at $7k u can get a brand new 1st hand CBR150 and throw in additional accessories already!

dont get conned~

i agree w/ the guys on cbr150 being a low resale value bike. but somehow, the bike is really low maintenance and has got gd fuel consumption. general wear and tear parts are also cheap to replace (although not readily available in Johor Bahru like the 2strokers or cub kias).

to be honest, to knw what type of bike suits u better, u really got to try out riding at least one of them 1st. i prefer fuel economy (usually this runs opposite to fast acceleration and high top speed) and sports outlook, so the cbr150 is for me. :)

i have tried out SP, KRR, Honda Wave, Yamaha X1. SP & KRR needs to be riden fast. if engine is not stretched, u will find issues like jammed valves, accumulated 2T in exhaust, piston, etc. generally, the bike will be less healthy & more costly to maintain than if u were to ride it hard. Cub kias are fun to ride, but less stable at corners (the ones i owned had dual rear suspension so it gets abit wobbly) and of course, doesnt have the sport-look i want.

dont bother abt new/old bike, etc. there is a chance u can get a gd condition old bike and lousy conditioned new bike. :goodluck: in yr find.

How to try bike as most ppl are touchy about their baby.

Do u mind trying my try ur bike around a carpark then?:angel:

'08 Leo-Vince Wave S

The day i quit riding,

Is when those whom I love,

Cry every time I get on my motorcycle.

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

Your camp at where?? :confused:

tengah airbase. haha

Hey Bro, Take CBR150 lah. I ride both CBR and NSR before. CBR150 Rocks!!!! :cheeky:

hhaha imo cbr's handling is better than NSR... cos of the light weight and high manoeuvrability. but looses out in top speed and acceleration to the NSR.

at $7k u can get a brand new 1st hand CBR150 and throw in additional accessories already!

dont get conned~

i agree w/ the guys on cbr150 being a low resale value bike. but somehow, the bike is really low maintenance and has got gd fuel consumption. general wear and tear parts are also cheap to replace (although not readily available in Johor Bahru like the 2strokers or cub kias).

to be honest, to knw what type of bike suits u better, u really got to try out riding at least one of them 1st. i prefer fuel economy (usually this runs opposite to fast acceleration and high top speed) and sports outlook, so the cbr150 is for me. :)

i have tried out SP, KRR, Honda Wave, Yamaha X1. SP & KRR needs to be riden fast. if engine is not stretched, u will find issues like jammed valves, accumulated 2T in exhaust, piston, etc. generally, the bike will be less healthy & more costly to maintain than if u were to ride it hard. Cub kias are fun to ride, but less stable at corners (the ones i owned had dual rear suspension so it gets abit wobbly) and of course, doesnt have the sport-look i want.

dont bother abt new/old bike, etc. there is a chance u can get a gd condition old bike and lousy conditioned new bike. :goodluck: in yr find.

I agree with ah don.. My cbr is oldie.. but its got a damn good engine.. and plus point, its unopened before engine...

there are ppl with damn good looking nsr, but then with bent conrods.

so its all up to previous owners... and best dont buy from shop la.7k for cbr can buy new cbr liao.. somemore RVF also can get with yoshi pipe. and 7k can get vtec2 with yoshi endcan.

i have also seen vtec 1 with lok kok outlooks but engine better than a vtec 2 with swee swee bom pipi paint work,..

There is no replacement for displacement, except for Ah Seng

hhaha imo cbr's handling is better than NSR... cos of the light weight and high manoeuvrability. but looses out in top speed and acceleration to the NSR.

eh, in the end your hugger sell for how much?

Holy s h i t.... stay away from that shop. It has a reputation for killing newbies.... usually is chop, this one use kill.... COE 2013 for $7000?? Ka ni na inside the engine put gold ah?

Mine COE 2015 Market price around $1500-$1800.... You want? You want i also don wan sell ah..... :cheeky:

got an offer for a FV plate 2002 CBR last week.... kinda regret not taking the offer... but no hurry also, i think for my first bike it is important to shop around first before settling....

once again, if you know any private dealers looking to sell their CBR, do let me know....

happy CNY everyone...

Cheap + fast = no good

Cheap + good = not fast

Good + fast = not cheap

>>>(wise words from ahduck)<<<

Exact and right to the point ! Don is a Lao Jiao !!! :angel:

:shy:

How to try bike as most ppl are touchy about their baby.

