[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jun 17 2006, 07:30 AM

Dun need to use jap brand batts which cost >$70... china or taiwan brands are good enough which will only cost

1800 - LIM AH GER -> $25 for a Dry Cell.

Cheap and durable.

• Replies 7.2k

got a qns to ask.. my bike seems to lose its pick up and speed as in when i trouttle, my speed normally increase faster last time.. but this time the speed like stay at the same mark.. i hav to trouttle more than the speed increase.. when i hit 85-90km/h, the sound majiam like my top speed liao.. it is becos of air filter or clutch plate?

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/upload/205650/images/300x200/2848almeriaij070-01.jpg

..i lovin' it..:thumb:

Originally posted by totalpet@Jun 17 2006, 03:13 AM

3.5Ah...

can we use higher Ah? for better current?

Correct me if I'm wrong Ah refers to ampere hours. which means for this case if you draw 3.5A from the battery constantly, it can only last one hour if its fully charged to start with.

Some how it doesn't really matter as the battery is constantly under charging when we ride at 5krpm (not sure if i remember correctly from the manual). Unless in the application of bike alarms and you not riding for days or weeks.

Originally posted by Mark Ng@Jun 13 2006, 07:52 PM

relay is only needed if the current draw is huge so as to protect your switches.

led wouldn't draw that much current to drain your battery. if u had connected your pisitive wires to the fuse area, make sure its connected after the fuse instead of before the fuse. if its connected before the fuse, meaning your led isn't protected, and you might have a short circuit without knowing it. . .

u can try tapping it from the headlight wires, or the condenser wires. . .

either you have a short circuit before the fuse, before the led resistor to the ground, or...

your battery is already bad, just that it play out on you on the right time.

hope it helps.

eh Mark... Got another question..

Which part is after the relay. is it the part where there is a rubber covering beside the fuse? and under it is two connection point where you need to unscrew using allen keys?

Cos I could only see that part with the connection points.

My LED is not working very finely after I connect. some times it happy it lights up. sometimes not happy dont light up. Dunno whats wrong with it also. but it would like up when I crank the ignition button. Not sure if its the value of the resistor that is causing the problems...

Guys, sorry to interrupt the battery discussion.

I'm very disappointed and frustrated with the fact that my bike's FC is decreasing like mad!!! Desperate help needed.

When i got the bike at first, i hit reserve at around 200 +-.

Then after getting my bike serviced and tuned at AhKoon for the first time, it went down to 150 +-.

Now, it's 125-130 only!!! Bloody hell!

i've never changed the type of 2Ts and petrol used and my riding style's always the same. I tried going below 90km/h all round but still hit reserve at 130!

After a few trips to AhKoon, still, the bike's FC's bad - Brought the situation up to them but they like say.. "Aiya, hard to say."

I heard somewhere, tuning high idling will use up more petrol - but i doubt mine is tuned high, as the engine sometimes die off when i clutch in when approaching to a stop, or when i neutral the gear.

Can anyone advise on what MAY be the secondary factor(s) to this mess?

Will bringing the bike to Planet solve my problems? Heard the mech there's an excellent A+ expert.

I have the best signature.

3 questions first:

1) Do you pump petrol FULL to the brim of the fuel cap?

2) Are you absolutely sure nobody is siphoning petrol from your bike?

3) Confirm no petrol leaks from your bike?

1) Do you pump petrol FULL to the brim of the fuel cap?

yes. even if i missed out, it would be at most 2cm ;p

2) Are you absolutely sure nobody is siphoning petrol from your bike?

no, but my bike's parked at several places already, all same end-result.

Tried parking outside my 1st-floor house door and staying up all night playing PS2 and riding off the next day having to top up petrol again, sure cannot miss any passerby.

3) Confirm no petrol leaks from your bike?

Im not sure. Ive noticed other TA150s have the engine and carburetor parts all clean and free of fluids, but mine has always had sticky black fluid. Clean today, ride, then got again. Tried asking AhLeng, he said it's some EO thing i think, no need to worry.

My carburetor, though, has a 'hole'. The Choke lever came off in the previous owner's care but he had put it back in place and secured it with some glue-like material, covering the hole. When i sent the bike for servicing, the lever came off during carburetor-cleaning and the hole's been there since. AhLeng even told me about it, saying it's not his fault - and that it will have absolutely no effect of the bike's performance.

Could this be it? Or the mysterious black fluid thing? VERY SAD!

I have the best signature.

Hi all fellow knights, got some questions.

o_O I saw from another thread that people does monthly servicing. Is it really needed? What is done in a monthly servicing?

:confused: Also, how do we know when it's time to change the wheel barings? When it is worn out or after certain mileage?

Its not a matter of neccessary, just that at least one can make sure the bike is in gd and safe condition. I do monthly servicing of EO change, lubricating of chain, spark plug check and minor checkings... :smile:

As for the wheel barings, that's when the mechanics will know. Just ask him to check for you when you go for servicings... :thumb:

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

Originally posted by Keenguy@Jun 18 2006, 11:00 PM

Its not a matter of neccessary, just that at least one can make sure the bike is in gd and safe condition. I do monthly servicing of EO change, lubricating of chain, spark plug check and minor checkings... :smile:

As for the wheel barings, that's when the mechanics will know. Just ask him to check for you when you go for servicings... :thumb:

:thumb: Thanks kennguy.

Jialat newbie here still got many things still dunno.

:sorry: Last question for e moment. Do we need to change brake fluid? How much for a change?

How come I cannot see e front brake fluid level even when I shake e bike? Brake is working fine though.

Change the brake oil when braking system not gd lor... if you ride everyday, brake pad also need to check every 3 or 6 months to make sure its gd.

