... a couple of dollars only...

Originally posted by Alexander2004@Jun 8 2006, 02:10 AM

alex u need them mah i tot your already almost fully mod liao still need stock item ah...:cheeky:

D@v3d3v|L

Originally posted by Luintoxon@Jun 7 2006, 08:52 PM

there are markings on the adjusting assy, left and right, for you to align your wheels. just make sure both side marking are the same, its near the rear wheel nut. look at it from the side of your bike, dun go behind bike and look.

How often do we need to tune bike?

AhWan tuned my bike on 27th May and the initial few days rocked, the bike has great feeling. Now, it's gone weaker, engine is soft and threatens to die off when stopping. This is not the first time my bike has gone cranky after great tuning.

Also..

When i rev and change gears upwards, the bike wont just "ram" after every throttle... There'll be periods of i-dont-know-how-to-describe in between the throttling. Like, "rekrekrekrekrek then vrooooooom... (up gear) rekrekrekrek vroooom.."

I also noticed that my bike's FC is decreasing, now 130-150km already hit reserve!

Seriously need help here..

Best to try my bike, as its hard to describe the sucky feeling.

Riding a TA150. :cry:

I have the best signature.

hmm...if i wanna get to ah boy's shop,and i coming down by bukit timah road,,how should i go about to kelantan lane?anybody advice me?thanks.btw i am coming from yishun...

http://quick.imgfree.net/images/56505.jpg

Riding SP since 17th May 2006

Originally posted by kokping@Jun 11 2006, 12:38 AM

hmm...if i wanna get to ah boy's shop,and i coming down by bukit timah road,,how should i go about to kelantan lane?anybody advice me?thanks.btw i am coming from yishun...

i know how to go bt dunno how to explain... :sorry:

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200