Do u mind trying my try ur bike around a carpark then?:angel:

i worry that u will fall in love w/ my bike.

no way shops are going let potential buyers test ride..

so u go look for pple selling off their 2nd hand bike privately...

got an offer for a FV plate 2002 CBR last week.... kinda regret not taking the offer... but no hurry also, i think for my first bike it is important to shop around first before settling....

once again, if you know any private dealers looking to sell their CBR, do let me know....

happy CNY everyone...

I might consider letting go if can find a stock DRZ.... :p

most of them started out with KR or SP, so they advised me as such....

i rode kr previously, i still recommend cbr150 cos of gd FC, low maintenance, more ""ënvironmental"" friendly, can put box

sad to know that it will depreciate so much in such a short time...

keep the bike n use it for a long long time to worth the money lor

Happy holidays and Happy Lunar New Year cum Valentine's Day.

Ride safely everyone...!!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=171433&d=1262780355

Enrol 2B - - - - - - 02 Feb 09

NSR SP - - - - - - - 23 May 09

Life is full of choices.

Depending of which choice u made,

It will change ur fate/destiny.:pray:

I'm a new and proud owner of a 2nd hand (6 yrs, FV plate) CBR 150R. Had it for about 3 months now and it's about time for my first oil change.

Been reading some of the more recent posts about engine overhaul and all. Thought I asked some questions before I send it back to Heng Motor for service and oil change, so i don't get conned by them.

1. Total mileage is now around 93k and FC at about 35km/l. I don't know if an overhaul has been done before. What are some things I need to look out for to tell me it's time for an overhaul?

2. Is there a preferred brand of engine oil to use, or just any oil that the workshop provides? Heard that it makes better sense to use fully synthetic that lasts 5k so I can do EO and spark plug change at the same time. Also, do any of your DIY? is it easy to DIY oil change?

3. How often should I change the tyres? My cousin who rode SP said about 6-9 months change tyres.

4. Which workshop is recommended for CBR servicing? Heng Motor claims to have all the parts, and it's where I bought my bike from. Just wondering if there are better places to do servicing and oil change.

Anyway, looking forward to join the fraternity of CBR150 riders. It's 3 months and i'm loving my ride.

I'm a new and proud owner of a 2nd hand (6 yrs, FV plate) CBR 150R. Had it for about 3 months now and it's about time for my first oil change.

Been reading some of the more recent posts about engine overhaul and all. Thought I asked some questions before I send it back to Heng Motor for service and oil change, so i don't get conned by them.

1. Total mileage is now around 93k and FC at about 35km/l. I don't know if an overhaul has been done before. What are some things I need to look out for to tell me it's time for an overhaul?

2. Is there a preferred brand of engine oil to use, or just any oil that the workshop provides? Heard that it makes better sense to use fully synthetic that lasts 5k so I can do EO and spark plug change at the same time. Also, do any of your DIY? is it easy to DIY oil change?

3. How often should I change the tyres? My cousin who rode SP said about 6-9 months change tyres.

4. Which workshop is recommended for CBR servicing? Heng Motor claims to have all the parts, and it's where I bought my bike from. Just wondering if there are better places to do servicing and oil change.

Anyway, looking forward to join the fraternity of CBR150 riders. It's 3 months and i'm loving my ride.

Time for me to help up with the customer service duties.... must start pulling my weight around here... haha :cheeky:

1. TOP OVERHAUL: Funny noises - Rattling when idling, White smoke from exhuast - Jiak Orh you (J.O.Y.)... piston ring worn, Funny smell - Burning Engine Oil (JOY), power loss when throttle - Piston head broken/chipped. Oil leaking - Gasket gone case already....

CLUTCH: Riding smoothly suddenly the bike runs "out of gear" to neutral or back to a lower gear. Gear hard to change, engages with a horrifying crunching sound.

BOTTOM OVERHAUL: Ask Stanley (aka Tdks)

=========================================

2. Personal preference, i used $5 oil (mineral), the thickest and the cheapest every 1000-1500km cos i don care about smoother throttle response, my bike can move i'm happy already. It won't harm the engine but it the oil will become thinner quickly at higher RPM when it heats up.

Spark Plug must see the skill of the mechanic... some dismantle your radiator can access already, others say must take out petrol tank.... i haven't changed the plug ever since i got the bike.... heck care, the thing can spark and start its good enough.

DIY troublesome, hands dirty, used oil dono throw where, possible to damage your nut/oil sump case if you no skill. Need proper tools. What for??? Life is hard, don't make it harder.... pay the $5-$10 to shop let them do for you while you can go buy drink and relax.