If you can't see the brake oil, means that the oil has been more or less been used up and its time to do servicing liao! Mmm... for both front and rear brake shld cost

Be a master of your habits, or they will master you...

Don't let the crowd pressure you, stand for something or you'll fall for anything...

Don't be a show off when you drive, drive with safety and arrive...

God Bless all riders...

sori newbie here jus got my bike recently ..

:giddy: my bike seem to leak EO from the pipe which is jus bside the side stand .. whenever i park my bike .. it onli starts to leak when the bike is cool dwn and it will stop after sometime .. it is alrite ... ? i asked the ex owner .. and he said that the pipe is use for overflowin of eo/petrol to flow out is it true ??

and i hav a small pipe poping out on the right which is where the rear brakes is located .. i hav chk other phantom they do hav the pipe also .. but theirs is stick to the metal bar .. n my is poping out .. is it ok ?? .. n wat the pipe is use for anyway ??

btw i'm ridin phantom 150

Originally posted by edition@Jun 21 2006, 05:50 AM

sori newbie here jus got my bike recently ..

:giddy: my bike seem to leak EO from the pipe which is jus bside the side stand .. whenever i park my bike .. it onli starts to leak when the bike is cool dwn and it will stop after sometime .. it is alrite ... ? i asked the ex owner .. and he said that the pipe is use for overflowin of eo/petrol to flow out is it true ??

and i hav a small pipe poping out on the right which is where the rear brakes is located .. i hav chk other phantom they do hav the pipe also .. but theirs is stick to the metal bar .. n my is poping out .. is it ok ?? .. n wat the pipe is use for anyway ??

btw i'm ridin phantom 150

Im riding a TA200, not sure if its exactly the same. The clear pipe comes with a rubber stopper, and a few weeks can unplug and drain the oil and whatever is inside. Im not very sure about how often the oil will come out. Maybe you should monitor your engine oil level and if its level downs very quickly then maybe you should go for a check at motordiam.

The other pipe i believe is the engine breather. Dunno its exact function but I would think as its name suggest is to provide air circulation in the crankcase?

Hum. . . shld pk have a work shop once a mth to answer & assist member?

Originally posted by ttays_2000@Jun 21 2006, 06:27 AM

Im riding a TA200, not sure if its exactly the same. The clear pipe comes with a rubber stopper, and a few weeks can unplug and drain the oil and whatever is inside. Im not very sure about how often the oil will come out. Maybe you should monitor your engine oil level and if its level downs very quickly then maybe you should go for a check at motordiam.

The other pipe i believe is the engine breather. Dunno its exact function but I would think as its name suggest is to provide air circulation in the crankcase?

oh ok ty for ur ans ... meanin that both of this pipe shld b alrite .. n jus need to monitor on my EO .. :smile:

Originally posted by JJBuBBle@Jun 21 2006, 09:19 AM

i tink is better to have .. cau in the workshop we will get a better understanding den forum which is jus all words ..

Originally posted by JJBuBBle@Jun 21 2006, 09:19 AM

Oh, it a must manz.... newbie like me always kana chop..... sian:-(

Guest Eason

any one know the price of the bracket that hold the mirror 1?

Originally posted by senileman@Jun 22 2006, 01:46 AM

Oh, it a must manz.... newbie like me always kana chop..... sian:-(

U don need a workshop to answer all those question....

Jus need to attend our gathering its located everywhere north got east have even west!:thumb:

And to make sure u wont get chop when u go servicing jus find a friend either in this forum or not to go with u....

Its that simple!:cheer:

D@v3d3v|L

Originally posted by Davedevil@Jun 22 2006, 01:58 PM

U don need a workshop to answer all those question....

Jus need to attend our gathering its located everywhere north got east have even west!:thumb:

And to make sure u wont get chop when u go servicing jus find a friend either in this forum or not to go with u....

Its that simple!:cheer:

hey dave, i ok wit those meetin but when is it? n r all pk friendly?? do u guys mind a old man joinin ??

Originally posted by senileman@Jun 23 2006, 01:46 AM

hey dave, i ok wit those meetin but when is it? n r all pk friendly?? do u guys mind a old man joinin ??

U wan today there are meeting at the dam... i also jus join them not long ago. (see northern knight thread)

We don care bout age one la... no matter u are old man young boi or even he-she haha..:cheeky:

Feel free to come join the gathering and eat ice cream. but i don think can make it tonight cos got to work... :mad:

Anyway hope to see you soon senileman!:cheer:

D@v3d3v|L

Originally posted by Luintoxon@Jun 23 2006, 12:21 PM

Hi, Got some questions.

Can engine oils of diff grades or brands mix together?

I have got a little suspension leak. May I know what should I do?:confused:

yes ... can mix the EO ...

some ppl understand the viscosity and performance of different brands and grade of EO ... can mix den achieve a better mix for the bike ...

as for front fork ...

if the fork oil leak cos the seal has given abit of way ...

just go to bike shop ... den ask for a change of fork seal ...

shouldnt be very expensive ... :smile:

THE ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY

Originally posted by iVy@Jun 23 2006, 01:15 PM

yes ... can mix the EO ...

some ppl understand the viscosity and performance of different brands and grade of EO ... can mix den achieve a better mix for the bike ...

as for front fork ...

if the fork oil leak cos the seal has given abit of way ...

just go to bike shop ... den ask for a change of fork seal ...

shouldnt be very expensive ... :smile:

Change of Front fork seal = have to flush out the entire fork oil and replace with fresh fluid to balance both fork.

**Warning, Fork seal leaking can cause serious damage to the fork, which you might have to change the entire fork in the worst case.