3. Tyres botak (i.e. may have thread but surface becomes smooth) must change.... else skid and fall when u press too much brake and the wheel slides you panic..... hong gan.....

4. Any bikeshop would have the parts la... This one gong jiao wei one... if a shop does not have the part, they will send out a courier to fetch the part from somewhere (hor zed?) for you. Find one that you like to go to, near your place and reasonable pricing.

Edited by xXxRatedxXx

Appeal for Eye Witnesses: Fatal Accident on 05/02/10 at SLE towards BKE, slip road into Lentor Avenue

On 05/02/10 (Fri) around 4.55am, my cousin on a bike was involved in a fatal accident.

At that point of the accident, my cousin was riding a CBR-150..It is suspected to be a hit-and-run accident. My cousin had no thoughts or signs of suicide as she cared for her loved ones a lot. She have even promised to have reunion dinner together this week, the thought of her no longer able to do so pains our heart so much....

Her parents were greatly devastated by this accident and her mum had fainted countless times. It will be a great relief to them if they can find out what had actually happened!

My Cousin had already passed away. We urged anyone who did saw the accident or have any form of information to come forward to help us.

Please help to spread the word around and contact me at 93596196, [email protected] or LTA at 1800-5471818 if anyone of you or friends have witnessed the accident. Thank You

The poor girl has already gone, there isn't really much we can do for her parents. I hope this insignificant effort of ours will be able to help a little to the parents...

Source: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2669732

Please help guys. :cry:

Subaru Impreza 1.6i (SGU) [2006 - ???]

Honda CBR150R (FW) [2009 - 2009]

Honda NSR150SP (FT) [2008 - 2010]

Yamaha T135 (FBE) [2010 - ???]

CBR125/NSR125/CBR150/NSR150/T135 Manuals --> http://www.scribd.com/xbfish

Time for me to help up with the customer service duties.... must start pulling my weight around here... haha :cheeky:

1. TOP OVERHAUL: Funny noises - Rattling when idling, White smoke from exhuast - Jiak Orh you (J.O.Y.)... piston ring worn, Funny smell - Burning Engine Oil (JOY), power loss when throttle - Piston head broken/chipped. Oil leaking - Gasket gone case already....

CLUTCH: Riding smoothly suddenly the bike runs "out of gear" to neutral or back to a lower gear. Gear hard to change, engages with a horrifying crunching sound.

BOTTOM OVERHAUL: Ask Stanley (aka Tdks)

errr... for bottom overhaul ... i oso not very sure... only vidak noe... coz bottom is gear box and clutch already.

4. Any bikeshop would have the parts la... This one gong jiao wei one... if a shop does not have the part, they will send out a courier to fetch the part from somewhere (hor zed?) for you. Find one that you like to go to, near your place and reasonable pricing.

don't hor me, i am newbie.

Hi guys just to share with you all a good DIY product that i have been using recently. Its the homemade chain oiler by tonychan! I managed to ask him if he could help to do the same for our CBR150 community and he kindly consented.

Personally i felt sick and tired of the hassle that came with lubricating the chain. The messy sticky lube lah... Need to jack the bike up to spin the wheel and sprocket... Have to keep lubing the chain during long journeys...

Until i saw one of these sweet contraptions on tony's bike, i had him do one for me and so far i am very satisfied with it!

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs222.snc3/20943_457990430112_874490112_11125639_6041832_n.jpg

Home made chain oiler As seen on my CBR150R

Here are some features to let you all have an idea on what it does:

• Sturdy materials at low cost!
  • Easy shut off/on valve to regulate oil flow
  • Compact size
  • Lube your chain on the go!
  • Relatively easy installation!

Price:

Kit (self collect) - S$15

Kit (Delivered to your location) - S$22

Kit with installation at stipulated location S$35

Kit contents:

• bottle with valves
  • 2m tube
  • 1m cable
  • 1 x tube jointer (act as tube end)
  • 4x4" cable tie
  • 4x12" cable

Assembly instructions HERE

Exclusive for us CBR150 riders: Purchase "Self collect" kit and tony or I can guide you on the installation on the spot in return for drinks... weather hot la, easily thirsty!!!

Please understand that he has to spend time, money and effort to source for the materials and construct them using his tools therefore prices are already fixed after i have negotiated with him. He does this as a hobby in addition to his full time job. Prices are also set in this manner to promote the spirit of DIY!

Keen? Leave your name and contact number in the list below!

Order list:

Kit only (pls indicate self collect or delivery):

Kit with installation (Date will be arranged at our convenience once there are enough orders due to work and school commitments, next session tentatively after CNY week):

Any other enquires can be posted here or by PM to me. I will do my best to answer your questions.

PM will be sent to interested parties

welcome welcome haha! :D

2. eo i use fully syn, change once i feel uncomfortable* why? i value a smooth ride, slick gear shifting. fully syn dun degrade as fast..offers more consistent engine protection :cheeky:

..now trying maxima ultra 5w50, so far quite ideal; not too bad ones are fuchs silkolene, maxima extra, motul 300v (only nice when hot)

eo blend formulated by Ah Pek (forum old bird) might be worth a try, very slick gear shifting but degrades slightly at extended high temp/rpm

belray, performance superb at first but rapidly declined (dumped by 700 km)

*disclaimer: i change oil very frequently, most listed still felt fine up to 1k km..:p

eo not difficult to change la, but can get v messy, disposal issues as chris mentioned. change spark plug also quite easy..but must remove fairings, radiator..

if u use iridium spark plugs can last longer..imo good power delivery, easy to start bike

3. depends on whether the tyres are hard/ soft compound, soft tyres better grip but wears faster too..measure the depth, shud be at least 1.6mm iirc..

4. idk abt heng motors but.....PLANET motors!! :thumb::thumb: ubi road 1 block 3007

Personally i felt sick and tired of the hassle that came with lubricating the chain. The messy sticky lube lah... Need to jack the bike up to spin the wheel and sprocket... Have to keep lubing the chain during long journeys...

Until i saw one of these sweet contraptions on tony's bike, i had him do one for me and so far i am very satisfied with it!

the idea quite tempting..! its indeed abit troublesome to lube chain..had been considering a paddock stand or car jack >.

is there any way to hide the bottle tho? looks just slightly, slightly big to me =x

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

welcome welcome haha! :D

2. eo i use fully syn, change once i feel uncomfortable* why? i value a smooth ride, slick gear shifting. fully syn dun degrade as fast..offers more consistent engine protection :cheeky:

..now trying maxima ultra 5w50, so far quite ideal; not too bad ones are fuchs silkolene, maxima extra, motul 300v (only nice when hot)

eo blend formulated by Ah Pek (forum old bird) might be worth a try, very slick gear shifting but degrades slightly at extended high temp/rpm

belray, performance superb at first but rapidly declined (dumped by 700 km)

*disclaimer: i change oil very frequently, most listed still felt fine up to 1k km..:p

eo not difficult to change la, but can get v messy, disposal issues as chris mentioned. change spark plug also quite easy..but must remove fairings, radiator..

if u use iridium spark plugs can last longer..imo good power delivery, easy to start bike

3. depends on whether the tyres are hard/ soft compound, soft tyres better grip but wears faster too..measure the depth, shud be at least 1.6mm iirc..

4. idk abt heng motors but.....PLANET motors!! :thumb::thumb: ubi road 1 block 3007

the idea quite tempting..! its indeed abit troublesome to lube chain..had been considering a paddock stand or car jack >.

is there any way to hide the bottle tho? looks just slightly, slightly big to me =x

yeah i will consider changing to irudium spark plug on my next servicing... there was a small issue with Fuchs sikolene, i changed it at about 2000km, cos it felt rough.... when the fellow pour out my oil, he ask me.. "people EO is black one how come yours pour out red colour one??" Wa i stun tio.... Teh O Gao colour!! :eek:

As for the reservoir bottle.... i also contemplated hiding it under the seat compartment.... but then again i thought, its going to be difficult to top up oil and run the wires.... anyway the bottle is the same colour as our footrest!! :thumb:

oh dear..=s thats sounds horrid! denniz who rides s4 changes at 3k km intervals, the original colour is purple haha nice colour lol

hmm same colour thats true..underseat also chock full with barang..wonder if any slimmer bottle available

btw can request for the bottle to be pre-drilled? then what about the gasket glue/rubber washer thingy we must buy ourself?

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

once again guys happy new year and hope all of you had a fun valentines day....

if i buy a bike from a private seller, is it advisable to send it for full servicing? or just change oil and spark plugs? want to make sure the bike is in safe riding condition when i start riding it la....

Cheap + fast = no good

Cheap + good = not fast

Good + fast = not cheap

>>>(wise words from ahduck)<<<